WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Sam Raimi Was Planning to Destroy "Spider-Man 4"

Posted: January 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Sam Raimi Was Planning to Destroy "Spider-Man 4"Submit Comment
We already know that Sam Raimi left "Spider-Man 4" because of script problems, but NY Mag is reporting that it was much more than that.

Production insiders have revealed that Raimi was so impressed with James Cameron's "Avatar" that he decided to add similar effects to his movie. But since such work requires a lot more money and time, Sony Pictures was forced to refuse his request. I guess that's where all those 3D rumors came from.

"Every movie is a power struggle," explains one producer on the Sony lot. "But the tipping point was that Sam wanted to do certain things that would push the envelope in terms of [special effects] and other visual stimulation, and Sony didn't feel that was essential to the franchise."

The studio was also thinking about marketing and toy sales. And since Raimi wanted a cheesy 60-year-old villain (Vulture) in the film, both Sony and Hasbro just didn't see a way to make this work.

And apparently the script problems weren't just about which villain to use. Raimi was championing a story line that's just plain ridiculous and extremely familiar. Here is how NY Mag described the plot of the now-dead "Spider-Man 4":

"Peter Parker gets over MJ, finds a new girl, falls in love. But: Peter also discovers her father is actually the Vulture, a naughty green guy with wings to be played by John Malkovich. Peter is torn between the love of his new lady and taking down the Vulture. Being a Spandex tight-ass, he decides to take down the Vulture, and kills him. This patricide goes down poorly with Peterís new fiancee, and she rejects him. Despondent, Peter decides to abandon his superpowers, and Movie No. 4 ends with Peter Parker throwing away his Spider-Man mask, and audiences wondering if they are watching Superman II."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
secondbest writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:24:27 PM

That was the idea they were going with? Ooh, I think the banality of the storyline gave me chills.
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:46:51 PM

If true... IF I say...

f*ck Raimi if it's HE that wanted The Vulture.

8 million people in NYC and Parker dates a chick with a dad that's a Super Villain... ummm... ok (ie: GAG!).

And Peter throws away his mask and gives up Spidey... ahh... ALREADY DONE!!!

Only good thing to that was he FINALLY dumped Twilight-Toothed MJ the cheatin' bitch!

I guess we'll hear Raimi's side now soon enough.
Kurskij writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:50:20 PM

"ends with Peter Parker throwing away his Spider-Man mask, and audiences wondering if they are watching Superman II."

I thought that already happened in the second one, no?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:53:47 PM

That sounds dreadful. The Vulture would have been awful. Sam Raimi must be losing it.

Anyway, I'm all for a reboot. I never liked Tobey Maguire or the hideous, whiny Kirsten Dunst anyway.
nope.com writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:59:22 PM

lol smart decision to can this guy

... if it's true
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:11:25 PM

i dont believe this sh*t. enquirer BS
blinkbomber writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:21:39 PM

so basically its part one with a girlfriend instead of a best friend...

... no thank you.
Vin12 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:24:31 PM

I want to give RANGER a blow job and have butt sex with him
c-prime writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:24:51 PM

I highly doubt every word of this article. I think NY Mag probably confused Sam Raimi's plans with a treatment Paul W.S. Anderson wrote for the movie.
Vin12 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:25:20 PM

Kill me i am gonna be under a new name niggas!!!!!!!
wonderBOY writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:26:04 PM

WOW thats a pretty crap story its just spiderman 1-3 put in one movie but it would of been better than the reboot
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:27:03 PM

Give it to James Cameron.
The villain = The Lizard.

Leave Cameron the hell alone 'til he's done.

And let's get on with this already! Jesus... Spidey 4 is turning into The Green Hornet already!
c-prime writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:30:27 PM

"I want to give RANGER a blow job and have butt sex with him"

Buddy, unless your real name's Heather, your 18, you've got D-sized rack, a goat farm, a reclining chair, and no intentions of conceiving children, I strongly doubt Ranger's gonna take that offer.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:30:45 PM

Okay, this article is such a set-up to make Raimi look bad. Sony starts rumors to get back at Raimi. Granted the visual effects doesn't seem that bad because the visual effects in Spider-Man 3 were awful, but really Sony is going to pull that crap that it wasn't essential to the franchise when they themselves screwed up Spider-Man 3 with what they was "essential". Seriously, anyone can see this plot was made up. It makes no sense and Raimi with continuity. The last one ended with a moment of redemption between Peter and MJ. Raimi cares about these characters and respects them. Screw you Sony! This was a douche move to try and ruin his career (failing pathetically of course) because he gave a crap about the film's plot and it ticked you off you couldn't control him. He dropped your suit-wearing asses in an instant to move onto better things. I can't wait till World of Warcraft comes out, he makes a crap load of money, and you guys watch it knowing you blew a chance for a great movie to come out. You go ahead and be pricks Sony, but don't you dare try and mess with Raimi's quality of moviemaking.
rocketman writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:36:55 PM

c-prime
ha ha,nice,
And thank f*ck Rami is off this franchise.
Manigirl17 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:36:56 PM

Man! I love spider man!
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:47:13 PM

@c-prime...lol. Priceless. I didn't even notice (honesty) Vin's post on this thread.

As for: 'I want to give RANGER a blow job and have butt sex with him.' ---- maybe after your mother is done paying me for the Alabama Pocket treatment I'm giving her right now. Get in line.
HOCK writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 8:10:01 PM

Yeah I don't believe this in the least bit. I think if Sam did Vulture it would be awesome like Green Goblin and Doc Ock.
HOCK writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 8:10:44 PM

Also: Why would we hate on Raimi for wanting the special effects to be cutting edge? They were when it first came out..he probably just wanted to keep up with everything else, pretty smart.
c-prime writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 8:16:58 PM

The Alabama hot pocket? Hell yes, man. Ah, Ranger, you're a true romantic. I love giving chicks those. My woman doesn't like it that much though. She says it feels almost as bad as eating a real Hot Pocket. Ha ha.

And thanks, rocketman.
WV-Films writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 8:25:08 PM

Knowing this, I'm glad they canned it. Also how is this much different then the Goblin, Harry Osborne story?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:29:43 PM

@ranger and everyone else
haha that was pricless

on to the article- if this is true, and for some reason i gotta feeling its fake then f*ck raimi......if not then well you know bad news for spidey...now in general marvel/disney needs to get there asses in gear and get back the movie rights and rebot spider-man correclty. and by that i mean NO SPARKLING VAMPIRE SPIDER-MAN, that gay little fagg cant act

@vin
i think youve been spending waaaaaaaay to much time with dandy and neo(nazi)
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:33:47 PM

besides if they get the rights back and they rebot it under marvel studios flag...then they can incorporate it into the rest of the marvel franchises still currently under marvel studios baner(i:e Iron Man, Hulk, Captain America, Thor, and much more)
johnny_boy writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:53:44 PM

@skatemaster vin is dandy in disguise
johnny_boy writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:55:29 PM

@vin/dandy if u want to have butt sex with anyone, holla at charger520. he'd let u do it.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:57:50 PM

@johnny_boy
sh*t you serious!! man where the f*ck have i been

@vin/dandy
hows the but sex going with are favorite little faggot neo(nazi)
johnny_boy writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:04:34 PM

now on topic, yeah that sounds awful. if true then u looks like us fans lucked out. Marvel needs to work their money and ideas around to get back their rights for SM if its gonna get rebooted. much as i dislike kirsten dunst, mary jane was needed. not some random girl. AND IF f*ckIN RAIMI WANTED TO DO SOMETHING STUNNING LIKE CAMERON DID WITH AVATAR THEN HE SHOULD'VE PUT THE f*ckIN LIZARD IN IT! NOT SOME OLD FART IN PAJAMAS WITH WINGS THAT. THE LIZARD WOULD'VE BEEN GREAT AND BETTER WITH SIMILAR EFFECTS AS AVATAR.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:05:16 PM

stupid ass plot, stupid ass villain, stupid ass effects. glad they decided not to make this ...
SaulSilver writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:40:48 PM

Remains to be seen what would have been worse....The version of Spiderman 4 that would have been, which sounds very Un-Raimi like. Or, this new High School Musical Spiderman Reboot with the types of names that are rumored for it?
Good god, what are they doing to one of Fictions biggest Icons? Marvel needs to get thier hands back on this series before it's too late.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:46:02 PM

Expect crappy articles like this to go on for a while till the dust settles.

Sony against Raimi. Raimi against Sony.

'and Sony didn't feel that was essential to the franchise.'

...no Sony didnt feel like coughing up the money when all their other divisions are doing sh*t. Its a business, they need the film out quick so they can make some green, just be honest.

It does get a worrying state of affairs when the toy company gets involved with the production of the script.
nuttie30xx writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:58:19 PM

thank god he and toby has left the 1st 3 movies sucked
BrandoFresh writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 11:27:59 PM

Wow. f*ck that. Raimi, you gots some explainin to dooooo!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 11:44:48 PM

@silver
im with you buddy its like a said earlier marvel needs to buy back its propertys so they can do them the right way!
i mean look at the stats so far
1. Iron Man- dam good film
2. The Incredible hulk- was very well done
so with that said.....MARVEL BUY BACK YOUR f*ckING PROPERTIES!!!!!!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 11:50:25 PM

Iron Man is good because of Robert Downy Jr. It's not a great script, the cinematography isn't astonishing, the villian is a f*cking joke, and the CGI was competent. The Incredible Hulk as a complete film is better than Iron Man. Though Edward Norton wasn't nearly as enjoyable to watch as RDJ.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 11:58:30 PM

Remember the WP post, the Vulture was only supposed to be a minor villain in this new installment. This is a Sony smokescreen to discredit Raimi. I dont think Raimi was ever satisfied with the studio's constant interference during the third film and may have been trying to get out of his contract with Sony. We already know Toby's been trying to get out since they wrapped part 2 so this isn't so farfetched. Most major directors don't like to get stuck in one franchise for too long, Raimi is no different. He broke the box office and got to fulfill a childhood dream, so I ask you, what did he have left to prove with this franchise. The forced PG-13 edit of Drag Me to Hell might have been the last straw. He obviously did this film to get a taste of old days when he didn't have to answer to anybody, but the studios still managed to even f*ck that up by dumbing down (after it was finished) for the masses. Let me ask yall something, was Evil Dead made for the masses? Was he thinking of merchandising Ash action figures when he did Army of Darkness? Did A Simple Plan need a Unrated DVD or director's cut? In a word NO!!! Raimi and his brother came up with the Coen Bros and shared their passion for independence. Spider-Man was just an opportunity that couldn't be passed up, especially for a lifelong fan of the comic. Plus I'm sure the studio made many promises and blew plenty of smoke up his ass about his level of control while they were recruiting him. sh*t, they may even have let him have his way with the first 2 films (his talents really started to shine in the 2nd movie), but as ususal there's always some suits who thinks they can do it better even though they've never directed a f*cking thing in their arrogant little selfabsorbed lives. WPers, remember who you're talking about before you start laying blame at Raimi's feet. He gave us nothing but great films before this franchise and yet yall want to believe bullsh*t some studio puppet rattled off to some idiot "journalist" in search of a story. Get a f*cking clue already!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:14:11 AM

If this is true then I say sony made the right decision.
lost_addict writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:50:04 AM

this franchise focused too much on Peter Parker and less on Spiderman...I hope that in the reboot it will be the opposite.peter parker is f*cking boring.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:53:51 AM

@Vindandy - I am sure the gimp (AKA: yourfriendwiththebigd1ck) Would gladly f*ck you in the ass all you have to do is ask nicely, or in this case beg a plead while he dominates your ass.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:16:55 AM

sony wanted to fire raimi because he lost all creativity with his fellatiations
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:22:13 AM

@SAC
what a well thought and might i add well written post my friend. and for the record i have a feeling your right about this just being a smoke screen set up to discredit Raimi. think about it Rami grew up with spider-man, read the comics like all of us(well except neo(nazi)). so i dont think he would be confortable sabatage a spider-man film. so a pissed off exec. who didnt get Raimi to do what he wanted spouted out his mouth to discredit him. good work my friend
telur writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 1:59:40 AM

why not sony pick another director to a take job for spider-man 4
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 2:37:44 AM

because Toby McGuire also left the franchise. they'd have to get a whole new Spidey, and as bad as some people think Toby was i doubt any body wants a different actor for the same on-going franchise. not to mention different director. reboot was the way to go after this downfall ... but this gay high-school spider-man reboot, which probably focuses MORE on Peter Parker then it did before, is not the way to go.
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:02:42 AM

Some of you people will believe anything you read!
None of this is true. The whole project is still on track and all the ink on the contracts is already dry.
film now writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:53:48 AM

...Aaron Johnson(Kick-Ass) should be the next Spider-Man and Carey Mulligan (An Education)as MJ.


jaz_mayor writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:25:14 AM

Bullsh*t!
That studio wanted a love interest that raimi didn't want for spiderman 3, why the f*ck would he want it for spiderman 4.

They say how raimi would have destroyed spiderman 4. Sony destroyed spiderman with 3 listening to dumb fans for venom. You can't do a PG-13 venom it doesn't work, the charactor looks good but is boring.

If they kept Vulture for 3 being devils advocate for the sandman it would have been a better story and made more sense.

This is just a ploy because sony knows that they screwed spidey 3 by having too much say in what goes on so raimi said f*ck it and left. Fans know that leaving it with sony and the writers of 'Skeleton Key' your gonna end up with what the fans picked. Which is a SPIDERMAN/TWILIGHT film set in school.

Heck the guy gave 2 good films with little to no influence from the studio. Don't forget that!
telur writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:44:50 AM

Sam Raimi is f*ck up Spider-Man 3

1. Sundenly Sandman is a Uncle Ben killer without clue from first movie
2. Venom less scene
3. Harry Osborn is dead

If WP news is true, then Sam Raimi is want destroy Spider-Man movie franchise after he did a great job from first two movies
telur writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:46:58 AM

NB: I am not surprise when Peter Parker's grandma is old black cat
Wallace writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:51:10 AM

probably fake
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 12:38:55 PM

@Jaz: great post man. I always wondered how they would pull off the Venom and Carnage villains in the movies without getting a R rating. Those where some of the most popular comics in the series and there's no way to do them justice in PG-13. The guy's name was Carnage for christsake! The series was over when they killed Doc Ock Spidey's best antagonist. I think Raimi was done after that too.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 7:01:50 PM

omg heinous
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 8:51:01 PM

@SACdaddy wrote:

"@Jaz: great post man. I always wondered how they would pull off the Venom and Carnage villains in the movies without getting a R rating. Those where some of the most popular comics in the series and there's no way to do them justice in PG-13. The guy's name was Carnage for christsake! The series was over when they killed Doc Ock Spidey's best antagonist. I think Raimi was done after that too."

true they should have either gave Spider-man 3 an R-rating (which could have made it worse)or waited for a venom movie with nice blood spurts of awesome Venom violence.
also, how is Doc Ock his best antagonist? he is a guy who has a name like doctor Octopus (which let's face it, sounds stupid) and can some how gets punched by Spidey a lot without sustaining hardy minor injuries even though he is below the average human in a physical sense.
In my opinion Carnage or Green Goblin are more deserving of the title "best antagonist".

rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:49:07 AM

a Rated R version of Spidey is a pipe dream. The character has never been used that way.
Dre-EL writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 6:16:40 PM

I dont believe this story it sounds like a krok of sh*t.
Sam is too big a spidey fan to have done that.

Lets hear Sam POV on this.

The truth must be revealed.
jdl107 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 2:32:43 AM

@Ranger:

Regarding your first post. Do keep in mind that the headline did state he was trying to sabotage it. So of course it was a f*ckin' bad idea.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 9:28:21 AM

i know it was raimi who f*ck this franchise knew it, with his Thoper Grace venon he destroy all, f*ck you SAm W. f*ck you, you destroy spiderman forever no more reboots at least from 10 years from now!
darkraven28 writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 9:54:49 AM

Hey, I'll take anything over that Venom bullsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 3:54:40 PM

@jdl - good question.

I don't believe headlines as much until I'd hear Raimi's side on this.
bacci40 writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 11:54:39 AM

this is total bs...

raimi is enamored with the ditko spidey and hates the modern updated one...that is why he wanted to go with the vulture

he was not gonna make the vulture spidey's dad
Goober3000 writes:
on January 27th, 2010 at 5:31:31 PM

"How Sam Raimi Was Planning to Destroy Spider-Man 4"

he was going to use his c*ck



There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved