WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

No Superman Cameo in "Green Lantern" Movie

Posted: January 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
No Superman Cameo in "Green Lantern" MovieSubmit Comment
Back in December of 2008, co-writer Marc Guggenheim revealed that he wrote in a Superman cameo into the "Green Lantern" script. This came as no surprise since Warner Bros might want to set up characters and relationships for the eventual "Justice League of America" movie.

A few months later, Guggenheim stated that he was no longer sure whether Superman was going to be left in the script. And now, director Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) has confirmed that "Green Lantern" will not have room for Superman, Batman or any other DC Comics' heroes.

"No, that won't happen," said Campbell about the chances of Superman or Clark Kent being used in "Green Lantern." "None of the other DC characters will appear in the film."

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 4:26:55 AM

So... he got the idea of the Supes in Green Lantern cameo idea from me (seriously), as I've posted that on the Internet?

The cameo I had suggested that he says the movie may not have the time for, was our Green Lantern visiting OA at a GL conference, with Superman finishing up a speech... coming off the podium, shaking our GL's and other's hands then flying off. Easy-peasy.
vampires_suck writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 4:43:39 AM

It would be a definate step in the right direction for Warner Bros to start incorporating cameos from other characters in their DC films. I mean look how much chatter there is when a Marvel flick comes out about the cameos of other charcters, it's a real draw card in gettin bums on seats. Get it together Warners. PS, i'm really looking forward to this GL film.
VDODSON writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 5:25:03 AM

Why the f*ck not? f*cking c*cksuckers.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 5:25:51 AM

Just put in a wonder woman with a big rack to cameo. Then we'd all win
Ari Gold writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 5:57:04 AM

f*ck yeah! Even better a topless Wonder Woman with a big rack!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 6:36:25 AM

Wonder Woman would be nice topless, but I'd much rather see some lips if you know what I mean

Regardless, hopefully this movie will start leaking photos sooner rather than labia...I mean later...
lokopr writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 6:37:13 AM

really? is not that hard to at least say the name, for example lets say that something happens and it goes to the news...Hal takes a newspaper with the name Daily Planet and the column written by Clark Kent and thats it!!! i dont think that something like this would ruin the movie
Dre-EL writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 10:04:28 AM

too bad, a one line here or there or maybe standing in the background (being recognizable)would have been good.

hope they at least mention him in conversation thus still setting up elements from the DC universe.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 10:13:14 AM

A Superman cameo would be really easy to pull off, and make an interesting moment at the same time. Something like:

Superman flies by, Green Lantern sees him and says:

Green Lantern: "Hey dude, why do you wear your underpants on the outside?

Superman: "Look who's talking! A bodysuit and tights... Nice fashion statement, Green Lampoon!"
The-BRAD writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 10:42:56 AM

^^ Nice! (PP)
Green Mist writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 10:57:01 AM

If you think about it. It's for the better. That team up thing works well for Marvel. But for DC not so much. First DC need to find a way in which they can film all the main characters stories separately, this includes a proper Superman film not the crap that was Returns. You also need to create another set of Batman films because Nolan's world is just to dark to fit in with this whole gimmicky face of team up films. Once that's done you can start with the recruiting. But personally speaking we won't see a JLA film for another 21 years, when all the DC characters will be rebooted.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 11:00:47 AM

The superman cameo would work, as long as they don't have a douche playing superman. I would like to see a topless wonderwoman cameo!
rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 12:16:18 PM

hahaha he didnt get the idea from you Ranger. It's in the GL origin comic. Before the ring goes to Hal Jordan it passes over several other worthy candidates, the first one being Clark Kent.
But I think they scrapped the Guggenheim script altogether didn't they?
Thought I read that somewhere.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 12:33:15 PM

@rabid - oh, I'm sure it's come up in the comics. That many decades and it would have had to. Ever since there's been talk of a GL movie, I've posted that Supes NEEDS to make an appearance. Even if the scene is with Supes being a guest speaker on OA, shoot him from the back (if they're unsure who will be paying him in the future), then off the podium... shakes a few hands then buggers off (hopefully to nail a grateful Wonder Woman... I'm tying you up with your golden lariat... Biach!).

DC's 'Universe' on the Big Screen is NON-existent. They're a joke. They have some of the best characters in history and they're 15 years behind Marvel and they're f*cking it up... constantly.

Clearly they have no idea what they're doing (let alone doing something 'innovative' as cross-marketing their characters).
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 12:37:53 PM

And before ANYone reminds me of the success of TDK... no, I haven't forgotten that.

But where is the DC Universe as compared to Marvel's standing in cinema? And TDK was an amazing accomplishment... as a stand alone film. I know... dark knight... lone rider... etc. Someone above commented that it will be 21 years before we see any JLA. They're right (and optimistic). At DC's pathetic rate... it'll be never.
rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 12:59:15 PM

Marvel built their film empire by pimping all their characters out to different studios. DC may have made the smart move by sticking with Warner Brothers only, but then one studio can only develop so many films at a time.
Personally I think DC heroes are geared more for television. They should consider creating their own comic network and producing live action shows.
rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:06:24 PM

Not that DC is slipping or anything. They have all sorts of great stuff in the works... The Losers, Red, Jonah Hex, Swamp Thing, Shazam, the Exterminators, Y the Last Man.
Probably aman and Flash too in the next little while.
The JLA can wait as far as I'm concerned. They're boring compared to all their other properties.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:06:55 PM

Good point about the pimping out Rabid.

The other side of that coin is, the more studios cranking out Marvel stuff... the better they may want to do, to get more characters, thus more work, thus more movies to make. Competition with those different studios is driving the Marvel movies to actually getting done. While 'particular' DC sits on their collective ass.

TDK...GREAT. And from what I see, I'm one of the few that enjoyed Supes Returns. Now finally GL. Still no Flash. WTF are they doing?!?!
rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:06:58 PM

*Batman, i meant... keyboard on the fritz
rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:27:36 PM

They're working on the Flash script now. I'm a huge Flash fan, but I imagine it's a tough sell to write an interesting film about a man who can run fast. Flash has the worst villains in all of comicdom. They can barely get his comic book to sell issues, so I could see why they'd be apprehensive about spending money on the project.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:27:52 PM

@ Rabid:

Marvel didn't exactly pimp all their characters out to different studios.
The studios showed interest in the characters and in developing movies using them, it was their initiative.
It was also at a time Marvel was in no conditions to fund multi-million dollar projects to have their characters in big Hollywood productions, so the studios' interest came at exactly the right time.

What they did with the movies, that's an entirely different story.
Marvel can be blamed for that only to some extent. When it's not their money, they really can't have much say in the matter. The studios would take some "creative" liberties, as they always do, that was a given.

Marvel knew the risks and took their chances.

DC stuck with Warner Bros because Warner needed to fight back and have a superhero empire of their own, so they made DC a good deal.
Warner couldn't miss out on all that money and DC was the obvious choice, and vice-versa.

Let's also not forget about Schumacher's Batman movies. Those weren't exactly smart moves from DC, nor from Warner.

Every time a superhero movie comes out, DC and Marvel play the odds by putting them on some director's hands. Sometimes they do well, other times we get "Daredevil" and "Batman Forever".
The character's creators really can't do much about it.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:31:31 PM

@Rabid - it's the things The Flash can do whilst running fast that make him one of the most fascinating Super Heros.

He can vibrate through solid objects.
He can run up light beams.
Run over water.

Too much to list. But same as GL... they'll be fab. movies if... IF the writer's know ALL their capabilities and think outside the Superman box - that has limited his movies, and actually use their imagination. Wait... f*ck their imagination. Just grab all the best stuff these characters have been through in the comics already, and make a stellar movie about that!

rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 1:54:17 PM

I agree about the Flash. He's one of my favorites. But it's a tougher task to get other people to care about the Flash.

And they definitely have to come up with a better origin than lightning striking chemicals. They toyed with the origin a bit since then, using the speed force and time travel, so maybe there's hope there.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 2:19:28 PM

Yep. He's unlimited as is GL (and Supes IF they EVER did him right... moving planets and stuff like that).

People bash Singer... but he's a comic lover that shows in his movies. If Hollyweird was smart... they pay for his time well (as he's making $'s hand over fist producing House MD, etc.) to consult on some of this stuff.

Should Supes (even from the back) make an appearance in GL... yes... he sure as hell should!!! That's a NO BRAINER!

I don't think the limited 'The Flash' following would hurt his movie. Avatar had NO following and look what's happened there... neither did The Matrix. A great movie, word of mouth... and The Flash would be running on water for a few movies before the JLA showed up.
rabid writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 3:08:38 PM

It wouldn't even be that much of a task to put Superman in the film. You don't even have to hire an actor. Just show a red/blue blur zipping around in orbit at some point. Fans will figure it out.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 3:50:06 PM

Exactly.
lewarren writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 5:44:15 PM

What a yet down.
lewarren writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 5:45:12 PM

I mean let down.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 6:10:45 PM

Wow, lame. Oh well. I think Routh should come back as Supes but oh well to that too.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 7:39:57 PM

THANK GOD!!! I hate Super-man, he almost always wins in the comics and is like the god of DC ... it is really annoying.
FBO writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:06:47 AM

Dumb Asses
telur writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:22:10 AM

no superman cameo because you need pay to Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster
Ranger writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:45:24 AM

For the 3 minutes Supes would appear in GL...

Sure... pay them (or their estates).

@Johnny - I think Routh did a great job as Kal-El as well.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved