WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Man Dies from Over-Excitement While Watching "Avatar"

Posted: January 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Man Dies from Over-Excitement While Watching "Avatar"Submit Comment
A 42-year-old man with a history of high blood pressure has died of a stroke while watching "Avatar" in 3D. Doctors believe that the stroke was likely triggered by over-excitement.

The man started to feel unwell during the screening earlier this month and was taken to hospital where he arrived unconscious. A scan showed that his brain was hemorrhaging. "It's likely that the over-excitement from watching the movie triggered his symptoms," the doctor said.

The man died eleven days later from the brain hemorrhage, making it was the first death linked to watching James Cameron's science-fiction epic.

Source: news.com.au


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 72 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sev writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 5:13:06 AM

Avatar is bad for your health, FACT!
Ryanlawson writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 5:17:25 AM

f*ck.. me... just when i thought stories of girls wanting to commit suicide was tthe height of this avatar insanity... can we assume this was more likely to happen in avatar seeing as nearly everyone on earth has seen it...
Detrimental writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 5:29:32 AM

HAHAHAHAHA

Haha...hah...ha..heh.
I love this. I love this article.
It's a mix of Pocahontus, Tarzan, and Smurfs. This is epic. There's so much fail with people I don't know where to begin.
Detrimental writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 5:32:38 AM

He's in the great big Pandora in the sky.
shine2rust writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:02:54 AM

At least he died happy, surrounded by visions of lush pixelated forests and tall blue babes.
vwkombi writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:16:42 AM

All that for an over-hyped film school project.
Sonic writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:11:46 AM

That's not funny.................. hahhahahahahAhah!:-).
Doc_Brown writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 7:59:40 AM

Terrible over hyped movie! Terrible over hyped story!
rocketman writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:14:43 AM

Charge that bastard Cameron with manslaughter.
rocketman writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:15:09 AM

And ban films



and wanking.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:31:47 AM

Wow, this movie should come with more warnings than a Cialis commercial. I wonder how many people had to consult their doctor because they had an erection for over 4 hours after seeing Avatar.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:00:17 AM

Great, one down, a few million more to go...

This reminds me of a story. When the original "The Exorcist" came out, in 1973, the theater that was showing it had an ambulance, with a nurse, EMT crew and everything, parked outside.
It was said they were there because the movie was likely to cause violent physical reactions on the people that would see it.
Half way through the movie, a woman was actually carried out on a stretcher and wheeled out to the ambulance, which took off, with lights and sirens at full blast.
The subsequent performances were all sold out, and as it happened. It was later revealed that the elderly woman who had had the apparent heart attack was in fact an ACTRESS, who was hired to have a fake attack at a certain point in the picture, so she could be "rescued" by the ambulance personnel.

That wasn't discovered until after the movie had ended its "record breaking run" at that theater, and became one of the most successful movies of that time.

How many of you want to bet there's a publicity stunt involved here, just to make sure the movie continues to perform well?
barley_cat writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:00:42 AM

i almost died of laughter reading this. Cameron should be proud!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:07:36 AM

HAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA
workingdead writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:18:08 AM

This movie now has more legs than a centipede. Every unhappily married woman in America just bought tickets for this weekend.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:36:28 AM

OMG THIS IS HILARIOUS!
lost_addict writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:44:07 AM

I'll bet James Cameron had an erection when reading this...
barley_cat writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:45:30 AM

Oh just read your post Parker, i forgot about that! It's clever, it's obvious...would Cameron do it?! YES
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 9:55:25 AM

3D seizure! BAM!
VDODSON writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:08:33 AM

Im guessing that the man in question was a virgin.
CCBlev writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:11:59 AM

what they dont want you to know was that man was over dosing on crack before he entered the theatre
Carpen7er writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:24:38 AM

lol
RoorToken writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:28:02 AM

This story must have been published by Theonion.com. This has horsesh*t written all over it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:32:57 AM

Thats awesome Avatar is killing people, why the f*ck can't it kill the avatards that want to die.
thedotsays writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:36:38 AM

First "natural" death. They're not counting the multitudes of suicides as a result from watching Cameron's films.

But big whoop, fools get killed in movies all the time. Films like, Juice, Boyz In Da Hood, Menace II Society.....
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:39:15 AM

PP: I agree with most of the stuff you post here but Avatar is already raking more cash each week then most nations GNP makes in a year. If this was a stunt then the studio/Cameron are more greedy then I thought since this movie is set to break Titanic's record.

And just so you all know, people have started naming their kids after some of the characters in this movie. Now that is the height of insanity right there and should get your kids taken away from you.
Joker1282 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:07:07 AM

...poor old guy ! i wonder whos to blame for his stroke? the movie , theater, director James Cameronor or actors??
or maybe he had a boner while waching zoe saldana in tight clothes lol
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:15:28 AM

@ HJ:

Cameron said it himself a few days ago that he's sure it's just a matter of time until "Avatar" surpasses "Titanic" in terms of grossing.
I believe he wants to make that happen and doesn't want to take any risks.
Considering some of the publicity stunts we've seen in the past, especially the fact that associating scandals and movies have helped those movies to perform above expected, not only it doesn't surprise me that something like this "death" would happen at this point, it actually sounds too convenient.

It's been nearly a month since "Avatar" premiered, this would be the right time to give it a little boost with this type of stuff.

Despite of the fact that "Avatar" keeps doing well, it went down 9% two weeks ago at the domestic box office, and 27% last week.
They're still very impressive numbers, but if they keep going progressively down like this, it may jeopardize Cameron's record pursuit.

I'm not saying I'm sure the death was staged, I'm not even sure if anyone actually died from seeing the giant smurfs, but it's just too convenient and it's something that comes from an industry that has gotten us used to these kind of stunts.


As for the people naming kids after the characters from the movie, my first thought is this:
How the f*ck did those people even manage to have sex in the first place?

And yeah, child services should look into that. No child should be forced to live with idiot nerdy parents.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:26:19 AM

the doctors said: the dead of this gay is because a severe cerebral contusion produced by the bad acting of Sam W., poor guy, die because of this sh*t, f*ck SAM W. AND GAYVATAR!
ian_918 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:35:50 AM

HAHAHA.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:46:16 AM

Point taken PP. I'd think Cameron would be happy to have Avatar sit at the number 2 spot box office winners but I should under estimate a man's greed.

Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:56:38 AM

@ HJ:

"I should't under estimate a man's greed."

- Completely agree, especially a man who insists on only getting his hands on megalomaniac projects with insanely expensive budgets.

On a side note, some may argue that the results justify the money he was given. I can't see how that can be justification, given the fact that every now and then we see amazing and powerful movies coming out that were done for a fraction of the cost of films like "Avatar" and "Titanic".
warriors187 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:04:46 PM

Probably the same thing would have happened to me if I hadn't walked out 30 minutes before it ended,,,
I could feel my blood pressure rising about 20 minutes into this f*cking cartoon.
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:49:15 PM

This story kills me (oh wait... that was the other guy)!

Well... good enough press to make this movie another $500mil.

$2.5bil anyone?
goat1202 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:55:19 PM

@VDOD, lol this is definitely a huge possibility

@TRUEMAN, "the dead of this gay" Your english typing skills mirror that of a retarded monkey yet it is so hilarious, lol
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:55:42 PM

Come to think of it, the last week a woman was shot inside the theater while watching "Avatar",
this week the 42 year old virgin dies while watching "Avatar"...

f*ck, the movie is to die for!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:56:22 PM

@ Ranger:

"$2.5bil anyone?"

- Me! Me!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:57:33 PM

* Come to think of it, - last week...
The-BRAD writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:02:09 PM

After hearing this... Somewhere...
James Cameron is doing a cart-wheel
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:02:17 PM

The press and patrons of this flick are milking it more than Lohan's mudflaps at her regular Friday and Saturday night's gangbangs!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:08:00 PM

She doesn't do gangbangs during the week?

The bitch!!!
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:17:44 PM

No... the other 5 nights a week she's busy stuffing tampons into all her orifices to stop the bleeding.
warlord writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:18:30 PM

horse-sh*t he died cuz he had a bad ticker
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:23:24 PM

And he was jackin-it to the blue chicks!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 1:45:26 PM

@detrimental, don't forget a mixture of fern gully and a little of dances with wolves, I hated tha movie
Jedimasta writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 2:10:00 PM

Maybe it was just bad luck... we will never know.
barley_cat writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 2:16:44 PM

Ranger, i admire your creative mind- you somehow manage to find a relevent quip about lohan in the most unimaginable posts!
johnny_boy writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 2:17:37 PM

that poor man. rest in peace to him.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 2:22:59 PM

Sorry but if youre not even healthy enough to watch a friggin movie youre basically waiting for something to take you out.
MattC903 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 2:47:49 PM

well... this movie... is to die for.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 2:59:56 PM

@goat1202

sorry mss Garrison, i miss my english class, because i was f*cking a wore!
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 3:00:23 PM

@barley - lol... it's a gift.

And thank you for taking them in the light in which they're intended (some tugs on here get bent out of shape over them).
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 3:04:10 PM

When I was watching it in 3D it did feel like my right eye was actually about to explode, but sh*t, what an awful way to die. He could have at least chosen a better movie to kill him.
Lordchristo writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 3:05:23 PM

And here's to many more deaths linked to Avatar! Cheers!
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 3:42:17 PM

Good thing he died to this movie.

Dying during the Hustler Avatar version with his pants down to his knees would have been just plain 'o embarASSing!
disturbed01 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 3:42:55 PM

i think that what happens when you hype things up haha
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 3:56:04 PM

You f*cking dumbasses. He didn't die while watching it, he died AFTER, ELEVEN DAYS AFTER!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 4:03:07 PM

CAMERON'S A KILLER!!
rabid writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 4:07:26 PM

it was probably the butter on the popcorn. that stuff'll kill you.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 4:14:58 PM

Heh...
Mr.Goober3000 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 4:43:09 PM

Cameron should quit with the subtleties and just f*cking walk into theaters shooting people!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 4:45:49 PM

...should I fell threatened here?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:10:50 PM

!!!!GOOOOOOOBER FIGHT!!!!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:41:49 PM

listen here pal this town aint big enough for the both of us
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 6:59:21 PM

i knew this show meant death to us all. clear sign of the Apocalypse.

(btw the previous post was by ilovebatman)
LeeMaca writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 10:34:19 PM

Well if nobody else is going to say it then i guess I will AVATER WAS sh*t.... There I SAID IT....what? everybody thats seen it thought that oh well i'll be quiet again!
Crane writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 11:16:01 PM

Warning - Dancing With Smurfs does kill.
LifeInAGlassHouse writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 9:10:32 AM

I call bullsh*t. Sorry excuse for a death in a movie theatre. Movie wasn't that good to die over.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 3:46:06 PM

Guess that means the virtual sex invention from that Sixth Day movie is off the idea table too.
Mr.Goober3000 writes:
on January 21st, 2010 at 6:40:23 PM

@Goober3000 no this town isn't big enough for the 2 of us, but your mother's vagina is!
UKWGMG writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 4:53:27 PM

Wow what a sad way to go. At least it wasn't Titanic haha. I guess the next thing you know that guy from SNL is going to do a remix of the j*zz in My Pants Song and mention Avatar.
Goober3000 writes:
on February 1st, 2010 at 5:55:29 PM

and itll be in 3D

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved