WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Says "Inception" is Bigger Than "The Dark Knight"

Posted: January 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Says "Inception" is Bigger Than "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
LA Times caught up with director Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight) to talk about his upcoming "Inception" thriller, starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Cillian Murphy, Ellen Page, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Ken Watanabe.

"I think we've put a lot of different things into the pot with this one," said Nolan regarding the plot which can be described as a metaphysical heist movie.

"I grew up watching James Bond films and loving those and watching spy movies with their globetrotting sensibility.... We get to do that here," the director continued. "Not just geographically but also in time and dimensions of reality as well. We get to make a movie that's expansive, I suppose you’d say, in four dimensions."

Nolan added that the plan was to make a personal film, but the the script ended up bigger in scope that "The Dark Knight." "The fact that it's really just an enormous movie -- that wasn't ever really a factor in the decision," he said. "This story lends itself to a movie of this size. This is the biggest challenge I've taken on to this point. We're trying to tell a story on a massive scale, a true blockbuster scale – the biggest I've ever been involved with. We tried to make a very large-scale film with 'The Dark Knight' and with this one we wanted to push that even further."

Click here to read more about "Inception."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:03:16 PM

i wanna suck it :P
autiger10 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:07:21 PM

^ what a fag.

on inception, very excited. time will tell if the patience is worth it.
Vin12 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:16:49 PM

TWO MORE OFFTOPIC DUMBASSES WONDERFUL
HOPE NOLAN KNOWS WHAT HE'S DOING
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:18:46 PM

i think autiger10 likes me :D
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:21:24 PM

Cillian Murphy? I'm sold.

Dude's so f*cking creepy, you can't take your eyes off of him.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:22:38 PM

I think Vindandy likes you
gummijoker writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:22:58 PM

ok NOW im really exicted :D:D:D:D:D
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:23:28 PM

I think Vindandy likes you

that was for yourfriendwiththebigd1ck
nope.com writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:31:28 PM

headline makes it seem like the statement is arrogant

... then of course you read the quote




... thx wp
nope.com writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:32:32 PM

OT news... meatholes is back
za316653 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:32:57 PM

This film will be the winner of 2010 as far as ticket sales go. Iron Man 2 will be right behind it, If this movie was a stock, I would purchase all shares. Its going to be the sh*t
triggax writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:35:20 PM

@spooky...

I've found myself lost, gazing into murphys eyes on countless occasions.. hes a gorgeous man lady demon.
NatG83 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:36:09 PM

Wow...if Nolan's excited, that's pretty amazing.
ifakos writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:38:22 PM

I love his work, but I'm worried this might be too clever for the general public...
za316653 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:40:46 PM

After hearing peoples reaction from the trailer. I definetly agree the general public might not understand and like what they see, but word of mouth on this one will be strong.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:49:38 PM

ifakos-

The general public wants Transormers and dummerthandandy Bay. Screw the General Public!
Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:53:20 PM

I forget again- what'd Dandy do to deserve all this?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 7:48:29 PM

@triggax

ever see his short film "watchmen" (no, not THAT watchmen), it's pretty good
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 7:54:06 PM

@Triggax

'hes a gorgeous man lady demon'

I couldn't have put that better myself.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 8:01:15 PM

who gives a sh*t about dark knight know that was so 2 years ago.
inception looks good though i just hope it wont get way too over blown like dark knight
Flav writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 8:56:24 PM

ALl I got got say is, Joseph levitt will be the scene stealer in this film. Watch Out, leo!!
Aaron writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:10:31 PM

That's a very hitchc*ckian picture of Nolan.

Cillian Murphy makes me question my sexuality in a very noncommittal sort of way.

Assuming it opens at midnight - this will be a midnight viewing for me.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:49:38 PM

Dandy was a fag and claims to sleep with kat dennings and smoke weed with several other famous people, PeterParker will remind people when subjects like Kat dennings come up (see thor post today for example)
WV-Films writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:15:37 PM

Great, ya did ur pet project, now lets get started on Batman 3.
tidedsued writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:15:47 PM

yeah go for it nolan!!!!!!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 12:33:47 AM

Keep knocking them out of the park Nolan. You think this was a challenge, wait till those Dark Knight Returns expectations start showing up at your door step.
takai writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 1:08:01 AM

If Nolan is wanting to make an accurate (a.k.a. good) 'Dark Knight Returns', he's going to have to get about 40x darker than TDK. That is, if he's wanting to use that title.

I'm not sure if I think he'll try to adapt the novel or not. The way he's so hesitant to talk about it makes me think that's what his plan is. He would have to be hesitant, if he was thinking of bringing the joker back.

Regardless, if Nolan doesn't adapt DKR, Snyder will, and he will knock THAT one out of the park.

And oh yeah, Inception. Looks amazing, and I can't wait for it.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 2:05:16 AM

Oh I'm not really talking about the actual GN The Dark Knight Returns, I just took it upon myself to tentatively title the next Nolan Batman film, TDKR because it simply would make the most sense considering how TDK left off. A legitimate TDKR screen adaptation would be hard to pull off at PG-13. Though you can nail the themes and atmosphere of the story.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 2:07:06 AM

Also... Snyder is a pretty sh*t director. But I'll save that argument for another time. If he was making TDKR, I wouldn't pay to see it in theaters and I've been a Batman fanatic since baby booties.
telur writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 2:25:59 AM

no Robert Pattison in the cast? hell no
MattC903 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 3:04:36 AM

yessssss going to be epic.
WV-Films writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 8:04:53 AM

I agree with TH3D4RKKN1GH7. Snyder sucks. He just takes comics and uses them as storyboards for his movies. Apparently that makes him some great "visionary director".
takai writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 12:40:10 PM

I'm not saying that he's an amazing director. I'm saying that he is gold when it comes to what he is good at. And yeah, that IS using GN's as storyboards. Who cares? Also, Snyder's only made a whole three feature films. Dawn of the Dead, 300, and Watchmen. All of which were hailed as great films by their intended audiences, which is who he makes his films for. Watchmen was evidence for that.

So tell me, what exactly makes him a sh*t director?
takai writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 12:47:13 PM

Snyder has only *directed* three feature films.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 3:07:54 PM

Nolan never fails, this film will be more epic than anything Cameron could ever create.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 6:21:12 PM

He's a sh*t director because he doesn't understand substance. Direct graphic novel adaptations don't work on film because they lack that. He can mimic well but he can't create. He takes scenes and lines directly from the comics without a filter to toss the trash and create something new. He's afraid of the fan base he makes films for. He also doesn't understand what's really important in these stories.

Dawn of the Dead remake? Snore.
300... action fest lacks substance... snore.
Watchmen... are you f*cking kidding me how dare you?... snore

I'd go more in depth on this but I've done it too many times and this cheeseburger is f*cking good. So maybe I'll return and elaborate further.
thedudeman69 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 10:17:48 PM

Oh god I am going to j*zz so hard when I see this
takai writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 12:41:39 AM

I think he understands substance, but hasn't had to utilize it with his own creation. I guess we'll see how well he does with Sucker Punch.

Direct novel adaptations work extremely well for fans of the novel. As a fan of Watchmen and 300 (even though 300 is all of 30 pages long), I love the films because they are literally the pages on the screen. Do I care if non-GN fans like the films? Nope, because I'm satisfied, and it's all about me. Haha

And I have to disagree with you saying he doesn't understand what's important in the stories he adapts. All of the messages are portrayed the same way they are in the novels.

Yeah, he might have been afraid when making 'Watchmen'. I mean, any director would be when you are tackling THAT. But now, after the positive reaction from the fan base, I highly doubt he's afraid of anything, and rightfully so.

I wish I had a cheeseburger.
triggax writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 3:08:22 PM

Darknight...? Why do you have such a problem with Snyder? I mean, i think the biggest reason he goes with such literal translations, straight from the pages, is because he, himself is a HUGE comic book fan and hes making the films for himself, because putting your own take on a film thats derived from a comic book is unfair to the source material, in a sense.. Every huge fan of the Watchmen novel, like myself and a large number of other folks that I know absolutely loved Snyders interpretation of the book.. It was spot on.. it was exactly what I wanted to see in a watchmen movie. I didnt want some jack off directors "take" on what it would be translated into a hollywood movie, I wanted to see what the graphic novel would look like in moving pictures... Albeit, ive always said it probably would have made a much better hbo mini series... Snyders a damn good director, whether you like his work or not, he has an amazing talent for filming action sequences.. probably the best out there right now, and he has an amazing eye for color and his visuals are outstanding. He's definitely noteworthy... Hes a young director thats made 3 bad ass movies... I dont know how you could have possibly though that the Dawn of the Dead remake was a snore fest... you're crazy man, that movie was f*ckin' radtastic... at face value.. i mean take it for what it is... a f*cking awesome zombie romp... one of the more intensely entertaining zombie films out there... i mean, tell me that zombieland didn't blatantly rip off Snyders distinct style that was used in dawn of the dead... i dont know man.. the guys just really good at makin slow mo look really awesome..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved