WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Conan O'Brien Refuses to Host "Tonight Show" After Leno

Posted: January 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Conan OSubmit Comment
Conan O'Brien was promised that he would take over "The Tonight Show," but now NBC is taking it away from him by pushing Jay Leno into his timeslot. O'Brien has now released a statement, revealing that he will not continue under these conditions. Below is the full statement:

People of Earth:

In the last few days, I've been getting a lot of sympathy calls, and I want to start by making it clear that no one should waste a second feeling sorry for me. For 17 years, I've been getting paid to do what I love most and, in a world with real problems, I've been absurdly lucky. That said, I've been suddenly put in a very public predicament and my bosses are demanding an immediate decision.

Six years ago, I signed a contract with NBC to take over The Tonight Show in June of 2009. Like a lot of us, I grew up watching Johnny Carson every night and the chance to one day sit in that chair has meant everything to me. I worked long and hard to get that opportunity, passed up far more lucrative offers, and since 2004 I have spent literally hundreds of hours thinking of ways to extend the franchise long into the future. It was my mistaken belief that, like my predecessor, I would have the benefit of some time and, just as important, some degree of ratings support from the prime-time schedule. Building a lasting audience at 11:30 is impossible without both.

But sadly, we were never given that chance. After only seven months, with my Tonight Show in its infancy, NBC has decided to react to their terrible difficulties in prime-time by making a change in their long-established late night schedule.

Last Thursday, NBC executives told me they intended to move the Tonight Show to 12:05 to accommodate the Jay Leno Show at 11:35. For 60 years the Tonight Show has aired immediately following the late local news. I sincerely believe that delaying the Tonight Show into the next day to accommodate another comedy program will seriously damage what I consider to be the greatest franchise in the history of broadcasting. The Tonight Show at 12:05 simply isn't the Tonight Show. Also, if I accept this move I will be knocking the Late Night show, which I inherited from David Letterman and passed on to Jimmy Fallon, out of its long-held time slot. That would hurt the other NBC franchise that I love, and it would be unfair to Jimmy.

So it has come to this: I cannot express in words how much I enjoy hosting this program and what an enormous personal disappointment it is for me to consider losing it. My staff and I have worked unbelievably hard and we are very proud of our contribution to the legacy of The Tonight Show. But I cannot participate in what I honestly believe is its destruction. Some people will make the argument that with DVRs and the Internet a time slot doesn't matter. But with the Tonight Show, I believe nothing could matter more.

There has been speculation about my going to another network but, to set the record straight, I currently have no other offer and honestly have no idea what happens next. My hope is that NBC and I can resolve this quickly so that my staff, crew, and I can do a show we can be proud of, for a company that values our work.

Have a great day and, for the record, I am truly sorry about my hair; it's always been that way.

Yours,
Conan


Source: Conan O'Brien


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:12:19 PM

Jay Leno just needs to leave already... i love the guy and i watched it show regularly but he has no right trying to back peddle just cause his ratings turned to sh*t... keep everything the same... drop Leno... problem solved
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:16:17 PM

Fair enough, the tonight show gets aired at like 8:00pm here in Australia.

I see where he is getting at though, putting a show at 12am is pretty sh*t!

But i never complained about the hair Conan. You still look like a red haird lesbian
nope.com writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:21:14 PM

Good Job NBC, you continue to be the "Fox" of this year and probably will f*ck up more than they did last year.

Leno's always been a dirty piece of sh*t and this just further proves it by actually taking this offer instead of declining and taking back his word. What a f*cking joke, after all those "goodbyes" to the tonight show, he's returning with his head between his ass.

btw, if you haven't read 'The Late Shift'.. it'll tell you just the kind of donkey sh*t Jay Leno is.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:22:15 PM

hey conan i heard there are alot of roles in the next spiderman up for grabs.
Loki writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:28:09 PM

f*ck Leno let Conan stay he is funny.Leno sucks
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:30:32 PM

F*ck you NBC and F*ck you Leno! Conan is awesome, almost like a Barbarian of comedy, and I agree with his statement 100%
thegambit72 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:30:44 PM

f*ck JIMMY FALLON!!!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:30:52 PM

@ted
im with you bro, they should just drop leno, he's had his time in the sun and needs to step back and do something else. sense when does a network let its stars (aka Leno) make all the calls. pushing the tonight show back is crap and cheep and i believe is in breech of contract
ZeusReit writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:32:09 PM

I'm totally with Conan on this. Moving the tonight show to air the next day is stupid. I hope NBC comes to their senses.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:33:28 PM

conan your a stand up guy. he would rather give up his dream of the tonight show to make everything else fair. and conan your hair is hilarious
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:35:04 PM

i will boycot every "late show" if they dont accomidate conan. anyone with me?
Bonzaitri writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:44:02 PM

Team Conan! Leno has managed to steal the tonight show for the second time. madness.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:46:12 PM

@Bonzaitri
Team Conan!!! can i count on you for the boycot then?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:46:54 PM

I used to like Leno, but f*ck this sh*t. Give it up Jay and give Conan what is rightfully his.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:54:21 PM

this is pure bullsh*t

jay you need to back the f*ck off and leave the tonight show to conan like the contract stated 6 years ago!!!! its not our faults that you new show sucks balls and everyone is tired of your old ass
Bonzaitri writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:00:19 PM

maybe this is outta left field... but at this point I kinda wish Conan would move to comedy central and do his thing there. Maybe i'm just biased as a big daily show/colbert fan, but I think he would at least be appreciated there and comedy central would let him do just about anything he could think up. I suppose comedy central may not be a big enough platform for him though. Should be interesting to see what his next step will be. Whatever happens, He's already proven he is going to handle the whole situation with class.
warriors187 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:12:17 PM

This is some BS.
@Bonz
I feel ya on that. Its obvious that NBC isn't giving him a chance, but I don't think that Comedy Central would be a good place for him.
I mean, would he get the slot that The Man Show used to have? Conan's a goofy f*cker, but I think he's too classy for that.
thedotsays writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:29:53 PM

f*ck Leno, this shows and proves right here that Leno could give a sh*t less about the legacy that is The Tonight Show. Conan appreciates the legacy so much that he'll give up his dream just to keep it intact.
Conan's the f*ckin man.
MattC903 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:30:13 PM

TEAM CONAN!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:31:00 PM

TEAM CONAN
warriors187 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:39:48 PM

yea! f*ck Yea!
madaseel writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:48:30 PM

Good for you Conan.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:49:30 PM

Team Conan
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:55:37 PM

I guess conan felt like a red headed step child so he had to go.
gimple writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:05:31 PM

f*ck Leno he's a c*nt.

Team Conan!
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:16:17 PM

watching the tonight show is like getting AIDS; a terrible waste of time. get out of your pampers concan, bring some volatility.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:38:57 PM

Leno is such a little homo. He steals so many bits on that terrible show from Howard Stern.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:57:47 PM

christ Leno, just f*cking retire! you had you incredibly unfunny time in the spotlight, its time to finally let Conan have the entire spotlight which he deserves! Be cool my babies!!
Deathscythe writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:58:14 PM

Were they going to change the name of his show to The Tomorrow Show?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:10:46 PM

@Deathscythe
love your avatar bro

@beatle
you said it bro "be cool my babies"
although i miss when he used to sing the kids to sleep on the old late night show
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:12:30 PM

Leno just got jealous Conan was getting better ratings
Team Conan
nope.com writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:56:01 PM

I'm not ever a bandwagon type of person

.. but Team Conan all the f*cking way

Went to the second taping of Conan's start of the Tonight Show

21 years of living in Los Angeles and NEVER went to a Leno taping... just saying
Kindlegolas writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:03:42 PM

Way to Go Conan!! Way to stick to your convictions and whatever you do..Please do not cave to these *ssholes at NBC
Crossdrill writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:09:18 PM

Hey Jay Leno and NBC.... f*ck YOU!

thanks.

Conan has been waiting a long time, you promise him the Tonight show then take it away because of Jay? His rating sucked so what the hell, he was the anchor that is pulling the late night talk shows down. Cut him loose. HE HAS ENOUGH f*ckING MONEY!!! does he seriously need MORE cars?

Way to go.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:32:32 PM

Where in his statement did Conan say he refused to move his time? All I read was that he was displeased with things and hopes NBC and he can resolve things. Isn't THAT what it all said?
Telly like it is writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:54:25 PM

Time for Leno to retire. He's super loaded anyway. Heard some news though that he has an airtight contract with the studio that he can't be fired. so i'm afraid we'll be seeing Leno for quite a long time. I hope Conan can still keep his original slot.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:59:18 PM

hey ranger nice to see ya buddy

TEAM CONAN!!!!!!!
gford writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:07:34 PM

Let Jay go walking.....
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:07:50 PM

@telly
i agree Leno is done for and has been for years
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:08:00 PM

Thx. Skate!

And yes... TEAM CONAN!
gford writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:08:38 PM

NBC will soon be No Body Cares
tcu21 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:10:17 PM

I need to patent a Team Conan t-shirt and get rich on this while I can.

Conan said that he would "Gain 10 pounds of chin to keep his job." That alone should sway people to his side.
makingcircles writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:11:04 PM

Team Conan!!!!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:18:24 PM

@tcu
i would totally buy one of those shirts from you hhahahaha

@ranger
good to hear buddy

@circles
i hear ya loud and clear haha

TEAM CONAN!!!!
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:19:08 PM

The politics of the entertainment business would have me go on a killing spree!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:22:46 PM

@ranger
haha totally
BlueMobius writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:24:47 PM

Well said and well played. Leno, we don't like you...call it quits. Much luck to Conan.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:28:15 PM

Seriously... Leno's passion are vehicles. Open a museum of your own personal collection then. I don't care how wealthy you are... but cars and bikes are you passion. I'm much rather go to his museum, then see him on TV every night (let alone a piss-poor half-hour show...ugh!).

Jay... bow out gracefully, and take Jimmy f*cking Fallon with you!

Ferguson is still my fav.

As for this Carson Daly, I've read about on posts here on WP.
Don't know who it is?
Don't care.
Not curious.
Won't watch.

buttabean writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:40:32 PM

I don't get why leno doesn't make a high profile leno's garage... I think that would be way more popular than his show he has now.
GIST writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:40:38 PM

TEAM CONAN!

DIE LENO!
buttabean writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:43:38 PM

could be a blend between top gear and his talk show he has now. Drop the crappy electric car track and go to Mazda speed way aka laguna seca. now that would be badass
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:01:55 AM

TEAM CONON!!!!
Telly like it is writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:04:43 AM

@skatemaster62. i actually still find Leno funny. But he should pass the torch already. And the studio should give more Conan time if it's just a simple ratings issue. they did give Leno 3 years to finally start getting good ratings. oh well.

@ ranger. yeah i wish i could watch Ferguson's show. I hear it's really, really good.

@ buttabean. Leno as Top Gear USA? that sounds pretty cool. lord knows he has enough cars in his garage for at least 2 seasons. and he definitely does know his automobiles.
Cmgunit87 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:12:11 AM

i hate to say it but Leno has to go. A half hour show will last half as long as his primetime show did. Conan must stay!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:30:16 AM

tonight show is about to start in five minutes here...cant wait to see what he says
encoreyourface writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:37:58 AM

keep your job dumb ass don't quit. not a fan but I'm just saying it's not a big deal or anything if it starts before or after 12:00.
Stuntastic writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:37:59 AM

I just got one question, since when do you so call "retire" and come back and do the same exact thing an hour earlier? Makes no sense and I feel sorry for Conan cuz NBC completely renigged on their end of the deal. This is one of those times when someone needs a do over.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 1:38:09 AM

Leno is KanyeWestin' the sh*t outta Conan.

TEAM JAYDEN JAYMES!
bale01289 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 1:42:09 AM

f*ck Leno....Conan has always been funnier! I hope they resolve this.
ceerow writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:32:21 AM

i love conan ... everybody in portugal loves CONAN ...


HELL YES .. TEAM CONANDO ...
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:32:32 AM

@skatemaster62
thanks bro... totally on board with Team Conan...
"We want big ass HAIR ... not a big ass CHIN!"
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 8:57:12 AM

Conan is right!!!!


that's all I have to say but yeah he's hilarious and doesn't deserve what NBC is doing
The Dini writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 9:31:09 AM

Why dosent Leno take his 500 million dollars, and go buy an island somewhere, and not bother anybody.
warlord writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 10:22:41 AM

o'brian is better leno sucks!!!!!!!!!!
n1ghtmarrr3 writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 11:51:43 AM

TEAM JAYDEN JAYMES!
myluna writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 12:41:19 PM

Team Conan all the way!
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:37:06 PM

f*ck that cry baby Leno with a fist and f*ck the moron suits at NBC.
Tizzle writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:23:59 PM

Definitely Team Conan!
The Worm writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 5:58:23 PM

i guess i will just go hang my self now
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 1:22:54 AM

guys watching conan tonight and TEAM CONAN was brought up. how f*cking amazing

TEAM CONAN!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved