WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar 2" Details Surface

Posted: February 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar 2" Details SurfaceSubmit Comment
We recently heard that 20th Century Fox has started hiring technical crew members for the second "Avatar" installment. Their contracts are for three to five years, which means that the film won't be ready before 2013.

Since people are already being hired, some have assumed that "Avatar 2" is in pre-production. Not so says MarketSaw. The site confirmed that the sequel will probably hit theaters within 4 years, but James Cameron will likely first make "The Dive," which is about a couple who attempts to break the world record in freediving.

Regarding "Avatar 2," the site says that while the first movie ended with a battle, the sequel will be a full blown war taking place off of Pandora. In addition, some of the parts of the "Avatar" script that didn't make it into the movie, will be used in the second installment.

Source: MarketSaw


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:10:13 PM

*yawn*
HannibalK1ng writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:13:55 PM

woo hoo cant wait!
GIST writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:16:50 PM

What? No cross-breeding between Humans and Na'vis?
gimple writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:17:49 PM

Avatars

This time, it's war
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:22:10 PM

sweet!! sounds interesting
HannibalK1ng writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:23:39 PM

yeah just thinking about it now, with the battle that JC gave us at the end of avatar, a war is going to be amazing! just hope its not saving private jake hahahah
matternm58 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:44:02 PM

it ripped off marvel, it ripped off the nick show avatar, it ripped off the matrix, it ripped off fern gully, and the theme of the movie was done so many times before. "don't kill them, they are people just like us with feelings and stuff" (theme). lol

matternm58 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:45:43 PM

i mean it was a good movie but seriously, to me it's not the greatest movie out there like everyone else claims it to be.

CCBlev writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:50:11 PM

Fascianting
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:51:00 PM

Sam worthing has aids when he becomes a smurf and then they have a giant orgy and gives it to all the rest of the smurfs and then they all die....the end
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:54:06 PM

yay, let's see what more unoriginality they'll come up with!
jdDiedforyou writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:55:32 PM

i saw avatar the other day, if to me it was nothing special. only good part were the battle scenes. thats about it. great, now a second movie that will make more money.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:03:02 PM

yeah the battle scene(s,?) was definitely one of the best parts, and then there's the graphics ...

the film shouldn't get a sequel but it will get a trilogy ..
Eddie writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:07:29 PM

In reference to a lot of the "unoriginal" and "it's been done" comments, what truly is original these days? I would think any movie one would name, including ones I very much enjoy, are recycled plots. Original plots don't really exist but the manner in which they are told does. Just read "Hero's Journey" or Joseph Campbell. All movies use essentially the same formulas when it comes to story telling. Not bashing anyone for hating this movie at all. Everyone has their own taste in movies, I just don't think the "unoriginal" argument can really be applied unless it was something of a total rip off like that one indie company does for every blockbuster (ie. Snakes on a Train following Snakes on a Plane). It's true that the Avatar plot has been done many times. No argument there. And yes, I will agree that this movie gets a lot of unwarranted hype though.
matternm58 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:14:02 PM

i 100% agree with everything you just said eddie
tcu21 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:16:58 PM

@encoreyourface

Yeah, there are 2 billion reasons why this gets a sequel. Sorry, but even you can't deny that. If they could change history, Titantic would have a sequel.

It is possible to enjoy a movie purely for its action elements and I am looking forward to the sequel. The story may have been done before, but it's still acceptable. It's not like the acting was terrible or they did a disservice to previously used out plot.

@matternm58

I fail to see how this is like Avatar: The Last Airbender other than the name.

Avatar was not the best movie of all time, not even the best movie of the year. But I will not say for a second that it was not a great movie.
matternm58 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:25:22 PM

okay well thats what i meant pretty much was the name being ripped off. The nick show Avatar had that name before this movie was a speck of blood in his penis. lol
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:25:25 PM

tcu21-

it's more of a personal opinion, 'cause next thing you know it'll have a city named after it.

i know it deserves a sequel with all the money and publicity made, however it's ... annoying.

and yes the action was pretty good. and I'll admit the world of Pandora was well made.

it's more of the fact that's influencing our culture way more then it should.
matternm58 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:28:03 PM

and i do like the movie just a lot of people are making too big of a deal with it.
matternm58 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:29:08 PM

oh and he couldn't think of another name other than Pandora.
tcu21 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:42:58 PM

@encoreyourface:

I agree but doesn't every popular movie do that?
But then I feel the problem should be with the people who go apesh*t for the movie.
I love Star Wars, but Star Wars nerds are pretty damn annoying.
Twilighters who have Jacob vs. Edward debates make the movies 50% worse. I mean the movies are really bad, but we wouldn't have to deal with them as much if it wasn't for the weirdo fans that accompany it.
I think it's just up to the normal people to enjoy the movie in moderation and let everything else go by.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:04:47 PM

"it's more of the fact that's influencing our culture way more then it should."

You see, I happen to think that humanity has lost its connection to nature, an actual connection to a consciousness that permeates all of life on Earth. I'd say the reason it is influencing cultures worldwide so much is because people have been unknowingly missing that connection and it struck a resounding chord with them.

And yes, I thought this way before I even heard of Avatar.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:07:03 PM

The Dive?! That sounds boring as f*ck!

What we need for Avatar 2 is get Rambo (who was frozen for an event such as this) sent up there to erradicate these Smurfs for not letting us get that ubotanium (or whatever it's called). Instant classic!!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:38:42 PM

Why do we need details in respect to "Avatar 2" anyway?
We know what to expect already, pretty pictures in 3D.

Only this time, the element of surprise that the 3D was for the first, won't be there anymore.

Not excited for this, at all.
vwkombi writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:55:05 PM

Elements i hope they use in Avatar 2:
- Go deeper into the Na'vi culture
- Characterization
- Better acting (with the exception of Sigourney Weaver, who i hope will give a better performance in 2) Note: Sarcasm about her appearing in Avatar 2, not about he great performance in this film.
- A more satisfying climatic fight scene
- Na'vi girl-on-girl
- More dragon rape scenes, the one in the first one made my day
- More ridiculous element names (who didn't laugh when he called it "Unobtanium"?)
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:59:27 AM

Ahhh...

If they leave Pandora... isn't that the very planet all the Avatarts were in love with?

So... if there is no Pandora, and they're depressed out living on Earth... GET THESE GITS SOME KOOL-AID... WHO-HOO!!!!!
Jedimasta writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:14:31 AM

I am curious on how they will leave Pandora... Na'vi don't use space ships :)
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:25:52 AM

Maybe they'll make the human's their Avatards?
FBO writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:30:55 AM

I heard that in the second movie they build a really big ship that the call Titanic and sail to the new world but half way there they hit a chunk of ice and everyone dies as they sink into the murky darkness. It'll be 3 hrs and 14 min long and it'll make more women wet than chaning tatum vacuuming the living room topless whilst holding a baby and reciting poetry.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:01 AM

You SPOILER!!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:09:21 AM

tcu21-

i agree, but this is over the top.

mountain naming, clan building, and even suicide? that's a bit much ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:26:37 AM

Originality, in film, is another word for re-invention. Unoriginality is another word for James Cameron's Avatar.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:30:23 AM

good one
darkknight1985 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:31:32 AM

Hope this won't go the way how Tranformers 2 turned out. More action is good. But hope it won't be too much.
Kurskij writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:16:16 AM

@vwkombi
A more satisfying climatic fight scene?!
Damn, I hope you're being sarcastic.
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:21:25 AM

This is starting to sound and fell like its heading towards a TF ROTF plotline. More Explosions, touching of ponytails and idiotic one-liners making the overall plot of the first movie idiotic and just plain retarted for any fan to follow
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:00:56 AM

i dont f*ckin care. being sarcastic for this: i think im gonna kill myself so i can go to pandora and have sex with smurf lookalikes.
shamusot00le writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:39:09 AM

Warning - Spoilers - Jake's now in his avatar, but he had to pay a price to the sea witch and now has no voice. He has 7 days to make the prince fall in love with him and marry him or he'll turn back into a human, who lives under the sea with a singing crab.. Just saying, if Avatard 1 was Pokahontas, maybe they'll do another disney film next>>>
MattC903 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:26:17 AM

I really want the cross breading in the sequel but "full blown war off of Pandora" has got me sold. I honestly don't wanna see Pandora get attacked in the next one. The first one was emotional enough. I'd like to see Pandora being home base for all of the tribes and most of the movie take place on one of the moons of Pandora.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:00:13 PM

I completely agree on the unoriginality argument. Hell Bill Shakespeare has been ripped of for countless movies and the romantic comedy is basically the same two plots rehashed with different stars. You either get person finds person under untrue circ*mstances, falls in love, other person finds out leaves only to return. Or the person is forced with person they don't like only to find out they are their true match.

no such thing as originality in Hollywood
RandyTheRam writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:18:37 PM

As long as he takes all of the f*cking cliche' writing out of this movie, it may be worth seeing for the story and not just the jaw dropping visuals. Yeah visuals are awesome, but story still matters!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:53:40 AM

I have a good feeling about this... I'm thinking in terms of Aliens right now... I feel like that's the sort of direction he'll take this in
MadHatter writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:13:14 PM

I wonder what Avatar 2 will be like in 2013. Maybe special effects for movies will get even better then it already is now. Could it be, that Avatar 2 will be even better then the first Avatar movie?, might that actually happen?, Although i know special effects is not the only thing in movies, that makes a movie good, theres is also the storyline and actors and actresses. I know it's not all just about the special effects.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved