WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spider-Man" Reboot Details Revealed

Posted: January 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spider-Man" Reboot Details RevealedSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures just announced that Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer) has been hired to direct the "Spider-Man" reboot. And THR now has a bit more information.

Webb is set to direct an entire new trilogy, which will look and feel very different from the Sam Raimi movies. The plan for the first movie is to be in the $80 million range and feature a cast of relative unknowns (so no Rob Pattinson or Gordon-Levitt). And the story will be pared down to center on a high school kid who is dealing with the knowledge that his uncle died even though the teen had the power to stop it.

The touchstone for the new movie will not be the 1960s comics, which were the inspiration behind the movies by Raimi, who grew on up on them, but rather this past decade's "Ultimate Spider-Man" comics by Brian Michael Bendis and Mark Bagley where the villain-fighting took a back seat to the high school angst.

The film will go into production this year and appear in theaters during the summer of 2012.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eddie499 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:39:19 PM

An Ultimates version is definitely a good start there. Still not sure if Webb has an eye for a flick requiring the scope that this will require.
gimple writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:41:19 PM

Sounds like Smallville.
rcazzy writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:44:06 PM

Ultimates with a few adjustments (No transforming Green Goblin PLEASE and no cancer cure Venom) would be good enough I think! Webb has a good grasps for likable and funny characters given that JGL was a great Peter PArker in 500 Days.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:45:09 PM

To Marc Webb.... Please feel free to put in Felicia hardy with big boobs on this one. Hell, even throw in a wet t shirt contest while you're at it. Reason I say that is cuz I like boobies and feel that you won't be able to deliver enough action, therefore some boobs will make me feel less ripped off
eddie499 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:47:23 PM

Agreed. There's not doubt that he has the ability to make character driven film. (500) Days of Summer was great in that aspect. I just hope he can pull off the action. Although I have to admit that great characterizations would be a welcome change to the current state of action movies.
WV-Films writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:50:23 PM

God this sounds awful. As Batman & Robin will be a lesson WHEN to reboot. This will surely be a lesson when not to. The franchise is only 8 years old. They can still sequel it!!!!
kevo10183 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:50:47 PM

anything will be better than spiderman 3 but please dont turn spidey into a high school drama
Bob82 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:52:23 PM

I wonder if the Sony guys, when they hired him as a director, thought: "well, his last name is Webb, so must know something about spiders, right?!"

I have nothing against him, "(500) Days of Summer" was on the best movies last year, I just think the whole idea of rebooting is pointless, like everyone thinks.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:57:57 PM

plot looks like it'll suck sh*t through a tube.

Ultimate Spider-man was a misfired wank stain.

however i may be wrong, but it seems like more kick-ass action would be the way to go.
disturbed01 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:13:22 PM

the only good news is no rob pattinson
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:19:46 PM

No twifag, but still I do not think there is any hope.
shadaypr writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:30:55 PM

Focusing on "Teen angst" under an 80m budget sounds like, "OH, OH, we could make it for the Twilight fans, a very great investment indeed and btw, it will SUCK!" Nothing against the new director though, looking forward to finally watch (500) Days of Summer.
stevethemoviehater writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:40:49 PM

this is going to be so f*cking gay
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:48:21 PM

The "Ultimate Spider-Man" series was interesting and a breath of fresh air in terms of style and graphics for the comics.

The series also integrated several other characters from the Marvel universe into the Spider-Man adventures, like the Fantastic Four, characters from The Avengers and the X-Men, among others, in ways that the Amazing Spider-Man series hadn't done before.

After reading this article, I kinda get the feeling this was one of the driving forces behind the whole Spider-Man reboot. Maybe the intention was to start lining up the stories and all the different heroes of the upcoming movies, like Captain America, Thor, Nick Fury... culminating with the rumored Avengers movie in a few years.

Nevertheless, Raimi should have had his chance to get his movies back on track.
The three previous Spider-Man movies are still too fresh in people's minds and it doesn't feel right to reboot just yet.

I hope somebody at Sony, or Webb himself, knows what they're doing.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:56:02 PM

"where the villain-fighting took a back seat to the high school angst." OMG its gonna be emo slitting wrist for 2 hrs
wonderBOY writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:57:49 PM

why are they rushing this so badly let it die down a bit then release it in 2013-14
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:05:58 PM

For everyone who complained about Tobey Maguire being a pushover gay boy I want to point out Marc Webb wants to make a pity film about Peter Parker. At least the original films manage to balance both. What is Webb going to do again for an original idea? Focus on Parker's misery. Raimi did that in the masterpiece that is Spider-Man 2. His high school years? Raimi summed that up in the first 15 minutes of the first one and got onto Parker growing up. So what do I have to look forward to from this pathetic last-ditch effort to make a profit off the Spider-Man fan base?
Lowryder writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:16:24 PM

do we really give a sh*t anymore?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:22:56 PM

"do we really give a sh*t anymore?"

- No, not yet. But most people will, first once they make some casting choices, then when we start seeing the first set pictures and the interest will skyrocket when the first trailer is released.
Vin12 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:29:31 PM

i never thought i'd see the day when pete the spider man wannabe would sound intelligent
gorgoroth writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:43:41 PM

i dont know about this, i dont like it, though i never liked Raimi's movies either, but i think i'll give this one a chance and check it out when it hits theaters.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:49:40 PM

@ vindy, the Tom Welling wannabe:

"i never thought i'd see the day when pete the spider man wannabe would sound intelligent"

- That's due to the fact you can barely read, let alone write.

There, you just got f*cked again.
No go to bed, sweetie.
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:59:22 PM

'That's due to the fact you can barely read, let alone write' --- LOL!

@gimple - I'll buy you a beer if you promise to never, ever mention Smallville again.
LeeMaca writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:59:38 PM

EH? less bad guys more school bully sh*t?? sorryb but if they're trying to make it up to date then like tobey in the first one you're gonna kick bully ass the day you get you're powers. I smells a teen wolf style spider-man or peter parker to win the basketball game!!!!!
RANGER WE NEED YOU!!!!! INSERT THIS IS A BAD IDEA REASON HERE...........
AshTrey writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:02:09 PM

Jim Strugees would be a great Peter Parker. He can play a nerd and drop the stupid British Accent like its a bad habit. Rob Pattinson looks more like a Harry Osbourne rich kid, but idc either way. I hope they show more of Flash, that bully that used to push Peter around. Make MJ hotter than Kirsten Dunst, preferably someone who can act and not just scream... and make Felicia Hardy hotter than MJ.

The End. Your welcome Marc Webb.
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:03:29 PM

I'm so pissed off with Sony... it's hard to comment (seriously).

They f*cked Raimi until S3 was the busy, unfocused clusterf*ck it was.

Now this... an entire new trilogy... yet... the SAME story... that we saw ONLY 8 f*ckING YEARS AGO!!!!

OK... everyone... come up with the best acronym for: 'SONY'

Go!
billofill writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:11:05 PM

I wish it was based on the current Animated Series. Which is what Ultimate Spiderman should of been more like. MEH
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:13:31 PM

I was waiting for those majic words "We are going to make it darker"!!
Ryanlawson writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:17:02 PM

best we make a new pirates of the Caribbean. f*ck the 4th one with johnny dept.... just reboot and tell the same story, just do it different a bit focusing on characters. and let the pirating take back seat.

this sh*t is absurd

murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:48:46 PM

I will be very surprised if this ends up working. A reboot of a serious thats not even a decade old with a never-before-seen cast and a director who's directed one film. I'd take Spidey strutting like an emo over this sh*t.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:50:40 PM

"where the villain-fighting took a back seat to the high school angst." OMG its gonna be emo slitting wrist for 2 hrs


Bwhahahaha! So this movie will be for tweens and fans of Twilight.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:54:08 PM

Suck
On
Nuts
Yo?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:59:22 PM

this sounds incredibly stupid(i.e. emo virsion of spidy swings once again) i wasnt a huge fan of the ultimate series of comics and much prefered the "The Amazing Spider-man" long running title. i probably wont see this because well i dont wanna see spider-man crying is eyes out over the Uncle been situation. my thing is if i wanna see him cry for 120 minutes...ill watch spider-man 3. someone said it on here "Raimi never got the change to fix the mistakes from SM3". i for one agree. i believe if the studio would have butted out Raimi would still be onboard, and we would have a decent film
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:00:05 PM

in other words f*ck YOU SONY!!! YOU AINT GETTIN MY 10 BUCKS!!!
TeemSelami writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:24:15 PM

wow just got off the toilet and had a great idea for the reboot. but this sounds sh*tty enough
telur writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:30:50 PM

Dear Mark Webb,

Choose me as leading star. I won't let you (and WP user) down.

Regards,
Telur
simplytyson writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:31:53 PM

f*ck my life
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:41:47 PM

i'd rather it would be grittier and darker with some blood and gore then all this high-school sh*t that is worthless and unless done EXTREMELY well will end up like sh*t in it's most likely 3-D formatting *shutter*

(come to think of it, a dark Spider-man would be pretty cool)
warriors187 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:52:34 PM

O.k. f*ck!!!! What the hell is happening!!! Why did Avatar just win a GOlden f*cking Globe for Best Drama!!!!! Who gives a sh*t about another spider Man without Sam Raimi!!??? What the f*ck is happening!!??
It is so hard to argue the obvious
lost_addict writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:35:56 AM

wow...that sounds horrible...like 'twilght'extra gay
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:39:07 AM

ultimate spiderman!? are you f*cking kidding?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:46:48 AM

no sh*t. never really like ultimate spider-man (except maybe the clone series)
SaulSilver writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:31:24 AM

A necessary decision. Using similar themes and source material for a new set of movies so soon would have sucked. At least theres a POSSIBILITY of it being a good movie.
Kurskij writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 4:38:25 AM

"...the villain-fighting took a back seat to the high school angst"
Well f*ck my old boots! 80mil Spider-man focusing on teen angst! That's exactly what I've been waiting for my whole life! Sounds like Spider-Twilight to me!
Teen angst. John Hughes would be proud...



DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 5:00:17 AM

If I wanted to watch a bunch of teenagers mopping around saying "whatever" & "like you know" I'd watch all the back series of Smallville then round it off with Gaylight and Bendoon (Gaylight 2)
SACdaddy writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 6:15:05 AM

Good news: This reboot wont make half as much at the box office as any of Raimi's films.

Bad news: At a price tag of less than $80mill it will still be enough of a success that the new trilogy will continue and further destroy any credit the character has left.

Its funny that they've chosen to basically make a reboot of a rebooted comic. This means that they can give a sh*t about the original fans of the comic. Instead, they're appealing to an entirely new (and much gayer) teen based audience who's much more in touch with their girly emotions than previous generations. Its just another step in the pussification of America if you ask me. Drop the violence and lets go to Smallville! Somebody put a bullet in me :-(
Bigcheese writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 7:29:41 AM

This would only work if Marvel brought the rights back, so that spidey could be in the Marvel Studios universe.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:14:18 AM

This sh*t should call the SPIDERGAYMAN but this reboot suck my balls SAm W a mean SAM R. an d Thoper Grace you destroy Spidy!
makingcircles writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:57:28 AM

God damn Sony...you f*cking f*cks!

@Ranger - Man...an acronym for SONY....I can't seem to figure one out. I'm pretty sure the first letter stands for "sh*tty" though.
moviebuff writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 11:14:49 AM

Really F****d off now , what is it all movies have to now jump on the Twilight ( Teenie) Bandwagon , any character over 20 is now obselete getting sick of this sh*t Whats next Reboot Bond except this time its 007 in the Boy Scouts, S1 and S2 were great then Sony stuck its nose in and S3 was too much CGI and no substance now they really want to F**k the franchise up
ilovebooty writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:52:22 PM

Sounds like sh*t...anyways all the other spider man movies were sh*t to me.
rocketman writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:41:50 PM

SHAFTING
ORDINARY
NERDS
YOUTH

Thats all i got.
As for this news? An 80 million budget? doubfull,sure Blomphkamp did it but a swinging Spidey in New York and back seat villian fighting would surely cost more?
makingcircles writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 2:59:47 PM

sh*ttiness Over Nine Years
lostwarrior writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:53:51 PM

well thats it.They just ruined spiderman, this reboot should be right up there with twilight series. and should come with an HIV test kit...
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 2:09:05 AM

i have an idea for a successful reboot...just translate the 90s cartoon into 3 films...problem solved...too bad it won't happen
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 3:53:21 PM

The Spiderman I want to see on film is the one Raimi does. A highschool emo Spiderman? Save that crap for ABC Family or something. I'm not plunking down some coin to go see Spidey get in touch with his feelings and have high school teenage angst and MAYBE fight a baddie here or there.
Sorry Sony, take the home version of the game and Be-Gone!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved