WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nine Foreign Language Films Advance in Oscar Race

Posted: January 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nine Foreign Language Films Advance in Oscar RaceSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the nine films that will advance to the next round of voting in the Foreign Language Film category for the 82nd Academy Awards.

This has been narrowed down from a list of sixty five movies and will be narrowed down again to five nominees. The final nominations will be announced on February 2nd and the Academy Awards will be presented live by ABC on March 7th.

The nine films in alphabetical order by country:

* El Secreto de Sus Ojos (Argentina)
* Samson and Delilah (Australia)
* The World Is Big and Salvation Lurks around the Corner (Bulgaria)
* Un Prophete (France)
* The White Ribbon (Germany)
* Ajami (Israel)
* Kelin (Kazakhstan)
* Winter in Wartime (The Netherlands)
* The Milk of Sorrow (Peru)

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bob82 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:35:08 PM

Maybe very few people will comment on this because they haven't seen many of the foreign movies, but in my case I've only seen one, and it ain't foreign, at least for me ;)

"El Secreto de sus Ojos" is a wonderful picture, full of emotion, great scenes and excellent perfomances. I hope you can see it. I'm really glad it's between the nine in the final round.

I'm pretty sure "The White Ribbon" will take the Oscar, I haven't seen it, but Haneke is a great director.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:41:59 PM

what no avatar!!!! god dam!! haha
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:02:50 PM

who cares. not to sound like a d*ck and all, but most movies not made in America suck (personal option btw, and i said most movies, not all)
HannibalK1ng writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:07:57 PM

yea man i agree, im from aus and all our movies are sh*t. There have been a few but they are a rarity.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:25:25 PM

You guys aren't thinking straight... Are there that many good movies being done in the US? Think percentage-wise, for each 100 movies done in the US, we'll probably get what, 10 good ones?

In foreign countries, with the exception of India, where they make more movies than in the US, the movies industry is much less prolific and they're still able to release a few good ones every year.

Foreign movies are more frequently based on the stories and the acting, and less on multi-million dollar(euro, yen, pound) budgets, big explosions and models passing for actors.

Every year there are a lot of good movies from countries like England, France, South Korea, Japan, Brazil... just to name a few.

Too bad they don't get as much attention as mainstream American movies because, most of the times, they're not any worse.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:30:04 PM

Another thing, there are few movies done in the US, that are remakes of the foreign version, and that manage to be better that the original.

"The Ring", from the Japanese "Ringu", and "Vanilla Sky", from the Spanish "Abre Los Ojos", are two very good examples that immediately come to mind.
Metafact writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:31:21 PM

Considering how horrible the foreign language committee usually is at picking the finalists (The Death of Mr. Lazarescu, 4 Months, 3 Weeks, and 2 Days, and Gommorrah are the most notorious recent snubees), this is actually a pretty good list. They have the two most acclaimed foreign films up there (The White Ribbon and A Prophet), and the inclusion of Sampson and Delilah is wonderful to me.

There's the usual fluffy Oscar-bait like Baaria and Forever Enthralled, and I was disappointed that Mother and Police, Adjective were snubbed. Overall, though, it's a decent shortlist.
Bob82 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:27:00 PM

@Peter Parker:

"Foreign movies are more frequently based on the stories and the acting, and less on multi-million dollar(euro, yen, pound) budgets, big explosions and models passing for actors."

Your're absolutely right. Keep in mind foreign movies for us argentinians are US movies also, but the majority of the people in my country think of "foreign movies" as boring art movies that only come from Europe. You're also right about "Vanilla Sky", I saw the original first and it was perfect.

@Metafact:

I didn't like "Mr. Lazarscu" so much, but "4 Months..." and "Gommorrah" were great movies. "Mother" was awesome, it was really snubbed.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:41:45 PM

@ Bob82:

Well said. Self indulgence can lead to referring to non-US movies as "foreign", despite of the relativity of it all.

Not all European "art movies" are boring, though.
In the right mood and state of mind, those can be very interesting, actually.

... they also feature nudity and kinky sex often!!! (weeeeeeeeee...)
Crane writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:10:05 PM

Oorlogswinter [ Winter in Wartime ] will win the oscar. Im dutch, so i go for The Netherlands. This time the Germans wont win.
GIST writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:48:41 PM

I wish I can comment on this.
So I can't, but I did.
Ummm, smells like bread.*

*catch that quote from a foreign flick?

Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:53:13 PM

"This time the Germans wont win."

- Crane, are you looking to start World War III, you crazy man?

BTW, I've had the chance to visit Holland a couple of times. You, sir, are a lucky f*ck! That's a great country you live in.
Crane writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:08:17 PM

Holland is a pretty fun country. But what i mean with ''This time the Germans wont'' because most of the time they make sh*tty movies and than 1 movie is good and they win the bloody oscar. After a long time, Holland deserves at least a nomination.

Where did you go when you went to Holland ?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:26:11 PM

Amesterdam, straight to the Red Light District!
It was almost three years ago and I've been trying to schedule another visit, since I had great fun there, but time just isn't enough.

More towards the summer I'll probably be there again.

Cheers.
Crane writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:30:05 PM

I go there every week, but for me its not that special anymore.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:38:31 PM

@Peter Parker wrote:

"You guys aren't thinking straight... Are there that many good movies being done in the US? Think percentage-wise, for each 100 movies done in the US, we'll probably get what, 10 good ones?

In foreign countries, with the exception of India, where they make more movies than in the US, the movies industry is much less prolific and they're still able to release a few good ones every year.

Foreign movies are more frequently based on the stories and the acting, and less on multi-million dollar(euro, yen, pound) budgets, big explosions and models passing for actors.

Every year there are a lot of good movies from countries like England, France, South Korea, Japan, Brazil... just to name a few.

Too bad they don't get as much attention as mainstream American movies because, most of the times, they're not any worse."

I'm not saying we come out with the best sh*t either, and maybe i just don't watch enough foreign flicks.

And i do agree, like 1 or 2 movies that come out every year in America do i enjoy. perhaps some research into some good foreign films would be a good idea, hm ...
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:05:04 PM

@ encoreyourface:

Here's a tip, start with "Pan's Labyrinth".
Hope the subtitles won't kill it for you.

@ Crane:

Man, you have no idea how lucky you are.
Red Light District every week... I envy you!
Crane writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:12:05 PM

Why do Americans always complain about subtitles. I always watch english movies with dutch subtitles, and i just helps you understand the movie more. But thats my opinion.
Bob82 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:20:11 PM

@Crane:

"Why do Americans always complain about subtitles. I always watch english movies with dutch subtitles, and i just helps you understand the movie more. But thats my opinion."

Same here, but with spanish subtitles. In fact, we are used to watch movies with subtitles, the same way americans are not used to do it. It's strange, but true.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:28:23 PM

Crane, it's not complaining, it's a matter of getting used to.
In Europe, several countries have a culture of subtitling their English language shows. Kids grow up with that, so it becomes a natural part of their TV/cinema experience.

In America, not often you'll see shows with subtitles, so, when that happens, people find it a little strange.

It's only normal that the average American viewer would prefer to enjoy his shows in his native language.

BTW, dubbing SUCKS!!! I hate that sh*t.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:03:06 AM

I am all for foreign films especially some of that german and russian porn, best part who gives a sh*t if you can't understand what they are saying since moaning is pretty much a universal language.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 12:44:02 AM

@PP wrote:

"Here's a tip, start with "Pan's Labyrinth"

Pan's Labyrinth, eh? have to try that ...

"BTW, dubbing SUCKS!!! I hate that sh*t."

what's wrong with dubbing? on Japanese anime it can actually be pretty good (take DBZ for example)

Peter Parker writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:17:48 AM

@ encore:

I'd open an exception for dubbing in the case of SOME cartoons, especially Anime. But even there, in some cases, I prefer the original voices.
DBZ was well dubbed, because they had talented people doing the voices, they were well timed and directed, so the end result didn't lose much to the original.
In other cases, like in "Street Fighter II - The Animated Movie", I watched both versions and the original in Japanese is far superior than the American dubbed one (in my opinion).

In case you never came across that movie, you'll find the 1st of 12 parts here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-ae3bNfTGc

The remaining 11 parts should come at the end of each clip. Check it out, excellent stuff.

As for real actors in live feature films, dubbing ALWAYS sucks, and keep in mind dubbing works both ways, English-foreign language and foreign language-English.
A good part of an actor's talent, regardless of his nationality, is based on his voice, speech, tone, pronunciation, and so forth... So dubbing them is taking away much of their work and talent.
Try dubbing actors like Chris Tucker, Eddie Murphy, Tom Hanks, among many others... It's impossible to make it sound as good, let alone better.

Real live actors deserve to have their real voices heard, regardless of the country their movie is being played on.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 2:15:43 AM

i agree @PP. i'm sure live-action dubbing sucks ass ...

and there are some terribly done anime dubbing, but plenty got some good voice-overs.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:47:13 AM

I know this is totally off subjset but saw the Golden Globes otger night and well-
Fagatar Best Drama & Best Director- I've got a really bad feeling about this years Oscars.
Anyone remember the sh*tanic winning 12 or 15 Oscars!!!!!!!??????
BurmaShave writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 1:43:37 PM

encore, I actually agree with you, and would only add that most movies made in America also suck.
Bob82 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:45:23 PM

@Peter Parker:

"A good part of an actor's talent, regardless of his nationality, is based on his voice, speech, tone, pronunciation, and so forth... So dubbing them is taking away much of their work and talent."

Absolutely right, that's why I hated dubbed movies, with the exception of animated ones. If I don't have a choice to watch them in their original language, I don't mind, but it's always good because you can hear some well known artists. So movies, from any country, are better in their original language.

In Spain they dub every movie, or at least that's what I've heard. I just couldn't stand it!
Matiax writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 7:38:15 PM

"Nine Foreign Language Films Advance in Oscar Race"

Samson and Delilah (Australia)
What language is this in?
whoever writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:33:37 PM

@Matiax

Samson and Delilah (Australia)
What language is this in?

Aboriginal

Matiax writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 10:46:25 PM

Thanks
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on January 22nd, 2010 at 4:00:50 PM

Hollywood really needs to pay attention to the foreign film markets. They are making MOVIES. You know, character development, strong beleivable storylines, good casts, excellent cinematography. Certainly wouldn't mind Hollywood making their #1 import: substance!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved