WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hurt Locker" is PGA's Best Picture of 2009

Posted: January 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hurt Locker" is PGASubmit Comment
Earlier this month, the Producers Guild of America (PGA) revealed their list of top ten films of 2009. The list has since been voted on and the winner turned out to be "The Hurt Locker."

The film about a bomb squad was able to win the award over such films as "Avatar," "District 9," "An Education," "Inglourious Basterds," "Invictus," "Precious," "Star Trek," "Up" and "Up in the Air."

The PGA has matched the Oscar winners 13 out of 20 times, which gives "The Hurt Locker" a great chance to be nominated for as Oscar.

Check out all the PGA winners below.

Episodic Television Comedy:
* 30 Rock

* Californication
* Entourage
* The Office
* Weeds

Episodic Television Drama:
* Mad Men

* Breaking Bad
* Dexter
* Lost
* True Blood

Non-Fiction Television:
* 60 Minutes

* Deadliest Catch
* Intervention
* Kathy Griffin: My Life on the "D" List
* This American Life

Live Entertainment and Competition Television:
* The Colbert Report

* Amazing Race
* American Idol
* Project Runway
* Top Chef

Long-Form Television:
* Grey Gardens

* Georgia O'Keeffe
* Little Dorrit
* Prayers for Bobby
* The Prisoner
* Taking Chance

Click here to read our "The Hurt Locker" review.

Source: PGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:13:06 AM

John Hamm cant be stopped, dudes a f*cking beast.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:40:40 AM

the hurt locker should at LEAST get an oscar nom
MattC903 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 7:19:09 AM

Fully agree with you Ted. That movie was awesome.
VDODSON writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 7:57:22 AM

The Hurt Locker was alright, not Oscar worthy just due to the numerous inaccuracy's involving the military in Iraq/Afganistan. You cannot consume liquor in the AOR, some locations still have beer rations which is like two on special occasions. These guys were partying like they were at college with all kinds of spirits, even if it was secretly mailed it would not be in the original container, but probably immersed in mouthwash. It just proves that you never let a female direct a war flick, dumb c*nt.
Stuntastic writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:21:04 AM

@VDOD: So true what you said about being deployed in the AOR. You would've thought they had a Liquor Store on base. The thing that really hit home with me is when you come back from a tour like that it really is kind of hard to adjust to civilian life again.
telur writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:26:25 AM

The Hurt Locker is good movie. I saw it.
Metafact writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

@ VDODSON: Right, because every good war movie needs to double as a doc*mentary. I suppose you hated Full Metal Jacket because Joker's haircut wasn't in regs when he went to Vietnam. Idiot.
Tampa writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:27:29 AM

This movie was insanely awesome. By far the best movie I saw in 09.VDODSON and Stuntastic how naive are you both? I have been deployed to the AOR several times and have had no problem finding alcohol. Anybody can get it; all you have to do is know the right people.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:44:38 AM

Hurt Locker was an awesome film. Heard a great podcast interview with the screenwriter on creative screenwriting podcast on iTunes. He followed a bomb squad team in Iraq as a photo journalist a lot of this movie came from real world knowledge. Pretty incredible stuff.
VDODSON writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:48:53 AM

Metafact- I hope you take what I have to say to you to heart, GO f*ck YOURSELF. I point out an inacurracy and low and behold some faggot named Metafact jumps out of the woodworks. Good luck to you sir in your adventures in CA chasing shemales, and finding retro gay porn.
VDODSON writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:50:23 AM

TAMPA- Are you still active duty, if not when was the last time you deployed. I've been three times, and finding alcohol was like mission impossible, I would hardly consider it to be naive.
VDODSON writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:51:59 AM

Metafact- Just saw that your in the Navy, how are the boys treating you?
TeemSelami writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:36:12 PM

Bigelow deserves an award for sitting on Cameron's d*ck.
rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:40:17 PM

John Hamm for the new Batman,ditch Bale the bloke is a joke now, seems like he plays the same character in every film.
And well deserved win for Hurt Locker.
Tampa writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:53:36 PM

VDODSON, Yes I am still in...just got back last year. Maybe naive isn't the right word, but me and my boys never had a hard time finding alcohol, if we really wanted it. Then again we were smart enough to be discreet about it....we didn't want to f*ck up a good thing.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 2:32:58 PM

As far as contraban items, it's true. There are some who can get it easily, and there are some who would have better luck finding Atlantis. My husband pulled multiple tours and we watched this together. He did mention that if you could find alcohol, you damn sure wouldn't be sharing it so readily. But considering the events that took place that day, he could see why they would. So I don;t think anyone's wrong on this matter. It's just all based on your experience.

Hopefully I won't cause too much of a spoiler uproar!!


The Hurt Locker was an incredible film. The acting was good. But to be honest, it could have been a bit longer to develop the characters a bit more. The scenes showing James at home seemed rushed as though they crammed it in at the last minute and then poof he's back on a tour (sorry if that's a spoiler)
I guess they could have gone without a few bomb scenes and focused more on the story. I mean I got it the first run that James had some type of thrill seeker mentality. Hell I got that before the scenes even started when they highlighted the last part of the opening phrase saying war is a drug.
What I did really love about it was that the film could care less what the star's status was, if the story dictated them to die. be-gone. I mean to see GP go in the begining was a stunner to me. As was RF's demise.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 2:43:13 PM

I have had 50/50 with the alcohol and it really depends on the location and the people you know. In Quatar, not a f*cking problem, but in Iraq, a little more difficult and it also depends on if you know any of the supply folks or the fliers going out of AOR for supply runs.
Stuntastic writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 3:03:57 PM

@Jeff and @Tampa : You right about that. It all depends on the location. Of course you know officers always get the good sh*t 1st. Bastards!!!

encoreyourface writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 3:17:01 PM

i didn't think much of the film. not to into Iraq themed war films, in fact so far i don't remember one tht i actually liked.


Flav writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 3:59:06 PM

Wow, No GLEE for best comedy. I'm impressed! That list is about right, "Hurt Locker" deserves bets picture.
triggax writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 4:05:03 PM

Didnt realize there were was so much military on WP.. Im canadian so I don't really give a flying f*ck about american wars and politics..

But do any of you guys actually feel like you're fighting for anything when you go over there?.. I mean.. Honestly, whats the point? You obviously don't care about Iraq or the people in Iraq based on the way they're treated so why try to "save" them from themselves?... Call me ignorant, which I am.. But honestly.. It's seems like such a giant waste of life.. over what? some paper...
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 4:43:13 PM

Its all about the Paper
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 7:35:26 PM

I could give a sh*t less about Iraq, personally the timing for that war was sh*tty and should not have happened, but you have to follow orders right. Afghansistan operation, I care about since, that has more to do with the war on terrorism than the control of oil.
Franko85 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:16:43 PM

@Jeff: f*ck Qatar. That place makes me so mad when i fly through there. I mean seriously reflective belts with already reflective pt gear. Give me a break!
@Tampa: I agree about the alky. I was embedded with an army unit (SOps), and holy sh*t was there alcohol everywhere. I think that Vodka and Gatorade were the popular choices.
@Triggax: I would say that the war (Iraq or Afghanistan) is pretty pointles. But when one of the natives come up to you thanking you because you wear the same uniform as the guys who took out the bad guys, you can't help but feel good about being there. And you said you are Canadian? You lose a lot of guys over in Afghanistan. More than the US during some months. Please tell me you at least care about that? If not, oh well. To each there own.

Oh and yeah, the paper doesnt hurt the pocket either! :)
Franko85 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:17:58 PM

@Jeff: I agree. I would rather support OEF over OIF any day of the week. At least we have a legit reason for being there!! lol.
Metafact writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:33:26 AM

Wow, I hope not everyone in the Air Force is made up of little bitches who throw tantrums when someone calls them out on their bullsh*t.
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:22:32 AM

@Franko... We lose A LOT of guys every year in Afghanistan... Not what I was getting at.. One of my best friends since I was a kid, RIP, was in the Air Force and was killed in Afghanistan.. Its not that what Im asking about, we stayed out of Iraq man, theres nothing there for us really... so I question your guys motives is all..
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 4:23:51 AM

"Wow, I hope not everyone in the Air Force is made up of little bitches who throw tantrums when someone calls them out on their bullsh*t"

Hey f*ck yourself you f*cking tool... My grandfather and my father were both in the Airforce... I know a lot of good guys in the Air force.. what the f*ck have you ever done other than f*ck your mothers stanky *sshole dry... you putrid little f*cking paraquat.. eat sh*t... ignorant f*ck
Metafact writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:21:02 AM

Holy sh*t, another dishonest putrid internet troll. What, did you *ssholes just start breeding when I wasn't looking?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:06:41 AM

"dishonest putrid internet troll"

Really? Shut the f*ck up, metaf*ckstick! You're the worthless idiot who's OK with turning war movies into theme parks with lots of joy, music and fun for everyone.
Go watch "Avatar", little boy.

Some of the guys that posted here actually know what they're talking about, since they were there.
Show some respect, you dumb sh*t.

Dishonest putrid internet troll describes what you are just perfectly.
Worthless ignorant coward does too.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:18:15 AM

Well said PP!

Go smoke abother bowl meta you f*cking hippie.
VDODSON writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:02:57 PM

Go watch some more Popeye cartoons ya sniveling faggot, or calm down and feed on your moms tit.
VDODSON writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:05:47 PM

Metadouche is how you will be known from hence forth. Go forth young queer and suckith the c*ck... ask dandy if he wants to join you, he's getting restless locked up in yourfriendwiththebigd*cks's basement.
Metafact writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:07:04 PM

Gee, I guess you're right. I should be more like you guys, sh*tting myself whenever a war movie isn't 100% accurate and dishonestly putting words in other people's mouths to make up for my own stupidity.

Shh, shh, it's okay, I know you're embarassed. Why don't you swallow a load from your boyfriend to make yourself feel better?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:31:47 PM

"Gee, I guess you're right. I should be more like you guys, sh*tting myself whenever a war movie isn't 100% accurate"

- Retard, you're the one who got all bent out of shape over VDOD's comment.
The only thing he did was pointing out some technical inaccuracies.

"dishonestly putting words in other people's mouths to make up for my own stupidity."

- No, your stupidity is well covered here, none of us have to worry about it. The more you try to justify yourself, the more stupid you sound.

"Why don't you swallow a load from your boyfriend to make yourself feel better?"

- I see that works for you. I'll just go ahead and take your word for it then.

Until you pick up a gun and go on a tour to Iraq or Afghanistan, you're nothing but an ignorant idiot who knows not what he's talking about.

Now go throw an "Avatar" party with the rest of your war-movie-lover little friends.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:00:39 PM

f*ckin finally this movie gets some recognition. The atmosphere of that movie was great, I hope it gets Best Picture.

"It just proves that you never let a female direct a war flick, dumb c*nt."

Wow. Just... wow.
SamuelClayton writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:37:57 PM

I think we can all agree that Metadouche is a f*ckstick, but he is basically right. It's not fair to say that a war movie isn't great or "Oscar worthy" just because it isn't always accurate in its depiction of the military. Apocalypse Now wasn't exactly an accurate depiction of the Vietnam War, and it's celebrated as one of the best movies ever made. A film should be judged on its craftsmanship and artistic worth, both of which The Hurt Locker succeeds with brilliantly. Besides, I've read several interviews with veterans and military experts who claim that - overall - the film is pretty accurate. What more could you ask for?

"It just proves that you never let a female direct a war flick, dumb c*nt."

I hope you're kidding. If not, then you're also an asshat, veteran or no.
Franko85 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:09:29 PM

@Triggax: Oh ok. Yeah i see what you're saying. Iraq was all about the oil!!!

@Metadouche: Go f*ck yourself. What do you do for a living? Tell you what, when someone makes a movie about how to work at McDonalds and does something horribly wrong (like get your order right the first time) dont bitch or get mad...especially since you volunteered to possibly die for that burger...oh wait you didnt. the Air Force and all the other military branches did. I'm just saying.
Franko85 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 7:12:53 PM

@Samuel Clayton: Good point. I liked it alot, granted there were extremely noticable errors. But that is just about every movie out there.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved