WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Weinstein Company Says "Machete" is Terrible

Posted: January 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Weinstein Company Says "Machete" is TerribleSubmit Comment
Robert Rodriguez was out searching for a domestic distributor for his "Machete" film, which stars Danny Trejo, Robert De Niro, Jessica Alba, Steven Seagal and Lindsay Lohan.

Six studios were very interested, including Sony, Lionsgate, Warner Bros, Fox, Paramount and The Weinstein Company, which distributed "Grindhouse," the film that included the faux trailer that the film is based on. Each studio got to see about fifteen to thirty minutes of footage from "Machete."

After a bit of bidding, 20th Century Fox ended up on top by agreeing to pay $9 million upfront, a big backend gross participation for Rodriguez, and guaranteeing a wide release.

This deal left a big question. Why didn't The Weinstein Company, which has a first-look option, acquire the rights? Some believe that the studio couldn't come up with $9 million, but one Weinstein insider claims that the studio could have scooped up the film for $3.5 million and in the end decided against it because "we saw the footage and it's not very good at all."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 5:45:11 AM

Should have made it a 'Snuff Film' with Lohag as the victim.
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:19:38 AM

oh dear !!!
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:39:09 AM

Alot of people would gladly pay to see that movie !!!
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:44:09 AM

weinstein... blow me
wonderBOY writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:47:26 AM

they cant or wont even give money to make kevin smith's horror movie. the company is going to failm they cant make a lot from 1 tarantino movie every 3 years
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:53:56 AM

@wonderBOY
yeah i really wish they gave Kevin Smith the money for Red State but instead we get Cop Out -_- so devastating... not to mention they almost destroyed Fanboys... especially because it never got released in theaters... thanks harvey weinstein you FAT f*ck
Makidian writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 7:22:45 AM

I am pretty sure the Weinstein's know absolutely jack sh*t about what constitutes a good movie. I am glad they didn't end up with it but I am not so sure it's better that Fox has it.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 8:01:41 AM

Odd enough, just watched an Entourge ep when they go to sundance, Harvey Weinf*ck is a character.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 8:17:15 AM

Here's the thing though: it's SUPPOSED to be terrible, right?
nope.com writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 8:47:13 AM

well with the powerhouse acting of Lohan, Alba, and Seagal.. how could this possibly fail?

Peter Parker writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 8:52:00 AM

"Eh, gringo, wanna buy some knives?"
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:21:56 AM

So, Loskank is playing the whore (I mean in real life... not just any movie she's in)?
barley_cat writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:26:10 AM

What's Lohan's part in this then? Stripper who gets murdered? Oh no wait, thats a different sh*t movie i'm thinkin of.

@Ranger: Lohag. Lol
VDODSON writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:34:41 AM

Remember Lohan playing Hermione on that SNL skit, she was hot as hell. Good god I didnt believe five years could be that bad to somebody. I would of porked her in the stinker, now I wouldnt piss on her if she was on fire.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:51:37 AM

@ VDOD:

"I would of porked her in the stinker"

- You're the last of the romantics, bud. Cyrano de Bergerac, move over!

But I'd still piss on her.
Her being on fire while I was doing it would just be an added bonus.
lawman writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:56:23 AM

PP>>>>Hey, these knives have real toshiba guts!
makingcircles writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:56:23 AM

Who gives a f*ck what Weinstein thinks?? I mean, if this article said no studio wanted to pick it up then I'd be worried. I'm still looking forward to this...mostly to come out on Blue Ray so I can zoom in on Lindsey Lowhams arm scars.
Zubostl writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:30:31 AM

In case this is really terrible, I don't get, why Rodriguez does all these bad films instead of doing the Sin city sequel, which at least has some potential. Instead he does Shorts (which, if the trailer was any indication, was one of the worst films of the year), this one and then Spy kids, a movie the whole world is looking forward to.
telur writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:32:10 AM

are Robert Rodriguez had a good movies ever?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:33:27 AM

De Niro must be on hard times in a film with whore lohan, and fat as a f*cking whale segal, I bet the only reason he did it was because he gets to f*ck Alba in the ass when ever he wants.
scarface85 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:52:57 AM

hmm cant believe it, but lohan is there sh*t...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 11:53:55 AM

I think Danny Trejo has first dibs on Alba's ass.
BuuMonster writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:01:08 PM

@VDOD Holy crap man you are right about SNL skit. Just think 5 years her and Alba would've made a great Buu sandwich. Now I can only hope for an Alba burrito stuff
lost_addict writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:18:54 PM

"Remember Lohan playing Hermione on that SNL skit, she was hot as hell"

thats cause she had some meat on her.all those stupid ass female celebs loose weight and look like a broom these days...

rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:28:54 PM

Not surprised at all,the guys gone down hill since Desparado.
skooterz writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:03:10 PM

What is this movie about again?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:08:42 PM

De Niro must be on hard times in a film with whore lohan, and fat as a f*cking whale segal, I bet the only reason he did it was because he gets to f*ck Alba in the ass when ever he wants.



I was kinda thinking the same thing only without the Alba f*cking. He must be really cheap to hire. *checks wallet* I got 7 bucks. Hmmmm...I might be able to get Deniro to clean my cat's litter box for that much.


And I actually have 2 felines. Get ya'll dirty mind out of the gutter for 1 second.
TheHundreds writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:24:20 PM

Worst Previews you had a string there without any stupid headlines but you just broke it
WV-Films writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:28:35 PM

He actually never said it was "terrible" as the headline suggests.
billofill writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 3:06:56 PM

Sooooooo this is shocking how?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 3:09:37 PM

i myself do not think this film wouild be good either, and if is anything like Grindhouse i'm not going to watch it.

it's just not my taste.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 3:45:02 PM

THEY DON'T LIKE TERRIBLE?!? These f*ckers made "NINE" Buncha fat f*cks!
autiger10 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 6:10:25 PM

who gives a sh*t
encoreyourface writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 8:18:19 PM

really ...
ShizPaf writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:13:10 PM

Hollywood is scramblin' for cash and making tough choices like everyone. Also many stupid choices. But at least it found a home and we will get to see it on screen.
Even with Lohan... I like zombie movies anyway....
Jukxs writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:52:22 PM

Machete is "terrible"? Or "not very good"?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:18:11 PM

both
thedudeman69 writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 10:46:05 PM

Uh, wow. The Wiensteins are full of fail. its SUPPOSED TO BE AWFUL. IT'S GRINDHOUSE CINEMA.
venomex writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 12:30:23 AM

how the hell did they get ole bobby boy in there?
GIST writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 2:37:40 AM

Their outlook will change when they see the end of a Machete.
After Lohan uses it to cut her coke with.
jdl107 writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:41:50 AM

Wow, am i mistaken or isn't The Weinstein Company notorious for some really terrible movies themselves?
johnny_boy writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 5:15:12 AM

If it really is terrible, Fox does have tendencies to puck them
lostwarrior writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 3:32:26 PM

when are they gonna do warewolf women of the s.s. You know Nic needs the money... and f*ck the weinstein's. this is gonna be bad ass. and ranger who knows Lindsay Loc*ntrag may still be in a snuff film.... she is still alive right and is still in need of coke...
Faust hologram writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 9:38:11 PM

how is this a surprise
masht7 writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 5:16:04 PM

20th Cenrury Fox? WTF! The Weinstein Company can go give Gary Coleman a handjob.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved