WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Metal Gear Solid" Movie is Dead

Posted: January 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Metal Gear Solid" Movie is DeadSubmit Comment
It has been three years since Sony announced that it will bring the popular "Metal Gear Solid" video game to the big screen. Now, to get an update, Collider caught up with producer Mike De Luca, who revealed that the project is now dead.

"I don't think it's going to move forward because I got the sense that there may not be enough of a coordinated will at this point on the side of certain parties to see a movie get made," he said. "And I get it because the problem with a lot of these adaptations is it's such a huge franchise for the video game company. A movie can only hurt. If the movie's great, you're probably not going to sell more games."

De Luca added that the worlds of film and video games just didn't sync up on this project. He said: "The video game companies are very protective of their property and there are certain things a studio requires freedom-wise to market and distribute a movie effectively in a global marketplace and sometimes getting those two things to match up is really hard. And in the case of Metal Gear Solid, it was just kind of impossible to get the agendas to match up."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:18:49 PM

anyone notice in the a-team trailer the part where liam neeson is walking through the cemetery with an army uniform and a beret he looks exactly like solid snake
Detrimental writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:27:55 PM

No one cares enough. Don't worry about it. People would see it. But go with doubting yourselves and contemplating failure. That helps us all get through life a little easier.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:16:50 PM

Someone pulled their head out of their ass and realized videogame movies don't work.
Whitta writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:21:50 PM

i'm kinda happy about this.

Mike DeLuca must have watched Doom and came to his senses
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:27:46 PM

Or maybe cause a Metal Gear Solid-game has cutscenes enough to stand as a movie alone?

Videogames can be good movies, you just got to choose right games. I'm very anxious to see how the Bioshock-movie turns out. It have potential.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:29:19 PM

Funny cause so is Spiderman 4 lol.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:29:46 PM

Bio-Shock has potential for sure, as do a lot of games, the problem is they tend to f*ck them up more often then get them right.
ksplatt writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:37:18 PM

Hmmmm, "Cavern" from the MGS OST came on shuffle as I clicked this link. Thank God they decided to stop pursuing this series as a movie. I'm prolly the biggest MG/MGS fan out there, and only feared they would get piece of sh*t actors to take the roles of the characters, ie Bale as Snake, but just doing his Batman voice. W/e God is up there, he has fulfilled my prayers.
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:38:11 PM

Freaking good. MGS is a terrible decision when it comes to a video game movie. Nobody can tell a story like Kojima can.

And yeah, I agree with Nightmare. The games contain enough cinematic to be movies in themselves. Especially the forth. Holy balls 10+ hours of cutscene glory.
thedotsays writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:39:46 PM

That's a shame. I am a firm believer that MGS 4 has THE BEST game story ever and has the unique potential to port over to the big screen very succesfully. Granted if it followed that storyline TO THE LETTER.
Between that and Castlevania, those were the only two games I would truly look forward to seeing on the big screen.
Too bad these execs think that other movies can generate interest even though the premise and story is absolute sh*t.
Nemonian writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:50:26 PM

Maybe they can bring Christian Bale in, he has a nice raspy voice.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:33:36 PM

thank god, there's no way they could do it right
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:48:55 PM

Sure, this project is dead, De Luca has confirmed this but Kojima says otherwise, Kojima is still taking treatments and giving out doc*ments for people brave enough to take on this project.
The doc*ments includes the themes of the MGS Franchise and the screenplays to the game

Myself being one of them
Popcorn101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:52:02 PM

man, too bad...the mgs series is my favorite games ever, the 1st one blew my mind when i first played it, i always thought kurt russell plays snake(like he did snake pliskin or w/e in escape from new york) and patrick swayze as liquid...that sh*t wouldve rocked!
wonderBOY writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:55:46 PM

who cares. MGS4 is more of a movie than a game over 9hrs of cutscenes and like 30 mins of gameplay
Popcorn101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:57:25 PM

^^obviously hasnt played MGS4
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:13:40 PM

a Splinter Cell flick would be oober sweet
Popcorn101 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:19:26 PM

yea maybe one dealing with the new game coming out...game looks sick!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:20:56 PM

Soooo...I guess this means there won't be a Duke Nukem movie?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:40:53 PM

LOL "No one can tell a story like Kojima can" yeah I totally got that from the convoluted mess that is MGS4. The entire fourth game was pretty much exposition. Yeah that's great storytelling. Amazing gameplay, sh*t story, he's a glorified DP at best. Bioshock is great storytelling in gaming, too bad it wouldn't work as a film.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:49:49 PM

Kurt Russell would of got my vote. Oh well...

Uwe Boll we gladly pick this one up (sigh).
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:58:54 PM

@ 5th beetle

Have you read the first 10 pages to a fan script version of Splinter Cell, some where on Latino Review, its epic, beyond belief.

I loved it and ai concur with you on your statement
ksplatt writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:26:21 PM

@Darkknight-lay off the crack...you obviously have terrible taste in vid games dude hahah
ksplatt writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:29:27 PM

...and Bioshock sucks!!! I'd rather watch Twilight than play that piece of sh*t game. MGS series has the greatest storyline ever. Halo sucks too.
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:55:09 PM

@Dark Knight - Wow really? Just because you couldn't follow the story, (which blows me away) means that it's a sh*t game. Right. Did you even play the first three? MGS4 was not hard to follow, nor was it a mess in the slightest. Unless, of course, you haven't played through any of Kojima's previous games. Then, I can almost understand, you're inability to keep up.
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:58:34 PM

your*
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:58:34 PM

your*
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:59:54 PM

wow. Seriously? How about that edit button?
FBO writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:13:49 PM

They'd just eff it up anyways
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 12:38:12 AM

....METAL GEARRR?!?!? *vvvrrrppp* !!!
leezy84 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 5:14:17 AM

darkknight go play mario on your wii please...mgs4 a mess its one of the best storys ever to solid snakes final mission its f*cking epic, specially the last fight with liquid ocelot
MontoyaWA writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:52:36 AM

If you want a MGS movie, then just play through one of the games...
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 10:42:13 AM

@popcorn hell yea! cant wait til its finally released next month

@JA nice, ill search for it and check it out!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:31:55 PM

Of course you miss the point where I compliment the games gameplay and automatically assume I feel as though the entire game is sh*t. Got to love that comprehension.

Yes I have every Metal Gear game. MGS4 being my favorite gameplay wise, but Snake Eater EASILY has the best, most coherent story out of them all and isn't so convoluted. Everyone knows MGS4's story is nothing but exposition. Even Kojima has stated he has to clear up every hole and none of it happens in an interesting way. Even worse than the story at times are the weird ass antics the characters pull.

There's no reason for the 3rd act of MGS4 to be so horribly imbalanced. There is so much cutscene in that game its ridiculous. You want to make a movie? Make a f*cking movie.

Uncharted 2 and Bioshock are games that get it right. Especially Bioshock, that's a story tailor made for a gaming experience and it works better than anything Kojima has done story wise. Uncharted 2 does the MGS thing better, it crafts realistic characters, has witty dialogue that FITS with each character, its beautiful, shot selection is ace, and the cutscenes aren't extremely long nor do they affect the balance of the game. Anyone can follow the story without having to download a f*cking encyclopedia from the Playstation Network (really Kojima?).

Like I said he gets the moment and knows how to set up a shot, but he is a sh*t storyteller.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 1:32:48 PM

Oh and leezy... Shut the f*ck up. Thanks.
ksplatt writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:57:11 PM

still smokin that crack...
FBO writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 7:19:18 PM

I played metal gear and snake's revenge on NES
leezy84 writes:
on January 16th, 2010 at 11:03:38 AM

darkknight why should i shut the f*ck up its my opinion and im giving you great advise go play mario party on the wii dumbf*ck
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 9:53:07 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved