WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nominees for WGA's Outstanding Achievement in Writing

Posted: January 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nominees for WGASubmit Comment
The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for Outstanding Achievement in Writing for 2009.

The 2010 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, February 20, 2010, simultaneously at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles and the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City.

Check out all the nominees, listed in alphabetical order by film title.

Original Screenplay:
* Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber (500 Days of Summer)
* James Cameron (Avatar)
* Jon Lucas and Scott Moore (The Hangover)
* Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker)
* Joel Coen and Ethan Coen (A Serious Man)

Adapted Screenplay:
* Scott Cooper (Crazy Heart)
* Nora Ephron (Julia and Julia)
* Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious)
* Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman (Star Trek)
* Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner (Up In the Air)

Documentary Screenplay:
* Richard Trank (Against the Tide)
* Michael Moore (Capitalism: A Love Story)
* Mark Monroe (The Cove)
* Robert Stone (Earth Days)
* Chris Rock and Jeff Stilson and Lance Crouther and Chuck Sklar (Good Hair)

Source: Writes Guild of America


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:31:47 PM

I swear to Zod if Avatar beats the Hangover, I'll go apesh*t. I'm talking tit-slashing, car-keying, menstrual-cycling, chode-chopping, and kung-fu kick crotch crushing. Aborted fetuses will be abducted from clinics and launched while set on fire into Wal-mart shoppers and their carts.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:33:09 PM

Original Screenplay:
* James Cameron (Avatar)

Is this a f*cking joke they must not understand the meaning of original
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:42:31 PM

honestly... im going to have to go with 500 Days of Summer & Up in the Air
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:47:57 PM

"they must not understand the meaning of original"

A farmboy going to rescue a princess with a smuggler and a wizard at his side isn't original, yet Star Wars is considered to be one of the greatest films of all time. Plain fact is, Avatar uses the technique where a familiar story is used in an unfamiliar environment. It's more of an adaptation really. Of course I'm not surprised someone with an avatar like yours will get butthurt enough to yell "OMG TEH STORY SUCKS TRANSFOMRS 2 AMIRITE." f*ck off
Bob82 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:59:35 PM

Saying that "Avatar" can't be nominated for Original Screenplay because it isn't original is like saying a 3 and half hour movie can't be nominated for Best Editing. It doesn't matter if you've seen the same story thousands of times, it still can be a well written screenplay. Nevertheless, I think "Avatar" is overrated when it comes to awards (except technical ones), but it definitely is a winner as a really fun blockbuster movie (people's choice awards, Mtv awards, etc).
Kid_A writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:59:45 PM

James Cameron as original screenplay for "Avatar"? Haven't these guys seen the adaptation paper of "Pocahontas" which was edited by somebody to "Avatar" movie? The Oscar should go to "(500) Days of Summer".
jdDiedforyou writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:01:36 PM

no more spiderman 4? sont scraped spiderman 4 an are instead doing a reboot with a new director, cast, and writer?? :O
kyearby writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:13:54 PM

I just saw this and had to share it with you guys. To prove how original Avatar is. Read This:

http://failblog.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/epic-fail-avatar-plot-fail.jpg
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:21:39 PM

@Lister: Glad you cleared that one out for me. I'm feeling way more confident now with my screen-play. It's about how humans find Atlantis, and by genetical engineering, why make on of our guys infiltrate the Atlantis base. But he'll learn their ways, and in the stand and fight by their side. The Atlantis-people will be green.

I can see the awards raining by my doorstep.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:23:49 PM

The Hurt Locker... easy. Haven't seen 3 of the films nominated in Adapted Screenplay so I can't say. It appears however to have been a low year as far as screenplays go.
SeWerin writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:24:20 PM

agree with ted

500 Days of Summer & Up in the Air

FTW
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:32:22 PM

"@Lister: Glad you cleared that one out for me. I'm feeling way more confident now with my screen-play. It's about how humans find Atlantis, and by genetical engineering, why make on of our guys infiltrate the Atlantis base. But he'll learn their ways, and in the stand and fight by their side. The Atlantis-people will be green.

I can see the awards raining by my doorstep."

You should make at least a billion off of that one...especially if you make them lohag vag green.



Metafact writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:32:55 PM

"Avatar uses the technique where a familiar story is used in an unfamiliar environment."

Oh, really? Unfamiliar? You've never seen a Roger Dean album cover? You've never seen random Magic: The Gathering artwork before? You've never played World of Warcraft for ten minutes? You've never seen chocolate box art from Thomas Kinkade? You've never seen "tropical" planets on sci-fi television shows or comic books, and you've never witnessed blatant Native American stereotypes, ever? I can only assume you haven't if you can make the ridiculous claim that Avatar has an original bone in its body.

If you enjoyed Avatar, that's fine, but to try and argue that it has aesthetic originality on ANY level, whether that be story or the science fiction setting, only shows what a frothing-at-the-mouth fanboy you are.

As for what screenplays that are truly "original," I suggest checking out Fantastic Mr. Fox, Inglourious Basterds, Up, District 9, The White Ribbon, and The Messenger. Until then, go run off with the rest of the suicidal nutjobs on the Avatar forums.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:41:19 PM

@Jeff: Yeah, as i wrote it I felt "damn, this sounds good". And of course I would include all the interracial nautical beastiality the 3-D screen can manage.

@Metafact: Have you been to the Avatar forum? There's more crazy stuff there than just suicide-pacts.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:43:10 PM

@Metafact

District 9? Original? Stereotypical white supremacist changes his views near the end of the movie after living with the Lovecraftian aliens, being separated from his wife, and then fights the big bad general in a mech suit? ORIGINAL YOU SAY?

My point is, when you rip everything down to its core you'll realize nothing is original. I find it hilarious that when I say the environments in Avatar are original you just respond with "YEA WELL ALIEN PLANETZ HAZ BEEN DONE BEFOOR U STUPID SUICIDAL FANBOY".
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:48:50 PM

@Lister: So, just because it's in a new environment, that makes it original? Damn, my script it's getting more golden by the minute.
Metafact writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:50:58 PM

Aw, look, the fanboy is mischaracterizing my comment by regurgitating it back at me in all-caps internet speak! That's cute!
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:52:22 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

Like I said, nothing is original anymore. I'm not saying Avatar deserves the award, I'm saying to all those Smurf-Avatar-Wearing-Faggots-Who-Think-They-Are-Clever that it deserves to get nominated at least. By your logic, Star Wars wasn't original. Yet I do believe I've heard it been called that many times before. Avatar is just like that, it's telling an age-old story in a new and exciting way.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:55:57 PM

@Metafact

Aw look! He's attempting to sound superior by referring to me as "fanboy" which I guess is somehow supposed to further prove his point. Or something. Though I usually just go the traditional route and reply maturely attempting to restate my opinion in hopes my opponent will either better understand what I am trying to say or respond again with another interesting point to counteract my own. In other words, you're gay.
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:58:28 PM

@Lister - What exactly has the same unoriginal story as District 9?

Metafact provided examples when he ripped you a new *sshole, so could you please do the same?

Anyways, Avatar may be an awesome experience (don't know because I haven't seen it. yeah, suck on that) but that doesn't mean it can win any and all the awards for everything ever. It's really, REALLY unoriginal, so it shouldn't win the award for 'Original Screenplay'. It'll win the awards it deserves.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:59:56 PM

@Lister: First of all: I have never claimed Star Wars to be original, nor will I. I actually don't even like Star Wars (f*cking furry-ass ewoks). However, Star Wars was something new to be enjoyed by those who wanted. Avatar is a gimmick for 3-D only. Cause I think Avatar looks pretty good in 3-D, but on a regular screen it's nothing more than a bunch of 2m blue p*ssycats who lives in world that looks an acid-trip and rape the animals with their ponytails.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:01:16 PM

@takai

"so could you please do the same?"

Did the examples I prove not ring any bell at all?

"but that doesn't mean it can win any and all the awards for everything ever"

Oh I completely agree. I'm just tired of all the Ava-hating and thought I'd wake everybody up.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:03:33 PM

I am just asuming the smurf avatar attempted rip was at me...in which case if they did not care about originality then the should call it best screen play not original screen play. name one f*ckin orginal thing about this movies plot. The only thing avatar can take credit for being original is the tech used to make it. Now why don't you go kill yourself like all of the other avatards wish to do since you can't truly be with the giant blue-smurf cat things.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:03:53 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

"blue p*ssycats who lives in world that looks an acid-trip and rape the animals with their ponytails."

Do you have any idea how awesome that sounds?

It reminds me of those old trippy animated films in the 60s. Can't remember their name though. In one of them the humans were the size of ants and the aliens were green. Do you know what i'm talking about?
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:04:44 PM

i really wish District 9 got a nom...
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:06:20 PM

@Lister - You gave us the breakdown of District 9's story, but I wanted examples of films with the same storyline.

And yeah, Avatar hate is being laid on thick, but that's only because Cameron is pushing SO DAMN HARD to get the fan/cult following that Star Wars and Star Trek have, in 1/20 of the time. It's a little ridiculous.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:07:14 PM

@Smurf-Avatar-Wearing-Faggot-Who-Thinks-He-Is-Clever

"Now why don't you go kill yourself like all of the other avatards wish to do since you can't truly be with the giant blue-smurf cat things."

Your humor is almost as originally as the movie.


I'm implying you suck.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:07:18 PM

Yes, I'm aware about how awesome that sounded like. The problem was: it didn't turn out awesome. It was purely a gimmick. And now we a bunch of furries planning to start new tribes in the forests and f*ck each others hair. Thanks a lot Jimmy boy.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:08:03 PM

Correction:

Almost as original*
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:10:32 PM

@lohan vag blister - I could give a sh*t less if you think I suck, but good luck trying to defend the originality of avatar. Enjoy fantasizing about having oversized blue cat ponytail shoved up your ass.
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:10:57 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

"it didn't turn out awesome. It was purely a gimmick."

Isn't that was it supposed to be like in the beginning? It was supposed to make you feel like you were on another planet. And in that regard, it succeeded. The use of the age-old story just makes it even more poetic IMO.

" And now we a bunch of furries planning to start new tribes in the forests and f*ck each others hair."

I hate it too. I don't even want to call myself an Avatar fan because I know I'll be grouped in with those people.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:16:19 PM

It was supposed to be a movie. Or am I way out of line on that one?
"
The use of the age-old story just makes it even more poetic IMO"

Making an original story would be more poetic. Or at least try. James even said they didn't pay much attention to the story. That's just f*cking lazy. The only thing that can redeem this film is, that on the uncut dvd-version, we get to see Jake use is tail for some blue DP-action.

Metafact writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:24:56 PM

@ Slobbering Kool-Aid Drinker: Ahhahahahaha! That may be the funniest thing I've read all day! "I respond MATURELY and make interesting points. In other words, you're gay." I don't think I can take much more of this epic fail without falling out of my seat, I need to catch my breath!

Man, you Avatar freaks are funny...
Lister writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:30:32 PM

@Metafact

That was the point of the joke.
Metafact writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:33:29 PM

Sure it was, Lister. Sure it was.
Bonzaitri writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:38:40 PM

http://www.cinematical.com/2010/01/07/wga-disqualifies-nearly-everyone-opens-door-for-surprises/
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:50:03 PM

^Good link. All awards are f*cking corrupt. I swear to God, if Avatar wins, I will paint the streets of Sweden red with blood.
Jedimax writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 9:33:47 PM

wow slap in the face to Inglourious Basterds, UP, and Fantastic Mr. Fox!
roseredscare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:58:37 PM

This is totally ridiculous. Avatar never should have been nominated, the writing is atrocious.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 9:19:03 AM

hahaha what a sick joke, i think cameron is using the profits of the movie to buy awards and the public mind, i dont belive the numbers of Gayvatar.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved