WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Has Now Grossed Over $1.6 Billion

Posted: January 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Has Now Grossed Over $1.6 BillionSubmit Comment
After five weeks in theaters James Cameron's "Avatar" remained the king of the box office by taking first place this weekend with another $41 million. The film has now brought it a worldwide total of $1.6 billion, which means that in the next two weeks it will surpass Cameron's "Titanic" to become the highest grossing film of all time. "Titanic" currently sits at the top with $1.8 billion.

Denzel Washington's "The Book of Eli" grossed an estimated $31.6 million to take second place, while Peter Jackson's "The Lovely Bones" took third as it expanded to 2,563 theaters. "Bones" suffered from a poor marketing campaign in its initial limited run, and even though things are going better, the film will probably not make back its $100 million budget domestically.

Opening below expectations was Jackie Chan's family pic "The Spy Next Door," which grossed an estimated $9.7 million from 2,924 to place No. 6.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 81 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 7:54:41 PM

*yawn*
tcu21 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 7:58:57 PM

It may beat Titanic worldwide, but it's hard to imagine it coming close in domestic numbers. Although due to the lack of competition in the coming weeks it has a small chance. I guess we'll see.
Derp88 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:02:26 PM

I said Avatar would beat Titanic easily on that WP article where the writer said "Highly Unlikely it would beat Titanic"

LOL.
tcu21 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:05:26 PM

"Beating Titanic" is all relative though. Adjust for inflation, the cost of 3-D/IMAX tickers or look at the attendance or domestic numbers and it's not as close.

Depends on who you ask but if it goes over 1.8 billion, Avatar is the winner in my book.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:11:58 PM

It's funny how people didn't think it was going to surpass "Titanic" record XD
shayhiri writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:22:54 PM

Hi, Derp!

Here's the article:
http://worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16328&count=99

As you can see, it's from January 7th, little more than a week ago.

Here's what it says:

"But it's very unlikely that "Avatar" would be able to break $1.84 billion."

And here's my reply:

"REALLY, WP? Well, you're some b.o. geniuses, ain't ya?

Take some advice and shut up. Avatar is 1000% making more than Titanic."

It has to be my luck, ain't it? This is the only movie blog I've been reading for now - and it happens to be written by idiots. Officially.


SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:30:08 PM

Now I know why Rorschach hates humanity so much...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:49:38 PM

Dark Knight appears to be going down by end of next weekend. Gary Oldman is gonna get taken down two weeks in a row by the Na'Vi.

Gary Oldman: "THIS MEANS f*ckING WAR!"
warriors187 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:51:51 PM

I just pray that I'm gonna wake up and realize that this was all some cruel joke.
How can THIS movie!!.......whatever. I'm done trying to understand it
shayhiri writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:59:22 PM

So you prefer the archaic pink garbage staying on top for another 13 years?

What a'ya, a sissy?
Kindlegolas writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 9:15:36 PM

"Opening below expectations was Jackie Chan's family pic "The Spy Next Door," which grossed an estimated $9.7 million from 2,924 to place No. 6."

Who had high expectations of this film?
warriors187 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 9:16:13 PM

Titanic was a far better movie than "Avatar."
Its a cartoon for christs sake.
warriors187 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 9:16:13 PM

Titanic was a far better movie than "Avatar."
Its a cartoon for christs sake.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:17:16 PM

And Cameron wins the Oscar for Best Director.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:20:46 PM

Golden Globe WOOPS! EDIT FUNCTION WP MUCH!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:27:44 PM

"So you prefer the archaic pink garbage staying on top for another 13 years?"

- Is blue garbage any better?
What are you, an idiot?
Lister writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:35:59 PM

"- Is blue garbage any better?"

"Its a cartoon for christs sake."

You guys just hate everything.
warriors187 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:50:47 PM

I don't hate everything, just pieces of sh*t like Avatar.
I've like a lot of recent movies that have come out
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:51:21 PM

"You guys just hate everything."

WRONG. We don't "hate" everything. We don't "hate" good story. We don't "hate" characterization. We don't "hate" a complicated plot. What we do hate though, is a movie that uses effects before storytelling. Because we avatar "haters" respect cinema enough to know that a special effect without a story makes the effect not special at all.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:52:53 PM

"And Cameron wins the Oscar for Best Director."

TDK, don't tell people what you think about when you masturbate.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:57:22 PM

Ooo do those directors look pissed or what that he just won best film.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:58:22 PM

Hence my edited post spooky cupcakes, try not to show the whole site how much your ass hurts over all this. Go to bed you f*cking child kthankbye.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:00:54 PM

The Golden Globes is not a prestigious award. If a preachy watered down sci fi cartoon with blue jungle cats can win, the standards have been set pretty low.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:02:17 PM

"Go to bed you f*cking child kthankbye."

Wow that was so f*cking witty I almost sh*t myself
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:03:37 PM

"Ooo do those directors look pissed or what that he just won best film."

Yea, they do look pissed. Maybe because he didn't deserve to f*cking win.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:03:51 PM

Spooky- You don't love cinema you think you're above cinema. Above the fan base that makes the industry what it is. You've got a long way to go. I'm not going to sit here and tell you Avatar is the best film ever (it surely isn't) I'm not going to tell you why you should like it or hate it, but you should respect it because it has pushed the boundaries of storytelling and it has touched people all over the world. At the end of the day, that is what this medium is all about. Continue to write your "scripts" I wish you the best of luck with your "original" scripts and brilliant stories. I won't be surprised if I never see them on screen.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:03:59 PM

well, avatar won best drama picture over inglourious basterds, NOW we're f*cked
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:09:38 PM

"it has pushed the boundaries of storytelling"

*spits out coffee*

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

as for the rest: cool story bro
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:09:38 PM

"it has pushed the boundaries of storytelling"

*spits out coffee*

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

as for the rest: cool story bro
Peter Parker writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:11:29 PM

I don't hate everything. Good porn, for example... I love that sh*t!
Come to think about it, I love bad porn too!

Regarding "Avatar", it's eye candy, with an unoriginal worn out plot, with 2-dimensional (which is funny, since it's a 3D movie) shallow and underdeveloped characters.
It's a film whose merits have been hugely overrated, causing a snowball effect that made a whole lot of folks wonder what all the fuss was about, taking them to the theaters to see for themselves.

It brought no movie revolution.
It won't change cinema forever.
It's not the greatest film of all times.
Cameron and his apostles, who foresaw the end of cinema as we know it, to be replaced by the new order of 3D and CGI animation are idiots.

And I don't hate the movie.
I hate all the undeserved attention it is getting, considering that it is eye candy, and little more.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:12:16 PM

I wanted The Hurt Locker to win this one (haven't seen Precious or Up in the Air) yet so I had to go off what I saw. Also I enjoyed the Hangover but 500 Days of Summer is such a lovely film. Great story, characters and acting. I LOL'd to see Mike Tyson up there twice though.
Lister writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:17:13 PM

lol @ spooky butthurt
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:22:41 PM

To Peter: But think of this Pete look how many doors this CGI opens creatively now. You can literally do ANYTHING. The technology in this film has blown the doors off of any technical limitations we've seen in Hollywood. No idea is too big, to inventive, too complex to be created now and having photorealistic visuals makes it even easier for the Director to bring his world to life.

Think about that idea that was posted not too long ago about old actors who can't physically do certain roles anymore, all of a sudden they can and the CGI is so lifelike you wouldn't even be able to tell the difference. I mean its not revolutionary as much as it is evolutionary. I think the potential of the technology is what excites me the most as a writer. That's what I take from Avatar. That's where I think its storyTELLING power is strong. I'm with you guys on all the other stuff about 3D (bullsh*t) and the story (weak and generic) the dialog is yanky at times and needed to be polished.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:31:11 PM

"You can literally do ANYTHING. The technology in this film has blown the doors off of any technical limitations we've seen in Hollywood. No idea is too big, to inventive, too complex to be created now and having photorealistic visuals makes it even easier for the Director to bring his world to life."

But who gives a sh*t if the movies plot is unbearably thin?

In 5 years, when this technology becomes more and more commonplace, people will look back on avatar and only be able to watch the story, because we'll be used to the technology. and you know what people will say? that it's outright sh*t.
Vin12 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:31:24 PM

@pete
ur just mad cuz cameron wouldn't cast you in his version of spiderman cuz he doesn't cast wannabes
and no trueman, sam W is not a wannabe
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:34:03 PM

"@pete
ur just mad cuz cameron wouldn't cast you in his version of spiderman cuz he doesn't cast wannabes
and no trueman, sam W is not a wannabe"

LOL YA PETE UR JUS MAD CUZ U DUN TALK LIEK UR 6 YEARZ OLD ND MAKE LAEM JOEKS BASE ON UR SCREEN NAME
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:41:25 PM

Wow did Spooky just respond to a post of mine is a clear and concise way? f*cking shock and awe. Well let me be cordial as well.

To answer your question flat out... a lot of people care as you can tell from awards, recognition and box office draw.

Secondly you have a point, Avatar probably will not stand the test of time as well as the great films out there, because it isn't a great film. It is a great example of where the cinema can be going, why the cinema is so important, and how incredibly far technology has come. Remember I'm not making the case that Avatar is some amazing film, I'm just a big advocate of the tech behind it.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:55:24 PM

@ TH3D4RKKN1GH7:

I see what you're saying. However, even there I wasn't convinced.

Cameron's technology is only one way of replicating real movement on screen. There have been many other directors that have done the same thing, using techniques that weren't all that different from Cameron's.

To tell you the truth, I wasn't impressed with what I saw.
From all the hype the movie was getting, I was honestly expecting to be blown away at the 3D effect, the Na'vi and the detail in the virtual planet. What I saw wasn't too different from "Beowulf", which used a similar 3D technique and was released more than 2 years ago. Now, consider this, Robert Zemeckis purposely intended for the characters to look a little "cartoony". Imagine how they would have looked like if he decided to go as real as possible and used real-life colors and textures... He would have accomplished what you said, about the article we read a few weeks ago, regarding old actors being redone using CGI.

What I'm saying is this, Cameron learned the formula for success a while ago.
You create a bunch of movie myths about a particular film before it is released (cost, unseen 3D, special language, special CGI technique...), you advertise the movie as being magnificent, groundbreaking, and whatnot, you get the press on your side and there, instant success.
FOX's endless pockets helped too, of course.

At the end of the day, it's just one more way of shooting in 3D, among a lot of others that are out there already.

Also, I can pretty much guarantee you that, in a matter of less than 2 years, you'll see someone else coming up with another type of technology that will have better results than Cameron's, as far as creating a 3D effect is concerned.

I believe "Avatar" is just one more stage in the process, and not the benchmark so many are making it out to be.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:00:31 AM

@ Vindy:

In case you couldn't understand Spooks' post, let me simplify it for you, adding a little touch of my own:

Go f*ck yourself with a rusty jackhammer.
rabid writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:09:04 AM

thin plot?
Please.
Avatar had a very well-planned plot with plenty of peripheral stories. It was a masterpiece. I love how some people act too good to accept a film with an ecological message. Go watch Jersey Shore and be cool or something.
WorstMatt writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:17:08 AM



Film is art, and art is subjective, so none of our opinions really matter, especially here.
telur writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:18:19 AM

i still don't understand why this happen, because avatar is not that great. Did you (all WP user) saw Avatar multiple time?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:18:37 AM

Film is art, and art is subjective, so all of our opinions do matter, especially here.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:21:35 AM

Well the 3D is nothing amazing at all its 3D shot a bit wider so the convergence is more subtle. But I'm surprised to hear you say you weren't impressed by the CGI itself. Forget what Zemmericks could have done we're not living in the world of what ifs. I mean dude photorealism is here! Beowulf in terms of CGI is FAR from Avatar and it goes beyond adding a cartoony look.

I mean Avatar is LOADED with detail. I posted this article about the CGi in Avatar a couple of days ago, its done by CGScoiety and its just incredible. You look at some of the stuff from raw shot footage of Zoe and Sam, to 1st layer, to second stage, and final and its just mind blowing.

http://features.cgsociety.org/story_custom.php?story_id=5434&page=1

Take a look man, mighty interesting stuff especially if you've got an inner nerd like I do. I mean the depth in the jungles, the plants and creatures that kind of live on their own and evolve (more info on that in the article I posted) it's really incredible. In many ways this is a WETA ILM film and I believe that Globe should go to them. Sure Cameron thought of this stuff but what they've created is just incredible.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:45:22 AM

Avatar can go "sync" itself
Peter Parker writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:50:39 AM

Regarding the inner nerd, well... I do have a Spider-Man figure as avatar so... yeah, we're on the same page.

Took a look at the article, thanks for the link.
Had read similar articles before, especially before the movie came out, so I was familiar with some of the technology behind "Avatar".

I don't question the detail and the hard work it probably was to put it all on screen.
What I'm saying is that I don't see the huge leap forward this movie represents.
Cameron had more time and more money than most to do this, so the detail and the level of photorealism he achieved with "Avatar" seem to me to be a product of those two elements, rather than the merits of the technology itself.

The fact that the animal and vegetal life evolve on their own is one of the myths I was talking about.
Even though it sounds cool, the concept on itself is no different from what we've seen on some video games over these last few years. Cameron took it to his movie, that's a good thing, it's interesting, but it's not exactly a miracle of technology.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:55:33 AM

Still too dumb to post relative to the topic, yes Vin?

You're an embarrassment to your Mom's client's c*m.

And before you come back with a devastating rip like: 'OH YEAH!!!' Remember... don't care if you use your shoelaces, get back into the closet to give yourself 'the Carradine!'... so save your sparrow-like brain power for another failed Hooked on Phonics lesson, you retarded sh*t bucket.

TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:00:53 AM

Oh yeah Peter that's a great point I was thinking of that video game thing myself a while back when I heard about the real time CGI thing.

Cameron is a smart guy he takes from everything and puts it together in one package and takes the credit for it all. What I'm wondering is, why did it take them so long to use tech that the gaming industry, a relatively new art form and industry, had been using FOREVER.

In other news... did anyone see Book of Eli? If so, thoughts?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:04:16 AM

Oh and another thing, did anyone else think it was extremely lame and borderline embarrassing when Cameron did the whole line in Na'Vi to Sam and Zoe? I mean... come on dude.
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:04:24 AM

Why are the naysayers still fighting? YOU LOST FAGGOTS.
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:11:55 AM

"At the end of the day, that is what this medium is all about."
Hell yes.

Spedattack writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:12:57 AM

Awesome
Peter Parker writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:17:13 AM

"Book of Eli", will see it tomorrow.
Looks great, from what I've seen.
I'll probably post a review here after seeing it.

The Na'vi line... oh well, what can I say?
Some people seem to like it... (sigh)
But you're right, it's as lame as a f*cking Venezuelan soap opera.


@ GeneticalAnomaly:

"Why are the naysayers still fighting?"

- Who's fighting, dipsh*t? It's called an "argument". Look it up.

"YOU LOST FAGGOTS"

- For one to lose faggots, one must own faggots first.
So no, nobody here lost any faggots.

Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:20:39 AM

I still represent the part of the population that am still certainly going to see this movie.

Paying top $ in IMAX - 3D.

Just waiting a little longer for the crowds to thin out a bit.

So aside from the $'s already taken in + the extra $'s from those from those seeing it multiple times + those like myself and friends awaiting to pay...

This movie will top $2bil. EASY!

Now... as I've liked all the posts on here (except from pathetic lurker Vin) - sure... Avatar may not top certain movies domestically (I think it will, but let's see), seeing as it may be making all it's $'s from high-priced IMAX - 3D tickets, and may not have (or will ever) sell as many tickets as 'Gone with the Wind'... sure, fine... all good points, except...

If you... YOU were James Cameron... would YOU care about all that past sh*t (statistics)? Or would you just be happy making $1mil a day YOURSELF, PERSONALLY (which I'm sure is close to what he is actually making)?

Let's be honest.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:23:45 AM

@GeneticalAnomaly - I see you confuse 'passionate discussion and debate' for 'fighting.'

Lol... when you get a little more like under your belt, you'll see that everything isn't so black & white, and you may learn to tell the difference.

People have opinions.
They may even differ from yours.
You may even mature and learn to not make such sweeping generalizations when you comment.

Deal with it tough guy over internet.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:24:06 AM

like = life.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:32:31 AM

Sure, I'd take $1 mil and go spend it all on hookers and booze right after.
I'd make Charlie Sheen eat his heart out!

What I wouldn't do, would be to go around the world saying my movie was the best thing since sliced bread.

I'd use a more creative approach.
I'd make people go see my movie, under the threat of putting Celine Dion and Leona Lewis together in a romantic duet... (aaargh!)

... and I don't mean a rug munching duet!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:16:04 AM

I would pay to see them in a rug munching duet though....And I despise celine deon. I have seen avatar and thought it was good, but not great. Yes best visulizations I have ever seen in a movie, but there is more to a movie than pretty pictures. What f*cking drives me nuts is the avatards who seriously need have their mental health looked at, some of it is a little disturbing.

If I was making a million a day.....you mother f*ckers would have to come up with a new word for evil dictator sadam, hugo chaves and kim jong il aint got sh*t on me!
Powderedtoastman writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:19:37 AM

13 Going on 30 FTW!!!!!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:28:11 AM

In related news Quentin Tarrantino murders Avatar Director and cast at Golden Globe After Party.

Seriously did anyone see his face? He was grinding his teeth together so viciously I thought one was going to pop out of his mouth like a rifle round and totally demolish the champagne glass in front of him.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:36:13 AM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - lol... QT was that obvious was he? I missed the awards, but it sounds like I missed a great moment there.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:44:15 AM

Oh dude he wasn't the only one. You know they show all the "losers" and they al kind of had that "you're f*cking kidding me right?" look on their face. When he won best director as well just not as visible, but when they got best film everyone was kind of like f*ck this. Reitman had the "well I knew this would happen" look on his face.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:45:17 AM

Priceless!
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 7:58:22 AM

why the actors of GAYVATAR aren't nominated?
WorstMatt writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 8:03:25 AM

@ Peter Parker - How do you figure? Art and film being subjective means that every person sees it differently. What is good art to you might not make me feel the same way and vice versa.

How much time do you spend discussing things you dislike instead of enjoying things you like?

Also, none of the comments on Worst Previews matter, there's no one important here, or for that matter, anyone you really cares about any post but their own. Avatar is making money, big deal. It's good for Hollywood to be making money now, and perhaps better films that appeal to the hipster tastes will get funding.
Dre-EL writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 9:08:21 AM

"Avatar haters can suck my balls, u need to repect my authuratay. I'm king of the world woohoo."
Excerpts from Camerons oscar acceptance speech.

Wallace writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 9:30:41 AM

yeah, but lets not forget: titanic made (adjusted) almost a billion. domestically. or as WP would say "it's highly unlikely avatar's gonna beat that".
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:17:26 PM

I hate everything. Im just a hate bag of hating. Hate hate hate hate. I now hate my comment.

Well done to James Cameron is in order. This man clearly knows what to do to earn some dollar.
gitrmnky7 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 12:26:21 PM

Like Cameron said, "it's only a matter of time."
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:44:26 PM

what exactly are the expectations for jackie chans pacifier...i mean spy next door. Because it made money...seems well ABOVE expectations to me.

GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 4:07:45 PM

Sorry Ranger, I can be a loose pistol.
Green Mist writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 4:36:38 PM

Best movie of the year. f*ck, this movie was beyond good. I hope it beats Titanic..I hate that f*cking movie so much.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 8:17:17 PM

@ WorstMatt:

"How do you figure? Art and film being subjective means that every person sees it differently."

- And that's precisely why every opinion counts, especially in a forum that's meant to discuss movies.

"What is good art to you might not make me feel the same way and vice versa."

- Nor I intend to. The point here is to voice people's opinions, not to convert anybody.

"How much time do you spend discussing things you dislike instead of enjoying things you like?"

- None. When I feel like watching a good show or movie, that's what I do.
When I feel like exchanging opinions with some of the guys here, I do that too.
Reading the posts from some of the users on this site is just as much fun, if not more, as watching some of the crappy movies I've come across with over these last months.

"Also, none of the comments on Worst Previews matter, there's no one important here"

- You're wrong. This site has thousands of users, and a good part of them come here mostly to read the comments.
If you're saying the comments aren't important in terms of changing anything in the movies industry, that's debatable. Nevertheless, that was never the point here.

"Avatar is making money, big deal. It's good for Hollywood to be making money now, and perhaps better films that appeal to the hipster tastes will get funding."

- Agreed. Also, it's good to show the f*cksticks who keep complaining about how much piracy is hurting the studios. The last three years were the most profitable in cinema history, and yet, they keep asking for tighter laws to keep file sharing controlled.

Greedy, control-freak, motherf*ckers...
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 8:31:36 PM

I saw it again! not aass good ass the 1st thyme, but my Emotional Quotient was still elevated substantially.
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 8:34:01 PM

*ass
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 9:20:40 PM

@GeneticalAnomaly - no problem my friend... been there myself many times... lol. Thx. for taking my comments in the light in which it was intended.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 12:41:53 AM

@ WorstMatt:

One last thing. If you think none of the comments on WorstPreviews matter, and that there's no one important here, then why do you even bother posting every now and then, why do you read the posts and, more importantly, why did you take the time to reply to me?

Because, to some extent, whether you admit it or not, they do matter.

Cheers.
Montana writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 12:10:58 PM

Well i like the film
FBO writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:42:33 AM

Titanic is nothing more than lubracant for girls suck in the 90's. I agree that Avatar is heavy on visuals and less so on story, but it's head and shoulders above Titanic. Of course if all you stupid little bitchs who hated on TDK so much because so many other people liked it and maybe enjoyed that peice of art a little more than neither Avatar ot Titanic would be number 1.
Eben1277 writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 12:56:37 AM

Too many comments right now. When I come over here and say, "Gary Oldman is saying, 'I ain't time, for this Mickey Mouse bullsh*t!!.'" It's totally meaningless because it's so far removed from DarkKnights original post
Spedattack writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:12:41 PM

Why r u guys so concernd about the story.Get over it.Star War's story is dirt simple but its one of the most successful movie franchises in history.And yes without its special effects its nothing, but take away the action in Saving Private Ryan and its nothing, take away the romance from Titanic and its nothing, etc. Every movie has something that makes it good.And Peter in some ways u r wrong this movie has changed cinema and its a big stepping stone to better Sci-Fi movies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved