WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Strong is Sinestro in "Green Lantern"

Posted: January 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Strong is Sinestro in "Green Lantern"Submit Comment
MTV News sat down with director Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) to ask him to confirm whether Jackie Earle Haley (Watchmen, A Nightmare on Elm Street) will star as villainous Sinestro in the "Green Lantern" film.

"No, that's completely wrong. Somebody told me about it this morning; I had never heard it before in my life," said Campbell. "In fact, we're in negotiations with Mark Strong (RocknRolla, Sherlock Holmes) to play Sinestro. He's not only a wonderful actor, but he looks like Sinestro."

Campbell went on to confirm Peter Sarsgaard as villain Hector Hammond and mentioned what other characters we can expect to make an appearance in the movie. "Well, Kilowog will be," he said. "Tomar-Re is in it. Sinestro is in it. Abin Sur is in it. All the origin people. Carol [Ferris], of course, who will be played by Blake Lively."

"All the main characters are there, and it's a complex story. The origin story of Green Lantern is complex, probably one of the most complex, which makes it a challenge to get it right.
"

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:04:14 AM

Good!!! They're going with the Hector Hammond script! That one is much better than the one that made Sinestro the main villain.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:06:17 AM

mark is a great actor for real. Good choice I'm pumped for this movie so far.
nope.com writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:40:25 AM

excellent choice... they're doing everything right with this... don't screw it up please
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:45:31 AM

Yes!!! Mark Strong is perfect for Sinestro!
Bob82 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:53:46 AM

Jackie Earle Haley is a great actor, but I saw "Sherlock Holmes" yesterday and Mark Strong is a perfect villian.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:23:01 AM

*squeals*

I'm very happy to hear this bit of news. I'm damn sure to spend my bucks watching this movie when it hits theaters.

In other news, the stock for Energizer batteries just went up 40%.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 9:33:33 AM

but once we watch shutter island we will want jackie back
leezy84 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:06:41 AM

good choice, mark strong is awesome.
telur writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:27:30 AM

i start getting sick every bad character played by Mark Strong
Ari Gold writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:33:33 AM

"In fact, we're in negotiations with Mark Strong"


mattcl23 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:25:18 PM

excellent choice!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:29:23 PM

So Sinestro is Archie who is Lord Blackmoor ? ... fuuuuuuu.....
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:44:46 PM

Didn't even read the article, but great choice.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:45:39 PM

Just paint his head red and you got Sinestro.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:16:32 PM

Just looking at that pic, has Mark Strong ever played Dracula!?
Sinestro writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:47:21 PM

YES!!!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:52:26 PM

Good Choice
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 2:40:40 PM

sweet sounds good
Joker1282 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 2:45:32 PM

cool!! good
TeemSelami writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:24:28 PM

i have only seen this dude in sherlock holmes and liked him alot and judging from everyone else's comments he looks the part.

is his snaggletooth real?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:34:33 PM

cool. Sinestro was kick-ass in the comics, if done right he could look amazing on-screen.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:04:04 PM

"All the main characters are there, and it's a complex story."

Tim Story said almost the same thing before making the "Fantastic Four" movie, and look how that went!
I still cringe every time I remember the Thing's ridiculously atrocious rubber suit.


"The origin story of Green Lantern is complex, probably one of the most complex, which makes it a challenge to get it right."

- Sounds like Martin Campbell is giving excuses for failure already.
A group of powerful extraterrestrial beings gives a man a power ring and he becomes a powerful superhero.
There, that wasn't that hard!

I'd be very (happily) surprised if this ended up being more than just a mindless CGI fest, with little concern about having a solid and captivating plot, replacing that with lots of worn out catch phrases.
Sinestro writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 10:41:20 PM

If you want to simplify things to make them seem mindless you can do it with anything. Citizen Kane was just about an old dude with a hang up for his old sled. There's a lot of background to GL, specially since the character has been drastically expanded in the past five and a half years. Thank you, Geoff Johns.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:16:44 PM

You're welcome, Orson Welles.

Try this now: Read what I wrote, but adding sarcasm to your reading, and see if it makes more sense.

With a Spider-Man figure as avatar, did you really think I was complaining about a well known and popular comic book character's story?

I'm skeptical about what they're going to do with the movie, not about the character.
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:59:12 AM

Geoff Johns is the man. If he is attached to this project in any consulting way, shape or form, then we have nothing to worry about.
Dre-EL writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 6:08:00 PM

I will give Mark Strong my thumbs up as Sinestro.

victor arroyo writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 7:26:47 PM

f*ck yeah, mark strong is the f*cking man
jdl107 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:51:20 AM

It is true then..... they have a damn good crew for this movie. Props to the casting director.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved