WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Doesn't Want "Spider-Man" Sloppy Seconds

Posted: January 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron DoesnSubmit Comment
MTV News caught up with director James Cameron to find out if Sony Pictures has contacted him about directing the "Spider-Man" reboot, considering that he had previously written a script for a Spidey movie and said that it's the only superhero character that he would ever want to bring to the big screen.

"I haven't gotten a phone call," said Cameron. "I don't expect to certainly not after this interview. But if you're thinking about it, it's sloppy seconds. I'm not interested."

It seems that Cameron wants to be the only option a studio would consider, and would not step in for another director.

The site went on to ask him if he thinks "Avatar" would have the legs to surpass "Titanic" as the highest grossing film of all time. "It's gonna happen. It's just a matter of time," he replied confidently.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:34:51 PM

good. Spider-man would probably end up being a closet Na'Vi in a spidey suit, and his catch-phrase being "your friendly neighborhood syncer"
tcu21 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:45:59 PM

It's difficult to call him arrogant because there's no denying he has every reason to be.

I think James Cameron would do well with the Spider-Man franchise though, but it's actually a hard franchise to do bad with because the story is so good, flexible, interesting, and action-packed. I still wish we were getting one last Raimi/Maguire sequel.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:51:57 PM

Hahaha! Love the "sloppy seconds" comment from him.

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:04:06 PM

Spiderman is a ho! I knew it!
rcazzy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:08:42 PM

After reading his treatment, some elements are good (Peter's transformation) but aspects such as unnecessary name changes, character traits and the pseudo-hypnorape of Mary Jane where shes bound to a wall with web, I'm glad it was passed upon.
tcu21 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:14:18 PM

I say the only bright spot in all of this is that Kirsten Dunst won't be back. She stopped being appealing after the 1st movie.
za316653 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:23:50 PM

thats because she d*cks for coke
Goober3000 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:44:59 PM

Spider-Man sank the Titanic...the glacier was a giant load of spider stuff
Goober3000 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:47:33 PM

"James Cameron doesn't want any of Spider-Man's sloppy seconds"...sorry M.J no blue face paint for you
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:12:42 AM

wtf
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:22:37 AM

@tcu
i agree with you i wish we could have gotten at least one more DECENT film from Raimi/McGuire. i think the reason she became unappealing is because of her hair. we all know she dies it red but from the first film to the second film it got significantly more blond (and she deffinetly didnt re-die it) so it made her character look sh*tty
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:23:13 AM

No, he will direct Aquaman
Peter Parker writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:48:37 AM

No sloppy seconds, uh?
I guess that means if Cameron was given the opportunity to use a known story, rewrite its script his own way and then shoot the movie in 3D to make it look original, he'd pass on it, right?

A man of principles, that's what he is.
Original stories only for that man.

f*cking jerk...
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 1:12:19 AM

Again, MTV news is quoting Variety's rumors. There's been no official announcement regarding the film.
Cameron obviously doesnt know anything about the situation. I won't believe this Spiderman news until mid-february when Paramount is making an announcement. Til then it just sounds like more fake news.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 1:41:15 AM

who will they get for j jonah jameson jk simmons was perfect for that role
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 2:10:49 AM

I know most of you despise the film but I found this super interesting, its done by the WETA guys I believe on the CGI involved in Avatar.
http://features.cgsociety.org/story_custom.php?story_id=5434&page=1

Crazy sh*t man they've got the Oscar in the bag, others might as well not even show up.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 2:16:48 AM

oh boo hoo. cameron's such a whiney bitch. much like how he acquired the name AVATAR since that cartoon was gonna make a movie and he bitched and whined until he got his baby goo goo ga ga way. he shoulda sank with the titantic!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 2:16:55 AM

titanic even
Ari Gold writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 3:39:43 AM

You better believe he'll be directing Aquaman with my boy Vinnie Chase!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 4:38:05 AM

He was happy with the 'sloppy seconds' used to create the script for Avatar.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 5:36:48 AM

I think he too far up his own arse to do this anyway, he should stick to chick fliks like Titanic and Fagatar
SACdaddy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 6:40:47 AM

No "sloppy seconds" Jimbo? Then what would you call Aliens?

Although that was an extremely short-sited statement, I still love the guy. So he's got kind of a fat head now, no big deal. I would too if I constantly proved the "experts" and the critics wrong and had amassed enough FU money to never have any regrets for the rest of my life. Now he's the Big Ern of the film industry: "JAMES CAMERON IS OFFICIALLY ABOVE THE LAW!" :-)

http://runcolo.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/big-ern.jpg
dbreuning writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 6:48:26 AM

The curtain has fallen for Spider-Man. Why the f*ck do they need to reboot it since its like a couple of years since the original trilogy. Just END it or CONTINUE with SPIDER-M4N.

About Avatar: he is probably right. The movie doesn't hint at slowing down. It's crazy!
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 9:34:54 AM

I just returned from south America, and everywhere I went it was all people talked about. Some americans might think the plot is cheesy, but in the Amazon, the film's message is very much appreciated. I couldn't engage anyone in conversation without the film coming up.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 9:49:56 AM

@ rabid regarding your first comment
seems that you're in denial about this. I was too. I've noticed for awhile now that you're probaly as big a fan as I am when it comes to comic movies. But it seems the reboot is gonna happen. Sony would've told people by now that the reboot news is fake.
telur writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:09:30 AM

simple.... JC no time to make Spider-Man after he's to busy make avatar
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:45:45 AM

All Sony and Paramount have said so far was that they have a Spider-Man announcement coming mid-february. They've made no other official statements. You can't blame me for being hesitant to believe. Every shred of news on here regarding SM4 has turned out to be phony. The Vulture, Malkovich, Black Cat, Hathaway, Dunst leaving... the producers shot down all that as fansite babble.
So until Paramount or Raimi or Sony make an official statement (and seems to me they would) then I'm just going to assume this is more of the same fake news just designed to keep the project's name in headlines. Bad press is free press.
tcu21 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:00:22 AM

@rabid:

I really do understand your not wanting to see the end of this Spider-man franchise, but face it, it's over. Raimi and Maguire have come out and said they've left, both wishing the best of luck to the next group. Sony has confirmed that Spider-man 4 is no more and they will be rebooting the franchise and James Vanderbilt is writing the script.

Sadly it's time to give up. The Raimi/Maguire Spider-man films are done.
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:31:46 AM

When did Maguire/Raimi/Sony announce this? As far as I can track it, every article uses Variety as their source. Variety have spread several false rumors about the film since last fall, so I'm really curious why they're suddenly a trustworthy source for news.

If anyone has any links to official announcements, straight from Raimi or Paramount in particular, I'd love to see it. As far as I can tell, none of them, not even Sony, has made an announcement on the matter.
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:35:52 AM

Not saying it's phony news. I'm just saying sites like Variety, Latino Review, Superherohype and Comingsoon have published so much false news lately, it's difficult for me to take them seriously.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:20:21 PM

Well, you do got a point. Latinoreview, f*ck them they ain't sh*t those lying bastards. Just wanted to add that since you mentioned them. I really hope you're right about this one rabid. But as of now it seems done. We'll see.
triggax writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:29:16 PM

You know, Rabids right... Sony has never made that announcement.. Look it up... the headline is "Sony made a surprise announcement saying raimi and maguire are leaving and the franchise is to be rebooted" or somewhere along those lines...

Sony NEVER made ANY announcement about Spiderman... f*cking research that sh*t, thats a god damn fact... nothing nowhere anywhere has sony said a f*cking thing about it... Not Raimi, nor Maguire, or any other of the cast... and how convenient for them not to make an official statement, doesnt that seem a bit odd to you guys?

Leave one of the most lucrative super hero franchises of all time and you make absolutely no statement about it to the press...
Does anyone remember when Bryan Singer left XMEN, He was in the news THE DAY he decided to not take on the project due to production differences... THE DAY!! Himself personally... and Raimi doesnt seem like the kind of guy, nor does maguire, that would avoid the press when it comes to something this epic...

Smells like total bullsh*t to me...
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:38:59 PM

mmm i would love some of his sloppy seconds BL........
SACdaddy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:45:16 PM

The best I found was a quote from Raimi on Jan 11th: Raimi, who publicly expressed his dislike for the idea behind Spider-Man 4, says, "While we (Maguire and I) were looking forward to doing a fourth one together, the studio and Marvel have a unique opportunity to take the franchise in a new direction, and I know they will do a terrific job." Not sure if that counts as a guarantee but it definitely doesn't sound good.

Vin12 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 3:37:31 PM

so much avatar hate
Kurskij writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 4:45:38 PM

@Triggax
They did: http://www.deadline.com/hollywood/urgent-spider-man-4-scrapped-as-is-raimi-and-cast-out-franchise-reboot-planned/

Text of the press-release is at the end of the article.
simplytyson writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 4:54:30 PM

uuuuhhhhh
Dre-EL writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 6:03:04 PM

Told u he wouldnt do it.
tcu21 writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 6:53:02 PM

Articles through MSN and Yahoo have quoted Sony officials, Sam Raimi, and Tobey Maguire about them exiting the franchise.

"Working on the Spider-Man movies was the experience of a lifetime for me," said Raimi in a statement that was later issued by Sony. "While we were looking forward to doing a fourth one together, the studio and Marvel have a unique opportunity to take the franchise in a new direction, and I know they will do a terrific job."

"A decade ago ... when we began, no one ever imagined that we would make history at the box-office and now we have a rare opportunity to make history once again with this franchise," said Amy Pascal, co-chairman of Sony Pictures Entertainment. "Peter Parker as an ordinary young adult grappling with extraordinary powers has always been the foundation that has made this character so timeless and compelling for generations of fans. We're very excited about the creative possibilities that come from returning to Peter's roots and we look forward to working once again with Marvel Studios, Avi Arad and Laura Ziskin on this new beginning."
leezy84 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 5:06:59 AM

lol at the james cameron haters
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 8:44:37 AM

no more spiderman crap for at least ten years from now im sick of this sh*t of reboot
darkraven28 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 10:06:52 AM

Makes sense. I read somewhere that Cameron and Raimi are friends or mutual fans or some combination of the two. He likely wouldn't want to betray Raimi in that fashion.

But it's worth noting that while Avatar will definitely surpass Titanic in grossing well over a billion dollars, overall profitability will not be equal I don't think (especially if you believe those Avatar budget rumors). But either way I loved Avatar so any money it makes is great.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved