WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jackie Chan Says "The Karate Kid" Title May Change

Posted: January 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jackie Chan Says "The Karate Kid" Title May ChangeSubmit Comment
It was Jackie Chan who previously said that "The Karate Kid" remake will be called "The Kung Fu Kid" since the movie focus on Kung Fu and not Karate. Then we got a trailer and poster, both showing the title as "The Karate Kid."

Now, Chan has revealed that he's still not sure what the title will end up being. "We just finished the movie, 'Karate Kid,' Um, the 'Kung Fu Kid,'" he said during the People's Choice Awards. "I don't know [what it's going to be called]. Probably 'Kung Fu Kid' in China and 'Karate Kid' in America. Maybe a different title? I don't know. But mostly we've called it 'The Kung Fu Kid.'"

Whatever the title ends up, Columbia Pictures needs to figure it out as soon as possible. The film is set to appear in theaters on June 11th.

I have a feeling the studio will stick with "The Karate Kid," since most people don't know the difference between karate and kung fu anyway. And you never want to waste a recognizable name.

Click here to read more about "The Karate Kid."

Source: JadenSmith


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:02:59 PM

I think that "Kung Fu Kid" will be used in some part of the title, if not just the title itself.

It has to be.

They've got to just be milking the "Karate Kid" name for all it's worth.

"since most people don't know the difference between karate and kung fu anyway."

A valid point, but what is Chan going to call it in the film? Karate? There's no way. Chan likes stepping down from his throne to do these kiddy movies, but he sure as hell won't dis an entire culture.

I think they'll either change at the last second, or have 'Kung Fu Kid' as a subtitle or something.
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:12:15 PM

Why not change the title to: 'sh*t!'?
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:14:49 PM

Because I hear they're already using that title for the 'Avatar' DVD release.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:14:56 PM

they need to scrap this movie. crap idea changing the title, just teach the kid f*cking karate ...

change the title to: "watch at your own risk of death, bad re-boot ahead"
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:50:12 PM

LOL! Ranger ...
xCaptainAmerica_ writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:16:55 PM

@Ranger dont froget "sh*t...In 3D"
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:21:33 PM

Oops... you're right! Sorry.

I'd rather f*ck a wool sock full of broken glass than watch this movie!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:42:49 PM

@Ranger-

hilarious!!
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:49:52 PM

i would rather be in a lesbian sammich with Roseanne and Rosie O'Donnell while rip torn f*cks my *sshole than watch this pile of garbage
JPC writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:54:09 PM

KirkLazerus - Damn! LOL
darthraige writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:03:56 PM

Thank God for a title change. I don't want this movie associated with the original. haha
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:04:34 PM

I'd rather...

walk 4 miles,
barefoot,
through broken glass,
uphill both ways,
in a blizzard,
through yellow snow,
with a grizzly trap caught on my scrotum,
to f*ck a rusty chainsaw,
with a gas-operating weedeater shoved up my ass,
while French-kissing Lohag,
with Gary Coleman's tiny, pathetic nutsack drooping over my eyes...

than watch this movie!

KirkLazerus writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:11:25 PM

i would lick Lindsay lohans bloody diseased tampon, let don rickles sh*t on my face after hes eating a big plate of hard boiled eggs, i would tell jessica alba that shes in the movies because of her acting ability and not her looks, i would literally tell megan fox that everytime she talks she sounds smart, and i would let Lady caca slap me with her penis
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:11:56 PM

i would do all of that before watching Jackie chan ruin the Karate kid
CCBlev writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:18:57 PM

The Kung fu sh*t Kid-
Starring an annoying little bastard, with a chinese guty who used to be exciting to watch but now is about as washed up as gary coleman
coming to theatre near you
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:24:35 PM

OK Kirk... you're promoted to Captain with that one!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:24:35 PM

@Ranger & @KirkLazerus-

f*cking hilarious!!!
telur writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:37:29 PM

Columbia owned by japanesse so they still want use karate, instead kung fu. Meanwhile karate is sooooo oldish. Kung Fu is the new trand. Remember Kung Fu Panda?
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:59:14 PM

While I agree with Kirk and Ranger... I will still end up watching this... Because my wife is what I like to call "Completely f*cking retarded" And also... I really like her vagina... So if I sit through stupid bullsh*t kids movies I can usually guarantee some tang..
GIST writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:24:59 PM

@triggax

Ooohhhh. I love Tang...
Umph, you mean the orange juice right?
Matiax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:38:35 PM

LOL, @Ranger and Kirk, that was epic!

How about "The Don'tgiveadamn kid"
GIST writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:43:27 PM

They are going to rename it,
"Judo-n't-know-if-I-got-a-gun Kid".
triggax writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:14:42 AM

LAZERUS, You old motor boatin' son of a bitch... Is that a Larry Sanders avatar?
triggax writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:17:02 AM

@GIST...

In all seriousness.... Is tang an actual "orange" juice? is it made from oranges?....

@ranger... Maybe I should inquire about a job there?

@Lazerus... You ol' dog you...
GIST writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:25:24 AM

@triggax

It's orange-'flavored'. Highly doubt there is any real content of Orange in Tang. But man, I haven't had that science-project-gone-wrong substance in awhile.
It's one of those questions you ask yourself. Why is it that they make dishwashing soap from real fruits, and use artificial ingredients for juice?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:36:54 AM

- The Wrong Place At The Wrong Time Kid
- The Sucky Sucky Five Dola Kid
- The Will Smith Kid
- The What Did I Get Myself Into Kid
- The What f*cking Martial Art Are We Talking About Kid
- The Rasta Fighter Kid
- The f*ck This Movie Kid
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 1:21:24 AM

I'll see this movie, cause the trailer was hilarious. Not in the cinemas, I'll download it (illegally, so f*ck you FBI) then I get sh*t-faced (drunk, nothing else) and laugh my ass off every time Jackie says "Jack off" to the Whatever-they-may-call-me Kid.
triggax writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 1:53:40 AM

"- The Will Smith Kid"


HAHA I don't know why that was so GD FUNNY!....

lost_addict writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:08:08 AM

"Mr.Miagi's bitch"
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:28:04 AM

The-Nigga-Witta-Gun.
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 2:11:18 PM

Or: The Brake-Dancing Ninja!
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:31:16 PM

@Trigg- hell yeah Larry sanders is the man, the name of this movie should be "the Murder of Jackie Chan's Career and the kung fu kid"
jdl107 writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 2:59:06 AM

"The Nigga Witta Move From a Xbox"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved