WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bill Paxton is Working on 3D "Twister" Sequel

Posted: January 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bill Paxton is Working on 3D "Twister" SequelSubmit Comment
Bullz-Eye caught up with Bill Paxton, who revealed that he has pitched an idea for a 3D sequel to "Twister" to producer Kathleen Kennedy (Twister, AI, Munich, Indiana Jones 4). The idea for a new film came from a trip that Paxton took to the Ozark Mountain last sprint.

"I flew into St. Louis with my buddy Scott Thomson, who played Preacher in 'Twister,' and we rented a car and drove down to southeastern Missouri, into the Ozarks," he explained. "We spent the night, and the next morning we got up and we started tracking the trail of the most famous tornado that ever hit the country, which was the Tri-State Tornado of 1925. It still holds all of the records. It was called the Tri-State because it was a mile wide when it came down from the sky on the afternoon of March 16, 1925, and it was a rural area, but, boy, before it was through, it crossed the Mississippi, it cut across southern Illinois, where it hit a lot of towns. The biggest one was Murphysboro, which was... it literally looked like Hiroshima after it hit. And then it went across the Wabash, into Indiana, staying on the ground three and a half hours and cutting a damage path 219 miles long, killing about 700 people. There's actually footage that I found in Murphysboro at their historical society. They had footage from a biplane that the government sent down, just to do aerial footage of all of the destruction and the damage. So we just did that to kind of get some ideas, and from that I kind of extrapolated an idea for a sequel. And I kind of put that together into a format, and now we're kind of waiting to see if that's going to move forward. That would need Steven Spielberg's blessing, ultimately, and they probably won't take it to him 'til there's real studio interest, but I think the 3D applications of that could obviously be pretty amazing."

Paxton added: "[I] always thought the first 'Twister' was an exciting ride, but I thought a sequel could explore it in a more enthralling way, getting into more of the history and the lore, more of a darker version of the first one."

The original film made almost $500 million on a $92 million budget.

Source: Bullz-Eye


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:52:26 PM

Pass.
AshTrey writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:57:10 PM

LAME
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:07:20 PM

Why?
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:34:48 PM

lol...

The first twister (I think most will agree), was a special effect fest wrapped around... well, crap!

If they HAVE TO make a sequel... than 3D is the only way to go.

Then we'd have 3D special effects wrapped around...well, crap!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:40:28 PM

Hey, give him a break. He was like the only reason Titanic wasn't a complete chick flick. Dude brought some balls to that movie. And when was the last time anyone saw a tornado film in 3D. You can't deny the destruction would look awesome as the tornado tears through the town.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:44:04 PM

As I say... 3D would be the only way to see this (it would have made the first one a hell of a lot more interesting).
BigFoot writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:50:35 PM

What about 4D? Bring the twister TO the theater! I'd go see it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:50:43 PM

It would be 3D with flying cows fling crap at you as they sh*t themselves from the tornado.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:55:59 PM

I rather pay for a lap-dance and have the whore twisting round and round on my tornado.
billofill writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:58:14 PM

f*ck it, He has a pass from me for making Frailty
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:59:18 PM

@BigFoot - watch this sequel at the drive-in, in Oklahoma during the summer... you'll probably get your wish.

BigFoot writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:03:10 PM

@Ranger: haha LOL
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:26:46 PM

Damnit! I thought he meant the game
Preditorian writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:49:40 PM

Moooooooo!
triggax writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:44:25 PM

wtf ever... Bill Paxtons rad, you f*ckin guys are all c*ck suckers... This is a good idea.. the first twister is a guilty pleasure albeit, but is having sex with underage girls, and I don't see any of you restraining yourselves from that... so...
triggax writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:11:20 PM

mmmm *so is having sex..... blah blah you get it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:47:49 PM

There is a difference between guilty pleasure and a hobby when it comes to underaged girls.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 9:38:35 PM

Yeah, like for example, raping little girls is a hobby.
Stretching their asses open and taking pictures of it is a guilty pleasure.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:35:49 PM

not so into it. and how the hell do you get "dark" in a tornado movie? and what's this about tornado lore? lore about twirling wind? the only lore about tornado's would possibly be something a couple hundred years ago when people probably thought it was an attack from God or something.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:37:53 PM

lol, @Parker ...
CCBlev writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:10:48 PM

@pp
Thats an idea, maybe we can do something like that and sell it, hey if that bullsh*t girls gone wild can make big bucks, i cant imagine what this can do.
as for the movie, who gives a sh*t, they wanan do a darker tone to it, f*ck that, y do all the sequals need to go down that dark knight route
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:20:14 PM

@ CC:

It's not just an idea. For me, it's a Tuesday evening.
CCBlev writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:23:32 PM

@pp
ok you shoot the videos and ill edit them, that is if you can get me out of the chuck e cheese long enough to do it, sorry to much future talent running around there to pass up
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:36:46 PM

@ CC:

"chuck e cheese" LOL!

- Sounds like a plan!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 2:56:14 AM

Bill Paxton, Philip Seymore Hoffman, and a milewide wrecking ball from Mother Nature back in action! I could give a sh*t what all the haters say about it now, the original was awesome to see in the theaters back in the day. The trailer alone was an event! Everybody old enough remembers seeing the tracker wheel fly directly into the camera to end the trailer. Considering the outrageous detail I just saw in 2012 I think a Twister sequel would be perfect now. Plus I'd love to see Paxton get back to being the average Joe cornball we grew up with instead of being such a serious actor all the time. Its good to see them doing fun movies like this again.
VDODSON writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 12:40:55 PM

f*ck you Bill Paxton and yyour Twister movies, no thanks sucka;
triggax writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 3:09:35 PM

@Sac... Yeah i feel the same way.. I have very fond memories of seeing this one in the theater... back in the 90's.. back when you ordered nachos and you actually got a big thing of nachos... you know... But yeah it was awesome on the big screen... really, f*ck anyone that says different ill kill you.
holtlt writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 6:01:55 PM

Hey give the guy a chance, he needs a comeback
triggax writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 5:48:15 PM

I dont really think he needs a comeback.. hes on one of the more successful HBO dramas of recent years... just sayin'..... Nobodys gonna read this though so what difference does it make..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved