WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Woman Shot During "Avatar" Showing

Posted: January 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Woman Shot During "Avatar" ShowingSubmit Comment
During a Saturday showing of "Avatar" at a New Mexico theater, scared and confused moviegoers were evacuated by armed authorities after a woman was shot while watching the movie.

The police presence was so great that many assumed that they were in the middle of a terrorist attack or a bomb threat. Audiences from the entire theater were told to leave (without an explanation) after the lights came on and police officers entered with rifles drawn.

The woman was only shot in the leg and authorities believes that she was not a target. But at this point, the investigation is still going on regarding whether the gun went off accidentally or was fired intentionally.

Two out of the three suspects were apprehended, and police are still in search for the third. No word whether moviegoers were refunded.

Source: BusinessWeek


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 10:53:09 PM

lol @ the last sentence
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 10:55:27 PM

She probably upset the avatards so they shot her for not agreeing with their psychotic point of view
Peter Parker writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:08:56 PM

Someone took the 3D concept too far and tried to shoot the pictures...
Peter Parker writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:11:20 PM

"She was wearing blue and I thought I was being attacked by one of the freaks in the movie!
She looked 3D!"
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:17:31 PM

taking photorealism a bit too far huh
stevethemoviehater writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:32:14 PM

well find out of they got f*cking refunded!
Lordchristo writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:37:49 PM

I agree with Osiris!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:58:24 PM

Avatar was good, but seriosuly, besides the CGI, i didn't think it was anything special!
hunter207 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:31:31 AM

bahaha gotta love us new mexicans
tcu21 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:35:12 AM

Here's what really happened: Things got too real for some weirdo Avatar fan, they pulled out their gun and shouted, "f*ck you Stephen Lang!" And then accidentally shot this lady in the leg.
Whitta writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:44:02 AM

the shooter was the black chick in the front row of the picture
vwkombi writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:44:23 AM

@ Skippy

Agree entirely. It's not a bad film, i enjoyed it. But it's far from brilliant.

@ TCU
Think the gunslinger knew that Stephen Lang is way to badass to be hurt by bullets.
Mudders writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:44:26 AM

hahaha...."oh my god, they are coming from the screen like demons from an alternate reality...shoot dem!!"
wonderBOY writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:47:53 AM

the person who had the gun was one of those avatar suicide people but missed because he still had the 3d glasses on
johnny_boy writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 1:06:04 AM

Dam. James Cameron got alot of people laid cuz of the sappy love story on titanic, now he's getting people shot cuz of avatar.
FBO writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 1:28:58 AM

Her boyfriend told her to grab his gun... She grabbed the wrong one
Peter Parker writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 2:18:50 AM

"The woman was only shot in the leg and authorities believe that she was not a target."

- So, they concluded that the shooter missed a target inside a dark room? Well, move over Sherlock Holmes!
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 2:41:20 AM

It was probably during the battle scene and the viewer was just getting into it... big deal.

I once owned properties in Da Hood... and if someone got shot during a movie, they wouldn't even stop the projector unless the bullet entered the chest... f*cking pussies!

As for the gun 'going off by accident'?!

1. Guns don't do that. Either a finger on the trigger and no safety, or the hammer was pulled back... NEITHER ARE A f*ckING ACCIDENT!!! f*ck me!

2. Shouldn't the real attention be on the fact that someone HAD a gun in the theater?!

3. Don't refund these people. They got their entertainment value. Besides... most will (statistically) go see this movie again again.

4. Was the woman hit Gary Coleman?

Peter Parker writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 3:22:46 AM

Refund? What f*cking refund?
If anything, the people in that theater should pay more for the extra show.
At least, the REAL shooting (and not the 3D bullsh*t) made the whole experience more real.

Cameron should get his hands on this new technology too: Instead of goofy looking glasses, give the audiences real guns to take into the theater and make the movie more realistic.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 3:34:13 AM

hehe, remember that one chick who was "bit" at a New Moon showing? lol
Peter Parker writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 3:39:15 AM

Yeah, the bitch who decided it was a good idea to throw a birthday party at a theater.
She's the one who should get shot, multiple times, in the head.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 4:18:47 AM

They call that 'The JFK!' (just f*cking kidding!).
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 4:22:11 AM

Hey... the little girl in the 2nd. row being diddled by her Dad... ISN'T SHE DANDY?!?!
gobolog writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 5:36:03 AM

Maybe she was taling during the movie
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:00:37 AM

Maybe it was a suicide attempt gone wrong.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 8:16:10 AM

it was a suicide attempt! WTF! the reason Sam W. acting all of you have to see the true he destroy that movie with his gayness!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:23:42 AM

Is that Camoren's idea of "4-D" movies?? f*ck that sh*t, I'll pass.
CCBlev writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 10:27:58 AM

Of course it makes sense, it was a plot for people to see the movie for free and for that goddamned movie not to make anymore money, i mean c'mon get shot in the leg, you'll be fine, scares the hell outta everyone else and you get a refund and james doesnt get d*ck out of it, genius i might go see avatar today and shoot up the place too just to see it for free
billofill writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:46:23 AM

"these Three D Effects are AMAZING"
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:48:02 AM

hahahahahaha. Peter Parker, you are gold in this thread.
The-BRAD writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 11:53:22 AM

Not only does the whole movie, and shooting look "real"... IT Feels Soo real too!!
f*ck my leg hurts.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:17:49 PM

I appreciate that, takai.

BTW, I read what you wrote on the $191 million thread and let me tell you, save your money on this one.

"Avatar" is not only extremely overrated... going to see it now can get even you killed!
takai writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 2:17:10 PM

That's exactly what I plan on doing. I think I'll even put it in its place and wait to download it. If it wasn't dangerous, I'd even download a CAM vid, just for that extra slap in the face.

If, by some horrid twist of fate, I do end up in a theater for 'Avatar', I will definitely take something for self defense. Although, when it's over, the fanboys had better clear out of the theater quick, because I may just give them all mercy killings.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 3:18:15 PM

"the JFK" ha ha ha ha. while the rest of the audience tries to scoop her brains off the trunk... er... theatre floor
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 3:50:20 PM

"Avatar" is not only extremely overrated... going to see it now can get even you killed!

Dude I said the Avatards are f*cking nuts on a whole new level.

Loki writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:24:37 PM

I bet some Vietnam vet got freaked out by the 3d and flashed back lop
DeadwinniePool writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 6:31:39 PM

3D is dead, interactive movies are taking over
Gomez writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 7:34:38 PM

Well I mean if women would just shut the hell up and watch the movie instead of bitching about their problems all the time maybe this wouldn't happen

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved