WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Terminator" Rights Auction is Not Competitive

Posted: January 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Terminator" Rights Auction is Not CompetitiveSubmit Comment
Two years ago, the Halcyon company bought the rights to the "Terminator" franchise for $25 million, going on to make "Terminator Salvation." Things didn't work out as planned, so Halcyon is now auctioning off the rights, confident that it will get much more than the $60 million that "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" went for.

But even though almost every studio expressed interest in acquiring rights to "Terminator," the auction is not very competitive and the bids are so low that Halcyon has been forced to protect themselves.

Deadline Hollywood is reporting that the company has named Lionsgate as a stalking horse bidder, which means that Lionsgate will set the bar by making the first bid. Other potential buyers may submit competing bids, but they have to be higher than Lionsgate's. This strategy is usually in place so bidders can't low-ball the purchase price.

It's not surprising that Halcyon can't get the big bucks for the franchise, since Arnold Schwarzenegger will probably not be returning, "The Sarah Connor Chronicles" TV show couldn't get decent ratings, and the last two films not only underperformed at the box office, but have also damaged James Cameron's original vision.

Source: Deadline Hollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:05:42 PM

wow, thats a nice d*ck 8L..
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:08:49 PM

lol...

I bid $10... CASH!
No f*cking around!
10 bucks, cold hard cash!

I'm probably over-paying, but the don't call me Mr. Vegas for nothing.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:13:55 PM

sh*t I'll bid 10.50 and not a penny more
lawman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:16:32 PM

I bid 20 bucks and I want the right to bury the claw end of a hammer in the back of YOURFIENDWITHTHELITTLEd*ckS head!
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:17:05 PM

U Bugger!

OK funny guy... hardball it is!!!

$10.51
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:17:27 PM

Too rich for my blood.

I'm outta this!
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:21:07 PM

lawman thats some kinky sh*t
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:23:13 PM

I know. I wish I had said that!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:25:53 PM

Joss Whedon put a $10,000 bid on it or something, he wants to send the terminator back to mideval times
lawman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:26:36 PM

Glad you liked it. Now get back in your box and go back to sleep!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:28:27 PM

I am out of bidding this just got to rich and kinky for my blood.....unless you want to bring in a bunch of underage girls then I might reconsider.
lawman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:31:03 PM

JEFF, Sppoky is here so the underage girl thing is already covered. You back in?
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:32:17 PM

Cameron should just buy the rights and put it to bed or reboot it the right way.
NatG83 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:34:03 PM

I think James Cameron sh*ts $100 bills. He could probably buy this franchise after eating a burrito.
lawman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:34:30 PM

SAC>>> A reboot might not be too bad. Imagine the things they could do if they followed the same story line as the first, but with todays technology. Maybe throw in a little more scenes from the future (those were some of my favorite parts of T1).
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:36:20 PM

Fine 22.75
za316653 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:36:46 PM

agreed. Terminator Salvation could have been so much better IE the f*cking moron of a director they hired. Casting was perfect aside from stupid f*cking MCG. They shouldve gotten Zack Snyder.
lawman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:38:28 PM

Ha. And the winner is JEFF with 22.75, the authority to bury a hammer in the gimps head, and a romp with the little girl spooky!!! JEFF, YOU LUCKY BASTARD!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:49:20 PM

Wait I still get the rights to terminator correct?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:55:10 PM

If I win then spooky you better get ready to be railed by a terminator and the gimp from both ends...I will end the movie with a very graphic 3D view of the claw hammer going into the gimp's head.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 7:48:34 PM

I want to buy this and make another one with Sam.W in. I would then invite Trueman to direct and sit back and watch.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:12:52 PM

I don't know why people have such a problem with terminator 3. I thought it was a good follow up considering Cameron wasn't involved. I liked it more than the first one that's for sure
Syman404 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:14:59 PM

I still think the franchise is profitable for studios. They just have to reach farther than directors like McG and whoever wrote the damn script. If they want to "save" the franchise, the next movie should be based on the time-travel and the resistance's mission to destroying it (therefor stopping the machines from ever changing the timeline, and also cancelling out the 3rd and 4th movie). Of course there's more to it, but you get the point. They can easily make it better, by NOT making it a fan movie, and by not exactly rebooting it. If time travel is a part of the franchise, the story can be rebooted within the movie itself, and not the franchise.
Syman404 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:16:27 PM

An example I want to back that up with is the Star Trek movie and how they rebooted it but at the same time still made the old franchise have its presence in it. It can be done.
c-prime writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 12:54:06 AM

I'm not gonna mince words here, Syman: that avatar you've got is outrageously funny. At the risk of offending obsessive Heathophiles, you might almost say that it's to die for. Ha ha.
telur writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 2:21:16 AM

i think is good to terminate THE TERMINATOR FRANCHISE
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 2:59:52 AM

Sure... the minute after you get Hooked on Phonics!
CCBlev writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 10:01:54 AM

Hooked on phonics, i think hooked on ebonics would be a better choice, as for the terminator franchise, Ranger give me loan me 20 bucks to buy it and you can have Bryce Dallas Howards vaq anytime you want it
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 11:15:40 AM

HAHAHAHA, And all because the mother f*cker of SAm W. he make throw up in Terminator Salvation because his gayness and his flat acting, f*ck all the actors of the moment f*ck you all!
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 4:16:20 PM

OK CC... that post has me headed into the shower!

Nice job!
Assclown writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 11:18:17 AM

Not so fast everyone i bid 25 american dollars

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved