WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

AMC Greenlights Frank Darabont's "Walking Dead" TV Series

Posted: January 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
AMC Greenlights Frank DarabontSubmit Comment
Back in August we reporting that AMC was close to finalizing one of the richest development deals ever with director Frank Darabont (The Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, The Mist) to write and direct a pilot based on the the Image Comics graphic novel series "The Walking Dead."

Now, THR has learned that the cable network has greenlit the project and will add it to its list of series like "Mad Men," "Breaking Bad," "Rubicon" and "The Killing."

"Walking Dead" is set among a group of zombie survivors of an apocalypse who are led by a police officer, Rick Grimes, in search of a safe place to live. The series will stay faithful to the tone of the original novels.

"This is not about zombies popping out of closets," AMC's Joel Stillerman previously stated. "This is a story about survival, and the dynamics of what happens when a group is forced to survive under these circumstances. The world is portrayed in a smart, sophisticated way."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 6:55:29 AM

WooHoo!!!
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 7:46:26 AM

YES! love this series!
AYT BALL writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 8:54:29 AM

AWESOME NEWS!!! AWESOME!!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:15:16 AM

"Walking Dead" is cool... but I still like "f*cking Dead" better.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:16:28 AM

"'Walking Dead' is set among a group of zombie survivors of an apocalypse"

- So, it's gonna take place in Haiti?
johnny_boy writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:55:00 AM

Is this all WP has for articles this time around?
rabid writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 10:12:00 AM

yesyesyesyes! best news i've heard all day/week/month.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 10:33:12 AM

- So, it's gonna take place in Haiti?

Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah


The-BRAD writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 11:21:48 AM

YESSSSSSSSS!!!!
c-prime writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 11:34:10 AM

I'm a huge fan of the comics. I think this has a lot of potential. I wonder who they'll cast as Rick (I could picture Aaron Eckhart in the role - he looks exactly like the illustration come to life).
c-prime writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 11:45:13 AM

"Walking Dead" is cool... but I still like "f*cking Dead" better.

Hilarious, Peter. You're several steps ahead of me again. It's about time they made a TV series about the art of munging, if you ask me.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 11:50:27 AM

Thanks, C, I appreciate that.
Fabian writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:46:30 PM

COME ON!!!!! WHY?!?!?!?
ilovebooty writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:46:45 PM

AMC series are all amazing , this sounds like itīs going to continue that way.
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:30:40 PM

Walking Dead - so is COC's mummy up for a role?
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:49:11 PM

Haha Pater parker. I bet you are f*cking ur fat skanky mom as i type. Shes so f*cking fat and ugly that she sounds like a dying whale when she is releasing her she-j*zz all over ur teeny inbred face.

So pull out that pale, white, ghoulish d*ck off yours and come over to my place.

I will love you like my own son.

Yours forever.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:51:57 PM

Ranger, words cannot describe how much i would like to see you in bed with Gary Coleman and Lohan, now thats a threesome.

Peter Parker writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 2:02:47 PM

@ PVMR:

"Shes so f*cking fat and ugly that she sounds like a dying whale when she is releasing her she-j*zz all over ur teeny inbred face."

- I see you've met her.

"So pull out that pale, white, ghoulish d*ck off yours and come over to my place"

- Get in line, buddy. I'm not done with mommy just yet.
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 2:21:20 PM

@Parker - so would I!

At least Gary would have a tighter *sshole than Lohan does (bigger tits too!)!
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 2:24:27 PM

Above post for PVMR Fan of ours! Thx. Bud!
Tyrkae writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 2:54:30 PM

Best news i have ever heard i read the newest one and it the first comic that had EVER brought a tear to my eye man thats a DEEP comic
bigsv writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:06:21 PM

"it's not just TV..it TV by FRANK DARABONT!"
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:08:26 PM

I get a tear in my eye when I pluck a nose hair.
autiger10 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:14:23 PM

^ nice entourage drop.

im excited about this, don't get me wrong. but the zombie apocalypse is too cliche. i have faith in frank (as a fan), but i'm a little hesitant to buy into it. yes AMC is a badass channel that has the best shows in the business, but i don't know sh*t about the material in "walking dead". anyone wanna shed some light?
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:19:45 PM

@autiger - my post had an 'Entourage' quote in in, or the one above mine?

As for AMC... yes the do run the best movies on TV (next to certain movie channels), but they edit and censor the sh*t out of them!!! If you know a movie really well, it's painful to watch. And were a person watching a movie for the first time on that channel... they wouldn't know what they're missing from all the editing and censoring. So, great movies yes... their Nazi book-burning policy sucks farts.
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:20:31 PM

Hardcore... go HBO. Like: The Spawn series in all it's violent glory.
autiger10 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:27:38 PM

@ranger- bigsv said the entourage-quote, however i do have 2 agree on the nose hair statement. it hurts so good!
autiger10 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:32:54 PM

but as a AMC-viewer i agree that the censoring will damper on TWD parade. knowing frank, i bet he's gonna juice this pilot up real-nice-like for the fans. but that being said, you can't say "f*ck". you wont be able to see "intense gore" (mayb, idk). and the whole atmosphere of a zombie apocalypse will be somewhat dull. for me at least i gotta either know more about "the walking dead" story to see if "I'll buy into it", or walk into this one blind.
autiger10 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:34:18 PM

any1 know where i can read the graphic novel online?
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:44:40 PM

@aut - thx. for the 'Entourage' clarification. I've been using the nose hair crack for decades.

It's a shame about AMC. I've posted much on here my views on censorship. It creates more sh*t than it's worth. There isn't a kid alive today that doesn't know any of the profanes spoken in movies. Censorship create curiosity, and it is NO different to censor a movie than it would be to go to the Louvre in Paris and paint over every tit in all paintings from the Renaissance period and beyond.

I watched a movie one night. They left IN 'Jesus Christ' but silenced 'sh*t!' Now... wouldn't THAT offend religious types? Who chooses what is left in and what is taken out?

Leave it ALL original, and leave SOME responsibilities to parents as to what their kids see. And YES, I KNOW kids can get around parental controls. But art is art. Movies or paintings.

Clearly, I'm NOT of fan of censorship.

It's like 'gun control' (talk about an oxymoron!). It's created more guns on the streets. OK... that's another can of worms... lol.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:49:53 PM

@Autiger I am sure there is a torrent out there for it.
Vin12 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 4:16:40 PM

@parker
ur a f*cking inconsiderate douche. you have just proven how much of a prick you are. people over there are suffering and you're making jokes
totally uncalled for
Peter Parker writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 4:29:53 PM

@ vindy:

The p*ssy had to get offended... typical.

"you have just proven how much of a prick you are"

- No I haven't. I can be an even bigger prick. Ask your mother.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 5:06:42 PM

I can't figure out who this biggest p*ssy is Vindy or COC...I think Vindy but its pretty f*cking close.
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 6:37:14 PM

Oh Vin... stop being a whiny bitch!

Are you EVER bright enough to post relative to the topic, whiny c*nt-girl?
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 6:41:31 PM

Hey Vin... question: do you squat when you piss (like I have to ask)?
Vin12 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 6:59:02 PM

@ranger
ur kidding right, the king of off topic comments is telling to stay on topic that's a good one
@parkerfag
ur still a douche
Absolution writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:01:49 PM

i'll admit when i was first reading walking dead i loved tony moores are way more than that charlie dude and robert kirkmen had something awesome until the prison scene, i hated how they just stood there for like 30 issues thats more that 3 years for me and still being locked up there was just pissing me off. until they finally left is when the series came back and got good
Absolution writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:02:45 PM

i'll admit when i was first reading walking dead i loved tony moores are way more than that charlie dude and robert kirkmen had something awesome until the prison scene, i hated how they just stood there for like 30 issues thats more that 3 years for me and still being locked up there was just pissing me off. until they finally left is when the series came back and got good so what im trying to say is make the prison scene short if its gonna be like issues 1 to 60 or something
encoreyourface writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 10:40:51 PM

awesome!! that comic series was bad-ass!! i could not get enough of it and a TV-series would be a must-watch for me.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved