WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Prequels Delayed by a Year

Posted: January 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Prequels Delayed by a YearSubmit Comment
Ever since "The Hobbit" prequels were announced, the plan was always to release the first installment in theaters in December of 2011 and then the second installment in December of 2012.

Now, Warner Bros head Alan Horn has revealed that the first film will be released in the fourth quarter of 2012, which means that "The Hobbit" is having a bit of difficulty making its deadlines.

The goal right now is to finish the script for the second installment and then New Line can begin figuring out the budget for both films. It is only then that the casting process can begin.

Even with the delay and all the rights issues that MGM is going through, New Line president Toby Emmerich is still confident that everything will work out. "It's a big bet for us," he said. "But it's one we think will pay off given the success of 'Lord of the Rings. This is one of the few movies it feels like people are waiting for."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 6:44:51 AM

they need tobey to get things moving
rocketman writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 7:04:59 AM

No they don't.Martin Freemam all the way.
barley_cat writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 8:37:23 AM

No boys, what they need to do is NOT release it during the time that the Olympics are going to be held in London? Thanks to British pride (hah) No self-respecting Britainian (or whatever) will be watching anything BUT the Olympics!
barley_cat writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 8:38:32 AM

And i'm serious, half the pubs in britain are already saving for that big-screen they can show the olympics on!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 9:56:26 AM

Lol! You Brits still watch the Olympics? We need to get yall some real sports quick :-)
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 10:49:03 AM

Well if it's gonna be delayed another year, hopefully Guillermo Del Toro will take some time to work on another film.

Personally, I'd much rather see Guillermo focus on At The Mountains of Madness, Hellboy 3, Frankenstein, and Drood than The Hobbit. Let Peter Jackson direct The Hobbit films himself.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 12:08:19 PM

Well, guess that means that no one gets to see the 2nd film from it due to the WORLD ENDING IN 2012. Aint cliffhangers a bitch?
Goober3000 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 1:03:02 PM

Oh noooo
Manigirl17 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 2:11:00 PM

@Ranger and @Parker why are you guys so mean just cause your on the internet doesnt mean u can say sh*t and you wont get beat up for it. I bet you guys were nerds in highschool and now your both living in your parents house in your childhood bedrooms. You were on here on a friday knight when you should have been on a date or something at your age. I thing you both should grow up and get a real life.

coldplayesence writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 2:31:45 PM

^^ Tears come to my eyes....
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 2:54:29 PM

Manigirl, why did you post the same comment in two different thread?

Or should I call you C.O.C./Dandy/Vin?
triggax writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 2:56:35 PM

mMmM Yeah and in a thread where neither of the 2 mentioned even posted a comment..

Sounds like a troll..
McD writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 3:22:39 PM

f*ck man hurry up. ian mckellan aint gettin any younger.
UKWGMG writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 4:38:35 PM

Sweet another delay, keep this up and maybe we can get a freaking reboot of lord of the rings while were at it. I wonder what Tobey's thoughts on this one would be if he were attached to this project. "Well its a process really..." Hollywood sucks.
GIST writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 7:15:01 PM

By the time I finish this Domination round on COD MW2. They better get their sh*t straight!
I'm going to kill that *sshole who just grenade launched me!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 7:24:01 PM

@manigirl-

why are YOU wasting time posting on this site? Ranger and Parker are not usually "mean" unless provoked by some other poster. frankly i wouldn't be surprised if you where Dandy in disguise.

and who's f*cking business is it of yours how people spend there time? you're being a jackass yourself. the post isn't even directed at me and i'm getting pissed off ...



encoreyourface writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 7:28:07 PM

also this news sucks. but if it makes the films better, i'm all for it.
Spedattack writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 8:23:09 PM

Sadly the world isnt gonna end on 2012 so wel hav to endure this movie
cimmerian writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 9:43:20 PM

As much as I love LOTR, in fact, my favorite movies of all time, I wish the hobbit never happens, 'cause I have this feeling they're going to screw it up big time as they did with the Star Wars prequels, the LOTR trilogy was perfect!, any dabbling on the Hobbit will be terrible!
cimmerian writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 9:48:39 PM

why?, you may ask?, because The Hobbit is an 8-year old book!, I mean, come on!, trolls talking, orcs singing, spiders chatting, it's just too infantile for a good fantasy movie.
Leave the Trilogy alone!, it still stands as the greatest cinema achievement of all time!, a hundred times better tha that greenpeace, commie piece of sh*t Avatar!
Eben1277 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 11:42:20 PM

I beg to differ my Cimmerian friend. With Guillermo del Toro behind it, the Hobbit is likely to easily surpass the LOTR trilogy for quality. Peter Jackson is, at best, a good director. With LOTR he had the support of an outstanding crew and well fleshed out source material to help him materialize an epic vision. Guillermo del Toro could take sh*t, film it, and make you think it's chocolate. Not that he ever would, the dude is scatalogically minded, I'm sure he'd let you know it was sh*t... that was just an example. I wouldn't be surprised if the 8 year old intended story winds up being darker and scarier than the adult themed ones.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 12:41:05 AM

@ Manigirl17:

Aaah vindy, just shut the f*ck up.
You should have a tooth pulled out for each new account you're creating on this site. First dandythep*ssy, then vin, and now a 16 year old girl from California?

f*cking troll...


To stay on topic, yeah... a year delayed... that's like... 365 days delayed...
rocketman writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 3:02:34 AM

If Manigirl is from Manchester England she could prove it by telling me whats the name of the shopping mall in the city center and whats the old first name of the _________ Palace thats sells all the goth crazy stuff and hippie sh*t at the top end of town?Whats the name of the legendary club that was closed down a few years ago?
Its only a few miles up the road from me,so unless shes from Manchester America?
Aaron writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 5:59:45 AM

Eben... while I agree that Peter Jackson isn't the greatest director in the world.. I don't know if I'd attribute all of his success to the LOTR source material..
..the frighteners was pretty freaking cool..
rocketman writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 6:46:18 AM

Peter Jackson needs to get his teeth into The Wheel Of Time series.That will keep him going for years.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 1:02:15 PM

Aaron, I forgot about Frighteners, that was the sh*t. My biggest issue with PJ is his use of slow motion to emphasis the emotional scenes, it takes me out of the movie. The scenes can stand on there own without it.

Rocketman, I've been waiting about 18 years for an Eye of the World movie, and while it might happen, I don't think the series could ever be made into a movie franchise. With 2 more long ass books to be released that will bring the length of it to what... 14 books, maybe 13? All long books too, and while I admit a picture says 1000 words and in Jordan's case possibly 2000 due to his verbose way of describing things, It would still take about 10 years to film them, even if it was all shot back to back, and the story only spans about, what, 3 years of the main characters lives at most? f*ck it though, I'd still love to see it. That's some sh*t I'd like to see James Cameron behind.
rocketman writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 1:51:52 PM

@Eben
I've thought about how they could film it and i came up with the 3 Director idea.3 Dir. film 2 movies ack to back each at the same time.Eg.Dir 1 films the first 2 films/books,Dir 2 does films 4+5 back to back etc..release the films siix months apart then do it again to finish the saga.
Dreaming of course.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 2:11:21 PM

Rocketman... I see what your saying, breaking it up like 1st and second unit stuff, filming simultaneously from the different POVs with whoever is not being used in another scene. Conceivably possible, but would require serious planning... like operation overlord kind of planning, where they planted the fake spy with the paperwork to bring the German forces away from Normandy kind of sh*t. Only more complicated than that. Do you post on Dragonmount ever?
rocketman writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 2:25:29 PM

Yeah thats right,total dictatorship planing like what China are up to.3 teams with second units all dipping in and out of various sets,some which can be used for more than one film(Tar Valon).It could work.Dream time.Peter Jackson,Del Toro and Blomkamp going for it would be very cool.
Dragonmount,i dip in for the news,don't post though because im to much of a novice,only up to book six and im trying my best to stay spoiler free.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 10:37:02 PM

I can't really post there too much, it's a PG 13 website and there are a couple of real dumb f*cks on there that deserve a VinDandy treatment, so I just avoid it so as not to get banned.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 10:37:38 PM

Get the f*ckin audio books, you can find torrents for them around.
rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:35:59 AM

I have bk1 i audio,great for taking the dog for a walk.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 9:43:50 AM

this is a bad sing
Eddie writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:35:42 PM

Wheel of Time would ve very plausible. There's so much detail Jordan goes into that would be unecessary for film purposes. Plus, there's a lot of sub plots that could be done away with (some of the monotonous dream sequences for example)that wouldn't even be missed, such as some of the deeper political plots that only need to be hinted at. A few books in the middle kind of drug due to the pacing and getting too involved in sub plots and politics. A 6 part series would be ideal for films covering this story. 9 would be awesome,but I could see a worthy story being told in 6 movies. Back to back filming would be ideal and The Wheel of Time begs to be filmed. I remember when I was in high school and first read the Eye of the World. I had dreams of that story as if it was a film. I appreciate what Tolkien did in creating the genre, but Jordan took it to a whole new level that didn't seem so magical but actually believable in the context of the world he created. Sure, he borrows a lot, but makes it his own. I'm currently reading the new one. Still bums me out that it's not Jordan's words I'm reading.
rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 12:54:11 PM

Eddie
Jordan wrote alot of Gathering Storm,full chapters,and he also wrote the climax at Tar mon Gaidon so we can be sure its his ending to it come book 14.
And 10 films is a nice round number.Some carefull montages could take care of hundreds of pages.
Eddie writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:09:49 PM

rocketman, well that's good to hear that the ending is in his words. I wouldn't want to read someone's interpretation of Jordan's ending, so that's cool to hear. What also sucks is that Jordan had other books in mind that took place before the Third Age. Also a whole new fantasy series. When I was teen I used to write down various actors who I though would fit certain roles from the Wheel of Time universe. I can't remember many of them but Logain still sticks out in my mind. I used to think that guy who played the ax weilding villain in Last Action Hero would fit for that. Emile Hirsch as Rand possibly.
rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 1:28:43 PM

I just got into the books about a few months ago,and im on book six now,can't put them down.I do wish i had them when i was a kid though. As for actors,its a tricky one.Unknowns for the most part and a few big names for the Forsaken perhaps and some nice cameos scatterd about like Liam Neeson to play an Aiel chief for example.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 1:56:47 AM

Unless they have in this the ending that should have been in Return of the King (if you have seen Clerks 2 then you'll know what I mean) then I will watch it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved