WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mortal Kombat" Reboot is Moving Forward

Posted: January 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mortal Kombat" Reboot is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
It's been almost three years since the first time we heard of the "Mortal Kombat" reboot. At one point director mink (Into the Sun) was attached to helm, but producers have been taking so long to figure out the details, that it's not clear whether he is still on board.

Now comes word Bloody-Disgusting that Warner Bros Pictures has been talking with writer Oren Uziel to pen the reboot. Uziel's resume is pretty empty, except for "Shimmer Lake," which is considered one of the best unproduced screenplays around Hollywood.

It comes as no surprise that Warners has decided to move forward with a new "Mortal Kombat" movie since the studio recently acquired "Mortal Kombat," "Spy Hunter," "Joust" and several other game franchise from Midway Games.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vwkombi writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:58:06 AM

Sweet, i wondered what i would take my grandkids to see after their high school graduation!
wonderBOY writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:03:35 AM

would love to see joust movie
Loki writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:00:20 AM

Hope they do this right. I want an excuse to run around yelling mortal combat! And begin hitting people...your first skatemaster.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:07:33 AM

movies based on games are pretty sh*t. the best game movie is actually mortal kombat 1 and that was sh*t
MattC903 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:40:26 AM

Wait....................... Mink is a director?
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:55:02 AM

f*ck REMAKES!
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:54:41 AM

Well if the reboot is being done by Warner Bros then it must turn out good :)
JPC writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:02:43 AM

I believe Sam Worthington and Robert DeNiro are attached to this.
Vin12 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 11:06:22 AM

MORTAL KOMBAAAAAAAT!!
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:17:51 PM

Loved the first film,i was off my tits at the cinema at the time though but man was i pumped.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:26:59 PM

Perfect oportunity to take a miserable (although agreed BEST) video game movie and make up for past mistakes.
Gawd the first one was just horrible. And for it to be the best video game movie sure does say it all about video game movies.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:36:08 PM

The first Mortal Kombat-movie is, in no way, better than Silent Hill and the first Resident Evil.
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:38:23 PM

And Goldeneye is the best video game film...ahem.
billofill writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:57:22 PM

HOw about this for the rule of thumb. When the f*cking game company that made the games the movie is going to be based on went belly up years ago,it's time to give up the ghost. You know that and the fact that Mortal Kombat hasnt been that popular since 1997.
grizzle writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:32:01 PM

DeNiro as Goro! And Worthington as the entire remaining cast except Sonya!
Matiax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 2:19:50 PM

@JPC? What??

Well, DeNiro as Shang Tsung and Worthington as Johnny Cage. Or, if they take more recent history, Bob as Shinnok and Sam as Taven.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 2:29:19 PM

dammit Freud, I was trying to keep Silent hill in my head as a good movie and you had to go and ruin it by reminding me that it belongs in this genre. It's too good to be a video game movie.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:26:05 PM

if it's any thing like Tekken graphic wise i'm out, this is a kinda film that could use some colorful graphics,kick ass fight scenes and if they deliver that then perhaps a massively intriguing story would not be necessary(however would still be cool to have both) and yes, maybe even 3-D ...

NOTE: this kind of filming idea i had up here would probably only work for fighter films,(since the games focus was on fighting and so much on story, however i do like the MK story-line)so sh*tty films like Avatard should not do this ...
darkraven28 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:53:53 PM

If they make it an actual film with graphic violence instead of a rave dancing martial arts video (though those have their moments, as did the original Mortal Kombat films), then I'm in. The whole reason why Mortal Kombat was popular in the first place was the f*cking graphic violence. Plus, with the advent of things like Saw, you could do a mid budget Mortal Kombat film and get away with it. BRING IT ON! MOOOOOOOOORRRRTAL KOMBAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:07:35 PM

Are you gay or what! no more of the douche bag of Sam W. he is f*cking all the movies on HOLLYWOODCRAP, stop metion that gay im so close to go to his house and kick him in the balls!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:33:45 PM

@Bunny: Sorry to break your illusion, but this is a good thing. As long as we remember Silent Hill as a good videogame-based movie, there's still hope for videogames to turn out great. I said it before, and I say it again, Bioshock-movie have potential to be awesome (if they ever make it...anyone that have any stats on that movie?)
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:04:42 PM

Turok would make a good film based on the first N64 game,Apache warrior vs Dinosaurs.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:27:15 PM

NOBODY CARES
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:29:04 PM

So the only studio doing original work is Pixar? All I ever hear nowadays are remakes for movies.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 6:58:49 PM

I think an MK re-boot is a good idea (as long as it looks NOTHING like the Dead Rising movie ...)
JRprime writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 12:02:34 AM

hollywood is really pissing me off with all this...bring in some new guns and let the originals flow
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 2:45:58 AM

Mink... more like "Dink".
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 28th, 2010 at 12:19:58 PM

@Freud, I see your Bioshock (would be stellar!!) and raise you Metal Gear Solid.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved