WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spider-Man" Being Rebooted without Sam Raimi and Tobey Maguire

Posted: January 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spider-Man" Being Rebooted without Sam Raimi and Tobey MaguireSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures has just confirmed that director Sam Raimi has left "Spider-Man 4" because he couldn't make the May 6th, 2011 release date and couldn't keep the film's creative integrity.

The entire cast has left as well, but the studio is not giving up on the fourth film. Sony said that it will start searching for new talent (director, cast), will work from a script by James Vanderbilt (Zodiac), and will have the film in theaters by Summer 2012.

The plan is to reboot the franchise and start from scratch. This means that the new movie will revisit Spidey's origins. "We're very excited about the creative possibilities that come from returning to Peter's roots," said Amy Pascal, co-chairman of Sony Pictures Entertainment.

The studio is now preparing for production, so expect casting news soon.

Could Sony hire Jake Gyllenhaal to play Spider-Man? The actor was in talks to replace Tobey Maguire in "Spider-Man 2."

Source: DeadlineHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 168 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:57:34 PM

HOLY f*ckING sh*t!!!!!!!!!
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:59:13 PM

So much for another movie like Spider-Man 2. Instead we're going to have to look forward to The Adventures of Spider-Teen.
billofill writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:59:50 PM

You know i was saying last year they should just start over, that they never got the basic jist of the books of course i was saying this high on pain meds eating cereal watching the Spectacular Spiderman cartoon at 27.
bay101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:00:04 PM

Thank God!. Don't f*ck it up with Venom this time...if they do plan on using him. Starting this over will allow us to appreciate the first 2 and completely forget that last piece of sh*t!
rzmsauce writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:01:01 PM

And I just creamed myself over Johnny Malcovich as vulcher!
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:02:00 PM

this has to be a f*cking joke...
Lowryder writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:02:16 PM

this just f*cking ruined my year! i was soo excited for this and now everyone has left it, and they are rebooting it!!! FML!
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:02:49 PM

This makes me happy, and sad.

Happy because it's not happening.

Sad because they're trying to 'reboot' a franchise whose last film came out 2 years ago.

What a terrible idea.

Who knows though. Maybe by some crazy twist of fate, the new franchise turns out better. Here's to hoping.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:03:33 PM

It's too early to reboot you mongloid f*ckheads! We haven't forgotten about the first three yet. I know that The Vulture wasn't the best of villains, but was it so f*cking hard to trust a competent film-maker? Who runs Sony? NBC?
Goober3000 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:05:07 PM

f*ck you sony pictures im sure sam ramimi quit because he was sick of you guys. Hopefully he'll revisit ASH!! For f*cks sake lets get new evil Deads
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:06:24 PM

You know I can't say I didn't see the raimi firing coming...and now we have a chance for a hot mary jane and a non douche to play peter park....sometimes cleaning house can be a good thing. But it is too soon to do a reboot.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:08:08 PM

You all know what's going to happen. Robert Pattinson as Peter Parker, a brooding teen who gains spider-powers, battling against his evil bully classmate Eddy Brock, played by Taylor Lautner. Megan Fox plays the sexy red-head Mary Jane. A Brett Ratner film. 2012. *Pukes*
johnny_boy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:09:14 PM

This ain't real. Can't be. It's too soon for a remake. And raimi still owes us one more good spiderman film, to redeem himself. This just sounds so sudden especially since malkovich just confirmed he's involved in part 4.
Kurskij writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:09:15 PM

Awwww, it feels good to be back!
First WP reading in a month and Freudian already makes me laugh my ass of with "mongloid f*ckheads!"

Cheers, gentlemen!

Nemonian writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:09:59 PM

This is pretty damn ridiculous. I am actually considering buying SM3 now out of madness.
c-prime writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:10:44 PM

And to think I practically called this on WP almost a week ago. Uncanny.

I pray your prediction is grossly inaccurate, Douche. Ha ha.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:17:37 PM

@Kurskij: Thank you dude and welcome back.
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:21:27 PM

Since Spider-Man's origin is pretty well settled by this point, I'm guessing "returning to Peter's roots" means f*ck up the origin and make a movie that has no relation to the comic at all. I hated the third Spidey film, but Raimi will be missed. This is all Sony's fault and they will suffer at the box office for it.
Goober3000 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:23:33 PM

jack black as peter parker
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:26:12 PM

@Nozzle - I laughed pretty hard at your statement.

Half because it was just funny.

Half because I could totally see the execs thinking that as being a good idea.

Hollywood needs to burn.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:31:26 PM

ha ha ha ha ha ha i can't wait to see this movie! f*cking hilarious! i am gonna sit in the front row so my neck and brain can hurt.
duff4444 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:32:05 PM

that's AIDS-tastic! I can't be sure if it's a good thing or bad thing at this point. Let hope they don't f*ck things up and cast Michael Cera or something f*cked up like that!
MMJoe writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:34:30 PM

So let me get this straight. The same executives that screwed up the third part cause Raimi has to say, deal. Are now thinking okay "lets just fire Raimi and start over." Hmm, wonder who they are mostly worried about; their money or the much needed fans that invest their cash on these types of films. f*ck Sony.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:34:58 PM

Me as Peter Parker.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:35:06 PM

Sony- FYI, you just stepped in a whole bunch of sh*t.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:35:40 PM

I don't think they'll find a director who has alot of love for spiderman as the fans do. Instead just some f*cker who THINKS he knows how spiderman is.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:36:42 PM

When they mean reboot, they mean, "We're going to cast a bunch of retarded teen stars who can't act, not focus on story, and have a lot of overdone action scenes." Say whatever you guys want, but the three Spider-Man films had substance, good action, and pretty decent performances. Screw you Sony! No way this film will be as successful as the first three. THis isn't the Punisher films. These movies were made right the first time and rebooting them, especially after the third one only being three years ago, just shows how Sony has no style and no care for anything but a quick buck.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:38:09 PM

@ Peter Parker, rather it be you than zac "I got aids from dandy" efron or Robert "dandy gave me crabs and aids" pattison or Shia ledouche.
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:40:00 PM

I think it's important to know that Raimi LEFT the film. Sony didn't fire him.

Sony still pulled a huge sh*t move.
duff4444 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:40:12 PM

f*ck IT! JIM CARREY THE WHOLE THING AND I'LL BE HAPPY!
neiander writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:40:12 PM

this is ridiculous! Any SONY screw up. I have no desire to see another origins movie. Not enough time has passed to reboot this series. Stupid stupid stupid Sony.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:41:39 PM

Uwe Boll. I now that's sound stupid (retarded even), stay with me...A reboot of Spiderman is a bad idea and it's more likely to be a f*ck-up. Give it to Uwe. In that case, it'll either end all attempts to fiddle with Spidey again or, by some miracle, Uwe makes a good movie and we all cheer. Any takers?
duff4444 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:44:23 PM

i'm with ya! Give it to Uwe, it'll be to comical to get angry at that way!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:44:41 PM

wait a minute? that cancels the deal they had in place for 6 films right? wouldnt the movie rights revert to disney?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:47:05 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare- no 20th century fox!! hahaha
Kara writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:49:41 PM

what is going on!!!!?????? Im really beginning to dislike Sony...

No Toby.. No Kirsten.... - not seeing it..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:53:38 PM

@duff: Exactly. I would be like giving a retard some paint and a canvas, and no matter what he paints you would say "Ah, good try. And stop eating that"
wonderBOY writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:54:31 PM

If this is real they wont get jake Gyllenhaal they will just get some teen doosh actor. whats the point of a remake what more can they do different than the first one. SONY SELL SPIDEY TO MARVEL STUDIOS
Popcorn101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:56:02 PM

OMFG!!! 1st HUGE NEWS ON WP FOR AWHILE! all i can say is get a good main character and a hotter MJ please lmao...andi really think Sam Worthington could play a good Venom if he buffed up
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:56:03 PM

Ok i dont mind the idea of a reboot, but James Vanderbilt and well trying to get the film in cinemas by summer 2012, dont they think that is kind of a rush
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:00:14 PM

@Popcorn: Shut up before I pop you corn...hole
wonderBOY writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:02:43 PM

Raimi has warcraft and a jack ryan movie lined up but what to the actors have nothing really
Jojotocujo writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:03:27 PM

Well sh*t, I really wanted 4 to be made after hearing Bruce Campbell would have a major part. Oh well :(
Popcorn101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:03:46 PM

nightmare lol wtf, you dont think sam w could do a good venom, who would be better?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:03:59 PM

@wonderboy- i agree with you 100% the rights need to go back to marvel studios....infact all of there characters need to be sold back to marvel studios so we can have decent comic book movies
Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:06:31 PM

Spiderman 1-3 was Sony's bread and butter for almost a whole decade- and they're scrapping it, cause Riami wants to do a good job??! I need to hit something... where's Dandy?
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:10:18 PM

@skywalkder- im with you man i need to beat someones ass...dandy get your little faggot ass over here so i can kick my foot in it
Loki writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:10:41 PM

Sniff sniff I smell bullsh*t
Loki writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:10:54 PM

Sniff sniff I smell bullsh*t
thor writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:14:46 PM

@loki- for once i agree with you
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:16:59 PM

I have nothing against Sam W, but he's overexposed as it is. And Venom has been done. Even if they are going to reboot it, they can't use the same villains again.
thedotsays writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:18:28 PM

If they're going to go forward with a reboot, they'd be best off going the route of the animated Spectacular Spider-Man currently playing. It's very good story-wise and they're able to pull off multiple villains succesfully. Hell, they even made Vulture somewhat relevant.
Popcorn101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:21:03 PM

lol well the movie is coming out in like 4 years, but i would like to see carnage too, or maybe a little rhino(i would say the rock for this but he is going the wrong way in his career with stupid movies like the tooth fairy)
thor writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:22:34 PM

@loki- i agree with you i think this is bs, it cant be not when JM just confirmed his involvment
thor writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:23:23 PM

can someone help me out? is there a way to change your screen name without starting a new account?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:23:31 PM

Sony are ruining this like they did with the last one. Fox did the same and got too involved in the creative process of Wolverine so they could make the marketing people happy.

Sam Raimi has done the best thing he can. Dont expect to see a film the fans want as this will be run by the suits. Now all they need is a puppet director.
nope.com writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:24:32 PM

Marvel is crumbling more and more

... take advantage of this DC. You got GL, Jonah Hex, and a potential B3 announcement. It's gotta be now
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:27:19 PM

@ Freudian Nightmare

They can use the same villains again but just not do it in the same story adapted perspective.
Spiderman can be made amazingy it just needs the right people, and the people that write it need to be hard core fans of the source and also know how to readapt the source to the big screen while still remaining faithful.

But that's just my [perspective, Spidey has an amazing rogue gallery and most of them can be done realistically despite that a lot of them are quite campy, they just need realism added to them and maybe some more character depth and development or for to be readapted to a more realistic or scientifical sense of modernisation for a modern auidence
WV-Films writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:29:03 PM

This wont happen. It's just false rumor to stir up more buzz. The director and cast (who have signed contracts) wouldn't/couldn't all just up and leave like that on a whim. This is bogus.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:29:09 PM

There is an official Sony press release for this. Just give the whole thing back to Marvel Studios and ill think it will be in much safer hands.
darthraige writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:29:22 PM

Awwwwwwwwwwwww HORSE sh*t!
nope.com writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:29:45 PM

btw, should GGoblin and Doc Ock be off limits for this new reboot? ... this isn't the situation of the Joker where you can play him differently as Nicholson and Ledger did.

Venom on the other hand.... make him right this time.
You got heavyweights in Vulture, Rhino, Shocker, Mysterio, Chameleon, Electro, Carnage (not much though), Kingpin, Kraven, Lizard, Scorpian

And the lower class in Beetle, Kaine, Hydro-Man, Jackal, Puma, Morbius
nope.com writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:31:08 PM

I'd be doubtful of this story if the f*cking UK Sun paper reported this.. but it seems too legit


... too quit
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:33:24 PM

Verne Troyer for Spiderman.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:35:08 PM

is there any way to change my username?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:37:24 PM

Damn. Well, it was fun while it lasted Raimi now move on to other movies.

To the Sony suits: You are some stupid f*cks to be paid so much money.
KalVicious writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:43:22 PM

This a really shocking. :(
MattC903 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:45:18 PM

THERE IS A GOD!!!!!!
Crossdrill writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:55:17 PM

HAHA.

Wow, there really are some giant idiots over at Sony. Why not just let Raimi do what he does.

well i think that this new movie will be terrible.

hopefully they prove me wrong.
markoz writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:56:56 PM

They should do a reboot in The Incredible Hulk style.Or just give rights to Marvel Studios.They would know how to make a good Spidey movie
za316653 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:58:57 PM

good news all around. Sam had to disagree with the heads over creative differences, and now we can see some new talent - mainly cast - Im sick of tobey and kristen. Lets some real talent
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:01:36 PM

@ crossdrill

I agree, my perspective is that because they are going to rush it, too fast, i mean come on your planning to reboot the franchise and have the first installment out by summer 2012, thats not far off...
So like 6 months securing everything and writing the script, plus auditions and then a year for shooting approx and then in post production for 6 months for editing and sfx...

Too quick
LeeMaca writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:02:45 PM

Please use venom and get it right!! seriously i'll do it I KNOW i can do better than eric foreskin!
GambleBDJ writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:16:26 PM

I hope they make him as a sh*t talking ball buster like in the comics.
ZeusReit writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:21:46 PM

Why reboot a film that was created so recently? I don't get it.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:25:15 PM

Hahahahahaha. I saw this coming a mile away!
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:26:08 PM

Facial Lafleur, total facial!!!
ksplatt writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:28:09 PM

good, tobey macguire is a piece of sh*t actor.
BlahblahIV writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:38:34 PM

As good/bad as this news may be, I find it somewhat suspect. I mean, in the last few weeks, there's been nothing but Spidey 4 news, and how well it's been moving along (delay aside), then one day BAM! Everyone quits? As someone else said, most of the cast probably signed some sort of contract, and I'm pretty sure you can't just walk out of those.

On the flip side, if this is true, congratulations to Raimi for telling them to f*ck off. IF true I guess we have to sit through another origin-story that we ALL watched less than a decade ago. So I guess this means it'll be at least 2013 or 2014 before we get an original story out of this reboot, and only then will be see if it can stand on its own legs.

And I totally agree with a previous poster, Marvel needs to take some time and get A LOT of their character licenses back, re-evaluate them, and redistribute them where they will actually do good.

Marvel, get your characters back, and only give them out to people who will do a good job with them. Ironman can remain in play, he's actually doing pretty well, as is Hulk, but Thor and Cap we'll have to wait and see. But start bringing in the X-Men, Spiderman, Punisher, etc. Hold onto them until someone comes to you with a GREAT idea, who actually WANTS to do a film.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:39:42 PM

Interesting. Hopefully they don't spend another whole movie covering his origins, since we just saw that in 2002.

I WOULD like to see Venom done correctly.
Syman404 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:48:15 PM

I liked Doc Oc from SM2 but I have to be honest, I was in love with the 90's cartoon and it personally portrayed SM the way it should be, which Raimi destroyed for me. I hope they don't cast a wuss like Toby and just go with a normal build guy... I don't like nerd to hero stories taken too literally. And PLEASE get a better looking MJ. Dunst has always been ugly IMO.
CCBlev writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:57:28 PM

WOW, thats all i'm saying
FBO writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:58:52 PM

I am ok with this. A redo would mean an actor that doesn't whine like a little bitch. Toby bugs the hell out of me, like that hooker that's plays the half pint in LOTR
Kindlegolas writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:58:58 PM

f*ck this sh*t
bale01289 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:01:26 PM

Thank Christ for this miricle! Raimi can get his name off of this project and hopefully give us some more Horror flix! It is WAY too soon to reboot this movie, and if they do, I think it will be total sh*t! I'm betting they get Nick Jonas to cast as Spidey, Hannah-f*ckin-Montana as MJ, and Effron as Venom. I see total Disney sing along written ALL over this!
pnkntndr writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:03:21 PM

I always felt that Howie Long would make the perfect Venom
bale01289 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:05:27 PM

*miracle*
FBO writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:27:20 PM

Dunst/Mc-Gay-er was a horrible pairing
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:39:01 PM

mmmhh... this might be interesting, but it will be weird to watch some other guy playing spidey... OH GOD NO, NEW THOUGHT, NEW THOUGHT!! i just imagined "no-sack" efron as him!! please, god, if you love us, donīt do this, pleeeease!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:40:44 PM

ok, commented before watching the post, and being honest, jake gyllenhaal (had to look at the name to write it) would actually make a good spidey!
disturbed01 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:54:34 PM

f*ck SONY!!!
disturbed01 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:59:28 PM

didn't james cameron wanted to direct spiderman??well now is his chance
shamusot00le writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:02:09 PM

Like otheres, mixed feelings.. A spidey movied with RAimi and no execs medling would have been awesome, but good on him for sticking to his guns. But a reboot so soon - definate cringe factor. As long as Sony has spidey we'll never see a proper carnage film (would need to be 18+)
AshTrey writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:13:14 PM

DAMN THIS REALLY FELL TO sh*t... WOW
disturbed01 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:15:04 PM

ugh and spiderman and superman are acting like the same sh*t
KalVicious writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:17:05 PM

*This is really shocking. :(*
MoldyNachoz writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:34:32 PM

thank God! Sam Raimi sucks...one more Emo Dance scene and id have to shoot myself.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:36:48 PM

@Moldy Nachos

I agree, Sam hacked the spider man series to sh*t. I really didn't care for the series and 2 was the only one worth watching.

This could be a very well done series as long as I don't hear the names rob pat or taylour lautner
BigBoss55 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:41:27 PM

i never really comment but.....HOLY sh*t SONY!!! f*ck YOU!!!! YOU HAD A GREAT DIRECTOR AND PERFECT CAST WTF MAN! 2010 IS ABOUT MAKING THINGS BETTER NOT WORSE!!!!!
venomex writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:45:25 PM

let's make sure the next one has less whining
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:47:24 PM

so the franchise is still going to be a "sinking ship" after the 3rd one....great news..??..
simplytyson writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:49:51 PM

thats so dumb they finally get a villain and actor and the give up
SACdaddy writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:07:13 AM

Why does anyone give a sh*t after Spider Man 3? Now Raimi and Maguire can get back to making movies that aren't a complete waste of time and money. Bring on the next Evil Dead starring Tobey Maguire and Bruce Campbell. The SM movies were crap anyway.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:36:48 AM

zzzzzzzzzzzzz f*ck you guys.
Hobo Michael writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:40:47 AM

WOW!!!
Thank You For f*cking It All Up Sony Thank's

When i first read this my eye's watered :(

I realy wanted a spidey 4
not a gay ass reboot!

& f*ck Jake Gyllenhaal evreyone say's toby's to old to be spidey then why the f*ck is it ok for jack to play him?

& also the only reason ppl say about this toby jake spidy sh*t is b/c thay were in Brother's together that's why that sh*t started.

& i think sam did a grat job on thes film's there some of my favorite movie's & he realy just made me happy with spidey & YES I DID LIKE VENOM!!!

By useing a smaller actor (Topher Grace)
it was alot easy to make him look much bigger as venom. if he was all ready a big actor eddie brock & venom would look the same size & that would take away from being bigger so yes i liked venom alot if there would have been anything i would have done diff. with venom would be to have a little more of him ib it.


Live on Spidey!

R.I.P. Spider-man :(
whoever writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:42:19 AM

Sony Pictures probably want Rob Pattinson, d*ckheads!
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:56:19 AM

But he can only come out at night. By day he... sparkles.

Hey Sony... Raimi couldn't meet your delivery date because you were too busy f*cking him up the ass! Unless... you WANTED him to miss that start-up date just so you could fire him.

Either way Sony... suck it! Suck it HARD!
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:58:23 AM

'This means that the new movie will revisit Spidey's origins.' --- Jesus Christ Sony... do you think we all have Alzheimer's?! We only saw his f*cking 'origin' THREE MOVIES AGO, ONLY 8 YEARS AGO!!!!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:05:02 AM

hey ranger i gotta question for ya. do you know if there is any way to change my username without opening a new account?
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:08:20 AM

Hey Skate... I only glanced... but click on 'Change Avatar' under your... well, avatar to get into your profile. I didn't see anyway, but you may find it. If not... email Alex from there.

PS: that Gary Coleman... what a f*cking joke!
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:09:55 AM

Admittedly, I WILL watch any new Spiderman movies.

I won't pay to see them in the theater.
I won't rent them.
I WILL watch them on my movie channel that I'm already paying for.

But I do like Spiderman.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:14:27 AM

PS: that Gary Coleman... what a f*cking joke!

Jokes on Sony they are so screwed up they will probably hire cole to direct or be spiderman, maybe they could create a new villian he can star as something like the retarded black troll.


skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:15:54 AM

thanks ranger

p.s. range sony sucks hard d*ck daily and nightly, they would rather f*ck up a pretty good franchise then just LET THE DIRECTOR DO WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE.

i mean seriously how stupid are you if you wont let a director(who is making a pretty soliid franchise) (with the execption of spider-man 3) do what he does best. and that is direct. especially when its someone like Sam Rami who grew up with spider-man and even had spider-man on his f*ckING wall. as for Spider-man 3 if the studio would have butted the f*ck out and let rami do what needs to be done, we wouldnt have had venom, and we wouldnt have had so many villians. it would have been great. the stupid f*ckers in the 1000 dollar suits have to stick there no tallent noses in it and f*ck it up for the fans. so guys dont blame Rami...blame the f*cking dandy ass fagots in the suits for ruining Spider-man 3
ilovebatman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:24:57 AM

wow did NOT see this coming. at all...
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:28:49 AM

And only a mere 72 hours ago:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16357&count=0

Yeah... you're in the 'midst of the process' alright Tobey.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:40:00 AM

holy sh*t!!! that stunned me. right move though. after the forced due date in Sm3, Raimi must have been fed up with these short due dates and left. but now they can do it right and not have annoying actors like Kristen Dunst or whoever. it'd be great if they could get the guy who played Jameson though that would be cool he was great.

I'm neither disappointed or really exited, but curious to where this will lead.
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:40:12 AM

WHOOOOOOOO! There is a God!
Finally someone has come to their senses.
Now all we need is a propper Green Goblin to wipe that ass-rape of an abortion that was Power goblin out of my memory.BEST NEWS IN AGES!
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:46:39 AM

Wonder if they will cast Shia la Boff or Zack Efron?
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:48:51 AM

hahahah f*ck spiderman
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:07:20 AM

@rocketman
Hey, I get your support for Shia Labeouf. I mean I never thought he was that great of an actor, rather okay, but do you actually consider Zac Efron a good choice or just thinking they might consider him for the role considering his popularity. I got to be honest, the guy hasn't done anything that hasn't involved dancing and his acting is sort of dry. To have him portray a surprisingly complicated superhero is like asking him to fly, which I actually think he is more likely to do.
vaodsi writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:41:55 AM

... pass.... epic fail.
pnkntndr writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 3:13:33 AM

I do believe Rocketman was using something, we all know and love, called sarcasm.
lost_addict writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 3:14:17 AM

great news!!!that franchise need to become more serious and bad ass...toby and raimi are just too soft for something like this...
grizzle writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 4:00:55 AM

Everyone keeps saying they hope Sony proves them wrong, that they do it right despite Raimi's absence...

I hope those d*cks over at Sony LOSE THEIR SHIRTS on this movie for not trusting a man who gave them two GREAT Spider-man movies (1+2) and who COULD'VE given a nice finale to the series had the black ties not gotten involved in the first place. These people are idiots, I hope they lose their ass and their movie sucks. The end.

Oh and BTW people keep actin' like the Vulture's still in. Pretty sure he left too. So there goes Malkovich. The funny Bruce guy who did all the cameos will be gone too. And no matter what you can say for Dunst, she wasn't SO bad I mean come on, does anyone even give a second thought to Katie Holmes in Begins? She was worse. Way worse. So was Jennifer Garner in DD. And who can forget the disastrous Kate what's-her-name in Superman Returns?
shayhiri writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 4:50:08 AM

Hahahhahaaahhaaha, suck it up, fanboyz!!
Digital Desperado writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:20:07 AM

Rebooting in this case is a stupid move!Come on, who wants to see Spideyīs origins AGAIN?? The first film did a great job at telling that story, so I guess that they should pick up where Raimi left off. As for the cast and director, letīs wait and see...
Sonic writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:40:02 AM

Bloody hell......... not another re-boot. go to hell Sony.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:27:13 AM

Im sort of glad this happened now when people watch the new spiderman they will appreciate the old one
johnny_boy writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:55:28 AM

January 11th 2010, the day Sony f*cked themselves and fans.
cblackwell writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:19:58 AM

If they do a reboot I hope they go down the same road as they did for the incredible hulk and have the origin scene in the credits because we all know he gets bitten by a spider but we don't need half of the movie taken up by how he gets bitten..!

They could even hire Louis Leterrier (director of the incredible hulk) to do the reboot..
japaninmotion writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:21:09 AM

what a crock. how can you "reboot" something that isnt 10 years old? plus when have studio ex ever made a good idea by getting rid of the creative force?
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:41:51 AM

HAHAHAHA i know this will happen, the last spiderman, was a crap, gay actors, ugly actress, and Topher Grace, destroy this movie, no more of this sh*t, wait like 20 years whem all forget this crappy movies and them make the reboot! hahahaha they kick Toby M. hahahaha
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:43:59 AM

HAHAHAH
I know i was right this piece of sh*t of movies wont last much longer, f*ck Topher Grace hahahaha!
SondrMan writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:27:22 AM

NO!! f*ckING NO!! YUICK.. This is horrible. f*ckING sh*t!!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:20:57 AM

@pnkntndr
Thanks for that, but he has made several comments about Shia Labeouf being cast as Spider-Man. So, no offense to rocketman, but that is either an overused joke or a strange, serious comment that I disagree with seeing as how I would pick anyone in Hollywood besides that man that already ruined one legendary franchise (A certain series called "Indiana Jones") and is overrated beyond reason.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:27:12 AM

They need to make that kid who's gonna play "Kick-Ass" to be Peter Parker.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:37:34 AM

I know he has too many super hero movies, but ryan raynolds could be a great spiderman, he has the attitude and the body and Jon Favreau would be my pick to direct or maybe Doug Liman.

Venom as the bad guy played by a buff Til Schweiger.

Christina Hendricks or Amy Adams as mary jane.

Helen Mirren or Susan Sarandon as aunt may.
telur writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:51:58 AM

Like I said before..... it's time Robert Patison for Spider-Man
lewarren writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:00:34 AM

That is great news, best thing that can happen to the next spider-man movie.
All the movies sucked big time, now they can make a movie that fans can enjoy.
VDODSON writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:16:11 AM

@lewarren- you are clearly delusional. You honestly think the first two sucked?
victor arroyo writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:30:24 AM

@telur

dude...I respect the fact that you believe in what you like, but wtf? cedric diggory as spiderman hell no.
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:32:37 AM

@Sleuth
I can deal with a Shia Spidey(just) because i think he could do the wise cracking cheeky Spidey in his sleep,something Toby failed on.As for the Zack,no way mate,i was being both sarky and predicting direction the studio would/could take Spidey giving that Disney owns Marvel and Zacks ass/ego/soul.
hobbes3000 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:38:22 AM

good
victor arroyo writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:43:30 AM

I know he has too many super hero movies, but ryan raynolds could be a great spiderman, he has the attitude and the body and Jon Favreau would be my pick to direct or maybe Doug Liman.

Venom as the bad guy played by a buff Til Schweiger.

Christina Hendricks or Amy Adams as mary jane.

Helen Mirren or Susan Sarandon as aunt may.

Skywalker121289 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:45:28 AM

@Rocketman-

I'll agree with you about Tobey's lack of wisecracking, it was kinda lame, but Shia would suck balls. The kid walks around like he's on top of the world- he doesn't act as though he has the weight of the world on his shoulders- which Tobey actually did pretty well. Keep Tobey- he's built the character up thus far, let's keep some continuity shall we?
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:49:53 AM

Don't get me wrong,i'm not n the Shia fanclub BUT out of the current batch of young actors around that i know of,he is the only guy that could just about cover all the bases.I would love to see an unknown 18yr old take a crack at it though.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:54:09 AM

Robert Patz's for a 'sparkly' Spiderman.

Zac Efron for MJ

Gary Coleman as Venom.

Lohan as a street walking whore.

David Hasslehoff as the drunk J. Jonah Jameson.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 11:59:06 AM

@ranger

hahahahhaha
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:09:17 PM

Here's the cast, people-

Spidey-Arron Johnson
M.J.-Emma Stone
J.Johan-R.Lee Emery
Director-Neil Marshall
makingcircles writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:09:51 PM

hahahahaha!!!!
Castor Troy writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:45:39 PM

just what we need to see uncle ben snuff it yet again ...

as much as im against a reboot thankgod raimi is gone from this franchise, he got too obsessed with "facial expressions" and the social messages and political comments he wanted to put across to his audience rather than making super hero films - resulting in spiderman 3. Hopefully now Venom may get the chance to be the iconic screen villain he deserves to be if done again.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:46:35 PM

"toby and raimi are just too soft for something like this..."

Ha! You obviously are forgetting ALL of Raimi's credits prior to SM. Lets just say that he was every bit a hard R director before Spidey came along. He softened his touch because he was speaking to a much younger audience and also trying to break the box office (which he definitely accomplished). If you think he's soft you haven't seen Drag Me to Hell yet. Tobey Maguire, in the meantime, has been getting praise for his portrayl of a crazy hardcore vet, so I don't think the "soft" label exactly fits him either. Bottom line, if the studio said they wanted a darker Spidey and the source material called for it as it did in with SM2, Raimi and Maguire could provide in a heartbeat. Instead the studio in all their brilliance said they wanted more villains. It ruined SM3 (though not financially) and almost ruined The Dark Knight. In fact, in a way you actually could argue that it did ruin Batman's future.

If you ask me this is the best SM news I've heard in a long time. While I could give a sh*t where the series goes, I am happy to see Raimi and Maguire move on to better things. I see a new Evil Dead movie in pre-production on IMDB and Tobey might be up for many awards for his role in Brothers. More power to them.





rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:35:00 PM

It would be cool if they set this new film in the late 70/80's,played straight though not like Anchorman.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:12:59 PM

Sony should just beg Christopher Nolan to pick this up and do for it what he did for the Batman franchise.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:15:26 PM

If they get a competent script & director, I could see Gyllenhaal as an older spidey. Let's say one as teacher and married to a better cast and hotter Mary Jane.

Then again Sony suits suck c*ck, Gyllenhaal probably wouldn't want to be sloppy seconds and really who f*cking cares?
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:31:51 PM

copy n paste update from sony
''Peter Parker is going back to high school when the next Spider-Man hits theaters in the summer of 2012.

Columbia Pictures and Marvel Studios announced today they are moving forward with a film based on a script by James Vanderbilt that focuses on a teenager grappling with both contemporary human problems and amazing super-human crises.''
Full article
http://www.iesb.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=8062:more-info-on-the-new-reboot-of-the-spider-man-franchise&catid=41:news&Itemid=71
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:49:42 PM

@Rocketman - Thx for that, just confirmed my fears they are going to use a sparkly spiderman name pattinson.
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 3:01:59 PM

I want Mclovin directed by David Fincher.
Hobo Michael writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 3:31:44 PM

NO NO NO NO NO!!!! WERE NOT GOING THERE WE ARE NOT!!! NO JAKE GYLLENHAAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I DON'T EVIN LIKE THE GUY!!!

I DON'T EVIN LIKE ANY OF THIS!!!

I WANT THE REAL SPIDEY BACK!!!

Peter Parker writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 3:50:13 PM

Calm down, Michael, I'm right here.
HOCK writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:16:47 PM

This better not be true. Things are getting worse and worse for comic book fans.
Wonkaman3000 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:44:48 PM

i want a new company taking this overall like................... how about marvel studios!!! seeing that spiderman is apart of the MARVEL FRANCHISE!!!!!!!!! so it would be good!!!!!!!!!! like the sh*tty hulk movie to the beastly hulk movie
kagai writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:10:50 AM

What the hell is everyone complaining about? This reboot is going to be in 3-D!!!

3-f*ckING-D

It's going to be the sh*t!
HOCK writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 12:09:31 AM

Was the 3-D comment sarcasm? Cause 3-D is just a crutch when it's a lousy film. Now if it was Spiderman 2 in 3-D then, i'm sold.
kagai writes:
on January 14th, 2010 at 1:02:50 AM

Sarcasm detected.
HOCK writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 12:33:45 AM

Ok. Sorry, wasn't trying to come off like a moron, but I couldn't tell haha.
rabid writes:
on January 15th, 2010 at 1:03:28 PM

wow. it's amazing that you people are actually buying this rumor.
Spedattack writes:
on January 23rd, 2010 at 10:20:59 AM

Thank God!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved