WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

It's Official! "Avatar" is Highest Grossing Film of All Time

Posted: January 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
ItSubmit Comment
On Monday, James Cameron's "Avatar" took in the $2 million needed to become the highest grossing film of all time. It has now surpassed Cameron's "Titanic," which previously held the record with $1.84 billion, and is on its way to break the $2 billion mark.

"Avatar" has also become the highest grossing film internationally, but is still trailing "Titanic" domestically by around $45 million. It is expected that the domestic record will be broken within two weeks.

Not to take away from what "Avatar" has accomplished, but the record doesn't account for inflation or the higher ticket prices for 3D and IMAX theaters.

But that doesn't matter for 20th Century Fox, which is said to take in $918 million in profits before Cameron gets his cut.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: MSN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 83 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:56:23 AM

Well lets be honest... this is not surprising but seriously there is NO WAY Avatar will place in the top movies noted for inflation. Last time i checked, it was #26
vwkombi writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:57:11 AM

Trust a f*cking 3hr video game trailer to make all that money. "I lyk da purty picdures"

James Cameron is laughing at you while he smokes golden cigars that give off silver smoke while banging the worlds hottest models on a bed made entirely off the most rare rubies from Mars.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:02:40 AM

so how much is cameron getting if fox took 900mill
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:33:41 AM

@vwkombi

That's the gayest thing I've ever heard...

You could've just said Cameron was laughing all the way to the bank
Agent Calavera writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:45:27 AM

@TheHerpesOnRangersd*ck

i agree.. i can actually picture Cameron laughing all the way to the bank, give thumbs up to people as he swaggers on
Loki writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:09:05 AM

So nowall the avatards paint themselves blue and run around in loin clothes with sticks and scream for joy. Crap.
jdDiedforyou writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:15:07 AM

with avatar being the highest grossing film of all time, does this mean i care about the film or have taken interest in it? the answer....nope, not even the slightest bit of interest.
BDeck writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:15:55 AM

f*cking joy

yo rose-
im really happy for you, and i'ma never let go,but avatar is the highest grossin film of all time. OF ALL TIME.

MattC903 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:33:14 AM

@VW haha funny as f*ck.

I agree with you brosif everyones entitled to their opinion but when it comes down to it Cameron did it again.... and.... yeah.... he's laughing all the way to the bank.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:08:06 AM

Suck it, haters.
VN1X writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:16:52 AM

Woop woop its da sound of da sequel!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:26:17 AM

@ TheHerpesOnRangersd*ck:

"That's the gayest thing I've ever heard..."

- That's not the gayest thing you ever heard/read.
The gayest thing you ever heard is when your boyfriend tells you he loves you, right after he comes all over your face.

But then you reply with something like Cameron laughing all the way to the bank, so that makes you pretty f*cking gay as well.

Who gives a f*ck if Cameron is getting richer by the minute? Good for him, the man can make a buck, I'll give him that.
Nevertheless, he's not going on my personal heroes list, just because he was given unlimited money and time to make whatever he pleased with it.
With the money and time he had, many others would have built another Taj Ma-f*cking-hal.

"Avatar" is nothing but eye-candy, and that sh*t sells like a crazy. Big deal.
telur writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:32:10 AM

i believe Twilight 3 will broke Avatar records :P
tcu21 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:39:23 AM

@telur,

hope you're being sarcastic, I can't tell.

In other news I heard James Cameron will celebrate by going out and finding his 6th wife.
tcu21 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:39:59 AM

@telur

just noticed the ":p", my bad just woke up haha.
Dre-EL writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:09:43 AM

biggest movie of all time, was there any doubt?

seriously was there? Its Cameron baby

In other news Cameron while choking on a stogy all the way to the bank retorted to TMZ that, "Avatar haters can suck my balls"

Respect my authoratay.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:00:42 AM

oh sh*t!!!! this is going good. i wonder what George Lucus is thinking right now about is third star wars trilogy. if i remember correctly he was waiting to see how well avatar did in theaters before considering it
Barney Stinson writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:02:52 AM

f*ck Inflation Lists.
RickPeters writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:27:44 AM

I'm so sick of hearing about this movie.
VDODSON writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:08:28 AM

Ninja Assasin was better than Avatar, I dont get all they hype. I would rather watch Legion than see Avatar again.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:27:19 AM

VDOD What was the f*cking point of ninja assassin? The Dumb f*ck knows that if you try to leave the dojo you're going to be killed. When your a ninja rules are rules. And the heart being in the wrong place was ass f*cking gay. That sh*tfest made me go from 12 to 6 pretty damn fast.
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:30:36 AM

yeah but i bet titanic will be back on top once he re-releases it in 3D
barley_cat writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:56:33 AM

If twilight 3 becomes a higher- grossing movie than avatar then i will kill myself (in hope that my afterlife will be on Pandora of course!)
Ha.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:02:12 PM

As much as I'd like to comment on this against 'Avatar', I seem to have gone and gotten all my points out on previous threads. hahaha.

Here's one I don't think I've used yet;

'Avatar''s success shows nothing of Cameron's outstanding film making. It only shows the outstanding marketing budget and genius when it came to the release date.

From what I've been told (because I refuse to see the film) 'Avatar' is a very mediocre film, with amazing visuals.

Well, if that's the case, I'm glad its fans take pride in the decline of human civilization.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:06:56 PM

"Ninja Assasin was better than Avatar, I dont get all they hype. I would rather watch Legion than see Avatar again."

Dude f*cking Ninja Gaiden Black and 2 are some of my favorite videogames of all time, but i STILL thought Ninja Assassin was a complete piece of sh*t. One second the ninjas are entirely unstoppable, next second theyre getting torn limb from limb. I think Naomi Harris is gorgeous but every time she was on screen I just wanted her to shut up because I didnt give a sh*t about what she was saying. And then the ending? Hey lets drive hummers up through the alps to some remote ninja village and somehow kill all the super assassins. At least the dialogue in Avatar was mildly engaging and delivered well, and some of it was plausible. I think you may just enjoy sh*ttier movies.

Also, I think the fact that Avatar took in at least 15 times as much money is proof that NA is not better. And honestly, Legion probably blows.

"So nowall the avatards paint themselves blue and run around in loin clothes with sticks and scream for joy. Crap."

Yeah god forbid people fantasize about revisiting tribal culture in the face of complete global catastrophe brought about by overpopulation, merciless capitalism, environmental disrespect and nationalistic hegemony. Not that I'm a fan of people making fools of themselves painting themselves blue, but at least theyre not content to laugh at the 'avatards' passing by while riding a bus straight toward the edge of a cliff.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:07:37 PM

Also what kills me, is how many people are telling the haters to 'suck it', when they turn around and bash Michael Bay for having no substance. You do realize that Cameron is on Bay level now right?

The only difference is, Cameron has more in the budget to get better actors to act out his sh*t script.
Metafact writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:08:34 PM

"The only difference is, Cameron has more in the budget to get better actors to act out his sh*t script."

Yeah, but his racism is way more subtle.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:08:45 PM

"VDOD What was the f*cking point of ninja assassin? The Dumb f*ck knows that if you try to leave the dojo you're going to be killed. When your a ninja rules are rules. And the heart being in the wrong place was ass f*cking gay. That sh*tfest made me go from 12 to 6 pretty damn fast."

I'd say its pretty hard to f*ck up a movie like that, but they did, and badly.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:10:10 PM

"Yeah, but his racism is way more subtle."

Hahahaha. Good point
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:14:23 PM

My 2 cents...

I'm glad it's Avatar at #1 now instead of Titanic.

@TheHerpesOnMyd*ck - at least vw's post was contributing to this topic and clever. It beats the f*ck out of f*cking lurking.

Me... I'm thrilled for Cameron.

We ALL agree... not an original storyline (he never promised it would be), it's a visual spectacular. We bitch on here all the time about un-originality (like comments from lame lurkers), here Cameron busts his ass to make something new and original (except for the storyline... see 'visual spectacular' above), and he's still catching hell for it. You should pick your battles folks. And directing one towards such a hard worker as Cameron (marketing genius, hype-expert, and the holder of the 2 TOP Grossing Movies in history), when there is skanky Logag or the funny, suicidal Coleman to swing a bat at... well, the direction of my volleys is clear.

@barley - no worries m'dear. Gaylight III won't touch the likes of Avatar in $'s (I know and can tell you were being sarcastic - unlike bored, friendless lurkers on here).

@Barney - I agree completely. As would ANYone else on here were you into the movies. Inflation Lists... bah. I'd give a sh*t a lot more HOW MUCH MONEY my movie made... today. f*ck Gone with the Wind, and The Wizard of Oz. f*ck 'em in the ass! $2bil today is what counts. And honestly... that's all ANY of you (us) would care about. And it's all Cameron cares about. All business (including religion, and charitable organizations) is driven by profit.

I know Cameron is the biggest *sshole to work for in the biz. But I'd take his crap for a year to be in one of his flicks (I may kill him afterward... but I would wait until we wrapped).



MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:15:46 PM

"Also what kills me, is how many people are telling the haters to 'suck it', when they turn around and bash Michael Bay for having no substance. You do realize that Cameron is on Bay level now right?"

Haha dude I hope you don't end up making movies if you can't see the difference between those two.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:24:02 PM

"Haha dude I hope you don't end up making movies if you can't see the difference between those two."

Naw man, music is MY thing.

And I know the difference between the two, I assure you. But what Cameron did with Avatar, is totally a Bay move. When you think about it, if Cameron had taken extra time to work on the story, it probably wouldn't have released at an opportune time.

But honestly, Avatar and Transformers 2 are going to be on the same plane when it comes to the DVD release.

sh*t, they shouldn't even release it on DVD. They should just keep re-releasing it every now and then. Milk it DRY!!!


(I really think Cameron should do Battle Angel next. Let Avatar cool down a little bit. Otherwise you'll end up like the Twilight Saga.)
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:29:01 PM

Still not seen it,still can't be arsed.I'm a rebel ,i have a leather jacket AND a motorbike so it's offical.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:36:10 PM

Rebel Alliance

*holds fist in the air*
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:37:47 PM

STELLLLLAAAAA!!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:38:04 PM

"Haha dude I hope you don't end up making movies if you can't see the difference between those two."

- Difference? Hum... let's see...

They're both eye-candy... Different taste, perhaps? "Transformers" is strawberry, "Avatar" is blueberry.

Yeah, big difference!

rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:40:02 PM

LOL.
Lock up your daughter America and get ready for Fat outa Hell.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:43:30 PM

The reason Avatar beat the record is the rabid fans. When most films are seen once or twice in the cinema by ordinary viewers, the Avatards have been going twice a week. And that will add up the box-office gross quite a bit.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:43:56 PM

"They're both eye-candy... Different taste, perhaps? "Transformers" is strawberry, "Avatar" is blueberry."


Better red than blue man.

Er.....wait a minute.
Roadimus writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:46:11 PM

Something else that is official: I don't give a sh*t. Where a movie falls on the all-time highest grossing list is of no concern to me, nor should it be to any of you. Unless you are getting a check from that movie, who cares? All that should matter is whether or not a film is entertaining.
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:51:14 PM

I've posted this before but...

I represent the part of the Avatar movie attendee that hasn't gone yet (waiting for the theater crowd to thin out a bit), so my $'s (and of those like me) haven't been counted yet. We are going next week however.

If hype, smoke & mirrors, gets fans into a rabid, 'feeding frenzy' and dig deep for 3D tickets, etc. to the tune of $2bil in a recession... GREAT on Cameron.

Will this be the 'best movie ever'... I don't expect so. But I go into any movie with low to usually NO expectation... then (usually) I'm pleasantly surprised (well, I won't pay to see anything with Loslag or Hobbit Coleman in it, so I'm almost always enjoy the flick).
coldplayesence writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:00:28 PM

I just pray that one of this days Cameron wakes up in his full of blue hookers bed and decide to make another Aliens film; I don't care if Sam W. stars.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:01:23 PM

I finally saw Avatar last night and now I can comment on it. If you call yourself a fan of cinema or a student of film then you should be hanging from Cameron's ball sack with your mouth. People are complaining about the story not being original...what the f*ck is anymore? Hate to break it to you, its all been done before. Where Cameron has taken the visuals of film making has major studios changing their entire game plan for years to come. "Men lie, women lie, but numbers don't" and having two of the highest grossing films of all time puts you in an elite category all by yourself. Start the sh*t talking you c*nty f*cks.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:12:20 PM

@ takai:

"Better red than blue man"

- You socialist!!! Burn him at the stake!!

On to more serious matters...

Chuck Norris can win a game of Connect Four in only three moves.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:19:03 PM

"I finally saw Avatar last night and now I can comment on it. If you call yourself a fan of cinema or a student of film then you should be hanging from Cameron's ball sack with your mouth. People are complaining about the story not being original...what the f*ck is anymore? Hate to break it to you, its all been done before. Where Cameron has taken the visuals of film making has major studios changing their entire game plan for years to come. "Men lie, women lie, but numbers don't" and having two of the highest grossing films of all time puts you in an elite category all by yourself. Start the sh*t talking you c*nty f*cks."

Haha, I am actually Senior in college studying film and I've had a wierd concept growing in the back of my head for a bit that woulda been pretty much impossible to film. After seeing Avatar, it IS now possible, and I've been building off it a lot lately, getting some writing and sh*t done.

I KNOW that I can't be alone out there, and what I'm really excited about is in like 15 years when the young generation who just saw Avatar has let it slow cook in the back of their minds, letting the imagination spread beyond what previously was thought possible.

You're right; it is a game changer, but people generally won't realize it until theyve had time to look at in it retrospect.

Also, Takai, I'm a bit into music myself. I play guitar and have written almost an albums worth of weird chaotic metal stuff (kinda like the Bled, if you know them). I'd like to hear some of your stuff if its somewhere I can listen(?).
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:21:37 PM

"The reason Avatar beat the record is the rabid fans. When most films are seen once or twice in the cinema by ordinary viewers, the Avatards have been going twice a week. And that will add up the box-office gross quite a bit."

Yeah, but Titanic had WAY more women and their moms seeing it multiple times. I remember reading about a woman in Europe who saw it every day for a week, and Im sure she wasn't alone. I'd say its more the 'spectacle' aspect of Avatar, bringing in the oldies and people who generally only see 1 or 2 movies a year, not unlike the Dark Knight.
SometimesDeadIsBetter writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:28:51 PM

If your going to see this movie then see it in 3d because Avatar looking pretty is the only real compliment I have for this movie. It was long, boring,and didn't have enough action.

This film doesn't deserve to make this much
dbreuning writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:35:12 PM

AWESOME! This is good. It can now continue to make great sequels. Keep on keeping on James!
dbreuning writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:36:31 PM

Uhm on Box Office Mojo it still is on 2nd place: http://boxofficemojo.com/alltime/world/. Only a million apart though but still. So how is this official?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:38:09 PM

I have no problems with it making this much, I have a problem with the f*cking psycho fanatics that are worshiping a f*cking movie.
Wallace writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:48:20 PM

@ dbreuning: true, WP probably just wants to be the first to tell.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:52:01 PM

In that case, Idontlikeyouinthatway.com was first. And yeah, it's a celebrity gossip site and I visit it. There's always gorgeous pics of Miranda Kerr!
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:53:30 PM

Roto-Rooter times to post in the DeNiro - Midnight Run thread.
D.O.C. writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:54:34 PM

@wonderBOY - Cameron got a $115,000,000 payday for Titanic which he wrote as well. So he would most likely receive the same pay or just a little more. But then again he has 4 ex wives.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:09:24 PM

that sh*t pisses me off. though i expected as much.

i plan on watching Titanic later today or perhaps tommarow, it least it doesn't LOOK all "flash no substance". i never plan on watching Avatar in paid form, i will never rent it, watch it in theater or pay for it willingly and with knowledge in any other shape or form. i'll probably end up watching in on a free online site.

that being said James Cameron is one lucky mother f*cker and is probably laughing his ass off at us in a house of hundred dollar bills.

darkraven28 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:56:13 PM

Well, that whole "From The Director of Titanic" thing helped out a LOT, didn't it? From the director of Color Of Night just doesn't have the same ring to it, does it?
Lister writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:16:04 PM

Sure, if you rip Avatar down to its core it sounds like Transformers 2. Special effects, lack of story. Yet really it is light years ahead. No gangster robots, no Devastator testicles, no plastic women, no over 9000 cuts during a single action scene, no plotholes, no bad CGI.
Spedattack writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:31:41 PM

Hell yeah screw the haters this movie is awesome Avatar deserves this
TheStig writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:38:16 PM

@Ranger:

@Barney - I agree completely. As would ANYone else on here were you into the movies. Inflation Lists... bah. I'd give a sh*t a lot more HOW MUCH MONEY my movie made... today. f*ck Gone with the Wind, and The Wizard of Oz. f*ck 'em in the ass! $2bil today is what counts. And honestly... that's all ANY of you (us) would care about. And it's all Cameron cares about. All business (including religion, and charitable organizations) is driven by profit.

I agree with your point that the money today is what counts, but when discussing the most successful movie of all time you shouldn't count dollars, you should count tickets. Not trying to belittle Cameron's accomplishments, but I feel that the clarification needs to be made that "highest grossing" and "most successful" are different things.
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:21:11 PM

How does Ted Mosby ALWAYS have the first comment.. Do you get notified of these happenings, Mosby?
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:26:35 PM

"You do realize that Cameron is on Bay level now right?"

You know, Takai.... You're slowly losing credibility with me...

Honestly... The only difference between the two is that Cameron has bigger budgets? Honestly... How much did Aliens cost? 12 mil?... Terminator I think cost 8.... Yeah... Now if we're looking at the 2 career wise.. Bay has ALWAYS had bigger budgets than Cameron.. Bays films almost always cost more than 150mil.. where as cameron has really only gone crazy retarded with his last 2... not too mention cameron took a f*cking 13 year hiatus while Bay pumped out like 40 piece of sh*t films thats budgets probably totalled f*cking billions..

What a ridiculous statement.. Say what you will about Cameron, feel how you want about Avatar.. The man still brought us terminator, True Lies.. Aliens... The Abyss.. PIRANHA 2!!!! I mean the guys a f*cking auteur man... a damn fine auteur.. Bays a f*cking retard..
mustardayonnaise writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:27:47 PM

NOBODY CARES
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:30:57 PM

Well, I care, so you're either a f*cking liar, or an idiot... Which is it?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:05:31 PM

Clearly, he's a lying idiot.
D.O.C. writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:08:25 PM

@jeff - So you admit you like eating pigs ass.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:19:05 PM

Yeah but all of Bay's film make back their "insane" budgets and some. I mean come on how f*cking long ago was Aliens and Terminator 1. Like damn near thirty years move on, money was totally different then, things were cheaper all around the board.

I'm the last one to stand up for Bay, hell I don't even agree with the notion that Bay and Cameron are the same, but there should be no denying Bay's box office strength. His films take in a f*ck ton of money and none of his films have cost AVATAR money. Now we can talk about quality blah blah script this story that, all day. But as far as budget and revenue are concerned, Bay takes care of his.

Onto this news... Cameron beware of Zombie Victor Fleming.

Also while people say "inflation doesn't matter" you are very right, to the business people it doesn't matter. Inflation arguments are really a film fan thing to talk about, lovers of movies. Executives don't worry about attendance comparisons to Gone with the Wind. Nothing will ever touch that' films attendance rate... ever. It's all about how much money you can make for me now.
vaodsi writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:26:26 PM

knew it... called it.. got luaghed at for it "vaodsi you *&%^$^%#$* You're a retard if you think something this stupid will make money!"
suck on this

actually, only spooky said anything like that.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:35:28 PM

^^^ LOL ah spooky. Kid's probably in his basement jacking off to sh*tty indie movies.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:35:52 PM

Also, to those passing judgement on this without seeing it; what the f*ck? Even f*cking Spooky saw it, and he gave it a 6/10. All that bitching for a movie thats a 6?

If youre too stubborn to see a movie by James Cameron, with an 82% on rottentomatoes, in 3d with the most impressive special effects EVER PUT ON SCREEN, then your opinion doesn't even deserve to be heard.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:35:58 PM

Triggax - I'm beginning to think you just don't like me.

At least know that when I say Bay and Cameron are the same, I don't really mean it. I just really, REALLY enjoy hating on this film (and its crazy fans).
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:46:48 PM

"If youre too stubborn to see a movie by James Cameron, with an 82% on rottentomatoes, in 3d with the most impressive special effects EVER PUT ON SCREEN, then your opinion doesn't even deserve to be heard."

If your movie is only good with the most expensive ticket, it's not worth seeing, and certainly NOT a good movie.
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:47:51 PM

And also, the whole "BEST GRAPHICS EVER" is only going to last a year or two, when the tech is standard, and not a big deal anymore.

Woopydo
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:02:33 PM

very good point.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:03:06 PM

however it will ALWAYS be known as the film that "started it all"
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:14:43 PM

obvs, considering that the ticket prices for avatar were about twice the ticket price of titanic, who didn't think it would beat it? there should be a scale where they figure them all by the same price range. if the tickets were still like the $6 they were in 97, would it would be the highest grossing film ever?
takai writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:17:49 PM

@encore - Very true, but do we remember which film was the first to show in 3D? Some movie in a science museum? Yeah, who knows.

I'm just racist against blue people.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:50:50 PM

lol ...
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:35:56 PM

Nope, I dont not like you... You're just one of the few members of this site that can offer intelligent discussion.... So i discuss...
vwkombi writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:00:18 PM

@ TheHerpesOnRangersd*ck

Yeah, insults from a man so pathetic he has to use someone elses identity to get some form of recognition on WP mean nothing to me.

@ MoneyHayabusa

The technology is amazing, ground-breaking stuff. Yes, i agree that anyone interested in film-making should see it in cinemas at least once (wouldn't bother owning the DVD).

But visuals don't make a film great. Without the technology behind it, Avatar would be viewed as a mediocre sci-fi flick and generally forgotten.

Cameron admitted he didn't want the story to take focus away from the visuals (as oppose to y'know, using a story to enhance their effect). Essentially Avatar becomes little more than a next-gen video game trailer.
Cleveland Shaquisition writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 9:46:48 PM

This is proof that James Cameron could take a sh*t, wrap it up in tin foil, and sell it to the queen of england as earrings.
Aaron writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 1:49:36 AM

Ranger... my head thinks you're obnoxious as f*ck but my heart... I love you man. :)
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 3:03:19 AM

"That's the gayest thing I've ever heard..."

Says the man aching to be on Ranger's d*ck.

But anyway, it was going to happen either, and since ticket prices are up, and people need to account for inflation, I gotta say I'm not all that impressed.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:31:18 AM

It's official! I don't give a sh*t!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved