WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Forbes Magazine's List of Biggest Flops of Last Five Years

Posted: January 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Forbes MagazineSubmit Comment
Forbes magazine has put together a list of movies that it considers the biggest flops of the last five years. Topping the list is Sean Penn's "All the King's Men," while Eddie Murphy made the list twice with "Imagine That" and "Meet Dave."

The magazine said that it looked at movies that featured big-name stars and failed to earn back their budgets at the box office. No DVD and TV sales, or advertising costs were included.

Forbes added it was surprised that "Evan Almighty" didn't make the list. Even though the film was a huge disappointment for Universal Pictures, it missed covering the production budget by only 1%.

Top flops of the last five years:

1. All The King's Men (Budget: $55 million, Box Office: $9 million)

2. The Express (Budget: $40 million, Box Office: $10 million)

3. Stay (Budget: $30 million, Box Office: $8 million)

4. Grindhouse (Budget: $67 million, Box Office: $25 million)

5. Imagine That (Budget: $55 million, Box Office: $23 million)

6. The Fountain (Budget: $35 million, Box Office: $16 million)

7. The Invasion (Budget: $80 million, Box Office: $40 million)

8. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (Budget: $30 million, Box Office: $15 million)

9. Walk Hard (Budget: $35 million, Box Office: $21 million)

10. The Love Guru (Budget: $62 million, Box Office: $41 million)

11. School for Scoundrels (Budget: $35 million, Box Office: $24 million)

12. Land of the Lost (Budget: $100 million, Box Office: $70 million)

13. Meet Dave (Budget: $60 million, Box Office: $50 million)

14. Aeon Flux (Budget: $62 million, Box Office: $52 million)

15. The Producers (Budget: $45 million, Box Office: $38 million)

Source: Forbes, FilmJunk


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:24:13 AM

yeah that should just some up most of the sh*t films, however i noticed Avatard wasn't on there, what's up with that?
leezy84 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:46:54 AM

a wonder why ? maybe its the biggest grossing film of all time.
darkknight1985 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:54:20 AM

Too bad that Aronofsky's Fountain is there. That film delivers greatly on an intellectual level and does not deserve to be here.
But hey, When was Hollywood ever fair, remember Firefly.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:56:27 AM

@leezy84-

"a wonder why ? maybe its the biggest grossing film of all time."

yeah but it's a special case.
ifakos writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 6:37:50 AM

you're a special case
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 7:33:05 AM

Many of those films don't deserve to be there. And I still won't consider Land of the Lost like such big of a flop (it still earned 70 mill)
pnkntndr writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 7:38:00 AM

It's a flop because it spent $100 million. Yes it made more then a lot of these cost but they're still out $30 mil.
pnkntndr writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 7:38:52 AM

I thought Stay was really good. I don't think I heard of it until it came to dvd though.
tcu21 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 9:18:28 AM

Walk Hard is pretty underrated as well. John C. Reily totally killed that part haha.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 9:54:21 AM

I noticed Will Ferrell is connected to a few of these.

A coincidence, I think not.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 9:55:58 AM

I'm still in denial that Grindhouse did so poorly then... Stay... a VERY under rated movie....and The Fountain was such a great movie i just i feel so bad at how poorly it did in the BO, school for scoundrels doesn't even matter considering The Hangover made $467 million world wide... Todd Phillips had the last laugh...
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 9:56:21 AM

The Adventures of Pluto Nash still reigns supreme I guess.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 10:34:37 AM

Yeah I can agree most of these are sh*t movies, not all but most.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:28:22 AM

the fountain lost 19 millions
the invasion lost 40 millions

why the f*ck is the fountain higher?
Wallace writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:52:44 PM

What about Stealth?
Budget: 135 Mio.
Box Office: 76 Mio.
Wallace writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:57:10 PM

A sound of Thunder
Budget: 80 Mio.
Box Office: 11 Mio.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:16:23 PM

@Wallace: Wow, didnt know Stealth was such a flop. I really liked that movie for some reason. Probably had something to do with Biel bikini scene.

Most of these films definitely deserved to lose money, but I was sorry to see Grindhouse (just too long), The Assassination of JJ(same prob as Grindhouse), and The Fountain (completely over the average moviegoer's head) not at least make their budgets back. The Fountain may not have been a financial success but if you've ever dealt with seeing a love one die from cancer you'd know how special this movie truly is. Aronofsky is easily one of the best directors to come along in the last 20 years.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:21:37 PM

"Stealth" and "A Sound of Thunder" both came out in 2005 and I was thinking: "Maybe the list was made counting from 2006 onwards only".

But then I noticed, "Aeon Flux", "Stay" and "The Producers" all came out in 2005 too.

Looks like someone at Forbes was incompetent at putting this list together.
Wallace writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:47:29 PM

@ SACdaddy: 100 % agreed, couldn't have said it better.
Matiax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:55:26 PM

Lohag's tits
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 2:23:17 PM

@Wallace - good eye on Stealth. And I didn't even hear of 'A Sound of Thunder.' Stealth was OK for mindless, upgraded, fictional Top Gun fare. Would an A.I. machine really grow into loyalty and sacrifice itself? Good road to go down and think upon.

@Ricky - it's lists like this and a prev. one posted here on WP (of actor's - how much they're paid vs. how much they bring in), that it they're smart will see QUICKLY how OVER paid Ferrell is and chop that pay down to size. He's a $5mil. a movie actor, not f*cking $20mil!

@PP - these Forbes lists are a huge joke! Just as big is their Hollywood Power List. They miss people from that list (people the public may not know) left and right. So a grain of sale on anything with Forbes attached to it. I think it's running on momentum, and it's not the powerhouse it was when the old man was alive and well.

PS: I think Ferrell is great as a supporting actor: Old School, Wedding Crashers... etc. Even in Roxbuy, Katan acted circles around Ferrell. Want to see him in a good drama - 'Winter Passing' (2005). But even he is honest enough to admit running around yelling like an idiot is where the money is (almost a direct quote). Too bad the fans don't expect/demand more from this guy. He should go into drama. It worked for Tom Hanks.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 2:25:47 PM

Jesse James was a GOOD movie. Maybe too gritty and realistic and too close to the truth for people to see an outlaw/Hero (to some) portrayed in real light. Pitt was his usual amazing (as was everyone in it).

And Love Guru even making $41mil. before word got around that it sucked, tells of what star-power Myers had, and the loyalty of his fans. The ONLY good thing about that movie was Alba (to look at), and Timberlake's performance... top notch!

The rest sucked farts out of dead cows!
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 2:31:48 PM

Same as all the King's Men. Great story and acting. But same as Jesse James... no Transformers.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 2:58:24 PM

"these Forbes lists are a huge joke! [...] and it's not the powerhouse it was when the old man was alive and well."

- Tell me about it! I have a business relationship with three of their consultants and they're complete morons!

The only thing that's holding up that company at this point is the name and the paint on the walls.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 3:20:35 PM

Yep... running on steam for sure since the old guy died.
BigUnit writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 3:57:53 PM

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford - was a pretty damn good movie, should have won best picture in my mnid, and as for the only other movie i liked on this list, the Fountain, I'm surprised it made that much lol it was a good movie but i felt like i was the only one who watched it on this planet...
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:09:30 PM

I totally disagree with you...

As good as Jesse James was it had absolutely no f*cking pacing to it.. it was a god damn mess for the most part.... And to say it should have won best picture of No Country, or There Will be Blood or f*ckin Michael Clayton is just plain retardation...
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:11:03 PM

of = over

f*cking edit button mother f*cker
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:20:40 PM

@trig - I see your point, and no argument here.

Maybe Brad was a bit heavy on portraying the facts (almost doc*mentary in style), and less art(sy).

Still, ballsy of him to bring a story of substance over 90 mins of explosions. For that, I give him a lot of credit.
SofaKing writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:28:04 PM

This is just Box Office so says the article... I bet most of these break even or maybe even turn a profit with DVD and Blu Ray sales. The only one of these I saw in the theater was Aeon Flux but I have rented or bootlegged the rest.
BigUnit writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:48:03 PM

no way triggax, the plot, story, omg and the narration, it doesnt get better than that, its called art. maybe you should look into it. or maybe you were just to big of a retard to get the movie. idk.
BigUnit writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:50:23 PM

and yes i would say it should have won over no country and over michael clayton all f*ckin day lol.
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:52:46 PM

Hahah...

That must be it.. It had nothing to do with the fact that they left the entire narrative up to the jarring cinemtography.. That film was a f*cking joke wrapped in sh*t wrapped in a pretentious stew of artsy garbage...

But hey.. the guy with the f*cking Wolverine avatar is probably miles more credible a source when it comes to film... f*ckin idiot..
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:53:41 PM

No Country didn't win because it f*cking terrified every single viewer!!!
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:57:43 PM

No country did win though.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:08:17 PM

I was distracted during that post trig (phone)... sorry.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:08:31 PM

Mis-typed.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:09:08 PM

Video hasn't disturbed me like that since seeing: 'Date Night with Vin and Daddy!'
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:18:41 PM

You actually saw their date night you must be traumatized for life from that.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:32:37 PM

Oh, don't even get me started! The nightmares will return (hypnosis or not)!
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:46:15 PM

Forbes Magazine's List of Biggest Flops of Last Five Years ---- what... Lohan's tits aren't listed?!
lost_addict writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:56:29 PM

that pauly shore's mom movie will top them all
Wallace writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 6:26:30 PM

Damn, we forgot about Simple Jack!
BigUnit writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 8:13:44 PM

triggax your an idiot lol enough said.
BigUnit writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 8:14:00 PM

you dont know sh*t about movies.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 12:24:56 AM

Trigg-you changed your avatar, f*ck u Wolverine you dont know about movies lol
BigUnit writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 5:54:11 AM

I guarantee I know more than any of you, unlike the most of you, my job entitles me to it.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 1:38:59 PM

okay if you know so much then answer this, in charlie Chaplin's film the Kid what did he keep doing behind the scenes?
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 3:28:48 PM

He masturbated.
triggax writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 5:26:22 PM

Yeah again like I said... YOU are the f*cking idiot... Wolverine f*ckin queer... You're the most inarticulate, illiterate f*cking fool floating around WP.. Nobody ever gives a sh*t what you have to say about f*cking anything because its difficult to understand your stupidity half of the time.. You f*cking moron...

Like I said, you have absolutely no credibility what-so-ever... Your f*cking queer little avatar speaks miles on your character and how much you actually know about films.. And obviously if you think that Jesse James deserved a win you're completely f*cking clueless...

"I guarantee I know more than any of you, unlike the most of you, my job entitles me to it."

I can tell you that, working at f*cking blockbuster stocking shelves gives you absolutely no cinematic merit.. f*ck head..
triggax writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 5:34:28 PM

"triggax your an idiot lol enough said."

Really? "Enough Said" what are you f*cking 6? Jesus Christ, its like arguing with a f*cking down syndrome baby... Enough said... f*ck you, why is it that, that's enough said? Me being an idiot... Ooh you're so f*cking cool Big Unit, your an idiot, Enough said.. look at me its almost like my sentence had a stammering ending that nobody could ever possibly come back at... Ill give you one better f*ck face..

Big Unit, You're a faggy little blockbuster queer with a security issues over your penis size.. obviously, i mean why else would you call yourself Big Unit? Huh.. Thats like walking around with a strap on hanging out of your pants telling everyone "its my c*ck, no for reals guys thats my c*ck" f*cking stupid *sshole... Don't you f*ck with me you putrid little f*cker... You want to have a battle of wits and speak knowledge of film f*ck face.. I would pulverize you...

Tell me this, if you know so much about film.. What was James Deans first credited movie role.. Im sure its irrelevant because your stupid f*cking retarded ass will just go google it.. but at least if you can't answer that "you'll" know you're a f*cking dildo... oh yeah... PERIOD!
triggax writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 6:12:51 PM

@lazerus...

f*cking a 15 year old girl? Hetty Kelly i believe?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 9:43:45 PM

Of those 15 movies I've seen 7, and of those 7, 3 of them were terrible. Walk Hard isnt bad, but it had one of the worst trailers for a movie ever because it was pretty damn funny but had no funny parts in the trailer. The Producers, Grindhouse, and The Assassination of Jesse James are all great (esp. Jesse James, best movie of '07).

Still cant believe Land of the Lost cost 100 million bucks, thats ridiculous.
OneTime writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 10:08:42 PM

the fountain was good..too bad
blinkbomber writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 6:17:00 AM

i think the fountain is a little more than about a guy losing his loved one to cancer, and thus should/could be a truly special movie to anyone with a mindset above "the average moviegoer."
Eben1277 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 1:15:29 PM

How the f*ck did Aeon Flux make more than Grindhouse???
Eben1277 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 1:27:30 PM

Trig, new avatar is nice, but the old really reached out and grabbed you a little more...

Big Unit, if your actual name is Randy Johnson, please disregard Trig's disparaging remarks about your penis size and it's affilitation with your user name. If not, he does make a valid point that you may want to rebut. And I know I used point and but in a sentence about penis size, but I promise it was not a pun or joke of any sort.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 5:49:37 PM

triggax-

f*cking hilarious!!
halostingray87 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 6:59:25 PM

"But hey, When was Hollywood ever fair, remember Firefly"

Do you really have to go there?? Opening up wounds that will likely never heal!!! :'(

and The Fountain was definitly a brilliant film... too band 1/4 of the country is retarded.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:19:41 AM

grindhouse was great and i dont give a sh*t about blue penises

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved