WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Oliver Stone Says Hitler Was Not Good or Bad

Posted: January 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Oliver Stone Says Hitler Was Not Good or BadSubmit Comment
Back in August we told you that director Oliver Stone was working on a ten-part documentary series for Showtime titled "Secret History of America," which will include President Harry Truman's decision to drop the atomic bomb on Japan, and the origins of the Cold War with the Soviet Union.

Stone has now revealed to reporters that his documentary will try to understand history's biggest murderers, who caused the deaths of tens of millions of innocent people. "Stalin, Hitler, Mao, McCarthy -- these people have been vilified pretty thoroughly by history," he said, adding:

"Stalin has a complete other story. Not to paint him as a hero, but to tell a more factual representation. He fought the German war machine more than any single person. We can't judge people as only 'bad' or 'good.' Hitler is an easy scapegoat throughout history and its been used cheaply. He's the product of a series of actions. It's cause and effect ... People in America don't know the connection between WWI and WWII ... I've been able to walk in Stalin's shoes and Hitler's shoes to understand their point of view. We're going to educate our minds and liberalize them and broaden them. We want to move beyond opinions ... Go into the funding of the Nazi party. How many American corporations were involved, from GM through IBM. Hitler is just a man who could have easily been assassinated."

The director went on to say that conservatives will likely dislike his show. "Obviously, Rush Limbaugh is not going to like this history and, as usual, we're going to get those kind of ignorant attacks," said Stone, who also compared the experience of sympathizing with war criminals to making his "W" movie about George W. Bush. "I'm trying to understand somebody I thoroughly despised."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tizzle writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:15:45 PM

LOL awesome.
Goober3000 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:20:20 PM

its the mustaches fault
Detrimental writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:21:08 PM

I think... I'm in love. No offense @ Hitla'-haters. But there must be something worthwhile in the men who instigated genocide & mass murder. Eradication is a craft, not a hobby.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:21:55 PM

The Holocaust never even happened DUH.

Seems like Stone just likes stirring controversy, which is understandable since it sells. I'm listening, Stone. Make your case.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:46:18 PM

doesn't Olive Stone do cocaine immensely ?
Rio14 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:49:14 PM

As more people, in this world, believe that evil is not true, watch how fast our world becomes hell.
Nekros22 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:50:23 PM

Nah, those 6 million Jews walked all over his nice, manicured lawn. Totally deserved it.
Bob82 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:52:13 PM

I don't need Oliver Stone teaching me history. I know Hitler was a bad man and Eli Roth killed him.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:53:03 PM

Sorry to derail, but Sony has shut down Spiderman 4 for good, Raimi has left the project for good, and they're rebooting the series. Don't know what to say, though. This comes from Faraci at CHUD, so this isn't a bullsh*t rumor.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:53:42 PM

I think maybe Hitler just wasn't hugged enough.
FBO writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:02:08 PM

or maybe hitler was hugged too much. Where the hell is mink? He'd have a hayday with this article! Stone can suck my stones. Not for the hitler thing, but for trying to say the Hugo Chavez is a good person. The dude wants to outlaw education because college students speak out against him. The dude might not be evil but he's a horrible world leader
madaseel writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:05:01 PM

Wow.... talk about taking a headline out of context. I love worstpreviews but I dont need politics with my movie news, especially if the author has a perverted ulterior motive as is so completely obvious here. Please just stick to movie news; it seems like once a month there are posts like this. If I want this junk I'll turn on cable news.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:14:16 PM

I think hitler is secretly Obamas hero.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:15:31 PM

He was hugged, he just went nuts after some jews gangraped him. (Stop fantansizing about jews gangraping you j*zzle.)

warriors187 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:22:33 PM

yea, ok. Keep talking Oliver Stone, ya f*cking idiot.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:36:06 PM

If Stone wanted to walk in another person's shoes, I think the jews got some to spare.
ksplatt writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:39:13 PM

He was a great leader, just bad intentions.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:43:25 PM

'If Stone wanted to walk in another person's shoes, I think the jews got some to spare.' --- and gold teeth, hair and jewelry too at last count.
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:44:45 PM

I'll give Hitler the fact that he was a genius, but he definitely wasn't a good man.

We CAN judge people as 'bad' or 'good'. Oliver Stone is a nutcase.

Oh, and @DoucheNozzle - Yeah, you're right. It's on IMDB. But that's completely irrelevant to this article.

Or are you trying to say that Sony is similar to Hitler, in which case, I agree.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:51:34 PM

@Ranger: It's like a flee-market. But what ever you do, do not, I repeat, DO NOT buy their showers.
ilovebatman writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:52:09 PM

j*zzlewhenif*ckhorses-"LOL awesome."

yeah, that a was really informative comment. Try to think about the topic, and post a nice, well written comment.

Such as, you suck horse wiener.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:56:07 PM

Oh and thats not really humus you are buying it is really midget j*zz
tcu21 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:04:43 PM

It's hilarious that he characterizes Bush as someone he thoroughly despised but Hitler and Stalin as neither good or bad.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:07:58 PM

^It's all in the moustache
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:08:18 PM

@Freudian... lol.

johnny_boy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:12:11 PM

It's hard to take someone seriously with Stone in his name, as in he my be stoned
Kurskij writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:12:29 PM

Tom Tucker ^ "A dangerously insane human being!..."

They were all MF. Stalin was a competent Top Manager for the Soviet Empire, just a product of the system. So was Hitler.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:28:45 PM

hitler didn't do it.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:15:37 PM

I definitely agree with his point on no one being good or bad. I appreciate Oliver Stone's efforts.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:34:14 PM

Stalin was the sh*t, Hitler was a pansy compared to Uncle Jo
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:37:32 PM

I once woke up next to a girl with a tash like that.

Heavy night.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:32:17 PM

I don't know where Mink is but I suspect he's somewhere pissing on a photo of Oliver Stone right now.
roseredscare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:53:32 PM

"Stalin, Hitler, Mao,... McCarthy"
One of those things is not like the other. One of those things doesn't belong. /singing

Seriously though, McCarthy was a real nasty piece of work but he's not even in the same ball park as those other three.

The way that Stone looks at history is ridiculous anyway. He always just makes sh*t up to suit his point of view and the story he wants to tell in his movies. Just look at the film JFK.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:04:29 PM

I don't care what anyone says, I think ordering the systematic extermination of 6 million people qualifies you as a bad person. Remember, Hitler did most of his worst when the war had turned and Germany was on the ropes. Not only did he fast track the murder of the Jews at this time, but he also basically gave the German army and the German people the finger while he took the easy way out. f*ck Hitler! As for Stalin, I'll hold my comments considering that the guy still scares the sh*t out of me. Who cares if he's dead! Still interested to see how Stone spins things.
Muelofthefenz writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:34:52 PM

Oliver Stone's movies are not good or bad.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:53:06 AM

@Ricky - I had that same girl... Bleuch!
BlueMobius writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:14:55 AM

I study Shoah history and literature and teach the same kind of focus on perspective when it comes to Hitler. As much as Stone is a non-issue for me, I have to say I like how this sounds. No one can argue that what Hitler did was despicable and pretty much as evil as you get but one must consider things from the man'd perspective to find any answers regarding said evil. I might get this on DVD when it's available.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:43:14 AM

what a dumb f*ck. af course Hitler was bad. blaming all his problems on the Jews and then attempting to exterminate them. not to mention the numerous Jew jokes, all thanks to mustache guy
rocketman writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:50:43 AM

History is wrote by the victor. Hitler was a c*nt so is George Bush and Oliver Stone is still high.We need folk like this deviating from the norm.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:51:54 AM

Cocaine is a hell of a drug
FBO writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:25:15 AM

Stone probably thinks that Budda is an *sshole
triggax writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:41:12 AM

So did he get Stalin and Hitlers shoes off of ebay? You think he got combined shipping?
triggax writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:43:01 AM

"The way that Stone looks at history is ridiculous anyway. He always just makes sh*t up to suit his point of view and the story he wants to tell in his movies. Just look at the film JFK."

JFK Was f*cking awesome, and probably more factual than most of his biopics.. so shut up...
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:43:07 AM

@Goober
i agree the mustache told him to do it. it whispered sweet nothings in his ear like dandy did to adam laberts(i think thats how you spell the f*ckers name)d*ck on the stage of that award show(cant remember witch on). you see not many people know that was dandy on stage sucking his c*ck
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:43:41 AM

@ranger
i think he had a mommy issue
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 2:47:06 AM

yeah where is mink?
finger41 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 4:28:29 AM

ha
rracerjones writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 5:01:15 AM

There are two sides to every story but we often only see the side that the media wants us to see.

Our government lies to us daily in order to advance the current political agenda of the prevailing political party and the economic interests that back them.

Perhaps enlightening people on the past will help to awaken them to the realities of today.
The Dini writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:39:38 AM

Go get em' Oliver
warlord writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:03:11 AM

what WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
NatG83 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:52:59 AM

If anybody really wants a window into Hitler's mind, read his book Mein Kampf. Hitler was intelligent, but his though process was erratic. Most likely caused by mental illness. Not that mental illness justifies genocide.
kagai writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 3:01:20 AM

Hitler, Stalin and Mao were directly and indirectly responsible for the murder of 80+ million people. I don't need to know anyone's side of the story when they've committed such atrocities.

There are bad people, there are good people, and the rest of us live a life of neutrality (never venturing far enough into the good or the bad to truly be either).
Tizzle writes:
on January 13th, 2010 at 4:34:19 PM

Sorry about that I was at work and got interrupted... so I couldn't finish my thought. Suffice to say I think this news article is awesome, because it is taken out of context and just meant to piss people off. I love how bent out of shape people like Jeff get. And hey the j*zzlealloveryourface thing that's pretty good. Bravo.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved