WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Karate Kid" Remake is Testing Through the Roof

Posted: January 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Karate Kid" Remake is Testing Through the RoofSubmit Comment
Nothing about "The Karate Kid" remake seems right; It stars Will Smith's eleven-year-old son Jaden, has Jackie Chan in Mr Miyagi's role, and takes place in China. But when the trailer was released, the film didn't look all that bad.

Sony Pictures is now reporting that it has been testing "The Karate Kid" and is proud to report that the remake has scored the second highest results ever with 97% positive opinions. That's incredible, but I'm not sure if this means anything considering that the film with the highest score is Will Smith's "Hitch."

"Hitch," however, went on to gross $368 million in worldwide ticket sale. On June 11th, when "The Karate Kid" is released in theaters, we'll see if these research screenings predict success.

Click here to read more about "The Karate Kid."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:04:54 AM

what? i don't buy that at all... this movie looks like a f*cking joke
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:25:02 AM

Sony has been shoveling the sh*t pretty thick lately.

I call bullsh*t on this.

97% approval rate? Who did they poll... pedophiles?

"Why... hello my little black ninja. Mr. Miyagi touch you long time."
gobolog writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:40:28 AM

Well I'm certainly going to see the new karate kid because I'm so proud of Jaden Smith who has come so far from being a poor kid surviving on scraps to become a movie star. And he did it all by himself through sheer persistance and strong will and no help from anyone else whatsoever.

If only sarcasm could be made into a font.
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:47:41 AM

Sony is just strokin their own balls here.
rocketman writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 6:41:38 AM

So does Mr Chan teach him Karate or Kung Fu?
MattC903 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:12:27 AM

gotta see it for myself and will see it too.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:55:21 AM

Yea I gotta call bullsh*t too, I'm sure the people who have caught screenings are all Sony Pictures execs, of course they are going to give it high marks.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:28:39 AM

Hitch is the highest film really? that piece of sh*t WOW sony are gonna be the next fox within 2 years
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:39:53 AM

And I still won't see this. One of the advantages of not having kids.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:30:31 AM

Jesus, where are they testing this, Will Smith's living room?
telur writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:23:10 AM

American still stupid, they don't know karate is from Japan not China
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:09:31 PM

They just wanted the title to get people interested. Then they wanted the biggest Aasian star in the world, who just happens to be Chinese. f*ck IT! Place it in China and roll with it. Jackie Chan was a huge pull for this money. He alone will guarantee at least another $100mill on the international market. What Japanese or Korean actor can put butts in the seats like him? Its all about the Benjamins baby!

Isn't Sony an Japanese owned company anyway?
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:11:41 PM

God that was a terrible post. Proof read dammit!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:19:42 PM

Is that Jaden Smith in that picture or Riley from The Boondocks?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WaaGA5gSZA
triggax writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:20:59 PM

Sonys owned by Coca-Cola.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:29:59 PM

Yeah, if the roof was on Verne Troyer's house.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:55:49 PM

On September 28, 1989, Sony acquired the American film and television production company Columbia Pictures Entertainment, Inc. (Columbia Pictures, TriStar Pictures, etc.) FROM The Coca-Cola Company for US$3.4 billion.
lostrose815 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:56:25 PM

Although I AM skeptical of these stats, I don't think the movie looks that terrible based on the trailer. Seems like it has the same heart as the original and it'll be a good family-friendly movie (that will make a whoooole lot of $$$ for Sony).
SaulSilver writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 4:01:50 PM

This MIGHT have been believable until they used f*ckin Hitch as an example of what this truly means. Hitch. HITCH.
rocketman writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:14:14 PM

Why dd they not call it the Kung-Fu Kid? Just seems lazy and is an insult to our inteligence,i have a good mind to go and see it then demand my money back to an infringment of the trade discriptions act.
otis writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:04:18 PM

I think they tested this on a bunch of illegals who had the choice of either saying si or else getting deported.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:32:14 PM

Testing through the roof?
What were they testing for? AIDS?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:10:43 PM

lol, Ranger.

this movie at least looks better then that sh*t Tekken movie, but both of them sound equally like they took mouth-fulls of sh*t-burger though.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 5:44:07 AM

Rangers comment says it all really, nice one man, when I first heard about this I thought maybe then when I heard that little foker was in it I thought "f*ck BEANS!!!!" so I am giving this an extremly wide berth.
TwoTakez writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:48:50 AM

Were there only two people in the testing? Jackie Chan and Will Smith.....I bet Jackie gave it the 3% negative feedback as well
LastActionHero writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 7:00:49 AM

I'm sure it's because it is only being tested by "urban" viewers.
SofaKing writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 8:50:15 PM

Jackie is going to teach him Drunken Boxing hopefully...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved