WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

AARP Reveals Best Movies of 2009 for Old People

Posted: January 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
AARP Reveals Best Movies of 2009 for Old PeopleSubmit Comment
American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) apparently has a magazine and that magazine listed the organization's picks of the best movies of 2009 for audiences older than fifty years old.

The ninth annual Movies for Grownups Awards selected Clint Eastwood's "Invictus" as the Best Movie for Grownups and Robert De Niro was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. "Star Trek" ended up on the list as well, but in the Best Movie for Grownups Who Refuse to Grow Up category. "Avatar," the highest grossing movie of all time, apparently didn't impress AARP.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Movie for Grownups:
* Invictus

* Up In The Air
* Julie and Julia
* Up
* Crazy Heart

Best Actress 50+:
*Helen Mirren (The Last Station)

* Ellen Burstyn (Lovely, Still)
* Meryl Streep (Julie and Julia)
* Meryl Streep (It's Complicated)

Best Actor 50+:
* Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)

* Daniel Day-Lewis (Nine)
* Robert De Niro (Everybody's Fine)
* Morgan Freeman (Invictus)
* Viggo Mortensen (The Road)

Best Supporting Actress 50+:
* Kim Basinger (The Burning Pain)

* Judie Dench (Nine)
* Marcia Gay Harden (Whip It)
* Susan Sarandon (The Lovely Bones)
* Imelda Staunton (Taking Woodstock)

Best Supporting Actor 50+:
* Alec Baldwin (It's Complicated)

* Eugene Levy (Taking Woodstock)
* Alfred Molina (An Education)
* Christopher Plummer (The Last Station)
* John Travolta (The Taking of Pelham 123)

Best Director 50+:
* Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)

* Lee Daniels (Precious)
* Clint Eastwood (Invictus)
* Nora Ephron (Julie and Julia)
* Rob Marshall (Nine)
* Nancy Meyers (It's Complicated)

Best Comedy For Grownups:
* It's Complicated

* Away We Go
* In the Loop
* Pirate Radio
* The Informant!

Best Grownup Love Story:
* Meryl Streep and Stanley Tucci (Julie and Julia)

* Helen Mirren and Christopher Plummer (The Last Station)
* Imelda Staunton and Henry Goodman (Taking Woodstock)
* Marcia Gay Harden and Daniel Stern (Whip It)
* Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin (It's Complicated)

Best Documentary:
* The Way We Get By

* Edie and Thea
* A Very Long Engagement
* Gotta Dance!
* The Philosophers Kings
* Still Bill

Breakthrough Accomplishment:
* LeVar Burton, Director, Reach for Me Helming


Best Buddy Movie:
* The Soloist

* The Damned United

Best Intergenerational Movie:
* Everybody's Fine

* The Blind Side
* Taking Woodstock
* Whip It

Best Movie for Grownups Who Refuse to Grow Up:
* Star Trek

* Coraline
* The Princess and the Frog
* The Fantastic Mr. Fox
* Up

Best screenwriter 50+:
* Nancy Meyers (It's Complicated)

* Joel and Ethan Coen (A Serious Man)
* Nora Ephron (Julie and Julia)
* James Schamus (Taking Woodstock)

Best Foreign Film:
* Captain Abu Raed (Jordan)

* The Beaches of Agnes (France)
* For My Father (Israel)
* O'Horton (Norway)
* Terribly, Happy (Denmark)

Source: AARP


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Aleksandar The Great writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 5:43:08 AM

I want to see this The Road the other look sh*t
encoreyourface writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 5:54:40 AM

The Road does does look really cool.
lost_addict writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:00:50 AM

no revenge of the fallen?no rise of the cobra?

oh,wait,my bad...these belong to the American Association of Retarded Persons
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:19:28 AM

REALLY? STAR TREK?! over UP? a movie about an 70 year old man wanting to travel be color balloons? I didn't think "old people" could handle Star Trek... oh & i love how Old Dogs didn't make the list...
whoever writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 7:49:45 AM

" Kim Basinger (The Burning Pain)"

Alex, while I think Kim getting a burning pain unsurprising you should change to plain. And now over to Ranger and Mink to follow on, can I suggest the burning pain she got was from that last steamy night of STD swapping she had with Gary Coleman!
Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 8:46:38 AM

The Road was amazing- I had to drive a couple hours to see it as it was limited release, but it certianly had it's crap down tight. Wasn't perfect, the only thing the guy directed before was The Proposition. My only complaint was that there was too much action compared to the book. Still, a fine movie.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 8:47:55 AM

And it had Viggo in it- Seriouisly, can you go wrong with Viggo???
Peter Parker writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 8:48:51 AM

Best movies of 2009 for old geezers...

... and "Brickhouse Butts" didn't make that list?
Someone needs to be fired!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 10:50:48 AM

But I heard that "Raisins for Prunes" was an early runner-up.
SamuelClayton writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 11:25:08 AM

And of course they chose Invictus, the most BORING of the nominees, as the "Best Movie for Grownups." Old people just can't stop worshipping Clint Eastwood.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 11:26:48 AM

Let me see if I got this right. Since I went to see (and enjoyed) Star Trek, Coraline and Up, that means that I and still trying to be a kid?

What kind of f*cked up sh*t is that?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:06:21 PM

Kim Basinger for The Burning Pain??? OK so someone tell me how someone made a Lohan biopic and it totally snuck under the radar???

@Ranger: sir, I see the joy in Lohan bashing.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 1:16:13 PM

It's even more fun to do it with her with a shovel and her face (or as she calls it: 'Just another Friday night!').
encoreyourface writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 2:47:30 PM

yes, know we know what to watch when we are 70+ and in are in our deaqth beds waiting for the final blow, thanks AARP.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 2:48:50 PM

actually if you are waiting to die, watch anything with Eddy Murphy in it. that'll end it quick, but horriblly painful.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 8:13:51 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved