WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi Wants Nimrod Antal to Direct "Spider-Man" Reboot

Posted: January 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi Wants Nimrod Antal to Direct "Spider-Man" RebootSubmit Comment
We've already heard that Marc Webb is Sony Pictures' top choice to reboot the "Spider-Man" franchise. But Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass) could still be in the running, considering that he would do anything to get the job.

Now comes word from QuietEarth that Sam Raimi has given the studio his own pick for his replacement. He is recommending Nimrod Antal, the director of "Vacancy," "Armored" and the upcoming "Predators" reboot.

Apparently both Raimi and Antal met a while ago and got along so well that Raimi hired him to direct "Armored." That job got him noticed by Robert Rodriguez who hired him for "Predators." And now that "Predators" has become a highly-anticipated movie, Raimi feels that Antal is the perfect man to reboot "Spider-Man."

I'm not sure if Sony cares what Raimi has to say, but at this point the three names on the studio's radar are Webb, Vaughn and Antal.

Source: QuietEarth


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gummijoker writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 5:09:42 AM

Sam Raimi seems to like An(t)al but is he any good?
Javicon writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 5:29:21 AM

He is a really good choice. I've loved Armored in its dirty 80's style. And vacancy was a surprise to me!
Can't wait to see those Predators which I'm expecting as a mix between the first Predator and Aliens.
As for Spiderman... Antal or Vaughn could be great (and so different!) choices but Gary Ross?? Marc Webb????? C'mon, after the energy Raimi has inoculated to his saga you can't pick an indie director!!!!
Ari Gold writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:10:29 AM

In further news Sony thanked Sam for his suggestion and then promptly told him to 'Get f*cked!'

Seriously why would Sony take any suggestion into consideration from this guy? They didn't even let him do his job in the third movie.

Also I remember in the cartoons Spider-man had like a contraption on his wrist that shot his webs as opposed to the holes in his arm in the movies.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 6:32:54 AM

If Antal doesn't f*ck up Predators he might be the right guy. But I'm, if this movie must be made, keeping my thumbs for Vaughn.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 7:38:33 AM

'But Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass) could still be in the running, considering that he would do anything to get the job'

All you have to do is suck Sony's playstation shaped d*ck Matthew.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 8:36:10 AM

OK now I know Raimi is trying to tank this film.
lost_addict writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:48:56 AM

"But Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass) could still be in the running, considering that he would do anything to get the job."

hmmm...anything?

skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:55:50 AM

@sac
can you really blame him for wanting to dystroy its reputation? if i was directing and the studio wouldnt back off and let me work. i would want to dystroy it and not have it make any money too
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 9:58:51 AM

@ari
in the old cartoons he had mechanical web shooters, but in the comics spidermans interactions with the scarlet witch greatly enhanced his powers with gave him organic web shooters and thats clearly what Rami was playing off of
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:10:27 AM

Sorry I'd go with Vaughn if this is where it's going.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:15:09 AM

If Sony wants to get the same audience from the first three box office smashes they better frikkin' listen to what Raimi has to say!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:34:07 AM

Even though the guy seems to have an OK resume, I don't have high hopes for this.
Ari Gold writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:41:38 AM

Cheers Skate. I always thought they made that up.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 10:54:02 AM

nah, no go.

Stan Lee or Gerry Conway should pick the director.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 11:06:19 AM

yup
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 12:13:33 PM

@Skate Raimi took the idea of the organic webshooters from Cameron's script. It pre dates the emergence in the comics. Marvel introduced them at one point so they could tie in closer with the films.

TRUEMAN writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 2:23:12 PM

Sam Raimi Wants to kill himself for making spiderman 3 so bad, f*ck Thoper Grace and his f*cking emo venon no more spiderman reboot for at least 10 years from now!
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 3:17:38 PM

They should do a ten @ ten skit with Raimi and Antal.
Joker1282 writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 4:16:12 PM

i had enough of spiders for now!!! no comments
Peter Parker writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 5:58:44 PM

With this, Sam Raimi is basically saying that, for all he cares, any nimrod can take over the franchise...
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 5:06:53 AM

When Sam Raimi has a statement to make, he gives it directly. He doesn't report it secondhand through incredulous gossip mags.
So far every bit of internet news surrounding SM4 has been lies. Someone is just taking the fans for a ride.
rhopkins writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:18:59 PM

we need to see if nimrod antal does a good enough job with predators first, hes got a lot to live up to if hes revisiting the first predator, i'm hope its guna b great with rodriguez producing, always guna b hard living up 2 an arnie classic!!

if it bleeds, we can kill it!
telur writes:
on January 17th, 2010 at 10:18:21 AM

I Wants Uwe Boll to Direct "Spider-Man" Reboot
Mudders writes:
on January 18th, 2010 at 1:25:28 AM

give it to gavin hood and fox....i mean its not like this franshise is even close to being any good....joking of course...they need someone to send this franchise into the R16 world and darken it up a lot so it doesnt come across like a kids movie....wonder what stan lee is thinking bout now

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved