WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Talks "Ghost in the Shell" 3D Movie

Posted: February 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Talks "Ghost in the Shell" 3D MovieSubmit Comment
Back in October, we reported that DreamWorks has signed on Laeta Kalogridis (Shutter Island, Alexander) to adapt the Japanese manga property "Ghost in the Shell." The plan is to make the futuristic police thriller as a 3D live-action film.

Now, during her promotion of "Shutter Island," several outlets have asked for an update. "I'm writing 'Ghost in the Shell' for DreamWorks for Steven Spielberg," she said. "This is an adaptation of the original manga, the original comic book that sort of began everything."Kalogridis added: "[The movie will have] a lot of action. Lots of action. There's still going to be a lot of atmosphere it is about vast possibilities all of this technology, the Internet it's about the limitless possibilities of this technology."

Created by Masamune Shirow, "Ghost in the Shell" was first published in 1989. It went on to generate two more manga editions, three anime film adaptations and an anime TV series. The second anime film, "Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence," was released in the US by DreamWorks in 2004.

Source: MoviesOnline, ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thedotsays writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 7:08:38 AM

Enough of the 3D for sh*t's sake. GITS is one of the best animes of all time. Sitting alongside Ninja Scroll, Akira. It's so realistic that it could be pulled off as a live actioner. But if they half-ass it as I suspect they would, it will be sh*t and a damn near perfect anime will be seen as live action trash. It's like I don't even want them to even attempt it.
shine2rust writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 7:58:24 AM

Loved the series and the films. Not a manga fan, GITS is maybe the only Japanese animation I truly enjoyed. 3D or no 3d, hope this gets done and they don't f*ck it up.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 9:32:48 AM

3-D Poisoning is getting pretty severe but "Ghost in the Shell" is just truly f*ckin' awesome!! I'm pretty "Boner-y" about this one.
Stuntastic writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:00:10 AM

I think 3-D might actually work for Ghost in the Shell. I loved the movies and series, but as with any other live action anime they will probably f*ck it up like no other. What about a live action NINJA SCROLL?
Peter Parker writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:37:52 AM

Live action Ninja Scroll would be soooo sweeet!! A little like "Ninja Assassin", but better.

Fullmetal Alchemist would make a great movie adaptation, Naruto, Rurouni Kenshin too... but then again, I think of what they did with "Dragon Ball" and I my enthusiasm suddenly disappears.

On a side note, for those of you that enjoy good Anime inspired movies, check out "Shinobi". It's a majestic Japanese production and, if you liked "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" and "Hero", you'll definitely love "Shinobi".
Vin12 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:03:56 PM

if its not 3d the studios'll have a heart attack
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:39:46 PM

I wish Vindy would have a heart attack
SACdaddy writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:49:52 PM

3D doesn't have to ruin a film as long as the director utilizes effectively and doesn't let it get in the way. I could see how it could work very well for an anime inspired GITS film or, better yet, Akira. Avatar reminded me a lot of animes (great visuals and action coupled with questionable plots and acting), so I see why they might be thinking the same for this. I say, bring it on.
gotsghostrider writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:29:15 PM

If they get some small titted bitch to play Kusanagi I will be utterly pissed to no end especially if they f*ck this movie up the ass, which they probably will. On a side note I'd like to see the Hellsing OVAs made into live action
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:40:54 PM

I have no problem with this being live action, I mean who doesn't want to see naked big tittied bitches kicking ass. (With the exception of the fag bunch they would probably curl up in a ball and cry at the sight of a naked woman)
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 7:55:53 PM

yes, please make another 3-D film, that's a plan that will take the audience by surprise. the writer for this is a damn genius i tell you.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:28:54 PM

Yes a live action GITS would work. Personally, I wouldn't mind them going for an unkown to play the title roles because filling it with a name would have them force a well known into the role and really messing things up catering more to the name than to the role itself. Like how they did with Aeon Flux.

As for a live action Ninja Scroll??? Wow this would be the one of the ONLY times I would say it would work with 3D / CGI. I mean the characters in Ninja Scroll are so over the top, you couldn't pull it off convincingly without using CGI. And I would flip to see the scene when the Stone Demon is hurling his weapon through the trees in 3D!!!!
The only thing though is because of the speed of the characters, it would be heavy in the CGI, I would hate to see things slowed down as far as movements and action sequences just because it's live action.

BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:28:59 PM

Yes a live action GITS would work. Personally, I wouldn't mind them going for an unkown to play the title roles because filling it with a name would have them force a well known into the role and really messing things up catering more to the name than to the role itself. Like how they did with Aeon Flux.

As for a live action Ninja Scroll??? Wow this would be the one of the ONLY times I would say it would work with 3D / CGI. I mean the characters in Ninja Scroll are so over the top, you couldn't pull it off convincingly without using CGI. And I would flip to see the scene when the Stone Demon is hurling his weapon through the trees in 3D!!!!
The only thing though is because of the speed of the characters, it would be heavy in the CGI, I would hate to see things slowed down as far as movements and action sequences just because it's live action.

Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:13:16 AM

I'm going to have to check out GITS, I've heard alot about it, but never saw it. Akira I saw, I have mixed feelings on it. But Ninja Scroll is f*cking double f*cking incredible. Peter, that sh*t would make Ninja Assassin look like Bambi.

On a related note, I recently saw the Blood:The Last Vampire live action, I thought (outside of some of the cheesiness of some of the effects) that it was actually much better than the animated original. Not that that statement says all that much.
skooterz writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:39:36 AM

I never really watched or read GITS. I've heard good things, but I'd have to at least watch the anime before seeing the movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved