WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Gumby" Creator Art Clokey Dead at 88

Posted: January 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Gumby" Creator Art Clokey Dead at 88Submit Comment
Animator Art Clokey, whose bendable creation Gumby became a pop culture phenomenon through decades of toys, revivals and satires, died Friday. He was 88. Clokey, who suffered from repeated bladder infections, died in his sleep at his home in Los Osos on California's Central Coast.

Gumby grew out of a student project Clokey produced at the University of Southern California in the early 1950s called "Gumbasia." That led to his making shorts featuring Gumby and his horse friend Pokey for the "Howdy Doody Show" and several series through the years.

Eddie Murphy brought a surge in Gumby's popularity in the 1980s with his send-up of the character on "Saturday Night Live" as a cigar-smoking show business primadonna. Clokey said he enjoyed Murphy's profane Gumby. "Gumby can laugh at himself," Clokey told the Tribune.

Murphy's Gumby brought new toy sales and eventually led to a new syndicated series starting in 1988. It was only then that Clokey started seeing serious financial returns on his creation. "It took 40 years," he said.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
stevethemoviehater writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:19:16 AM

gumby's the coolest
blinkbomber writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:33:47 AM

you'll live on, bro. RIP
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 9:41:53 AM

Never heard of Gumby
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:10:12 AM

Gumby and Pokey were some of my first toys when I was little.

RIP Mr. Clokey
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:26:18 AM

RIP...now let the gumby marathon begin wonder which network will do it.
kyearby writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 12:24:31 PM

is it weird that I was looking at gumby theme song ringtones last night?
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 1:49:22 PM

Gumby is awesome, and whenever I think of Gumby I always think of "Im Gumby Dammit!" and the hilarious MST3k making fun of an episode: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3M4_XZ3FLHw
Vlahka writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 2:32:22 PM

Thanks for entertaining me in my younger days Clokey.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:46:36 PM

@Jeff: I'm been banned from the Avatards convention. Guess I beat to you to it.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 4:16:11 PM

and so dies another of the last truly original ideas.

Art Crokey?
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 4:22:20 PM

@Freudian - nice work my friend!

But banned? I thought the Na'vi were peaceful people?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:05:45 PM

@Ranger: Yes, they are peaceful, but if you don't agree with them...well, you sh*t out of luck. Best part is that I wasn't banned for being offensive or rude, I was simply off topic.
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:18:28 PM

Jesus! We'd all be kicked off of here for that if Alex wasn't so generous with the variances he provides us with. Well too bad. f*ck them!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:26:38 PM

But it's kind if sad on the same time. They have been cooking up some crazy stuff over there now:
"Glow in the dark hair and body gel"
"avatar mating"
"Anyone cry when Neytiri's ikran passed away?"
"Becoming a Na'vi using gene therapy"
"Neytiri Nude (request)"
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:38:44 PM

I was banned last night, I told the moderator to F himself and he didn't believe in freedom of speech
encoreyourface writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:59:46 PM

and that's the 3rd dead celeb if you count the original Rain Main inspiration, i guess they DO all die in threes ...
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 6:36:02 PM

Wow, this is sad, Gumby was the best, I would watch the Gumby movie all the time when i was younger. At least he went out peacefully, lucky man to die in his sleep
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 7:18:30 PM

@Jeff: Damnit! Guess you won then. Well, hopefully they can handle themselves without us. They f*ck the sh*t of their ponytails.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:03:04 PM

I think they need to see a psychiatrist personally. But yeah the do f*ck the sh*t out of their ponytails
Peter Parker writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 11:39:36 PM

What's going on in that picture?
Is Clokey about to perform a cunnilingus on Gumby?
And Gumby looks mighty f*cking happy about it!

"I'm gonna make you my toy! Open wide, bitch!"
encoreyourface writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 3:03:20 AM

LOL!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved