WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America" Will Begin in the 1940s

Posted: January 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America" Will Begin in the 1940sSubmit Comment
"The First Avenger: Captain America" is getting ready to begin filming in June. And now, director Joe Johnston (Jurassic Park 3, The Wolfman) sat down with Film Journal to give a pre-production update and talk about the plan for the big screen adaptation.

"We're in prep," he said. "Rick Heinrichs is production-designing and we're set up down in Manhattan Beach [California]. It's the part of the process that I love the most. We have eight or ten really talented artists, and we all just sit around all day and draw pictures and say, 'Hey, wouldn't it be cool if we could do this?' It's that phase of the production where money doesn't matter: 'Let's put all the greatest stuff up on the wall and [then later] see what we can afford.'"

Johnston continued: "The film will begin in 1942, 1943 during World War II. The stuff in the '60s and '70s [comic books] we're sort of avoiding. We're going back to the '40s, and then forward to what they're doing with Captain America now."

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Film Journal


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TheHundreds writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 7:55:26 PM

Hallelujah!!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:17:16 PM

Knowing that they're gonna start from the origins is cool, knowing that things are beginning to take shape is cool too but... f*ck THIS!!!

Just let us know who'll play the lead role, already!
Randal Graves writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:20:36 PM

Thank god they're starting the story during world war 2. something tells me that Captain America fighting in Iraq wouldn't be as interesting.
telur writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:33:33 PM

in the sequel Captain Australia is set in 2040 and travel back to present day
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:45:11 PM

Captain America dies at the end!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:46:08 PM

@ Pete I was just wondering to myself "Did I miss the star announcement?" It's crazy shootings starting in 5 months and no one announced to star. I think this film could be great if done right not just from a story point but art direction will be key.

BTW: Was never a Capt America guy. Not that I didn't like him, just never read the stuff.
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:49:29 PM

I'm looking forward to this now that I know its gonna be set in the 40's. I hope they pull everything together for a decent Avengers movie!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:02:10 PM

@ Bale:

LOL! f*ck those spoiler alerts, right?

@ TH3D4RKKN1GH7:

They're making us sweat for this one.
Even if you were never too familiar with Cap's story, I bet you'll quickly get immersed into it, since they're aligning it with the upcoming Marvel heroes movies that'll lead up to the Avengers one.

I do agree with you in the art direction aspect. They need to bump this one up and make it more than just another attempt at a summer superhero blockbuster.
I personally can't wait.
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:09:40 PM

@PP - Made you jump, hahahahahaha! I know you are looking forward to this one, bro. I wouldn't spoil it for you....DOC, on the other hand....I will email the ending to him!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:12:52 PM

im wondering if there is going to be a cameo or a visual of Cap. in IM2...that would make sense as to why we havent heard a cast anouncement yet...i just posted about this article not too long ago hahaha on this site
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:19:45 PM

hey bale dont forget to add dandy on that list aswell
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:23:03 PM

@ bale:

C.O.C. would be disappointed. The only mail he's used to getting is his monthly copy of "Sweaty Sailors Magazine".

@ skate:

Very true. Thanks to your link on the Rip Torn thread, I read this article before WP had it.
Kudos for that!
SofaKing writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:26:52 PM

Doesn't he kill Hitler in the comic book? I never read them so don't crucify me for saying that but I thought I remembered seeing a picture of Cap messing up Das Fuhrer... Even if it wasn't in the comics it would be bad ass in the movie...
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:34:30 PM

@PP
not to mention is weekly mouthfull of MANayze. yeah i saw that on super hero hype, then checked here and it wasnt there...so i posted the link(and your welcome always glad to keep everyone up to date)
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:34:48 PM

POW!!! right in the kisser
Goober3000 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:44:03 PM

It's gonna be James Cameron...James Camerons gonna be Captain America
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:44:51 PM

@skatemaster - .....add Dandy to the list...."Check"!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:50:39 PM

double check hahahah
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:51:15 PM

@ SofaKing:

Very unlikely. Cap's beef was mainly with the Red Skull (the three of them), his longtime Nazi enemy(s).

BTW, with the Spider-Man reboot, it would be easy to align the two stories now, since the third Red Skull was actually the one responsible for the deaths of Peter Parker's parents.
heymynameisgriff writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:05:18 PM

Hmm.. I'm not sure how this will align with the other Avengers movies though. In IM1, CA's shield is on the wall when TS is developing his armour. Will CA just not age from 1940 to present day or something and make friends with TS pre IM1?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:21:13 PM

@griff
no Cap was frozen in a block of ice(or suspended animation) untill present day when the avengers(Iron Man, Thor, Hulk, and Ant Man) unfroze him. he was still alive due to the super soldier serum
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:21:35 PM

@ heymynameisgriff:

Due to the Super-Soldier Serum, Steve Rogers ages slower than a normal human being.
He also had several different shields throughout time. Tony Stark was responsible for one of them.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:37:48 PM

so how old will captain america be in the avengers if most of the other stories are set contemporary? that's weird
SofaKing writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:59:49 PM

Check it out Captain America definately punching Hitler's Lights out!! Or Chrlie Chaplin, its a bad picture...

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/HeroesInSociety/news/?a=5793
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 11:08:44 PM

@ SofaKing:

"Chrlie Chaplin" LOL!

Good find! Cap did have a couple of run-ins against Hitler himself, if I recall correctly. He just never killed him.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:16:39 AM

@hollywood
i wanna say he'll be in his mid to late 20's or early 30's but i could be wrong
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:30:57 AM

i'm quite certain about a year ago this news came out on this site.

spoiler alert:
Captain America gets suspended in ice!

also this is a great idea i think, and i never liked the sixties or seventies Cap all to much, however the 80's and 90's ruled.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:37:22 AM

oh, and if you didn't know he gets suspended in ice, that happened like 60 years ago so ... if you didn't know by now ...
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:39:37 AM

@encore
i will agree with you there my friend. cap was great up until the civil war when he was murrderd. now with the Reborn series im looking forward to o'l rogers picking up the shield once again
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:44:44 AM

@bale - you're assuming COC can read?!

I've heard Neil Fifer was in talks with Marvel (back when)... the unknown choice still rules (sure, give me hell for that tidbit, I don't care...lol). And I don't know why he was on their radar... but was/is?

It is quite the mystery why they're keeping this such a secret.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:50:17 AM

skatemaster-

i agree as well. Bucky was cool, but Rogers has to be cap.also in the current comics is Steve Rogers or the Red Skull in command of his body? i got confused there ...
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:05:40 AM

@encore
yeah that confused me too

@ranger
your asuming that coc is getting on the computer to read anything movie related...i say this beacuse hes been a little busy taking dandy up the ass and daddy in the mouth
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:08:31 AM

yeah i hear he craddles the balls, strokes the shaf, and swallow the graaaavy
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:10:24 AM

lol...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:14:21 AM

CA is a p*ssy. He need steroids to be a superhero, Rip Torn just need a bottle of Jack.
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:18:32 AM

LOL... isn't that the truth!
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:29:17 AM

@ranger
you know it bro
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:58:58 AM

skatemaster- lol!!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:59:29 AM

skatemaster- lol!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:11:45 AM

@encore
thanks i thought it was funny too
telur writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:15:35 AM

basicly is Demolition Man with named Captain America
Star Tard writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:39:22 AM

All right...put your thinking caps on! We are now in Joe Johnson's "Lets throw it on the wall and see what sticks meeting!"

Is it to late for the designers to incorporate some type of hidden drinking flask in Cap's shield?

Picture this...Cap has just kicked the ass of some nazi asshat. Cap could push a button and a small hidden flap could open on the shield! Under the flap is a small metal bottle filled with Jack Daniels or Southern Comfort or something cool like that.

Cap could take a sip, wipe his mouth, and could tell the nazi's to "take a hike" or something like that!!!!

OH YEAHHHHHH!
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 3:47:07 AM

lol... a pissed Captain America running down a hill challenging a division of Panzer Tanks!

Hey...wut u fokkers doin?!
Cnt weh ahl jest git alongh?!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:28:28 AM

is it f*ckin John Hamm or not????
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:59:16 PM

Sounds like it's coming along. Never was the biggest fan of Johnston but after seeing the ads for "The Wolfman" I'm gonna reserve judgement til I see it. When do me get a heads up on who is gonna play "Cap"?
LastActionHero writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:12:10 PM

He should have had a cameo in Inglorious Basterds.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved