WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 3" to Have Less Robots and Explosions

Posted: January 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 3" to Have Less Robots and ExplosionsSubmit Comment
Michael Bay was at the Cary Grant Theatre on the Sony Pictures lot, where he said that the third "Transformers" installment will have less robots and fewer explosions.

"There will be a nice crescendo ending," explained Bay. "It gets much more into the robot character. The last time you kind of met a few of the robots; this time you're gonna get a much cooler landscape."

Bay is currently in pre-production on "Transformers 3" and will begin filming this May. The new movie is scheduled to hit theaters on July 1st, 2011.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:11:20 AM

yeah and maybe Uwe Boll will make a good video game movie
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:26:30 AM

If true... perfect.

This will be a HUGE improvement over the prev. sequel.
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:46:38 AM

3 words: Cybertron
rocketman writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 6:35:12 AM

You think that script that was leaked was real?
A return to the 80's?Personally if he just took a leaf out of the game trailer released a few days ago i would be happy,at least i reconized some of the bots.
eddie499 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:53:43 AM

I have to admit that there was a lot about that leaked scrpt that I liked, namely the return to some of the original story, but there was still some serious potential for suck. (That Leo dude has got to go, but n the upside, the twins weren't there.) More character development on some of the bots is also needed.

I still think it was fake, but it definitely was a potentially good concept.
jaz_mayor writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:31:41 AM

Yeah right this is what people say to make sure they can still have fans left that will believe a good movie can be made.

The director hasn't changed. When was Bay good at character, he's only good at explosions. If you take that away your making a film in something that your no good st. An even sh*tter film.

Don't buy into his bullsh*t. You bought it last time and where did that get you. If you haven't woken up yet then keep sleeping and believeing spoon fed bullsh*t.
CCBlev writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:46:25 AM

we shall see, we shall see!!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:32:46 AM

^^^What CCBlev said
wonderBOY writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:33:55 AM

@ Ted Mosby
calm down
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:34:12 AM

Bay's still the best director for this series. I enjoyed both films so far, so there's no reason for me to cast doubt on a third.
leezy84 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

Is the 2nd movie as bad as people say ?? i havnt seen it i couldnt be bothered with it.
billofill writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:17:30 AM

Transformers 2 wasnt as good as the first and it was kind of pointless as pointed out by www.howitshouldofended.com
warlord writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:19:12 PM

witch means it will make LESS MONEY
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:31:27 PM

Any chance it can also have less :

1. Michael Bay

2. Megan Fox .... the acting equivalent of pissing on cardboard.

3. Shia LaDouche ?
triggax writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:32:02 PM

they should let bobcat goldthwaite direct the 3rd one...
triggax writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:34:32 PM

Oh and, since theres no thread...

Avatar is like 2 bucks away from crossing the 500 million mark this weekend... So the other day when I said that Avatar WILL beat the Dark Knights domestic haul... everyone that disagreed... Kiss my f*ckin ass... 1 more weekend and its got it in the bag..
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:42:26 PM

Thank you Triggadamus :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:43:36 PM

f*ck Transformers 3
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:12:36 PM

We all know its gonna be 2hours of Fox washing Bays car.
BlueMobius writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:23:01 PM

Sounds like he's gonna take to Cybertron. You know, there was a time when typing that sentence would have thrown me into a nerdgasm...now...not so much. I'll just wait for the new game.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:33:21 PM

When I saw the first Transformers, I was surprised at how good it was in comparison to Bay's other films. Not to mention the visual effects were just plain badass. The second one I get because, let's face it, what would you expect from giant robots. Every trilogy I see with a good first film always sucks out on it's third film (Spider-Man 3 for example after two great films). Maybe Bay got his bad film of the series out of the way with the second one.

@Ted Mosby
You mentioned Uwe Boll and, I don't know if you heard, but he actually has had a redemption of his own. He recently did some movie that actually got good reviews and now he is doing a bunch of films that aren't based on video games. It seems Boll and Bay are starting to focus on quality. I mean Bay was borderline and in an interview he even said, "When you go to a movie, I want people to go to have fun." Bay has always been a guy who entertained the action-side of all of us. Now, in the conclusion of THE action/sci-fi series, Bay wishes to get us with a decent story. I'm just saying, every dog has his day. Maybe Bay is trying to make the third one his best.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 3:08:40 PM

@Ricky --- I'd pay to see that. But she couldn't use her hands to wash the car.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 3:12:51 PM

@leezy - the 2nd. movie was ONLY hundreds of tons of more robots, and explosions... nothing more. I liked the first one... except the really, really corny speech by Optimus at the end of it, and I wanted to like the sequel. I liked it a LOT LESS!
LeeMaca writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 3:20:13 PM

more robots less shia!
howz about this time megatron really does peel the flesh from sam and the whole shia death scene followed by megan fox killing herself in Avater style 3d
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 3:24:45 PM

No!!!! Not another one!!!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 3:26:20 PM

nipple
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 3:26:56 PM

(a modified PP or jeff joke):

What's red and white and screams?

A peeled Shia LaDouche in a bag of salt.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 4:39:26 PM

@ranger
You didn't like the speech. I kind of thought it was epic, especially when they mixed in "What I've Done" by Linkin Park with the speech. I guess I'm a sucker for a film that ends on some kind of inspirational speech. Plus, it's Optimus frikkin' Prime! Dude is like the stereotypical valiant knight, except his armor is his actual skin. LOL Dude is all honorable and stuff. The speech fit his character.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 4:43:29 PM

@Ranger

Great. You have my vote to direct this film if Bay gets the Spiderman treatment.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 4:54:43 PM

@Ricky - lol.

@Sleuth - I think I would have minded the speech less if The Transformers were in my life more the time their animated series was running.I know Prime is loyal like that, and knew he did give inspirational speeches like that. I was just busy the years their series ran on TV, and they didn't make the impact they have on those a bit younger.

I did like the first one more than the 2nd. one though.

I hope Bay goes through with his plans in this article.

Transformers 2 was a lot cluttered like X-Men 3 was (I think). And the main characters got buried in all the action (along with the story).
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:11:03 PM

@Ranger
Yeah, but the biggest problem with the 2nd on was there were so many plotholes, especially that big one about Megan Fox having that All SPark piece the whole time and not using it to resurrect Optimus. I keep trying to figure out a way that it makes sense, but so far nothing. And yeah, I hope Bay goes through with more quality over quantity for the third one. It would be awesome if he broke the "threequel curse."

@everyone
With that in mind let us all take a moment to honor the threequels that have fallen into disgrace:

1. Spider-Man 3 (Frikkin' Sony getting involved in the creative process).

2. X-Men 3 (Frikkin' Rush Hour Brett Ratner stepping out of his bounds of comedy-action)

3. Superman III (Frikkin' producer got in the way from what I hear although I personally didn't mind it too much in comparison to the fourth one)

Anyone else want to name others, please pay your respects here, share the pain of disappointment.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:15:37 PM

Matrix 3 - The Wacho-ski Brothers should have shared what they were smokin!
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:17:39 PM

@Sleuth - Stallone 'respect jokes' link posted in his X-Ray thread.

Enjoy.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:21:33 PM

@Ranger
Thanks. I'm a huge Stallone fan. Can't wait for Expendables and even Rambo V. And I don't get matrix 3 either. The second one was pretty sweet in my opinion but the last one, minus the Neo/Smith fight and the battle at Zion, seemed to have had the energy sucked out of it. This is what happens when you film movies back to back. It rarely works where both movies are great. All the energy is usually in the second one and the filmmakers are drained by the second half. It's a shame because the last one could have been epic if it had the same energy as Matrix Reloaded.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 6:00:28 PM

The 3rd films in most series really do royally f*ck it up for good ideas that went before them. Among this I have seen do this are...

Spiderman 3
Shrek 3
Matrix Revolutions
Mad Max 3
Xmen 3
Back to the Future 3
Beverly Hills Cop 3
Pirates of the Caribbean 3
Resident Evil 3
Robocop 3
Scream 3
The Fly 3
Friday After Next (Friday 3)
Transporter 3
The Godfather Part 3
Underworld 3
Jurassic Park 3

Maybe its just me but I see a trend :)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 6:04:30 PM

We really need an edit button. My English grammar was as bad as that chick with the Twilight avatar.

I was meant to say...

''The 3rd films in most series really do royally f*ck it up for the good ideas that went before them. So far I have seen the following do this...''
nope.com writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 6:51:27 PM

yes Michael Bay... because we ALL know Transformers is about the story right?
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:00:18 PM

f*ck bay
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:33:00 PM

isn't this old news? I'm pretty sure WP posted an article about this awhile ago.

if they make the plot awesome and perhaps a really good fight scene in the end (unlike in the second one) it could be done well.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:11:41 PM

@RickyGabrielBird
Thing is I always really liked Back to the Future 3. It ended the series really well and you saw progression in the characters by the end and the time period they chose was so different. Plus, no one can deny, the very end scene of BTTF 3 was truly epic. And Godfather 3 I liked because it ended the series appropriately.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:30:59 PM

"Transformers 3" to Have Less Robots and Explosions"

- Yeah, right. it'll be a musical!
I can see the slogan already: "Less robots, more cheese."

Who wants to bet it'll be in 3D?
japaninmotion writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:09:18 PM

so then it will be only 15 minutes log right?
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:21:07 PM

Yeah, because the human actor parts were really the highlight of the last movie. I know when I g to see a Transformers movie I'm more interested in accidently stoned Mom than giant f*cking robot battles. f*ck this stupid Hollywood logic. Kill off every last human character in the first 5 minutes. Let Megatron rape-kill Megan Fox and BumbleBee stomp Sam Squishnicky. Then all the robots battles amongst the cityscapes like some old school Japanese rubber suit flick. We want giant robot carnage. Not John Turturro in his tighty whities.
lost_addict writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 12:34:38 AM

does it mean more shia?if yes...count me out...
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 1:00:09 AM

Michael Bay will have to pull his weight, especially after he reclaimed the honor of worst director with Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen.

By the way, I have a feeling that the crew members' letter to Megan Fox was fake. I mean, the names they call her sounds like the ones we call her. I think Fox has a sense of humor (back then, I thought she was gonna be the next Olivia Munn with her unique personality), but she does need to pick better projects than the ones she's done, or she's gonna be the laughingstock of Hollywood.

By the way, at D-Listed, they've done a report on Heidi Montag showing off her latest plastic surgery results. The names everyone is calling her is making Megan Fox look like a missionary in comparison. And here's the link!

http://www.dlisted.com/node/35641
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 1:40:28 AM

The only explosions I want to see is the one in my pants every time Megan bends over to pick up a wrench.

Love the Wrench Wench!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 5:39:18 AM

So less Robots less explosions better acting!!
are they replacing the entire cast and director???, oh I almost forgot and the writers???
rocketman writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 8:46:27 AM

@Roaddog
Cheers,you just got me addicted to that site. Whats the facination with all the z-list brit 'celebs' on there? You guys must be gluttons for punisment.
lost_addict writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 9:36:46 AM

bring back jon voight!!!
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:47:51 AM

no Leezy, the second film isn't nearly as bad as peoplke make it out to be. The storyline is great. At worst, it has a couple of 'groan' moments where the humor panders to kids... but then it is a film aimed at kids.
Kindlegolas writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:22:11 AM

As long as that guy who played the roomate of Shia's in Transformers two isn't in this movie I will be happy
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 11:39:17 AM

As long as Megan-tron Fox and that HAWT Deceptacon 'do-it' with one another... I'll watch the next one.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 2:37:54 PM

@rocketman

Well, I'd rather see the editor take the piss out of celebrities much more deserving. When Miley Cyrus got a whipping months ago, I knew there were some sane people who didn't buy into the Hannah Montana hype.

I do hope that script that was leaked was real. Seeing as Ehren Kruger looked back at 20+ years of legacy and lore (Sam Witwicky earns the nickname "Spike", retro Optimus Prime, Megatron and Starscream finally going at each other's throats). If it is real, then Michael Bay will finally redeem himself.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 5:35:42 PM

Nah i think the new installment needs Galvatron and unicron, that is done and dusted, if they aint there i luiterally i dont want to know
Spedattack writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:54:09 AM

Just get rid of the twins and we'll be happy
darkraven28 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 9:57:20 AM

See? Michael Bay's plot to rid the world of explosives has reached near its end. After this, his dialogue driven, body builder heist drama with overt gay tones is TOP priority!
Spedattack writes:
on January 20th, 2010 at 8:18:35 PM

If he takes the action away its just gonna be a crapfest of comedic attempts to entertain the audience. So Micheal Bay has just signd the end of his career by making sucha stupid decision

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved