WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Sequel Going into Pre-Production

Posted: January 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Sequel Going into Pre-ProductionSubmit Comment
"Avatar" has become the highest grossing movie of all time, which is why it comes as no surprise that a sequel will definitely happen. Director James Cameron has already said that most of the money that went into developing the first film will not have to be spent again since lots of the environments and effects have already been built.

Cameron added that it would be stupid not to make "Avatar 2." Now /Film is reporting that technical crew members have already signed on for a second installment. Their contracts are for three to five years, in case development runs long.

Judging by this news, it seems that "Avatar 2" will not be in theaters before 2013. That's a long time to make movie that already has a story and has most of the hard work already done.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:44:04 AM

'...the money that went into developing the first film will not have to be spent again since lots of the environments and effects have already been built.' --- ahh... GREEN SCREENS?!

Out in 2013!? What a d*ck! Doesn't he know we all perish in 2012?!

PS: I'm spray painting all my lady friends (ie: pokes) blue for the next while. It works for me!

PS: Kristen Bell was on Kimmel tonight. Now, there's not many women that will get me to f*ck my TV set. But I'll be honest... she's one of 'em!

encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:52:16 AM

"Cameron added that it would be stupid not to make "Avatar 2"

yeah i'd be stupid not to start the Apocalypse as long as i get my d*ck enlargement surgery with his f*cking cash
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:52:47 AM

not as long as "I", as long as "HE" get his d*ck enlarged ...
BDeck writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:55:03 AM

@ranger

im pretty sure hes talking about the computer rendering used to make the landscapes,animals,the technology and sh*t.everything is just chillin on a harddrive.they dont need to have some visual dude create it again.

and ill second your kristen bell comment.
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:02:37 AM

Oh, I knew what Cameron meant.

And my TV will never be the same!
lost_addict writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:41:42 AM

is dr.Manhattan and his blue penis gonna join?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 8:20:15 AM

Hey guys, I got a joke:

Q: What's the highest grossing movie of all time?

A: Avatar

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA DON'T YOU GET IT?! LOL! It shows that movie going audiences like video game trailers!
barley_cat writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 8:34:36 AM

I thought this was a given that he made sequels? 2013??? Jesus, screw waiting for that, all the Avatards are actually going to end up killing themselves in anticipation!
Agent Calavera writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 8:47:06 AM

SpookyCupcakes im pretty sure i didn't see a video game trailer... don't know what you was watching.

i got a joke for you.

Q: who hates everything everyone else likes because he thinks it makes him oh so cool to the girls.

A. Me.. your still a douche though, go analyse Shawshank some more.
bale01289 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:08:48 AM

I'd rather see Titanic2.....just sayin! 2013, everyone will be dead on the planet, except for the people that post on WP, as we are obviously the sc*m of the Earth and will have to battle it out with c*ckroaches and Lohans vag for survival. God, that's gonna be fun!
takai writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:26:03 AM

Here's to hoping Battle Angel comes out before that.

If it doesn't, Cameron is officially the greatest director of all time. Why? Because he milks funding and pay out of a studio twice as long as he actually needs.

If I'm wrong, and it actually takes three years to make an 'Avatar' sequel with "lots of the environments and effects having already been built", what other film maker will take/risk 4+ years on a film just to use the new tech? I doubt anyone will. The only one I'm pulling for is George Lucas. Maybe Speilberg, but I doubt he'd devote that much time to just one film.

Anyways, as far as this sequel goes;

Maybe since all of the visuals are going to be the same, Cameron is going to spend 3 years on the script and make 'Avatar 1.2' a decent film.


Oh, and I'd like to third the Kristen Bell comment?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:45:40 AM

"Judging by this news, it seems that "Avatar 2" will not be in theaters before 2013. That's a long time to make movie that already has a story and has most of the hard work already done."

- Naaaah! Cameron needs, at least, another 10 years, so he can develop more new technologies to use on his movies.
On his list of accomplishments to strive for are:

- A technology that can recreate 4D on screen.
- A technology that can milk more money out of FOX.
- A technology that can write a decent script.
- A technology that keeps on creating more new technologies.
- A technology that will help him giving autographs.
- A technology that will help Schwarzenegger pronounce "Avatar".
barley_cat writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:50:12 AM

Lol PP "- A technology that will help Schwarzenegger pronounce "Avatar" "

So true!!

No ammount of technology will help that guy become smarter.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:01:27 AM

"Ahvarah" ehehe...
RickPeters writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:19:00 AM

I'm sick of hearing about this movie.

The only thing that'll get me interested in the sequel will be if there's a more interesting story. It doesn't have to be groundbreaking, just something that is a bit less predictable than a Dances With Wolves copy. It needs that since the characters are dull, so the movie needs a decent story in order to survive.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:36:23 AM

I would just like to add that yes Kristen Bell could get me to f*ck my TV.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:41:52 AM

Oh and We will probably have a few less people in the world since the suicidal f*cks on the Avatard, probably can't wait 3 years.
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 11:26:05 AM

Oh rats! My TV screen is all fuzzy!!!

Nevermind... it wiped off with but a damp cloth!
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:47:27 PM

Spooky Ive got a joke for you.

Q: Who are you?

A: You are not James Cameron. Cause you suck camel toe. And oh yes, you are poor.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:49:28 PM

Ranger: Yes, Kristen Bell is a f*ckable piece of wooden vagina. But i saw something adorable on tv the other day, The chick that sings on "Americas Got Talent". Shes hot as f*ck.
lost_addict writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 1:03:08 PM

f*ck avatar and titanic.make true lies 2.
Goober3000 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 1:13:56 PM

OMG GOD AVATAR NEWS!!!
takai writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 1:57:49 PM

@I_Really_Hope_You_Aren't_Being_A_Kiss_Ass

That was a terrible joke. You must have gotten it form the 'Lopez Tonight' writers.
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:00:40 PM

@Parker_Von... link please.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:11:01 PM

Avatar 2 will make it to the trillions if goes full nudity all the time, everywhere. every male in the planet will watch it over, and over, and over ...
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:12:21 PM

also with the 3-D scheme it'll be like you are getting f*cked by a blue chick ... right there in the theater!! that is movie that'll have a lot of bathroom breaks ...
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:31:14 PM

@Encore, if they make that movie then it needs to be 4D you know with a love doll attatchmen or hired hookers to blow you during the movie.
pomme writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 4:31:53 PM

rendez-vous in 2023!!!
vaodsi writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:31:27 PM

I'm psyched. I loved avatar.
keep it coming. (that's what she said)
vaodsi writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:42:50 PM

"The bees the bees my EYES! MY EYES!!!!"
vaodsi writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:44:03 PM

what the heck worst previews? how did that happen? it posted my wicker man quote on the wrong thread?
i know what you were tlaking about the other day now encoremyface
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 7:03:07 PM

lol,@Jeff.
Vin12 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 7:33:18 PM

AVATAR 2- REVENGE OF THE HAIR f*ckERS WILL MAKE 5 BILLION DOLLARS AND SAM W. WILL BECOME THE GREATEST ACTOR ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
triggax writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:17:58 PM

Vin, I dont know if it's because of the retarded sh*t you write on here all the time or just your queeeeeer avatar... But you give me the creeps.. Do you look or sound a lot like Mr Rogers?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 10:24:53 PM

lol.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 1:55:20 AM

I'm with Ranger. The world will end in 2012. I'm in the process of watching a bootleg copy of Avatar (I don't go to theaters, I'm not allowed within a 100 feet of children) I've stopped it 3 times. Don't know if I'll finish watching it or not. I think I'm may be part Navi, My balls are turning blue.
jdl107 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 3:13:29 AM

"'...the money that went into developing the first film will not have to be spent again since lots of the environments and effects have already been built.' --- ahh... GREEN SCREENS?!"

Hahaha, that made me laugh, I don't know why. Phuckin' Range.

Well sh*t, Cameron, quit f*ckin' around. We don't have long on this Earth, especially YOU. So why don't you just cut the bullsh*t and start makin' as much movies as you can before yer old ass kicks the bucket.
jdl107 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 3:16:50 AM

@Tomee:

Well why'd you stop it? Finish what you star5ted you jive-ass muh-f*cka.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 3:27:01 AM

@jdl107

I had better things to do like watch dog sh*t turn white or watch 2 flies f*ck. Hell watching paint dry is more entertaining then that blue d*ck horse sh*t
Moonraker writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:04:37 PM

That's a long time to make movie that already has a story and has most of the hard work already done."

Jeez, judgmental much? They just made the most successful movie EVER. Cut them some slack.

And besides, taking extra time would've kept you from posting the retarded phrase "make movie."

Spedattack writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:35:51 AM

How many times do i hav to explain this to people the world will not end in 2012. And i dont know y u guys r hating on Avatar that was probably the best movie i saw in 2009
MadHatter writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:22:11 AM

I wonder why Cameron thinks that waiting until 2013, is a good idea to make an avatar movie, When in really it really isn't because by then there will be another movie like "Avatar" that everyone will be going crazy over, like "Avatar". Plus, then when the next movie that everyone loves as much as Avatar comes out, it might not even be a James Cameron movie anyways. James Cameron thinks he's all that right now, with his new successful sci-fi movie, then when one someone else other then him makes another movie many times better then then his Avatar movie, everyone will be laughing in James Camerons face, saying that he could of done as good as the next director, directing a big upcoming movie.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 8:16:30 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved