WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Breaks $2 Billion Mark

Posted: January 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Breaks $2 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
James Cameron's "Avatar" topped the domestic box office for the seventh straight week, earning another $30 million. The total domestic gross is now $594 million, just $6 million short of the domestic record held by Cameron's "Titanic."

Thanks to foreign sales, "Avatar" has already surpassed "Titanic" to become the highest grossing movie of all time. And now has also become the only movie ever to break the $2 billion mark. The film now stands at $2.04 billion and counting.

Elsewhere this weekend, Mel Gibson's "Edge of Darkness" brought in $17.1 million in second place to open at the high end of expectations. Disney's romantic comedy "When in Rome," starring Kristen Bell and Josh Duhamel, debuted roughly as expected with $12.1 million in third place.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yankster132 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:06:50 PM

dayyyyummm
masKritic writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:09:55 PM

must be nice
Randal Graves writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:23:45 PM

The government should let James Cameron take control of the economy. He would fix it with a movie about the titanic full of avatars.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:24:59 PM

wtf it beat Mel for the number one spot this week,damn jews
dhkenobi writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:31:53 PM

Does anyone even care anymore?
AshTrey writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:33:42 PM

WOW KILLA CAM CALLED THIS! THE TWO HIGHEST GROSSING MOVIES IN HISTORY ARE HIS..

TIP OF THE HAT*
telur writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:34:55 PM

could anyone say or confess to me who's seen avatar twice or more?
lost_addict writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:45:53 PM

avasuck
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:47:51 PM

In a related story:

The avaturds from naviblue.com that have been repeatedly going to the movies to revisit Pandora are planning a celebration party. They promise to make it a wild one, with lots of crazy Na'vi language workshops, insane bodypaiting exhibitions, amazing eco-friendly solutions conventions and, an element they have never experienced before in their lives:

- Women!
goncalodgr writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:57:00 PM

Why guys with twilight images in profile talk about avatar?
Eben1277 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:57:05 PM

Oddly enough however, with an inflated budget of supposedly 500 million dollars, a tWO billion dollar BO gross only generates about twenty five dollars in profits for the studio... I mean correct me if I'm wrong but that wAs the formula they put forward in that post a couple. WeekS ago wasnt it?
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:02:42 PM

I saw the movie 20 times in a row! I waited two whole weeks in the rain and snow to get my midnight showing ticket. In order to do this, I had to give up my position as King in the MidSouth LARP competition that was down the road from my roomates (Mom and Dad) house and also missed out on HamburgerHelper night, where Ma adds in extra SPAM and mayonase for that extra little "zing"! I truely loved Avatar SO much, that I'm thinking of tattooing myself blue and getting leg extension implants, as well as getting a big gay, f*ck-off tail that can plug into my dogs ass! After seeing this movie, I was sure of one thing....I will never get laid and will more than likely be charged more by hookers, since I am incredibly pathetic! Please God, why do we have to live in such a vile place as Earth?!? Maybe if I shoot myself, I will be reborn on the mighty blue planet that the Navi occupy.....*sigh*....goodbye, lowly humans......
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:11:09 PM

I'm so f$&@ing tired of hearing about this movie and @bale01289 that was hilarious
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:15:49 PM

@ bale:

LOL!! Don't lose hope, bud, "Avatar 2" is already in the works...

Let me know if you find a way to get a tail implant, though. I'm always interested in new ways to f*ck women.
Also, I find the prospect that I'd also be able to tail-f*ck animals... worth exploring.
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:21:36 PM

@Jerry - Thanks, bro! I'm not gonna lie, I did see this movie once. In my opinion, the movie was bland and drawn out, but the theatre experience (IMAX and 3D) was fulfilling. 3D was best I've seen, so far, and the CGI (which I'm not a huge fan of) came off pretty crisp and polished. I won't be seeing this again when it comes out on DVD/BR, simply because the story, to me, is not what sold it. It was simply a "I wanna get f*cked up and see something tripy" kinda thing!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:27:03 PM

@bale, I felt the exact same way, all the bright colors and graphics were amazing but that can only carry a movie so far especially with a plot like that
MattC903 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:27:44 PM

congratulations!
the joker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:28:59 PM

Was it just me or was the 3-d in this not that great
MattC903 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:29:50 PM

i saw avatar 3 times, 1 in 2D 1 in 3D and 1 in imax... it got better everytime i saw it.
CCBlev writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:38:31 PM

@pp
you get that tail imagine all the sexual servies you can charge for, you'd make a fourtune my friend!
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:39:48 PM

Tail f*cking = Huge New Fad Amongst Teens. We could pioneer this movement and then get our own movie, staring Justin Bieber as bale01289 and Zac Efron as Peter Parker! The story of how two rag-tag posters on WP took all their hooker and blow money to invest in the future of f*cking, only to find the hardships and strugles ,on the way to the top, were too much to handle! After a night filled with too much PCP and an alcohol infused Gary Coleman, bale01289 decides to split up the dream team and go his own way. Peter Parker, not knowing how to cope, reverts back to his past ways of bare knuckle fighting in the New York underground fight clubs and meets the Woman of his dreams, DOC (played by Lindsay Lohan), only to find out that DOC is bales bitch and Peter must eventualy see his former partner again. A tale of tragity and triumph!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:46:07 PM

duuuhhhhh thats like 75% of the world just gave James Cameron a dollar
CCBlev writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:47:36 PM

@bale
but I get left out :( I wanna be in the movie too and it has to be in 3D
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:59:34 PM

@CCBlev - *rewrite* in a twist of plot, CCBlev, played by Ricky Martin, takes DOC hostage in the OscarMeyerWeinerMobile, holding him hostage for a cash ransom of .50cents, forcing the team of Dynamic Mega Cool, aka bale and Peter, to join forces once again so they can teach the world that DOC is their bitch, and no one elses!
Please understand that I had to cast you as a bad guy, not cause I don't like you, but because the movie studio already has 95% creative rights. By the way, I will go on and announce that the movie, will in fact, be 3D....and I will die at the end *spoiler*
D.O.C. writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:02:00 PM

@bale01289 - I don't want to be the bitch. Give me another role.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:03:25 PM

AH!!! D.O.C. with a renewed sense of humor?
I like that!!!

Took you a while, man!
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:11:06 PM

@DOC - honestly, I AM glad you see the humor in this! Feel free to post things with my name doing strange things to small people or big animals, lol!
*rewrite* DOC has been replaced by Dandy, due to DOCs disagreement with payment. Dandy will be played by Adam Lambert, being that they both look like queens! DOC will surely turn up for a cameo in the movie, as they need a part to fill for Derp88s caretaker on his trip to the free clinic.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:16:21 PM

@ bale:

Looks like you have it all figured out already! Sounds like a winer.

Now all we need is to make it in 3D, we tell everybody that we developed some new technology to make the movie possible, we advertise the movie as being groundbreaking, we make it colorful and pretty and there, we'll have ourselves a $2 billion dollar movie.

It seems that any piece of sh*t can do it nowadays, so we're definitely capable of such a feat as well.
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:22:04 PM

Well....I got 5 on it! Who's with me?
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:24:51 PM

I'm quiting the surgical game tomorrow! I should have been writing movie scripts along time ago! Hollywood, Hookers, and Hash-Pipes here I come!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:28:58 PM

@ bale:

Better yet, use your experience in the medical field and write a credible medical show.
"House" could really use your help by now...
CCBlev writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:29:26 PM

@bale
I dont know mind being cast a villan, as I long as im not killed violently by anal invader a.k.a dandy or stuffed inside lohvags grand canyon
but remember only after a movie has been released for 28 mins can you put out spoliers lol
@pp
Bales got a blockbuster with this one, but the thing is by the 4th movie they'll reboot it because of studio and director creative differances and we'll all be recast with the aid's infested twilight cast
D.O.C. writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:30:16 PM

@bale01289 - It's ok. Since I found it funny I want talk about your grandfather.
D.O.C. writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:31:37 PM

@bale01289 - When you make a sequel I want the lead role.
CCBlev writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:37:13 PM

@doc
whoa whoa, slow it down , you wont be cast as the lead in the sequal you gotta wait till after the 3rd movie then you'll get your own spin off series, patiantce my friend
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:38:07 PM

@DOC - you got it! Lead in the second movie of the trilogy goes to DOC. *hint/ammo for arsenal* My grandfather was a cross dresser and loved midget anal sex!
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:43:04 PM

@PP - since you metioned it, all television medical shows............none of that sh*t ever happens! I chuckle every time I see someone wipe the surgeons brow, lol! There's a small thing called "sterility" that for some reason Hollywood never can seem to carry over into a hospital show! Just sayin.....
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:50:36 PM

@ D.O.C.:

You'll have to settle for being the bitch in the first two installments, you deserve it for being an idiot on the MLK thread.

Now, if you prove yourself worthy, you might just be turned into the former villain who ends up saving the day, kinda like the New Goblin in "Spider-Man 3".
How does that sound?
D.O.C. writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:53:08 PM

@peterparker - Yeah I was seriously talking to you.
mdp711 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:54:10 PM

http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/forbes-avatar-box-office-king.html
D.O.C. writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:54:13 PM

@CCBlev - You got it.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:55:06 PM

off topic but i just finished watching Edge of Darkness and Mel is bad ass, he's back in pog form, EOD should have been number one this week
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:57:02 PM

@ bale:

I know! It reminds me of an episode of "Nip/Tuck", where they made fun of that precisely.
In case you followed that show, I'm sure you you found it funny to see them doing an episode where covered the disregard for sterility those shows usually have.
bale01289 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:58:25 PM

Good topic tonight WP! You gave me a lot to laugh about this evening, but alas, this uncle f*cker has to go to bed, so he doesn't f*ck up and expire some poor bastard tomorrow! G'night, WP friends. When I take my first drink before my first case tomorrow, I will think of all of you =/
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:59:36 PM

D.O.C.:

Well, don't make the same mistake again.
If you can't laugh about things on the Internet with a group of people that share a common interest for cinema, where can you?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 11:01:51 PM

@ bale:

Have a good one.
And stab an old lady for me tomorrow. Tell her it was for her own good!
D.O.C. writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 11:21:36 PM

@peterparker - Pretty much everywhere.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 11:32:18 PM

@ D.O.C.:

Oh really? Try telling those mother jokes around the rest of the family, then.
Let me know how funny they thought they were after.

Note: Use my jokes and the ones from the rest of the gang. Yours won't win you any stand-up comedy competitions.
Vin12 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:10:46 AM

still 26 when adjusted to inflation
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:25:59 AM

wow! surprised me there since like a week ago it broke 1.8 billion mark, didn't think it would EVER break 2 billion. real shocker.
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:52:01 AM

Haven't seen it yet to put my vote in... but am seeing it the week after next (was going to be this upcoming week... but IMAX 3D is still selling-out 3 days in advance).

So people like myself (waiting for thinner crowds - ie: no fat lesbians in the crowd like Rosie O'Donnell), they haven't even seen my $'s yet.

Love it or hate it (or somewhere in between) --- Congratulations James Cameron. You've done it again you crazy, hard to work with bastard!
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:57:04 AM

@Vin - a comment (without taking a shot at you). Good post (seriously). But were you or I, James Cameron, we wouldn't care about that statistic as much as we're counting the $'s coming in.

Anyone affiliated with The Wizard of Oz of Gone with the Wind, are either way too old to care or dead.

It is a worth stat you quoted for conversation, but $'s are $'s TODAY, and that's all Hollyweird cares about.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:58:23 AM

@Ranger i watched it, nothing special. i watched a boot-leg of it (because i will not pay for this franchise) and even then the graphics where pretty good.

also,don't expect to be on the edge of your seat.

James Cameron is a damn genius, i regret that i like a lot of his films because he made Avatar, but he knows how to get the money one way or another (sucking d*cks for special effects or with budget money already given to him)
masht7 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:03:03 AM

Dammit, now Jim Cameron wants to become US President.
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:09:45 AM

@encore - I'm certainly not expecting an original storyline, but am expecting the special effects in IMAX 3D to be pretty amazing. If I get that alone... I'm happy. I don't go into many movie with (usually) ANY expectations.

@masht7 ---- shhhhh, don't give him any ideas!

Oh wait... he can't. He's Canadian.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:15:15 AM

@Ranger-

yeah,it's special effects where definitely the high-light of this film.
bale01289 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:19:21 AM

@Ranger - with mind set like that, you should enjoy. Not a bad time @ the movies, but not good enough for a double dip! Damn you, Mt.Dew for all your caffine and sperm reducing yellow 5!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:26:43 AM

Awesome. The Avatards probably sprayed their lovejuice all over the place when they heard this.
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:31:21 AM

Thx - encore & bale.

I went into Daredevil... no expectations. And when you do that... not a bad movie. Affleck surprised me.

We've had people ask me for a light in the theater. Sitting in the row in front of me - about 12 teenagers - I guess their nattering was bugging their entire theater, that when he asked me for the light, I told him to turn around and shut the f*ck up or I was going to put him and any of his other friends interested into a coma - the whole theater applauded, and surprisingly... they were as quiet as church mice for the rest of the movie.

We've had people eating their burgers out of the wrappers (right in the row behind us). I looked at my friend and asked: 'Are we on Candid Camera?!' Then called them the Clampetts... that was the end of that.

Had some 200 year old f*cker in our row spend 15 minutes trying to dig the last Skittle out of the bag... 'HEY... OLD c*nt! YOU CAN POUR THE f*ckING CANDY INTO YOUR HAND!!!!' - deaf son-of-a-bitch!

So, it takes a bit to get me into a theater. My friends and I have good home theater set-ups. But an Iron Man, or Avatar will get into one.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:53:28 AM

interesting ...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 1:57:14 AM

talking to Ranger of course.

yeah when i went to see Star Trek some fat f*cks wouldn't stop laughing, it made the movie very hard to watch and was pissing me off to no end.

however besides that i don't get much trouble. (i usually wait a week or so to have the hype die down some)
Peter Parker writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:00:37 AM

I like to light farts on fire inside the theater.
But that's just me...
bale01289 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:04:02 AM

I rubbed one out to that blue tiger lady while sittin in Avatar. No one cared!
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:07:40 AM

lol...
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:15:23 AM

I keep hearing how hot Saldana is playing the blue chick in this movie. Should I take some extra kleenex... or wear a condom?! WTF!
bale01289 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:19:34 AM

All I know is that I've been checkin out cats, in a not so cuddly way, since I watched this movie!
bale01289 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:30:01 AM

If only it were the beautiful color blue.........ahhhhhhh
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:31:12 AM

I guess once your screw blue, nothing else will do.
Star Tard writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 2:48:04 AM

3D is the future!

http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/awards__1/awards-501264675-1264993951.jpg?ymfq9mCDcqMxc9yi

:O
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 3:03:59 AM

"What can Blue do for you?"

Ranger - 2.1.10

TRUEMAN writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:30:02 AM

i don`t belive all of this media sh*t in my country the movie only last like 3 weeks on the theater, i think this inf is crap!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 10:55:48 AM

Great Movie but no deservin' of this honor. Oh well, Pulp Fiction is the still the best movie ever made.
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:53:06 AM


Next to 'Tits 'n Clits - 5!'
Eben1277 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 8:47:29 PM

Ranger, very nice. I had a bunch of teenagers talking behind me in Van Helsing, and I turned around said, "Would it be possible for you to shut the f*ck up???" I later saw them in the lobby and and explained to them what stupid f*cks they are. When I saw Meet the Fockers, my friend told a kid who was texting if he saw his cell phone go on again he would break it over his head. This was the same night that the kid in front of my friend was talking and my friend kicked the back of the kid's seat so hard the kid came out of it (when I say kid I mean teenager 16+ punk ass bitch)
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:10:02 AM

twilight is so gay. if you want vampires watch trueblood or daybreakers. those vampires do not SPARKLE.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved