WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

M. Night Shyamalan Compares "Last Airbender" to "The Matrix"

Posted: January 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
M. Night Shyamalan Compares "Last Airbender" to "The Matrix"Submit Comment
Director M Night Shyamalan spoke to LA Times about bringing "The Last Airbender," the popular Nickelodeon animated TV series, to the big screen.

He said that he first learned about the show from his seven year old daughter. "She made us watch as a family and all four of us were hooked," Shyamalan explained. "I was like, 'This would make a killer movie. And my wife who really has been kind of in neutral about my career was insane about it. Insane about it: You have to do it. This is it. This is the one.'"

He went on to say that studios have been tempting him to direct installments in such franchises as "Harry Potter," but he rejected all of them. And it was the fusion of Eastern philosophies and martial arts in "Avatar: The Last Airbender" that grabbed him. "We get to see the process of someone mastering themselves through the three seasons to get to peace," he said.

Shyamalan went on to compare his movie to such hits as "The Matrix" and "Star Wars."

"In the first 'Matrix,' you realize that what you're seeing is all false," he explained. "Those are really ancient ideas. Basic old, old religion. This has that as well. So if you go on the journey and you'll feel that epiphany on top of a great roller-coaster ride. Itís going to be something."

Click here to read more about "The Last Airbender."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:24:30 PM

so its gonna be a let down. Wow M.Night what a surprise....
masKritic writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:25:38 PM

"You have to do it. This is it. This is the one.'"

Haaha what did his wife say about all of his other dumb sh*t.
nope.com writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:26:19 PM

hmm.. this is the same guy who said that people who "didn't get" 'The Happening' was because that the movie was "too good and shocking for one's own thinking"

.. yes, I literally grabbed the quotes from this hack regarding that piece of trash film
HannibalK1ng writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:28:28 PM

haha The Matrix and Star Wars? get a life bro, after this flop I dont think youll have any other directing jobs, and then his wife will be happy "she has been neutral about my career" and wondering how long she will stay around when your earning minimum wage?
Detrimental writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:28:39 PM

Wow. Wait to hate. You're an imp. Just believe in this movie or es-tee-eff-u. This will own. Everyone loved the matrix and Star Wars.
Detrimental writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:29:50 PM

I notice that there was more than one negative response. Well, you can all, suck 'nads.
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:31:42 PM

His last two movies sucked alot, but since hes adapting a story this time, he might pull this off.
HannibalK1ng writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 6:32:36 PM

Everyone loved the matrix and star wars yes of course, but this aint any of them.... and the movie public can decide if it should be compared to them great movies, not this medicore director
Zalmor29 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:03:21 PM

the show Avatar: the last Airbender is grate so i hope M. Night does a good job on the movie.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:06:57 PM

ok...here is my deal with M. Night....I like his style and I think he does very well trying to be differant and unique. Is first two films are I believe highly regarded as great films. The Village actually is an interesting piece that looking back on is unique and different. The happening sucked balls.

Every director has a sh*tty movie...some more than most. This guy has a decent track record and I think has the ability to do well. Until I see a real trailer I will wait to pass judgement.
dwight writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:51:19 PM

The Happening was a good, cool film. You people above me must be blind, deaf, and stupid.
dwight writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:55:50 PM

Oh and his new movie Avatar looks like its going to kick ass. I know it will be better than that lame movie that came out the other day that shares the same name.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 8:07:14 PM

he is comparing it to the matrix sequels
of their sh*tness
lost_addict writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 8:21:33 PM

stick to trailers with twists
encoreyourface writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 8:29:29 PM

how could any one compare a sh*tty looking film like this to Matrix?
MattC903 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 9:01:57 PM

well I'm gonna see it.
vaodsi writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 11:20:42 PM

Actually... he's right.
Last air bender and matrix and starwars are all inspired by eastern philosophy.
that's all he's saying.. and he's right.
vaodsi writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 11:23:31 PM

He's not comparing his actual film to those others in terms of quality.. just in terms of philosophical content.
It's called reading comprehension!
wonderBOY writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 11:48:49 PM

@ vaodsi
star wars was inspired by kirosawa films
air bender is about asain culture or something never watched it. what does matrix have to do with eastern culture is it the martial arts
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:07:28 AM

I'm actually excited about this movie.

What I've seen so far in terms of script and footage is more than enough to catch my attention.

"The Happening" and "Lady in the Water" were a little hard to swallow, but mostly because he set the bar very high with the ones he did before.

"Signs" and "The Village" were pretty good, "Unbreakable" was excellent.

I hope he doesn't disappoint with "The Last Airbender", because he has a very interesting cinematographic style and it would be a shame to see a good director lose the credibility he still has.
takai writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:10:39 AM

@vaodsi - Good post sir.

@wonderboy - Star Wars was inspired by the films, yes, but not really the philosophy behind them.

The Matrix doesn't have a ton of inspiration from Eastern culture, but the first one especially does show its Eastern inspiration. Remember the dojo fight scene? That whole dialog is drenched in Eastern culture.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:25:05 AM

Of course "The Matrix" had a strong Eastern inspiration!! Those robots? All made in China!!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:26:50 AM

Remember how sh*tty the village was? And the happening sucked major balls and probably one of shamalamadingdongs worst movies. It also had some of the worst acting I've ever seen. Walhbergs facial expression doesn't change throughout the whole movie
takai writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:35:24 AM

While Jerry's statements are true, let's take a look back at Shyamalan's last movie that wasn't a psychological thriller. What is it? Unbreakable. Sure, it was still a thriller, but not a super weird one that tries to twist too much.

This film isn't going to be a thriller at all, and that is why I have hope for it.
takai writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:35:56 AM

I forgot to tag on, "and it was fantastic" to the Unbreakable comment.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 12:57:35 AM

Jerry's statements aren't necessarily true.

"The Village" was a pretty good movie. It had certain subtle particularities in terms of style that may not appeal to all audiences but, in a way, that was the point.

The score played a pivotal part in the movie, almost like a narrator, the slow-paced action did a good job at immersing the viewers in the atmosphere and the symbology in the elements, like Ivy's blindness, the fact that they referred to the creatures as "those we don't speak of", among others, could keep people thinking about the movie long after they left the theater.

Maybe it's just because it involves martial arts but, at this point, I have high expectations for "The Last Airbender".
Over Priced writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 8:38:07 AM

I think this film will be good. There I said it!
*as he ducks for cover*
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 10:29:48 AM

And I'll compare M Night to the fetus I aborted when I was 16.
God I hate this guy.
I love the Airbender series and almost puked a Dorito when I heard he was making a film of it. And I haven't had a Dorito in over 5 years.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 1:50:15 PM

His style is inconsistent. Even parts of Lady in the Water I thought were great, but there were so many missteps along the way that overall it kinda sucked. If he can keep the feel consistently cool and translate whats great about the show to the film, then itll be awesome.
Wallace writes:
on January 29th, 2010 at 3:32:43 PM

Classic case of: you used to be cool, man.
Jensama writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 5:21:53 PM

I too am looking forward to this. Probably will be great even. But there are just things you don't say. Comparing a movie you made which hasn't even premiered yet, to The Matrix? Dude. That's a bit out of your league, Shyamalan.
Silent Assasin 192 writes:
on January 30th, 2010 at 6:20:09 PM

I am a fan of the series and will this movie be anything special no most likely not I will still go see it though although I will have very low expectations for this film
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 11:46:39 AM

@pp, something about the village just didnt do it for me the twist at the end was very unexpected but overall i just didnt enjoy it but on the otherhand i enjoyed sixth sense, signs, and unbreakable(which i think im the only one among my friends who liked it) im a shyamalan fan so im going to give him a chance yet again on this movie but i will probably be really let down. does anyone know what rating this will be? PG?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved