WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

China Renames Mountain After "Avatar"

Posted: January 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
China Renames Mountain After "Avatar"Submit Comment
Chinese officials claim that photographs of their Zhangjiajie mountains were used in James Cameron's "Avatar" film to portray the floating Hallelujah Mountains.

The country claims that a Hollywood photographer visited the area in 2008 to take the pictures of one of the mountain, and as a result, the Chinese government has now officially renamed that mountain from "Southern Sky Column" to Avatar Hallelujah Mountains in hopes of boosting tourism.

In addition, the municipal government website has also started using the slogan "Pandora is far but Zhangjiajie is near" as a way to promote tours of the locations which allegedly inspired the film.

China's active internet users quickly took to the net to voice their opinions, stating that they oppose the idea of renaming the mountain because of a movie. But that's not stopping the government from cashing in on the success of "Avatar."

Source: WSJ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:59:37 AM

China should get a life.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:25:58 AM

f*cking Avatar is always thinking of new ways to piss me off.

I've said it before an I'll say it again, this franchise marks the end of time.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:29:36 AM

Probably...

Cameron will ask China for a cut of their increased tourism.
China will tell him to go suck it!
James hires an Army.
WW III
2012... we're all toast!

f*ck YOU JAMES CAMERON!!!
f*ck YOU ALL TO HELL!!!!!
Preditorian writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 6:08:57 AM

Whats next? Oh that forest looks like a scene from Avatar! Lets rename it. Someone needs to roll out there wanker and slap China in the face with it.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 6:20:26 AM

@ranger

"China should get a life."

Don't they already have like 2 billion...maybe they should slow down a bit
Nekros22 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 7:50:18 AM

Pfff, the Chinese exploiting the success of others to increase the power of their Marxist, military regime?

It'd never happen
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 8:53:09 AM

A mountain names after "Avatar"?
What did they call it, Mountain Bluesh*t?
Mountain Unoriginal?
Virgin's Peak?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 10:40:20 AM

I wonder if they thought about nameing it

Mount St PapaSmurf
Bluecat mountain
Suicide Ridge
Mount Animalrape
Hippie Haven
Ihavenolifehills
or
Mount St AVATARD
CCBlev writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 10:58:58 AM

Yay
Now all the f*cking lowlife obsessed blue Na'vi wannabe's all now have place to live and commit mass suicide, now lets fly em all the f*ck out there and kill themselves so their spirits can float to Pandora
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:23:20 AM

those mountains are from a japanese anime called "Soul Hunter".
rocketman writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:23:22 AM

They want to rename Tianaman square to Tank sqwashing plaza,that will bring the money in.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:23:43 AM

the mountains from Avatar not the Chinese ones
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:24:24 AM

if they want to get tourists to see their mountains then call them: "Mountains that look like Boobs"
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:26:44 AM

... wait, wait, first we butt-f*ck the living crap out of the good looking tree-huger chicks, THEN we fly'em out to Smurf Peak.

... that is, assuming there are any chicks in those groups.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:28:52 AM

"Mountains That Look Like d*cks" would be more appealing to hardcore avaturds.
TheHundreds writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:46:30 AM

Didn't china ban avatar?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:53:35 AM

china is a nerd and will never have a girlfriend now
Eddie writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 11:57:08 AM

From a public administration perspective this is a smart move. Increasing tourism like this has worked in the past and can bring a big boost to local economies. Doesn't affect me either way, so I could care less though. Big hyped up movies like Avatar always draws an equally large group of haters. I am in no way an avatar junkie, but my one viewing of it was entertaining and visually stimulating. So I can't hate on it. As for sequels and such, that does sound dumb. A story like that has no need for a sequel. Cameron should just move on to the next project.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:37:04 PM

Eddie, the haters you mention probably hate the attention surrounding "Avatar" more than the movie itself.

The movie isn't bad, some people won't like it much, but that's a matter of personal taste.

The hate has to do with the fact that we can't turn our heads without seeing some reference to "Avatar" nowadays. It's annoying and excessive.

That's (mostly) where the hate stems from, and not because of the movie itself.

I watched it, I was able to sit through its 7 hours of film, I enjoyed some parts of it, then I left the theater and would like not to be forced to hear/read about it anymore.
Unfortunately, I have to... and now they're naming f*cking mountains after it!

... f*cking mountains!!!
CCBlev writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:21:45 PM

@pp
Calm down man, breath in and breath out, going crazy like that, you'll be in rehab with Lohvag and Coleman, trust me I've been there, you dont wanna end up there
SACdaddy writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:29:45 PM

@pp: right on all accounts, but people that direct their anger for its overexposure at Cameron just don't make very much sense. The guy made a decent film, its not his fault idiots see it as more than that. At least China's motivations are financially based.
Goober3000 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:50:37 PM

Geezus Ranger can you imagine? Avatar being the cause of WWIII???? Holy sh*t
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 2:01:49 PM

Well China is #1 on the WWIII radar (well, next to radical/splinter factions, countries new to nukes that have little to live for), but it sure as hell isn't the Ruskies anymore.

@TheHerpes - true enough.

@rocketman - yeah, the Chinese always seem to leave out that little black eye called Tiananmen Square don't they?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 2:03:27 PM

@ SAC:

Cameron does have some fault in the matter and he isn't free from criticism. He's the one who promised the cinematic revolution in the first place, and he was a smug bastard for that.

Now, when someone promises to revolutionize the movies industry, and all he delivers is eye-candy, then he deserves a good slap on the wrist too.

Concerning his choices in terms of marketing the movie, the manipulation of legions of fans and the movie itself, I can't really blame him, he's just doing what he proposed himself to do. It's business, fair enough.

Unfortunately, since he's too busy to care about his lie, counting $100 bills while taking a dump sitting on a gold toilet, he's probably not gonna lose any sleep over it.

I just can't stand this blue frenzy sh*t anymore!

And to think my favorite color used to be blue... (sigh)
eddie499 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 3:23:12 PM

"Pandora is far but Zhangjiajie is near"

I'm not marketing expert, but aren't slogans supposed to be easily said to make it sink into peoples' mindset?

This definitely does not roll off the tongue.
eddie499 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 3:24:10 PM

not = no
Eddie writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 4:09:02 PM

Peter Parker - Good points. I can see that the "haters" are more driven from the exposure. That makes sense. But I'd have to say, in the end, it's still just a film. Hollywood does indeed put out a lot of crap, and I tend to just avoid that crap or when I'm unable to just don't revisit it. Same thing with all the remakes. As much of them that sucks, there's always one decent one that comes out of it here and there. I understand reintroducing films to new generations, but some of the old ones still hold up. Okay, I'm going way off base here. Ha ha. I've been visiting this site for some time but only recently registered. Following the comments has been fun and it's neat to see the same users frequenting this site. I finally decided to join in. The majority here seem to be able to have opinions without being overly bashed. And the bashing that does take place is always good for a laugh. I've been involved in independent film for a long time now and have developed quite a thick skin from the critics and such, so to me it's all in good fun anyway. Believe me, I get a kick out of the Avatar jokes. The die hard fans can be quite lame. No one should base their life around an entertainment property. Getting excited and jazzed for something is one thing (which I'm guilty of as well), but to dedicate learning a fictional language and proposing suicide? Wow, that's just dumb. You and Sacdaddy both made some good points on this. Cameron isn't at fault for all the loons following his film. I wonder if Star Wars came out today (A New Hope) if there would be the same backlash from groups who tired of the exposure?

triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:04:27 PM

Go f*ck yourself Eddie...
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 5:05:04 PM

Haha.. Im just kidding.. Welcome to WP, this place is controlled by white people, so watch your back.
duff4444 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 6:13:01 PM

@ Triggax - WHITE POWER! JK
Fixxer35 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 6:29:07 PM

I guess it's fitting, considering Cameron as an ego about the same size as that mountain.
Eddie writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 7:17:02 PM

Triggax - I laughed out loud even before I read you were kidding. Yeah, I think I'm going to like this site. Thanks for the welcome.
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 3:33:49 PM

Trig is a good guy... for a Negro.
triggax writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 7:03:35 PM

f*ck YOU!@!!!!

lol...
Ranger writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 12:46:18 AM

lol...

Took you f*cking long enough to get back to this thread my friend!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved