WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clint Eastwood Almost Played Batman

Posted: January 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clint Eastwood Almost Played BatmanSubmit Comment
Zack Snyder (300, Watchmen) has already expressed interest in making a Batman film based on "The Dark Knight Returns," Frank Miller's tale of an elderly Batman, who is forced out of retirement when Harvey Dent returns to a life of crime.

Apparently this movie almost happened, since the Hughes brothers (Book of Eli) have now revealed to MTV News that this was one of the project Warner Bros has approached him with.

"I remember how dark the comic book was. Batman was old. He had to rely more on his tools and other sh*t, and he was a decrepit, 60- or 70-year-old man in this comic book," said Albert Hughes. "I remember saying to them back then, 'We want to do this, and you should get somebody like Clint Eastwood to do it'."

Even though the studio offered the project to the brothers several times, the feeling was that "The Dark Knight Returns" would be the end of Batman movies. "We were never going to do that. We were telling them it was the death of their franchise," Albert laughed. "Looking back now, we definitely would've killed that franchise."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:30:56 AM

For using the words 'decrepit' and 'Eastwood' in the same paragraph... this guy should suffer the plight of being ass-raped for an eternity by Liberace wearing a rusty, razor wire covered condom!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:32:20 AM

I agree Ranger!
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:41:15 AM

I swear these people don't think during these interviews.


FBO writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:10:27 AM

I don't trust anything these guys say. So far they claim that they were offered, Batman, Superman, Spiderman, and Debbie does Dallas. Next week they'll claim that they were offered The Matrix, Charlie Brown's Christmas Special, The Legand of Johnny Lingo, Hot Rod and Ocean's Ten. Not too mention that William Shakesphare asked for their help on atleast half a dozen of his plays.
FBO writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:11:35 AM

And then they're going to claim that God asked them to write the Bible for him
johnny_boy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:43:41 AM

Who's cares if he almost played batman. Does it really matter? Films are just gonna keep rebooting therefore all kinds of people will have a chance to play different characters when they reboot films. Hell, I'll be player the joker once batman gets rebooted again
johnny_boy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:45:20 AM

Player=playing ^^^^
Bob82 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:20:46 AM

I like to think "Gran Torino" as a Batman sequel...
Ari Gold writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:54:45 AM

This sounds like it would of sh*t all over the last two movies! I hope they reconsider and make this happen one day.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 7:19:53 AM

So wait a minute, these guys turned down PC4 and a Batman film they believed would ruin the franchise? Sounds all good to me. We should be praising them for this not criticizing them. They've actually managed to think with their brains and not their bank accounts and have demonstrated a level of discretion I thought was long since dead in Hwood. Give them a f*cking break and stop complaining just to do so.
VDODSON writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 8:37:31 AM

I heard they were also offered Ben-Hur, Herby rides again, and Star Wars episode 4.
VDODSON writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 8:38:48 AM

Clint Eastwood is a legend, but he is starting to resemble a corpse. I love they guy, he's probably the best actor of his generation, and in the top ten of mine.
dub031 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:21:55 AM

hahaha FBO u made my day!! f*ckin hughes bros. although I am lookin forward for that book of eli!
LastActionHero writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:25:46 AM

Eastwood would be atrocious in that role.
darthraige writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:27:29 AM

Clint would have been good. 50 f*ckING YEARS AGO!
Peter Parker writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:39:04 AM

Batman at Joker:

"You've got to ask yourself one question... Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya... clown?"
Dre-EL writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:00:10 AM

WP seems to running out of thing to write about.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:29:19 AM

Give Lohag another day or two (she's overdue for a f*ck-up... and not by her driver). Then WP will have plenty to write about.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:50:44 AM

He is a bad ass with a raspy voice so it would work
rocketman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:55:40 AM

f*cking idiots,he was in his 50's in the Dark Knight Returns.
rocketman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:57:08 AM

(Hughes bros not you guys)^
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:13:20 PM

Do they actually ever say how old he is in the comic? He's old but all I remember is he quits crimefighting for like 10 years because Bruce Wayne gets injured in a car race. I dont remember Miller saying whether he was in his 50s or 60s. Either way Clint is too old for the part.
rocketman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:25:14 PM

@Sac
Yeah near the end of the book,mid 50's if i remember...i'l go and dig it out and have a look.......
rocketman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:26:14 PM

pedant alert,he just quits and drives race cars for the rush after.
rocketman writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:28:57 PM

Here we go,news reader reporting his death...

''..He has been identified as fifty-five year old billionaire Bruce Wayne..''
Vin12 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 1:01:31 PM

ranger u f*ckin turd get a f*ckin life. i doubt an ignorant twat like yourself has ever been under that kind of pressure.not every filmmaker can please fagboys like yourself
Horsemoney5 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 1:35:50 PM

Actually Clint would of made a great older Bruce if they made a batman beyond movie.
FBO writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 1:47:26 PM

@Dub - thanks, I am actually looking foreward to the book of eli movie too.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:20:44 PM

Vin/dandy posted? Did his dad take a break from molesting him?
Kindlegolas writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:22:53 PM

First of all, that is commpletely arrogant of them to think they could kill a franchise completely. Second. Batman Begins and TDK still would have happened regardless of whether or not this film was made
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:31:25 PM

Eastwood? No buddies, more like Powers Boothe, He would so f*cking own that role. If Snyder could get him it would be f*cking amazing.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:45:09 PM

@VinDandyPhag - ouch! You've bruised my very soul with your hateful comment.

Oh... by the way... you're boring.

Go jack-it to your Tom Welling avatar you puny, whiny, bitch.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:48:46 PM

If they make this it will be the sh*t; Richard Burgi would be perfect for batman and Ellen Page could play Carrie Kelly.

@Horsemoney5:

I really like that idea and maybe Ian Somerhalder as Terry McGinnis.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:37:57 PM

Victor; I never heard of Ian Somerhalder but I just looked him up and he looks like terry would in the real world nice find!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:56:43 PM

thanks dude.

I like to make fantasy casts for comic book movies.
Vin12 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:07:49 PM

@johnny
wow... and ranger says IM boring...HA!
Vin12 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:13:02 PM

@THE TWAT THEY CALL RANGER
TELL GARY COLEMAN TO WITHDRAW FROM UR ASS SO U CAN GO TO YOUR HOW NOT TO A f*ckING RETARDED DOUCHE CLASS
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 6:21:43 PM

On a comicbook sidenote, I saw Watchmen for the only the second time last night on HBO. I realize now that I may have initially judged this movie too harshly. In the comfort of my own home, on the big HD, with a little "green" loaded up, and with the occasional assit from the good old DVR, I found a new apprecition for this 3hr epic. I realize now that I didn't fully understand the entire scope of the plot and the alternate reality Miller and Snyder created. The Comedian's character took on a whole different appeal to me once I started respecting his understanding of this crazy world. He easily was the smartest character in the whole film which I totally missed the first time around. Once I got that all the other pieces of the movie made a great deal more since to me. Now I can't wait to see it again. So I'll admit I was wrong about Watchmen and am sorry for giving it such bad press. I just wasn't prepared for all it had to offer and I kind of feel like a jackass for misjudging it so poorly.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 7:26:09 PM

@SACdaddy:

good for you buddy, good for you. I loved that movie.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 7:29:42 PM

@SACdaddy:

Now imagine The Dark Knight Returns with watchmen's vibe; that my friend would be awsome.
JPC writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:07:18 PM

Am I missing something. Just because they thought Clint would be good. Is that any where close to him have agreed to play the role?
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:07:29 PM

If this ever got done, I'd like to see Bruce Campbell don the cowl. Maybe it's just one of my nerd fantasies, but I think Ash Williams as Batman would be bad-ass. Plus, Campbell's got the smart-ass, grizzled attitude that the older Bruce Wayne possesses. But I'd hate to see this get handed off to Snyder, because he'd just turn it into one giant stylized turd. In completely unrelated new, Ranger and the rest of you guys help me successfully not pay-attention in my boring-ass college classes with your constant Lohan/Coleman/Vin/Dandy hatred. Keep it up guys, because I still have 3 more tedious years of higher education ahead of me!
tidedsued writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:24:27 PM

At least he has gary coleman Vin12
Jensama writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 3:42:13 AM

Haha! Made my day. I directly saw the scene of Clint in the Batman suit, grinding his teeth, rubbing his bat-shurikens, lifting his eyebrow and saying:
"You feeling lucky... ...punk?"
Marvelous idea.
abel writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 12:48:40 PM

i rather see clint eastwood play jomah hex back n his day, instead of plaing an old batman! give the role to adam west since he wanted to play it n the batman movie
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 10:43:43 PM

Oh Vin12 - you're such a funny retard.
trailertrash writes:
on January 19th, 2010 at 4:17:00 AM

That would have been very cool
xerces1492 writes:
on November 10th, 2010 at 4:25:22 PM

instead of having a sixty-year old bruce wayne, why not do Batman Beyond where while Bruce is old and retired, he lets somebody else take the mantle. Plus Harvey Dent is killed in the Dark Knight.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved