WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Hanks Developing a Film About Pauly Shore's Mom

Posted: January 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Hanks Developing a Film About Pauly ShoreSubmit Comment
Tom Hanks' company Playtone Productions is currently developing a movie based partially on the life of Mitzi Shore, who happens to be the mom of actor Pauly Shore (Encino Man, Bio-Dome).

But Mitzi was more than a mom of a terrible actor, she also founded LA Comedy Store, the place where many famous comedians got their start. On that list are David Letterman, Jay Leno, Eddie Murphy, Tim Allen, Bob Saget, Chevy Chase, Jim Belushi, Jim Carrey and many others.

The new movie is based on William Knoedelseder's nonfiction book "I'm Dying Up Here: Heartbreak and High Times in Stand-Up Comedy's Golden Era," which focuses on the years around 1978 when Mitzi decided to stop paying comedians for their stand-up performances.

The Comedy Store became a training ground for many talented people and it also created a fortune for Mitzi. While she was living large, the people who got her there were living in their cars and surviving on fast-food condiments.

Eventually things came to a head when the comedians decided to strike. Things took a tragic turn when comic Steve Lubetkin was prohibited from performing at the club during the strike. He responded to this by committing suicide by jumping off a hotel across the street and leaving a suicide note that read: "My name is Steve Lubetkin. I used to work at the Comedy Store."

Source: Pajiba


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:35:57 PM

i could probably survive off of sonics buttermilk ranch
Sizz Jandwhich writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:44:44 PM

^word
Peter Parker writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:45:54 PM

"Tom Hanks Developing a Film About Pauly Shore's Mom"

- So, it'll be a movie about prostitution?
matternm58 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:48:04 PM

Wow that is completely random.
stevethemoviehater writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:07:48 PM

lets keep things random... so what does everyone think about the ipad
grizzle writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:14:41 PM

hahaah sizz jandwhich nice...ummm yeah worstpreviews your proofreading is pathetic
Gates writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:23:30 PM

But Mitzi was more than a mom of a terrible actor

LOL!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:42:11 PM

for some reason I read "Tony Hawks developing a film about Paulie Shore's mom" I thougt...wait what? I am he only one?
Goober3000 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:44:36 PM

I am he the only one....i think I just lost the last bit of brain I had left.
lost_addict writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:55:36 PM

sounds like 'Avatar' won't last much longer as the top grossing movie of all time...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:05:54 AM

So she was a cheapskate. How classy.
matternm58 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:13:37 AM

Ipad is complete waste of time and money. i hate every object with I in front of the "sub-name" actually everything apple.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:19:23 AM

"i hate every object with I in front of the 'sub-name'"

- What if it's a hot, huge breasted chick with a t-shirt saying "I f*ck on the first date"?
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:30:28 AM

I didn't even read the article. I only stopped by because there's a kid pissing in GW Bush's face to my right. WOW!
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:34:02 AM

So, it'll be a movie about prostitution? --- LOL!
BlueMobius writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:35:58 AM

This film could be seriously amazing. Interest = piqued.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 1:18:29 AM

I knew there was a douche-gene!
vaodsi writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 1:55:53 AM

steve...
ilike the ipad. a lot. although ithink it should have been called the islate cause itampon sounds lame....
it's obviously a first gen so it is kinda barebones... but i think it has a lot of potential. i won't buy one right away... but when the upgrade comes out with a multi-task system, camera, flash, pezz dispenser, coffee maker, soda fountain and toilet paper roll, i will buy it.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 2:09:43 AM

didnt pauly shore die. I saw a movie saying he did.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 2:12:34 AM

He's not dead. He moved into a cardboard box 2 alleys over.
jdl107 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 4:06:42 AM

"I am he the only one....i think I just lost the last bit of brain I had left."

Sure you ever had one?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 4:31:19 AM

so the bitch (Pauly Shore) helped give Eddy Murphy his start? how could she!? how could a person with any sort of regard for human life, cast such a curse on human society that is Eddy Murphy!?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 4:32:18 AM

also that guys name was Steve LUBEtkin ... if you say it fast it sounds lubed kid!!
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 4:49:07 AM

@jdl107
Hey dude, are you smokin crack? or were you just born a dumbass?
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 4:56:49 AM

I think the movie should be called "The best part of Pauly ran down my leg"
BigUnit writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 10:35:51 AM

wow is this story true lol
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:03:16 PM

Better at making comedians OUTSIDE her womb.
GIST writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 2:09:25 PM

@BunnyFooFoo

Tell that to Pauly's dad.

"You're better off keeping them in your nutsack."

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved