WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Theaters Cannot Handle All the 3D Films

Posted: February 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Theaters Cannot Handle All the 3D FilmsSubmit Comment
Every single day we hear of yet another movie that is planning to be released in 3D. Now it turns out that all these films are creating a traffic jam in 3D theaters.

Cinema owners agreed to show "Avatar" on their 3D screens until March 5th, when Disney's "Alice in Wonderland" is supposed to take over. But since "Avatar" is still selling out most showings, exhibitors are unsure that they want to get rid of a winner for an uncertain new prospect.

A similar battle is going on between Paramount Pictures' "How to Train Your Dragon" and Warner Bros' "Clash of the Titans," which was recently converted to 3D. Looking at the release dates, "Dragon" will only have one week before making way for "Titans." And Paramount is not happy about that, since 3D ticket prices are usually $3 to $5 more than for a 2D ticket.

What's worse is that this 3D bottleneck is likely to grow, since about sixty films are now set for 3D release over the next three years.

The problem is that some theaters don't have 3D screens at all. And the ones that do, only have one or two screens equipped with the new technology. The plan right now is to add about 5,100 3D screens by the end of 2010, but even that will not be enough to handle all the 3D films.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
chrisc20002003 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:34:59 AM

True, the IMAX here in town is still selling Avatar tickets like crazy. Bet they didn't see this one coming.
lost_addict writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:50:33 AM

you can't handle the truth!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:29:10 AM

Every studio is pushing for more 3D films to be made, hoping they'll catch audiences' attention with that, and now theaters may not be able to show them.

... the irony.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:37:27 AM

take that motherf*ckers!
They think 3D Brings more money well f*ck off! There are lots of 3D movies I wish they could make money but there's other 3D movies that really have no need to be 3D!
ironhide-autobot writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:48:28 AM

so clash of the titans is in 3d now?
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:21:08 AM

So stop f*cking making 3D movies unless it actually adds depth to the movie instead of a f*cking gimmick.
Vin12 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:00:36 AM

@jeff
name one 3d film this year that's been gimmicky
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:19:44 AM

Vin.
My bloody valentine in 3-d

terrible ass movie and definitely a gimmick.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:22:59 AM

Don't worry theaters, if you don't want to play those movies in 3-d, nobody will mind.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:27:15 AM

@Vin: Stop being a retard you spunkbucket
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:30:47 AM

"@jeff
name one 3d film this year that's been gimmicky"

we're only a f*cking month into "this year" so I'll assume you mean 2009.

G-force
My Bloody Valentine 3-d
A Christmas Carol
Space Chimps
Toy Story 1&2 re-release
Final Destination 4
Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
UP
Monsters vs. Aliens
The Jonas Brothers 3D

Vindandy, you're a f*cking idiot.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:39:12 AM

vindy, you moron, just stop embarrassing yourself!
rabid writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:26:52 PM

Theatres should learn to keep up with demand instead of whining about it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:43:30 PM

"Theatres should learn to keep up with demand instead of whining about it."

Yer a tool.

3-d will never catch on until we can see it without glasses, and it's gonna take Mitsubishi 20 years before they can put 20 projectors into one single tv.

So stop thinking that 3-d is the new direction for cinema, because it isn't. At all.
Vin12 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:43:34 PM

'vindandy ur a f*cking idiot'
spook, dont get me started on u bud.
the only one i disagree with is up.
pete, didn't know u were on bud
Vin12 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:44:40 PM

spook i agree with u on ur above post
Coasterkid345 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:02:05 PM

I hope there is a showing for a 3-D movie in every theater in the world at the same time and the the world just explodes....

That would make my day. :)
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:03:44 PM

Well I guess I don't have to name one since Spooky pretty much covered it.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:08:59 PM

"pete, didn't know u were on bud"

- vindy, go f*ck your grandfather.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:04:45 PM

"- vindy, go f*ck your grandfather again*"

Fixed
darkraven28 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:09:49 PM

Seems kinda silly. This whole 3D thing. Especially since Avatar was awesome enough WITHOUT the 3D. Oh, and since watching Avatar in 3D gives old dudes hard-ons so bad from the blue chicks that they flatline. You know.
GIST writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:24:56 PM

Personally for me, only a few films work on Trois-D, and a majority of them were animations.
Coraline was amazing in 3D. The tunnel scene tripped me the f*ck out. I can watch that one clip on loop a thousand times high of shrooms.
GIST writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:25:40 PM

*off
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:05:53 PM

to much money for the theater, perhaps? you wouldn't think as they over-price everything.

it's about time we're hearing the down-side of 3-D ... maybe in a year or so only 9/10 films will be doing 3-D.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:14:47 PM

films like alice in wonderland in 3D i don't mind because it makes great use of the 3D...but 3D is still a fad...the more they use it, the less exciting it becomes...3D TVs can suck my 3D balls
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:17:33 PM

avatar passes the 2 billion mark and still the country goes further into debt...sad
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:49:25 PM

I'm am just absolutely sh*t sick of the 3D phase. It's a puss crutch that everyone wants to cling to. Stop wasting our time with a gimmick.....yes a GIMMICK. Until they develop 3D to the point where you don't need glasses, it's a gimmick. Ugh, and things will only get worse. They're at the point where they're writting scripts and scenes purposely to utilize 3D and that annoys the hell outta me.
masKritic writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:02:11 PM

What the f*ck why is Clash of the Titans in 3D now when was this decided?
Tizzle writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:25:51 PM

The fact is, whether we are going in a 3D direction or not (hopefully not) Theaters are still behind the times. They need to go digital. That's the direction we are going, even analogue movies look better in digital because there is no degrading effect on the film as there is no film. I work at a movie theater. Digital is the direction and production companies just need to get on board. Then for those times when there are multiple 3D movies playing, there is no problem.
Aleksandar The Great writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:58:13 PM

Movie and Street Fighter game should be 2D only
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:33:11 PM

Anything Lohan just in 1D is fine.
Aingx writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:44:33 PM

I don't trust 3-D movies; too much of a possibility of subliminal advertising. If you can do it for single-frames in standard 2-D movies then the layers in 3-D must be littered with them.

I want to see a few report surveys comparing releases of 3-D movies in conjunction with sales increases.

I'm probably just paranoid....
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:10:19 PM

@ Aingx:

"I'm probably just paranoid...."

- Naaaaaah!
And what about the stuff they put in the water, uh?

The truth is out there...
rabid writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:53:05 PM

3D is no more a gimmick than using CG animation or filming in black and white. It's a tool that creates atmosphere, and scifi filmmakers love the concept.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:06:23 PM

Suprise! Suprise! Studios are pushing for more 3D movies. I mean seriously haven't we had enough? I mean its like they think that just because you add a 3D treatment your garranteed a smash it I'd rather have an out of body experience watching my own leg slowly cut off...and feel every ounce of the pain inficted then sit through another 3D movie. What I'm trying to say is it works for some movies (and that's a very short list) and some not so much, the latter more then the other.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:10:34 PM

@Rabid-

they use 3-D because it makes them money, i can't imagine James Cameron going "gentlemen, we are putting Avatar in 3-D to make the fans happy, i don't care about the money at all".

CGI is different, you never hear newlines saying "now in CGI"

in my eyes, yes 3-D is a tool, but as much as it is a marketing ploy.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:12:33 PM

@vindy
Shouldn't you, coc, and neo(nazi) be off gang rsping eachother somewhere. By the way how is the genital wartz going? Do the burn? Inch? Take a razor blade and scratch them out. Better yet slice your jugular vain while your at it
RandyTheRam writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:16:42 PM

f*ck 3D!!! In the ass with cream cheese and jelly!!!!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:18:38 PM

@vendandy you f*cking idiot
Your mom would say hi but she's bussy servicing my c*ck. Next I'm f*ck her p*ssy till she gets rug burn
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:30:48 PM

@skatemaster-lol!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:00:21 PM

@Vindandy
Don't worry ill make sure she squeels in pleasure. And ill make sure you see her latter, ill amack her ass and tell het to get that slutty p*ssy outa my house. I mean its not like your dad usses her, he's to bussy raping your fagotty little ass.

Hey guys new word...fagotty! Whoopie!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:06:47 PM

@ skate:

If you look it up in dictionaries and encyclopedias, it'll have vindy's picture under the word "fagotty".
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:14:59 PM

@pete
If you search it on wikipedia it there too but it also says "see neo(nazi), COC, and Derp
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:25:09 PM

@PP and @Skate-lol!

nobody knows what you get when you look up "Dandy" on Wikipedia ... everybody just goes blind.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:29:37 PM

@encore
not just that just taking a quick look at fanny bandit dandy and you get yourself a full fledge case of crabs!!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:37:49 PM

lol
mdp711 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:11:27 PM

No wonder MINK left this site. IQ
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:33:24 PM

Yeah what hasppen to mink?
telur writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:06:04 PM

how about these. All WP user make a consortium to make a 3D theater movie so we can watch movies all together.... and forever
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:30:20 PM

@skatemaster62

and that's the second time I got crabs....
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:38:12 PM

@blink
i think you need to get the ointment and the little comb my friend.

dam it!! just read some of the old post and now i got crabs again!!! f*cking dam it..will i never learn not to remenisce on old post!
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:52:59 PM

Holy sh*t the crabs thing is hilarious and I agree he need to take his genital warts razor across his jugular.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:17:45 AM

@Vindy
See jeff agrees! You should kill yourself buddy!!! Come on do it! Just do it chicken f*cker! Give me the blade ill do it for ya
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:20:03 AM

@jeff
Don't tell me you caught crabs too!?
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:29:58 AM

Theaters Cannot Handle All the 3D Films...

In a related story I Cannot Handle All the 3D Films
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:00:40 AM

this is good news, get rid of this sh*tty ass 3D, I just hope they don't switch all the movies to 3D and destroy 2D, if the theaters switch I'm done with movies
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:41:19 AM

@Eben-good one, i feel the same way.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:19:45 AM

@Vin - 'name one 3d film this year that's been gimmicky.' --- I watched your whoring Mom in some 3D porn with a firetruck full of circus midgets... pretty HAWT!

And what a slut! I didn't think she could take in all that hose... but she's a trooper!
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:23:46 AM

@ranger
haha lol loved it. did she take all 7 ft of it?
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:24:34 AM

@Ranger... That's exactly the reason I can't handle 3D
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:27:01 AM

She parked the firetruck in her 'garage' as well (I'll be honest... that was a little disturbing).
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:32:57 AM

to be honest that sounds horrifing!!! i also heard that vin was standing in the back of the room watching the hole thing jacking off to the guys....thick...throbing..rod and then cam all over his face..is that true? or was i misslead
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:36:57 AM

He was holding the camera and taking online credit card orders over the web. But he was jackin' it - every time he sees mommy earning the rent! They're hoping to move to a better trailer park in the spring, away from Blink_pimp.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:40:21 AM

you know rang i heard they were making a sequel "house of the rising c*nt/c*mdumpster" appearently she is gonna be on all fours while a well hung donky rams it in and out of her ass while vin tags the donky C.O.C is gonna sodimize vin
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:42:30 AM

derp is gonna hold the camera this time. and also its gonns be in that inward type 3d(such as they used for Avatar)
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:46:27 AM

Yep...

Here's Vin with his pet donkey:

http://2guys1horse.com/
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:49:21 AM

I guess that's his horse.
I just read his donkey died of AIDS!

Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:49:43 AM

Oh and the Oscars are sh*t. The only thing they ever get right is giving Clint Eastwood awards
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:52:23 AM

awww dam that sucks!......he was set to star in marc webs new Spider-man film...this is horrible
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:01:48 AM

Damn I should have posted that in the Oscars thread... That f*cking horse video is 100% Dandyfied COC-o-Vin-o-rific

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved