WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Ritchie Abandons "Lobo" for "Sherlock Holmes 2"

Posted: January 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Ritchie Abandons "Lobo" for "Sherlock Holmes 2"Submit Comment
Robert Downey Jr has previously revealed that he will only focus on "Iron Man" and "Sherlock Holmes" sequels till the end of his career. Apparently, director Guy Ritchie feels quite strong about "Holmes" as well, since he has just abandoned his plans for the "Lobo" comic book movie to clear his schedule for a fast-tracked "Holmes" sequel.

"I don't think he's going to do it now," said producer Joel Silver about Ritchie directing "Lobo." "The studio wants us and Guy to focus on making another 'Sherlock Holmes.' So I think we're going to be doing that."

He added: "'Sherlock' is sitting at just about $400 million in worldwide gross and showing itself to be pretty effective and pretty strong. So we're trying to see if we can do something quickly with another 'Sherlock Holmes' movie. We have some ideas and some good story points."

Regarding "Lobo," Silver said that the project and "Sherlock Holmes" are being worked on at the same time, which means that "Lobo" cannot wait for Ritchie and will have to find a new director.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:41:31 AM

Lobo!!! Lobo!!!! Bring back Sheriff Lobo!! ARRGH!!!!
BDeck writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:47:08 AM

is any one else not really surprised by this?

money and success talks.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:50:05 AM

He needs to get a gun and abandon his life!
James.Speed writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:47:37 AM

Awww, I like Lobo... :(
Peter Parker writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 7:13:32 AM

Guy Ritchie abandons Lobo for Sherlock.

It just wasn't like in the beginning anymore.
The two were having problems and Sherlock was always there... it just happened.
leezy84 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 8:09:06 AM

good news, i really enjoyed sherlock holmes, downey was awesome and mark strong, couldnt believe the rating this bullsh*t site gave 2/10 gtfo.
SeWerin writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:06:13 AM

I don't like how they say "quickly"
RickPeters writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:06:28 AM

Sherlock Holmes was weak. If it wasn't for Robert Downey Jr. there wouldn't be anything worth watching in that movie.

Guy Ritchie is terrible director in my opinion.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:54:29 AM

I still have not seen Sherlock Holmes, and I also don't know the background on Lobo..so I guess I pretty much don't care either way.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:52:43 AM

They wouldn't have been able to do justice to Lobo anyway. They would have no choice but to dumb down the violence so I say "Good"!
warlord writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 4:19:11 PM

lobo will not work as a live-action movie
Dre-EL writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:07:01 PM

Its not good for Ritchie to piss Lobo of, next thing u know he shows up at your house and frags u in the ass.

After all he is the main man.

Lets see the lobo movie, the company sends him after jake on Pandora.
"You see me? well I see u too bitch now take that up the fraggin arse"
By the time he's done these blue bitches will be beggin for the main man.
Oh yea
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 7:10:16 PM

Lobo was pretty cool but what some-body already said, live-action wouldn't work right.
leezy84 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:05:23 PM

well obviously rickpeters he was sherlock holmes, the main reason people went to see the film, and it wasnt weak at all, how can rockanrolla get 7/10 and sherlock 2/10 erm dont think so
jdl107 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 3:20:37 AM

""The studio wants us and Guy to focus on making another 'Sherlock Holmes.'"

That's when you tell that naggy-ass studio "Fuuuck Yoou". Lol, I'm sure we're all positive this one's gonna suck though.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:00:30 PM

Hell, I didn't even know a Lobo movie was in the works..... Now that'd be a great character for Supes to go up against in a movie. Uuggghh, I swear I get a headache thinking about Supes movies.
Anywho. I guesRitchie's gonna need the steady paycheck of a proven franchise since that Madonna money is going / gone away!!!
Aaron writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 10:01:34 PM

WTF? I want to see "the real rocknrolla". :/ Rock N Rolla was f*cking great as the first part in some kind of epic series of movies. Granted it wouldn't be nearly as deep - rock N Rolla has the potential to be godfather epic.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved