WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: How Long After a Film's Release are Spoilers OK?

Posted: January 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: How Long After a FilmSubmit Comment
Everyone hates having movies spoiled for them, which is why when we write articles we try to be very careful not to reveal important movie plot twists. And even if a film is over ten years old, we'll still put a spoiler alert message. But is that always necessary?

Is it ok to mention what happens at the end of "The Sixth Sense" or "The Usual Suspects" in an article or during a conversation? Both movies are over ten years old, but they also have some of the most surprising endings. I actually have friends who somehow never seen either movie, but would like to eventually watch them.

Some believe that people should be able to speak freely after a film has been released on DVD. But in the case of "Avatar," most people who wanted to see it have already done so, several times. Those who haven't, probably never will. So can I talk about how it ended?

Question: How long after a film appears in theaters should people feel free to talk about the storyline (including the ending) without warning of spoilers?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 61 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 7:43:30 PM

12 minutes
masKritic writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 7:46:31 PM

people should just avoid it in discussion instead of sbjecting themselves to it. i love talking about movie plots and endings. I even dont mind if its spoiled for me.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 7:49:58 PM

The Sixth Sense had a great twist you find out the guy with the hair piece was Bruce Willis all along

She's really Tyler Durden/Keyser Soze/A Man/A Ghost/Dreaming/His sled that would be the ultimate movie twist

what was the spoiler in avatar, that it was sh*t
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 7:59:27 PM

'...the guy with the hair piece was Bruce Willis all along.' --- LOL!

As for the question, I say 27 minutes.
Doc_Brown writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:02:59 PM

Big Daddy dies in KICK-ASS
Doc_Brown writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:03:23 PM

And the boat sinks.......-154 days
TheHundreds writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:04:09 PM

people shouldnt read discussion about a movie if they havent seen it yet.
Lowryder writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:06:37 PM

@ranger, i dont think 27 minutes is long enough, id say 28 is pretty good
bale01289 writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:18:08 PM

I would say that most movies now-a-days are carbon copies of other movies anyways, so what's the big deal? Discuss, brethren....
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:18:18 PM

After thinking about it... 28 minutes IS better (f*cking edit button!).
Aido4258 writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:20:50 PM

I usually don't care about spoilers, I'd rather have a good ending than a sh*t one.
WV-Films writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:48:39 PM

I say 3 years. That's a safe amount of time. If they haven't seen it by then, that's not you problem. If someone can't make time for 2 hours out of three years, that's their problem.
Kid_A writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:53:49 PM

Answer is: Never. It's sometimes bad that a movie is based only on that twist, but the one that watched the movie should tell it carefully to the one that haven't watched it yet. Because it's a very thin line that you can either tell the whole twist and make the movie a sh*t to the one that will be watching it, or you can only say in one sentence "It's a movie about a man helping to a kid about his psychological problems". It's the respect for a movie -any movie- so please no spoilers to the never-watched-before people with that respect.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:54:41 PM

this is f*cking movie news how? i'm pretty sure this isn't yahoo answers.

but to answer the question,if they haven't seen a movie a year after release to DVD (or Blu-Ray), the chances are by the time the watch it they will forget the spoilers told to them, and if not who give a sh*t.
BlueMobius writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 8:57:17 PM

Slow news day, WP?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:02:53 PM

sh*t you guys are generous I was thinking 28 Seconds
Peter Parker writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:24:10 PM

I like to give it away even before the movie is released, just to piss people off.
Sometimes, some people actually thank me, saying things like:

"And that was it? It was all about the f*cking sled?"

... or:

"So all they needed to kill the bastards was water?"

When that happens, and I realize I failed to piss'em off, I insult their mothers. That usually works.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:37:43 PM

Does Big Daddy really die? f*ck, well there goes the ending to that movie.
nope.com writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:39:22 PM

f*ck other people.. its not my fault if you're late
Aingx writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:47:20 PM

I'd say at least 2 months after the dvd has been released.
GeckoBait writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:54:58 PM

I think you should concentrate on not involving too many plot details first. I read your review for Hurt Locker, and I can practically tell you the plot point for point.
DeadwinniePool writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 10:00:13 PM

Spoilers are always welcome while your at the theater watching the damn film.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 10:16:08 PM

iŽd say 28 minutes BEFORE the movie
takai writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 10:31:43 PM

@ Murphy's law -

SPOILER AHEAD



SPOILER AHEAD


yeah he does. at least, he does in the comic, but that's not the actual end. it leads to the finale, but it's definitely not the end.
Matiax writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 10:56:57 PM

I say a year. Oh, and Vader is Luke's father.

@encoreyourface: Yahoo Answers, LOL
Lister writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 11:04:14 PM

How about you stop worrying about spoilers and instead worry about the spam in your forums.
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 1:30:57 AM

You can talk about it all you want, but as long as you give some kind of warning of a spoiler ahead. I think that would be fair considering most people don't see every movie they wan't to in the theatres. A warning would be fare and necessary. Besides, it only takes like 5 seconds to type out SPOILER ALERT.
DeadwinniePool writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 1:51:37 AM

@ Matiax - vader is luke's dad? then it means owen is vader's son too!!!!
rlstein12789 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 2:07:55 AM

first of all i think who ever doesnt want to know what happens at the end of a movie shouldnt be reading through spoilers, its common sense really. And if someone honestly gets angry at someone for ruining a movie 10 years after its been out is retarded.
Star Tard writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 3:21:33 AM

It depends...are we measuring time metrically?
shine2rust writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:02:15 AM

In the case of Avatar? How would you be able to spoil the most predictable movie ever?
AshTrey writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:29:59 AM

I say a solid 3-6 months.. depending on the greatnss of the movie.

Ex: Telling someone the end of The Hangover without a warning... is kinda expectable at this point. It was a great movie that came out 6-7 months ago. If you havent seen it or know the ending. suck a d*ck.
pomme writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 5:32:44 AM

we can spoiler a twist or an end after the first time played in TV or even never when it's too good like "the 6th sense"

and what is the twist in Avatar? after 1/2 hof movie,we can tell the story(Pocahontas)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:25:42 AM

That all depends on the twist and on how good the film is. When the twist is the movie (say "the Sixth Sense") the more important not to spoil anything. However, if a person hasn't seen the movie, even though they had ten years, well, f*ck them.
JPC writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:38:24 AM

Man!! Vader is Luke's Dad!!! Next someones going to claim that ship in Titanic does'nt make to New York. Too soon.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 10:56:32 AM

Sooooo...I guess that means I can post spoilers here and everyone who hasn't seen the movie will be fine with that, right?
kevcampbell writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 11:09:25 AM

never
Eben1277 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 12:36:10 PM

I'm not sure if anyone mentioned this yet, I'm in a hurry and only skimmed the comments, but lately the studio's have been releasing spoilers before the movie even comes out. What used to be a coming attraction now basically gives you a breakdown of the entire movie and most of the good parts in about 2 minutes.
julia2030ce writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 1:41:15 PM

I do not belive in spoilers! If the movie is good even the most revealing spoiler will not ruin it! I have seen the Departed a dozen times and adrenaline still pumps through my body during the final scenes of the movie.
Maybe its just me... I mean I do like to read the end of a book before I have even started it...
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 2:24:33 PM

I'd say a year is pretty good. After that, people who haven't seen the movie should avoid message boards if they don't wanna be spoiled.
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 2:36:33 PM

let's put it other way: "how... is it f*cking ok to ruin a movie for smb. if poor bastard didn't ask for it"?
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 2:38:41 PM

^edit: if it happens during a conversation.
If it's a message board then we have two options:
1. write "spoilers ahead" for the one giving
2. think before you read it for the one receiving
triggax writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 3:29:36 PM

I LOVE spoiling movies for people... Except telling someone what happens at the end of The Hangover, or transformers or some gay sh*t isn't really spoiling anything...

Spoiling a movie is really reserved for the likes of The Sixth Sense and so on...

I've got a fantastic spoiler.. Because I read the book...
Im really stoked for shutter island.. and guess what the spoiler is!!!! DiCaprio is the crazy patient thats missing... hes actually elias koteas' character in the film and hes just crazy and living out a fantasy life of a detective... now THATS a f*cking spoiler.. I hope all of you read that...
triggax writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 3:33:02 PM

Oh and the new batman movie... The ending, it turns out that the entire film was a dream and it was all actually a giant gay orgy the entire time.. and ranger was on the bottom..

theres a spoiler... i got that from the sun so its credible trust me..
Ranger writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 3:34:03 PM

Bullsh*t!

I'd be on top... you'd be on the bottom!

triggax writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 3:38:41 PM

false...

I wouldn't be in the pile... I would be down the block f*cking copious amounts of white women and drinking malt liquor.
moviefanatic121 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 3:50:54 PM

NEVER EVER
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:05:02 PM

@Triggax: If that's true, you just gave me a big spoiler. However, you weren't the first. It's pretty clear once you read a preview or watched the trailer, that DiCaprio's character is the crazy one. Good job trailer-editors, good job indeed.
thebreach writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:23:20 PM

it would would nice till 4 weeks after, but like that's ever going to happen. if you don't want it spoiled close your ears or avoid discussion about the movie. that's probably the best you can do
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:42:48 PM

As soon as you download it.
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:55:02 PM

*spoiler* AVARTAR SUCKS
Lulupendragon writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 5:19:31 PM

I always ask if they want to know how it ends. I guess I'm just nice that wat. ^_^
Ranger writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 5:46:48 PM

@trig - and leave your wife all alone like that?

Shame on you.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 6:09:16 PM

finally watched the Sixth Sense after reading this article (i was one of those people who waited a while ...)

f*cking great movie, however i figured out the surprise ending about 5 minutes or so before it was explained ... still, probably on my top
ten list.

triggax writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 7:10:19 PM

Yeah fruedian.. Thats exactly what happens.. And if you're smart... well.. its a lot easier to figure out reading the book because you're reading the names.. so DiCaprios characters name is Teddy Daniels and the bat sh*t crazy inmate played by Elias Koteas is named Andrew Laeddis..

So, Edward Daniels is an exact anagram of Andrew Laeddis... Hows that for a spoiler... They basically just let him act out these detective stories in his mind... To see if it helps with the progress of his therapy and sh*t... Seriously go see the movie though, best book ive read in a long f*cking time... So with scorsese helming, its going to be f*cking good...
triggax writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 7:11:11 PM

MAJOR SPOILERS ABOVE...

HAHA..
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 7:38:26 PM

wait the balding dude in "The Sixth Sense" was Bruce Willis!!! holly f*ck!! where the hell have i been!! what a shocker. i coulda swore it was keven bacon


skatemaster62 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 7:40:29 PM

hey everyone, you should check out this article from SuperHeroHype.com about "The First Avenger: Captain America" really good article


http://www.superherohype.com/news/captainamericanews.php?id=9030


goncalodgr writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 8:56:24 PM

Why is the ending of unusual suspects is surprising? everybody knows after 15 minutes the movies begins that is the handicaped!!! Is always!
pleshy writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 9:13:32 PM

I personally think that there should always be a spoiler warning. People can discuss the ending of movies all they want, the spoiler warning doesn't get it the way of that it just helps people that don't want to get spoiled.
KindredMac writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:13:24 AM

I've always used the rule that if you can watch the movie on FX, AMC or ABC Family... then you deserve to have a good movie ending spoiled if you haven't seen it at that point.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved