WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hughes Brothers Turned Down "Pirates of the Caribbean 4"

Posted: January 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hughes Brothers Turned Down "Pirates of the Caribbean 4"Submit Comment
While promoting "The Book of Eli," director Albert and Allen Hughes (Menace II Society, American Pimp, From Hell) revealed to MTV that before Disney hired Rob Marshall (Chicago, Memoirs of a Geisha, Nine) to direct the fourth "Pirates of the Caribbean" film, the studio first approached them.

"That right there we had to entertain for a minute, one, because it came from Johnny [Depp] and, two, because it came from Johnny," said Allen, with Albert adding: "We were thinking, 'We're not those guys, but if Johnny wants us to do it, we'll talk to Johnny. He's cool.' We're seriously going to consider anything he says to us."

The duo eventually had to pass. "It was just bad timing because we were in the middle of editing 'Eli,'" explained Allen. "It's like cheating on your woman to go, 'Oh, let's go start dating someone else.' That wasn't gonna happen. We don't want to do this just to go make some money."

Apparently "Pirates 4" wasn't the only Disney/Depp project they had to turn down. "We were also talking about 'Lone Ranger'."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:24:04 AM

wasn't three enough? just end the franchise where it is as an okay Pirate film and i think them that they are stopping.
pnkntndr writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:41:47 AM

One was enough. They originally were only making the first but it did so f*cking good that they decided on making two more. I personally think they f*cked the story with the sequels. Luckily the new story will follow Jack without Will and Elizabeth.
KalVicious writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:55:00 AM

I hope the 4th film is great. :)
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:08:20 AM

Don't care.

Is anyone else really sick of f*cking Leap Year ads?
johnny_boy writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:37:30 AM

Smart guys for turning down this sure to be pile of crap. And @ Scrooge, I'm with you. I am also tired of the f*cking leap year ads.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 9:40:35 AM

This must either be great, so an excuse to make sequels won't be stomach-wrenching. Or, it must be really sh*tty, so in no where in hell, they would make a sequel. Nothing in between. But since GI Joe more or less has a green-light for a sequel, I guess the bar of how sh*tty a movie can be, and still get a sequel, is really low.

BTW: I can't get enough with the Leap Year-ads.
telur writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 10:22:10 AM

these two guys director is stupid
darkraven28 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 10:48:11 AM

Why didn't they just try to re-negotiate a later release date or something? Or partner with Depp in saying that they all wouldn't start thinking about Pirates 4 until 'Eli' was finished? And what's with that comment that they're not in it just to make some money? That's bullsh*t. Every director wants himself and his movie to make money because then you can make MORE MOVIES AND MORE MONEY. IT'S THAT SIMPLE.

I used to love the work of the Hughes Brothers, but they just seem kind of dim in the head, if you ask me. And if I were Johnny Depp, I'd either be very pissed off at them or be getting them to re-consider. I don't know which one is the better choice.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:13:47 AM

@ Scrooge McDuck:

I get mad every time I turn on the TV to see one of those stupid f*cking Leap Year ads. I swear if I have to watch that last shot of ugly-monkey-looking Matthew Goode close his eyes in a dramatic/tragic way, I'm gonna punch his face through the screen.

Also, what's the point of this "could have been" news? It's not happening, so why report it?
MattC903 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:59:18 AM

looking forward to the next pirates film, the first one was perfect, 2 and 3 kept me entertained.
FBO writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 6:42:54 PM

@Johnny Boy - Don't be so sure, they've replaced the director and his crew so who knows, maybe a new take on the series will change everything
SACdaddy writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 9:29:45 PM

I stopped watching the Pirates series when I couldn't stop falling asleep halfway through the second film. The Hughes Bros. sound like they would just be making PC4 for Johnny's sake. That alone is not a good enough reason to get attached to such a painstaking project. They operate a lot better on smaller projects with more independent appeal not summer blockbuster eye candy like this crap. Frankly I'm surprised Depp is still involved with it. Must be hard to turn down a zillion dollars :)
Chris Cornell writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 5:23:41 PM

First one was good, 2nd and 3rd were very average. God I hope they don't release a 4th.
Franko85 writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 8:24:03 PM

"While promoting "The Book of Eli," director Albert and Allen Hughes (Menace II Society, American Pimp, From Hell)"

HAHAHA. Definitely thought that said "American Pimp From Hell". Damn I need a drink.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved