WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Worthington in "Dracula: Year Zero"?

Posted: January 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Worthington in "Dracula: Year Zero"?Submit Comment
LatinoReview has learned that Universal Pictures is being pressured by Comcast to release eight films in 2011, but the studio has yet to finalize which of its fourteen projects will head into development.

Most of the films already have scripts, directors and actors, so all is left is for Universal to get moving. And one movie that will likely make the cut is "Dracula: Year Zero," a re-telling of Dracula directed by Alex Proyas (Knowing, I Robot).

The site is being told that "Dracula" has a $100 million budget, and has cast "Avatar" star Sam Worthington in the lead.

The film is an origin tale of Vlad the Impaler, the Romanian royal who inspired Bram Stoker's vampire tale. It centers on how Vlad became the creature; the choices that he made to make him into the tragic character.

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vwkombi writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:58:59 AM

An Australian in an American film playing a Romanian royal. Just the way it was intended.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:05:35 AM

his no gary oldman dracula and he never will be
biniwoo writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:13:36 AM

well, if Latino Review says it, AMEN.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:33:23 AM

As much as i love this guy and seeing it is Australia Day, i would say f*ck YEAH!!

But to be honest and in my drunken state, i don't see Sam being Vlad. I am hoping to see an actual biographical telling of Vlad Tepes aka Vlad the Impaler, aka Vlad Dracul that is actually based on fact and not one that ends up with him being a vampire!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:57:24 AM

OH no come on, i mean seriously some body kill this douche bag, f*ck YOU SAM W. your crappy acting is killing the industry!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:35:35 AM

"It centers on how Vlad became the creature; the choices that he made to make him into the tragic character"

- He drove sticks up people's asses and sold his soul to the devil. Who hasn't?
bale01289 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:54:48 AM

@Skippy - WORD!
@PP - I know I have!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:33:05 AM

I know I have impaling parties every other Friday. Of course my c*ck is used to impale the young ladies asses, but impaling none the less.
Derp88 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:33:44 AM

TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:57:24 AM
OH no come on, i mean seriously some body kill this douche bag, f*ck YOU SAM W. your crappy acting is killing the industry!


Yeah that 1.8 billion that Avatar(Sam Worthington) has made thus far is really killing the industry,LOL.



Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:55:53 AM

Dherpes, it really doesn't matter if it was Sam Worthington, Santa Claus or the Pope in that part. Any other actor would have done just as good of a job.
People didn't go see that movie because of Worthington. The movie was a success for other reasons, the acting surely wasn't one of them.
VDODSON writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:06:07 AM

@Peter- hear hear my friend, you are correct. I have yet to read a review from an avatard saying their reason for loving the movie was becuase of Worthingtons performance. I honestly like the guy, he made Terminator watchable, but it was no stand out performance.
Derp88 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:25:47 AM

Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:55:53 AM
Dherpes, it really doesn't matter if it was Sam Worthington, Santa Claus or the Pope in that part. Any other actor would have done just as good of a job.
People didn't go see that movie because of Worthington. The movie was a success for other reasons, the acting surely wasn't one of them


Correct
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:27:46 AM

@ VDOD:

I know what you mean. I'm waiting to see how he does in "Clash of the Titans", but he's been OK so far.

I'd just love to know what the f*ck his agent has been doing to get him so many hits in such a short period of time.
The guy is a real rainmaker!
NatG83 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:39:28 AM

Nothing against Worthington, but he's too much of an "every-man" for this role. Too ordinary. Unless he has some acting chops that we have yet to see, I don't see this being very good.
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:10:57 PM

Sick of this guy already,.Must every big Budget film feature him? Seems like if i want to watch any Hollywood films it goes like this.
Comedy staring Will Farrel or Seth Rogan
Blockbuster staring Sam Worthington or sh*t le boff
Serious Drama staring Daniel Day Lewis or Russel Crow
Chick Flick staring some bint.
etc...
Films just are not what they used to be,only the effects seem to improve.Less video directors from MTV and more artists please.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:32:11 PM

@Rocketman: Maybe we're going back to the old Hollywood-style, were specific actors did specific genres?

But I agree that Sam W is not Vlad the Impaler. They should have gone with someone who can express brute force and elegance at the same time.
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:35:56 PM

Ralph Fiennes?He would be cool and he can act,as in actually act,a rarity nowadays.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:40:18 PM

Brute force and elegance at the same time?

Chuck f*cking Norris!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:00:58 PM

Chuck Norris makes onions cry!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:01:48 PM

Ralph Fiennes would be an excellent choice, if not THE choice. However, I'm sure how old Vlad is supposed to be.
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:19:54 PM

@Freaudian
Never thought of age,well if it has to be a 30 something i've heard that Orlando Blooms available.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:52:39 PM

And my work is done, every one see the true now, this douche bag of Sam W. and this new actors like ROB P. are destroying the movies forever with theirs gayness, thats the reason i dont go to movie theater im sick of all remakes and actors that looks badass/gay, we need the old hollywood back f*ck this CRAPHOLLYWOOD!

@Derp88
i feel sorry for you, Sam W. ins't a great actor and all in here knows that, i feel sorry that you are in love of this gay/badassgay actor! and even T. lautner won an award and SAm W. not!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 2:20:03 PM

I also truly truly hope they make this out to be a true telling of his origins. The Vlad story is so good and so powerful that if done right, it'd make any on screen Dracula look like a puss. And as for Worthington, I'll give it to him, he's in such a great position right now. He got rave reviews for Terminator (from who I do not know!!) He did Avatar and has the upcoming Clash of The Titans, if that goes well, he'll be one of the most sought after actors walking the planet. To hell with acting skills!!!

warlord writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 2:34:15 PM

when is this homo gonna stop f*cking up movies!!!!!!!!!
warriors187 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:03:32 PM

They should just make a Dracula musical
Goober3000 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:18:12 PM

"I am hoping to see an actual biographical telling of Vlad Tepes aka Vlad the Impaler, aka Vlad Dracul that is actually based on fact and not one that ends up with him being a vampire!!"

I agree Skippy that is what I am hoping for as well. I think that would be a hell of alot more interesting.


Goober3000 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:19:46 PM

P.S

Sam Worthington sais "Blah"
FBO writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:27:56 PM

Have you guys seen bad acting? Cuz Sams not bad. No where near good but not bad.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:28:43 PM

if it's not gay like Twatlight, i'm in for a Dracula ...
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:54:00 PM

@FBO
Have you seen good acting? have you! first, he doesn't act, he only react, the indications of JAMES C., he is like a blue monkey, he repeat and do what the director says, in all his movies he is screaming like Shia L., the same gay personality and that mother f*cker bad accent his flat acting is more flat tham my tv, don't let the media buy your opinion he is only the actor of the moment nothing more NOOTHINNG!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:29:51 PM

I still can't figure out why this dude is in so many big budget movies
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:35:54 PM

"They should just make a Dracula musical"

Apparently they are!! Jason Segel is in the midst of putting it together right now...

Dope avatar BTW... Tombstone was the sh*t.. and Kilmer f*cking owned..
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:36:10 PM

Meh.

Sam's bank account must be pretty f*cking happy with all the movies he is in. Sad to say it but with his looks he stands a really good chance of lasting longer then 15 minutes in Hollywood.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:17:11 PM

i like sam but can someone teach him how to properly cover up his accent when playing non-australian parts? it's sooo distracting. can't wait to hear him be romanian...maybe...
Hugh RB writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:55:51 PM

I think if he signs on, he believes he can create a worthy rendition of the Vlad Man. Good luck to him.

Please read my blog about Dracula: Year Zero & Brad Pitt’s Vlad:

http://www.gettothefuture.com/2010/01/bloodsucke rs-are-go-in-2010.html

Thanks!
Hugh RB
SofaKing writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:35:05 PM

Sam is awesome, I see a long career ahead of him. I just wish America could crank out a few new action stars. I refuse to watch any more Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson movies...
GIST writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:39:10 PM

I'm just picturing him in these alpha male roles with the scrawny billy elliot legs he had in Avatar.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:46:55 AM

@ Hugh RB:

That's some good stuff you have in that blog. Keep it up.

BTW, you have an extra space in the link you posted, in the word "bloodsucke rs".
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 2:54:21 AM

Dherpes..... what a funny motherf*cker.
pomme writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 4:34:12 PM

i don't see Worthington in Vlad the Impaler but i imagine he'll be a badass with an australian accent
vaodsi writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 6:41:18 PM

I don't hate worhtingtona t all like everybody else.
but i don't see him as dracula... AT ALL!
but hey, better than nic cage getting the role ;)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved