WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Momoa Cast in "Conan the Barbarian" Remake, Mickey Rourke Could Play the Father

Posted: January 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Momoa Cast in "Conan the Barbarian" Remake, Mickey Rourke Could Play the FatherSubmit Comment
It was recently revealed that Kellan Lutz (Twilight), Jason Momoa ("Stargate: Atlantis") and Jared Padalecki (Friday the 13th) were in the running to star in the remake of "Conan the Barbarian," the film that made Arnold Schwarzenegger a star.

Now, according to Deadline, Momoa won the role after the actor shot a few trial scenes showing off his sword wielding skills. After that, director Marcus Nispel (Pathfinder, Friday the 13th) was sold on Momoa.

Filming is set to begin on March 15th in Bulgaria, which leaves Momoa only a few weeks to bulk up. This obviously means that we'll have a Conan who is half the size of Arnold.

In related news, LatinoReview claims that Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler, Iron Man 2) has been offered the role of Corin, Conan's dad.

Source: Deadline, LatinoReview

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 4:39:00 AM

They were never going to find another Arnold.
Carpen7er writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 4:41:04 AM

Mickey Rourke in this ?
Sounds awesome !
Akasha writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 5:08:43 AM

Great news!
PencilNinja writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 5:50:11 AM

He needs to bulk up, alot... but other than that he doesn't look half bad, got the Buscema Conan look to his face actually. Either way it's ALOT better than if any of those Twilight twinks were cast....!!
Trip Maverick writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 6:27:35 AM

Theres no way Jared Padalecki could be conan his frame is way too skinny. Even if he bulke dup hed be way too slender still. Hed have to use some major steroids or venom to get the part.
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 6:59:37 AM

I f*ckING DESPAIR.
Fantasy films with American accents don't work.
It's a new world accent and to hear it in a period setting just takes me out of the film completly as do fake accents so don't try that either.I buy the olds films with the accents(sick of typing that word) because i saw them as a kid an accepted it but now it just grates.They do work well in sci-fi film though so thats the trade off for me i guess.

No offence to Americans,i love American cinema hell Star Wars is my fave film and will be untill i die.

edit....just googled the bloke because i don't know him fom Adam and it says hes a 'Male Model'as i said I f*ckING DESPAIR!
This weeks Spidey news is nothing compared to this ass rape.I f*cking give up beer too and its sh*t like this that knocks a fella of the wagon.
c*ntS.
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 7:45:06 AM

Beastmaster and Xena are all i'm expecting.
Recast with Gerald Butler.
Sev writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 8:01:10 AM

Christ, I'd rather see someone like Rourke play conan that this douche. f*ckin' ell!
Carpen7er writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 8:12:36 AM

He was casted, but probably not to play Conan...at least I hope not !...
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 8:19:39 AM

Conan probably eats benders like this for breakfast after his egg and hippie butty.
nope.com writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 8:35:44 AM

no delts, no traps, no biceps, no MASS

Conan needs to be BIG

not some dread-locked f***o*
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 9:12:32 AM

Of course Jason Momoa can be in the Conan remake.
He can play the Jamaican pothead that follows Conan around, so he won't get raped by other barbarians.
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 9:19:48 AM

Call him Ho-Mo Binks
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 9:34:35 AM

"Ho-Mo Binks" - LOOL!
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 9:46:57 AM

I bet the film will be full of sl-mo shots of his chizeld torso instead of gore strewn battles with heads being hacked off. Its Conan for the Twilight crowd?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 10:04:12 AM

Half naked, male model looking men running around in thongs?

Hey vindy, another one that's right up your ass... alley.
mattcl23 writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 10:06:53 AM

Umm...what about the Rock? Then maybe he can finally stop making kids movies.
The-BRAD writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 10:18:28 AM

He had some decent action in Stargate: Atlantis.

Glad to see he's getting work, but Conan? Really?
He is a big dude (size/height) But not bulked or ripped enough...

Can he do it in time? I dunno. I hope so.
BUT I don't really want to see Conan in dreads... If I recall correctly, none of the Cimmerians had dreads...
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 10:21:13 AM

@ mattcl23:

The Rock would be one of the few actors that could actually fit the role, although I'm not too sure he could convincingly play a barbarian.
Him as Scorpion King always felt goofy to me.

Regardless, with some work, he could get there.

The funny thing about it, would be that he'd go from playing a tooth fairy, to being a barbarian assassin.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 10:21:23 AM

So a Cimmerian, Nordic looking barbarian is going to be played by an interracial, non-european looking guy with dreads now? Seriously? Not trying to be a racist, just pointing out the obvious. Boycott this bullsh*t!
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 10:52:49 AM

@gates no need for the caveat man, it's in no way racist to point out that an established, iconic character is being rewritten and essential themes or element of Conan is being drastically altered. Anyone who has read the Howard books knows that Conan's physical attributes, size and build aside, was very well defined. Rugged face, crystal blue eyes and black box cut hair. This is repeated over and over through the novels and to throw all that out is disrespectful to the fans and source material. it's not about race or racism it's about portraying a character in the proper context.
BigUnit writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 11:43:58 AM

if thats whose staring in it, Mickey Rourke please dont do this lol
warlord writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 12:06:33 PM

i have no confidence in this idea at all
victor arroyo writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 12:30:48 PM

looks like a gay nip/tucked bob marley
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 12:53:49 PM

Victor,your avatar just gave me an idea.I bet if Tom Hardy bulked up in a wig might do a good job,can't be worse than Ho-Mo Binks.
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 1:00:58 PM

I thought i would see if this guy could act so i youtubed him....
If you watch this you will catch AIDS like i nearly did,i lasted about 20 seconds so i think i got away with it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK5ZRWhg8Tk

Now i'm starting to think this MUST be a piss take,has to be.Nobody can be that deluded as to think this guy is Conan.The actor who protrays Conan should be like a pitbull not a poodle.
billofill writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 1:23:47 PM

"and if you believe that you probably believe there's Richard Simmons Jr's running around the world" ARnold Schwarzenegger Conan the Barbarian Commentary.
kevo10183 writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 2:27:35 PM

this might just work since he is nothing like arnold. Im glad they didnt use kevin sorbo haha
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 2:36:50 PM

@ rocketman:

Since you were kind enough to give us the heads-up before following that link, I wore a rubber.
But that's some seriously gay sh*t!!!

I fear you may be infected... GO GET TESTED, MAN!!!


@ kevo10183: "Kevin Sorbo" LOL!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 2:51:49 PM

sh*t, Mickey Rourke would make a better Conan than this p*ssy! No big deal though, everybody knew a Conan without Arnold would suck anyway. I hope this and Mad Max crash and burn in epic fashion. f*ck this generation of remake/reboot hacks and f*ck this new generation of p*ssy actors. Its unbelievable with all the steroid abuse going down in professional sports and professional wrestling these days that Hwood can't find one *sshole to look intimidating while swinging a sword. At 6'4" this skinny Hawaiian p*ssy would have been a better pick to reprise Wilt Chamberlain's lame role from Conan the Destroyer. Btw, if they didn't give a sh*t about the look (or, better put, the race) of the lead character in Conan, why didn't they just get Vin Diesel or better yet The Rock? Either would have been a lot better for the part.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 2:59:29 PM

We're Kevin Sorbo when you need him :-)
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:04:23 PM

@PP I feel like i have been 'touched' rather than had some screaming weazel burping his f*ck snot up my arse so i think(hope)i'm going to be OK.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:34:18 PM

@ rocketman:

Well, I'll be crossing my fingers for you, bud.

However, just in case it got to you, please do me a favor... f*ck Julia f*cking Roberts before you leave us and take the bitch with you.
Can't stand the sight of her!!!

And make her bleed... make her bleed good...

(petting the cat on my lap)
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:38:08 PM

I have a feeling they are going to remake in the same vein as the Clash Of The Titans remake.......I'll pass.
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:43:39 PM

@PP no worries pal, if its comes to that i'll take as many of the f*ckers with me as i can. Hollywood...i'm tainted and i'm coming for you,brace yourself.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:50:52 PM

NOBODY REPLACES ARNOLD!!! NOOOOOBODY!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:57:50 PM

"i'll take as many of the f*ckers with me as i can"

LOOOL! Spoken like a true soldier!!

Cheers, bud.
Dre-EL writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 4:08:26 PM

I approve of Momoa
rocketman writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 4:35:39 PM

You seen the link above?
selter626 writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 5:29:27 PM

Micky Rourke... you ARE THE FATHER!! lol
encoreyourface writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 7:09:00 PM

@Rocketman .. that video you posted revealed the light (much like how Jason Momoa got reveled to aids by his cow-boy boy-friend ... those spurs are kinky ... mmm ...)

they would have to put a lot of make-up on him to have him look like a straight man.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 8:38:08 PM

Pathfinder was a steamy pile this will be the dingle berries hanging from his ass hair.

This mamoa faggot will get all his protein, to bulk up, from downing as many c*cks as he can
thelastwolf113 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 1:04:05 AM

Momoa was HOT as Ronan Dex but he needs more meat on his bones if he's gonna be a hot Conan
LastActionHero writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 1:19:48 AM

This dude better start hitting the gym heavy or he is going to look as stupid as that guy that played Hercules in the tv show.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 1:31:13 AM

Gerard Butler is the far and away the best option to play Conan, unless Arnold gets in shape and comes back to do a King Conan story. I'm a huge fan of Conan, from the R.E. Howard original, to the L. Sprague Decamp and Robert Jordan, pastiches, to the comics, movies and XBox 360 game... but if they make a movie with this skinny little bitch ass motherf*cker as Conan I will not even see it for free. At home, with nothing else to do. With the only other thing on TV being a show on the home and garden channel featuring paint drying. f*ck this sh*t. If he's in the movie he better be playing the dude that Conan f*cking eviscerates.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 1:36:31 AM

f*ck, I'd rather see f*ckin Conan O'Brien play Conan than this anal swashbuckler.
rocketman writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 2:38:01 AM

LOLZ
UKWGMG writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 4:43:54 PM

Oh crap it's Tyler Reks. First he is getting kicked off airplanes and now he is going to be the next Conan under his stage name Jason Momoa. Wow this movie is an insult to Arnold's bad acting. I guess all you need these days in Hollywood is sword weilding skills.
SHONUFF01 writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 8:24:04 PM

Why not just use Daniel Cudmore to play Conan? He has has the height and he could easily beef up!?!?
cimmerian writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 9:39:23 PM

eepli dissapointed I am, I grew up with Conan The Barbarian comics and the Schwarzenegger movies, and I can honestly say that this is jus another hollywood-liberal-homosexual-greenpeace-zionist way of saying it's ok, Conan is supposed to be white!, not like a friggin' american, german or scandinavian type, just someone with caucasian looks, and this guy Momoa is a half-breed hawaiian!
It's insulting to the the Howard legacy that the director and producers chose a Rock (Duane whatever his last name is look alike) to play Conan.
Conan, in Howard's view is not exactly aryan, he's proto-celtic, in other words an Irish or Scottish actor should have been cast.
Please, somebody, do something!
Pathfinder writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 3:06:48 AM

Nispel should have made CONAN instead of PATHFINDER in the first place with Karl Urban as the Cimmerian, so that he wont waste studio money trying to deceive the public into believing that Jason Momoa is going to be Conan and thus waste their money in this downtrodden economy. If President Obama wants to send me a stimulus check like whatt I got from Pres Bush or bigger, I'll see it in the theater; otherwise, I'll wait til it hits cable. RAY STEVENSON-HBO's ROME is CONAN!!!
rocketman writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 3:08:35 AM

@CIMMERIAN
Finally someone else gets it.Conan is from old northen British isles,waaayyy before the English and Romans landed.And most old Britions and Gales had either red hair or brown hair.Conan skin colour comes from being very SUNTANED,hes not olive skinned just permatanned because he roams lands far from his home,not as far a f*cking Hawaii though.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 1:10:13 PM

Proto-Celts all the way! Celtic pride motherf*ckers!!! That's why I suggested Gerard Butler
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 1:13:57 PM

They should cast an Atlantean to play him, not a f*ckin Hawaiian. Cimmerians are descended from the Atlantians... I believe Hawaiians are descended from the picts who may or may not be Lumerian in origin... therefore Momoa could not possibly play Conan, as he is a descendant of Conan's arch-nemeses.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 1:14:55 PM

And his ancestors' Arch-nemeses.
Pathfinder writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 9:11:39 PM

While I like Gerard Butler, Sam Worthington, and many of the other named actors for the role of CONAN, anyone shorter than 6'4 is going to be a MISCAST for the role of the Cimmerian. He is not only written by REH to be one of the strongest men in the Hyborian World, but one of the tallest. He was described to be 6' tall at 15 yrs old and FAR from his full height. A young Conan is a poor idea as few of the stories written by Howard really revolve around Conan as smaller in build than at his full size. Over 6 and a half ft tall, agate blue eyes and raven black mane, "pantherish" in his movements, yet extreme muscular definition; able to wield a broadsword as a normal man would wield a rapier or foil. Arnold was actually too short and too bulky for Conan. RAY STEVENSON of HBO's:ROME is CONAN!!! Nispel is going to screw it up again.....
Eben1277 writes:
on January 24th, 2010 at 10:40:11 PM

Pathfinder, you're right about Arnold not being quite right, but... he f*ckin just took the role and made it his own. Truthfully, I don't believe it could have been as good with anyone else.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved