WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tobey Maguire on "Spider-Man 4" Delays

Posted: January 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tobey Maguire on "Spider-Man 4" DelaysSubmit Comment
Even though Sony Pictures has already publicly talked about delaying "Spider-Man 4" and an internal email revealed that some of the crew has been encouraged to look for other work, Tobey Maguire revealed to LA Times that everyone is working hard to get back on track.

"Like anything, it's a process," said Maguire. "We're just in the midst of the process. We have a lot of great stuff in terms of story and script. We're just trying to dial it in and get it ready as quickly as possible. Of course, these movies are a very big undertaking and take a lot more time than a drama or something more straightforward."

Sony has mentioned that it will like to keep the previously announced May 6th, 2011 release date, but it doesn't look like it will happen. "Spider-Man 4" needs to go into production by March and there is still no script. Other studios are already taking advantage of this; Paramount has moved up "Thor" to May 6th, since the weekend is considered a big money-maker.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: The Associated Press


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:59:39 PM

Toby,you're too old to play Spidey.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:11:37 PM

"One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight.
Eight!"
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:17:43 PM

@PP,took me a while but i got there lol.
Bob82 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:29:23 PM

Hahaha, same here. Good one, PP! xD
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:37:08 PM

Tobey... considering Spidey 3's suckage, and these delays... your words are no-where convincing enough for us to give this project any more of our time.

Good luck to you.

God Bless!

Don't brush your teeth with a brick.

C ya!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:38:01 PM

You guys have to admit, no other guy comes close to playing Peter Parker just right. Besides, dude still looks like he is in his early to mid-20's which is about right considering Peter Parker is, I assume anyway, like a senior in college in the time frame the 4th one will take place. I personally thought Tobey McGuire as Spider-Man was like Christopher Reeve to Superman. They were perfect for each of their roles. Let the guy show his worth on screen before you pas judgement. I mean how many people thought the "American Psycho" could play Batman (even though he is like 5'3" LOL). I'm just saying, he did great in the past films, granted the last one he was a freak but that was the screenplay not him that led to the infamous jazz scene. As long as they get the frikkin' screenplay right all the other elements will fall into place.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:42:53 PM

@ Sleuth1989:

Have to disagree there. I always thought Jake Gyllenhaal would have been a much better Spider-Man than Tobey Maguire.

And Christian Bale 6'ft tall!
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:56:43 PM

@Sleuth
Miscast from the start imo, When Peter is Spidey he is supposed to be a cheeky young teenager full of whitty quips,Toby just came off as flat and annoying.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:02:07 PM

I'm in the middle. Whilst I thought Tobey was the perfect choice to play Peter, I think the movie production (EMO, etc.), has given his character low self-esteem (which honestly I think Raimi has... I've seen how he's treated Tobey (the big star) on set... even in a teasing way... not good).

So, yes for Tobey.
No for the way he's been portrayed.
Dope88 is a victim of sexual abuse.
Out of loyalty for Spidey, will still watch S4... but ONLY on the movie channel (no theater, no DVD rental from me).
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:33:24 PM

"Dope88 is a victim of sexual abuse"

Probably from his whore mother or was that his gay father.
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:34:56 PM

Much as i hate to say it but Shia la beef would have made a great Spidey pre Transformers.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:44:14 PM

@jeff - we know if it's from his gay dad if he farts out a tampon to stop the bleeding after daddy/son bond(age)ing night.

@rocketman - good call. Shia pre-tranformers... yeah, he wouldn't have been bad either.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:45:48 PM

@ rocket man.... For reals? Shia ledouche? That's so stupid I really hope you're being sarcastic
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:47:04 PM

He's still more than a decade younger than Toby,not to late.Shame he so well known as the Transformers guy.
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:48:57 PM

Nope i'm not.More suited to the roll than Toby.
ilovebatman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:57:52 PM

You look at that pic WP posted, and tell me that's not Peter Parker.
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:03:14 PM

Thats not Peter Parker,thats a 34 year old bloke not a High school student,the guys to dull IMO.i'm not saying anymore because i know some folk like him and thats cool,i don't.Toby is fine in his Seabiscuit type drama movies he's just not my cup of tea thats all.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:08:30 PM

"You look at that pic WP posted, and tell me that's not Peter Parker."

Why does it turn you on? I bet you want his sticky web (j*zz) all over your face don't ya.


johnny_boy writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:10:56 PM

Toby did great as Peter Parker. Jake gyllenhal wouldn't have been a bad choice either. My beef with spiderman 4, or if you wanna call it spider m4n, is that raimi really wants vulture. We all want lizard. What villain does the studio want? What if it's lizard?
wonderBOY writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:15:33 PM

i would rather wait another year and let them make a great movie with raimi getting creative control than see a rushed one next year
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:28:37 PM

Greedy Hollywood f*ckers..
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:58:19 PM

@ Peter Parker
I don't know about Jake Gyllenhaal, especially after seeing what he looks like buff. I know this comes off as an insult to Tobey, but Jake is way more of a masculine actor. Tobey played the character well.

@ rocketman
Yeah you're right he sounded flat, but, unlike the comics, Raimi has to pack an entire story so the quips of Spider-Man got taken down a notch to focus on the other things Raimi had to show in 2 hours. Plus, all that confidence is shown in the web swinging scenes through action. And besides, Raimi had to adapt the character for the screen. Spider-Man was put on the comic page to be able to relate to. You put that to screen and you would get exactly what you have seen, a guy always down on his luck who's duty interferes with his life. So of course he would have low-confidence, he is treated like a piece of trash.
And if anyone disagrees with all of this you have to remember, this is a movie ADAPTATION of the comic book, an adaptation through the eyes of Raimi and I think, as a relate-able character and a well though out story with some good balance of great action, Raimi succeeded in making Spider-Man flesh and blood, flesh that can be scarred and beaten.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:58:48 PM

And yeah, I know that last part sounded cheesy but it was the only way I think I could get my point across.
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:29:53 PM

I respect that you like it,god knows i love some films that you lot would lynch me for.I'll just wait for the inevitable reboot down the line and hope its more my thing.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:51:14 PM

@rocketman
You know I agree with you. I just like this films series. It's like the Batman films. Some like the 1989/Michael Keaton and some like the newer ones. To which his own.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:56:02 PM

@rocketman wrote:

"Toby,you're too old to play Spidey."

you know spider-man is like 24 in the comics, right? and would you prefer a different actor after 3 films with the same guy, that'd be kinda awkward ...
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:35:06 PM

say what you want about tobey....its kirsten dunst they need to replace or should have from day one.
telur writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:59:51 PM

I still hate when they kill harry osborn in spider-man 3
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 9:29:48 PM

yeah, i liked his character.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 9:32:16 PM

@ Sleuth:

I see what you mean but, if you think about it, what you said about Jake Gyllenhaal could also be precisely the type of characteristics an actor needs to play Spider-Man.

Maguire always looks and sounds a little dopey, that doesn't change, whereas Gyllenhaal has great range and can convincingly change from wimp to bad-ass in seconds.

Think of his performance in "Donnie Darko" or "Jarhead", for the troubled young man personality, and then take another look at the trailers for "Prince of Persia", to see him doing your typical action hero part.
I think he would have nailed the Spidey just perfectly.

And the fact that Gyllenhaal buffs up easily is a plus, because Maguire wasn't convincing when he tried to put on a few pounds of muscle.

Most people just got accustomed to see Maguire as SM and now he kinda feels natural in that part.

I just wish they had chosen Gyllenhaal from the beginning.
At least he wouldn't have looked as ridiculous as Maguire did with that horrendous dancing display on SM3.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 9:51:34 PM

yeah that "dance" ... any body would look stupid doing that ...
Peter Parker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 9:59:21 PM

Not everybody. Travolta would have rocked that dance!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:11:46 PM

lol! that's a new stain in my mind ... well up to 2010 stains ... hey! isn't this the new year?
the joker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:26:04 PM

Spiderman 3 was probably one of the most dissapointing sequels but it wasn't that bad I just hope that Spiderman 4 is better
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:40:54 PM

i agree @Joker, though it could have done without the sandman being a nice guy and then floating into the wind in the end .. that was kida gay ...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:28:26 PM

@Peter Parker
Here's my problem with Jake Gyllenhaal, dude is definitely a good actor. Thing is I never saw Spider-Man as a intense psychological role. I always saw the character as very straightforward and simple. Tobey McGuire did that. He was a simple guy from Queens. A little trivia though for you, Jake was actually offered to replace Tobey for the second one after Tobey got back injuries from Seabiscuit. So you were definitely right in that feeling he would have been a strong possibility for the character. Anyway, Spider-Man was meant to be "slim-buff" so as to appear athletic, but not the frikkin' Hulk. It was such a skinny body that separated Spider-man from the big,musclebound characters like Superman or Batman. Jake would have overbuffed the character and have defeated the purpose of Peter Parker being a regular joe who isn't physically a God among men. Plus, no offense, but from what I heard Tobey McGuire now owns Jake in the military movies after the movie "Brothers". He's nominated for a Golden Globe and I've heard great things. The thing with Jake is seems to have lessened in intense roles in the last couple years. I mean "Jarhead" was okay to me but his acting wasn't that great, especially with actors like Peter Sarsgaard sharing the screen with him. I mean Donnie Darko was the one time I saw him play a strange character (Let's be nice and not make the obvious Brokeback Mountain gay joke) and the rest were just normal people roles. I just feel McGuire has shown his stuff to the point where I believe Tobey is a worthy actor. Oh, one last thing, Jake and Tobey creepingly look-alike to me for some reason. I wonder why it took them till "Brothers" to team up. I thought they were brothers in real life for awhile. LOL But it's as rocketman said, we each have our own idea of a good Spider-Man so in a way you're right and in a way I'm right. But I am looking forward to Prince of Persia, one of the few video game adaptations that seems to have potential as a movie.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 12:35:40 AM

@ Sleuth:

I agree with most of what you said, except for a couple of things.
We all know Gyllenhaal can portray psychologically intense characters, but that doesn't mean he can't do a simpler part, like the one of a typical action hero or a teenage geek (which are two of the sides of Spider-Man). His performance in "The Day After Tomorrow" comes to mind, with his two-dimensional role as the kid who saves the day, while trying to impress the girl at the same time.
I dodn't mean to say SM's character is a typical action hero, btw. My example was just to point out Gyllenhaal's range as an actor.

The other thing I don't agree with you, is regarding his physical shape. The guy obviously bulked up for "Prince of Persia", had done it before in "Jarhead", but that's just the thing, it should be easy for him to get into the right shape to do SM.
And he doesn't exactly look like the Hulk now! I think he looks fit and he'd look like a proper SM in that suit.

BTW, I know Gyllenhaal was considered to replace Maguire, I remember reading about that.
That's why I said in my previous post they should have went with him to begin with.

Totally agree on Maguire's and Gyllenhaal's resemblance. I actually posted that same thought, more than two months ago.
See what I wrote here:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=15711


Regarding "Prince of Persia", yeah, I'm pretty stocked about that one too.
But when it comes to video game adaptations, I'd rather see Castlevania getting made.
They keep talking about it, but the damn thing doesn't seem to be going anywhere, anytime soon, much to my dismay.
telur writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 1:04:48 AM

Robert Pattison should replace Tobey Maguire on Spider-Man 4 wakakaka........
Peter Parker writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 1:12:50 AM

telur, you scare me sometimes, girl!

But, using your logic, here's another interesting thought:

Tobey Maguire should replace Robbert Pattinson in "Twilight".

Gotcha!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 1:45:02 AM

lol!
telur writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 2:19:40 AM

LOL, that funny Peter Parker LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 2:35:45 AM

@Peter Parker
I don't know. Jake seems wrong to me for some reason. I can't really put my finger on it. I think Tobey is so darn good at the geek characters I feel it suits it well. And the scene that proved to me his ability as an action hero was in Spider-Man 2 at the end. I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen it, but it is when Spidey shows just how much can he really lift. The intensity of the whole scene got me on edge. In that scene he was both Peter Parker and Spider-Man and I guess that scene has got me from the beginning. Either Peter Parker (The blogger not the character), it really just comes down to our own opinions on the matter. I personally thought the Spider-Man series is great the way it is (Even for the most part the third one) and you think it could have been better. What you say we leave it at that? Besides, there are so many other articles we could argue about. LOL
rocketman writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 5:20:36 AM

@Encore
Spidey sarted out as a High school student,say at 16-17 ish,film 2 hw should have been 19 ish,film 3 mabey 21 not 34.You read Civil war? when Doc Oc finds out Spideys is 'just a kid' he looses his sh*t,can't handle that he kept getting batterd of a kid.Sure he has aged some over the years but seeing as the films were the start of Spideys journey i expected him to be younger.
pnkntndr writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 5:26:57 AM

@sleuth

How much have you read the comics? Peter grows out of the douchey nerd phase after high school. Tobey was kind of okay in the first but I curse the fact that he didn't break his neck in Seabiscuit. He can't even make his character sound witty and clever! Any wise cracks he makes sound like complete failures. couldn't agree with Parker any more then I already do.

@telur

That's probably the only thing they got right in the third movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 1:44:01 PM

@pnkntndr
I don't know if you realized, but in Spider-Man 3 he technically was very confident, too confident. I believe the next one will see him now balanced between his character from the first two and the last one. Parker was a geek in high school and without the girl he sucked as a man. Once he got the girl he jumped the shark a little in thinking he is all that in the third one. He realized that was wrong, but I doubt he'll completely return to the low-confident geek from the first two. Besides, if every character grew up on the big screen adaptations we'd have a hundred Tony Stark characters. And remember, Raimi follows the older comics, which is pretty much all about him in high school and that's about what, 20 years of material with some of Spidey's greatest stories!
Hobo Michael writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 5:26:45 PM

Hey i like Tobey Maguire as spidey.

Jake Gyllenhaal could not be spidey.
He's not much of a geek like Maguire is lol.



Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 6:06:12 PM

@Hobo Michael
Exactly! No one here seems to get that while Jake has the strength of Spider-Man, he doesn't have the look and style of Peter Parker, which is the real star of the movie. The story is about Peter Parker having to deal with being Spider-Man not the other way around.
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 8:23:51 PM

i am a huge spider-man fan but all i gotta say is why the hell cant they get this movie made?
SondrMan writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 2:48:24 AM

@ rocketman: Toby,you're too old to play Spidey.


...the f*ck? Like someone else has said before me. He's got to age.. he's still a human being. And dude.. does the age really matter? In the LOTR books Frodo i is 53 or something. In the movies he's 25-something. It dosen't matter.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:01:07 AM

@SondrMan
In all fairness to rocketman, I think hobbits age like half the time in people physically. Plus, don't they live to age like 150 years?
pnkntndr writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 4:10:41 AM

@Sleuth

I don't know if you realized but the third movie blew more then an over-lubed tranny in a gay parade.

"And remember, Raimi follows the older comics, which is pretty much all about him in high school" Uhhh did you see the first movie? He graduated high school in the beginning! If Raimi followed the comics in the slightest bit and had pull on the script he would have NEVER used MJ in the first movie. It should have been Gwen Stacy but for some "I love getting raped in the ass like a choo-choo train" reason they brought her in the third. Oh yes, she would have died in the bridge scene too.

You also made a comment about Tobey playing Peter Parker "Just right". Well he does have the nerd part down... But he is still the same character as he was in the first movie with no growth whatsoever! Parker was only a geek in high school. As he gained superpowers he gained confidence and was able to ask a girl like Gwen out. Don't forget Betty Brant, Jonah's secretary and also The Black Cat. Also, Tobey cannot deliver a sarcastic line directed at a villain to save his life! Rocketman was completely right when he stated:

"When Peter is Spidey he is supposed to be a cheeky young teenager full of whitty quips, Tobey just came off as flat and annoying."
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:24:21 PM

@pnkntndr
I meant the tone of the character from high school is what Raimi kept. And all three movies were only two years in time. You expected him to completely changed? Besides, if you look at the movies, he isn't as much a geek as he is simply extremely overwhelmed and exhausted. The core of Parker has always been the geek and when he's Spider-Man he does have quips you just have to listen closely. All the movies are two hours long and have to worry about balancing all the elements. Filling it with great one liners and charm would distort the movie. I stand by that the third one saw him indeed gain self-esteem as everyone said Parker would eventually, but too much. And, by the way, "I don't know if you realized but the third movie blew more then an over-lubed tranny in a gay parade." isn't a valid argument, just you ticked off someone disagrees with you. You'll probably respond and say, "Yeah, because you're wrong" or what have you, but you not everything in the movie is direct in honoring the comics. The three movies had to be similar or it just be three separate movies with no connection. And, as me AND rocketman agreed, we each like our own movies so stop trying to trash what I like. I Spider-Man 2 to be the best superhero movie ever. Awesome blend of visual effects, story, and even performances. Now besides the fact theses movies are ADAPTATIONS and not exact copies of the comics, you're talking about 50 or so years of comic history. Raimi is making the films with key moments, so Gwen would have been pointless as a love interest because everyone knows he ends up with MJ, so Raimi used her to simply further the story in the third one which he would have suceeded if the frikkin' production company had butted out of the creative aspect of the third film. So just leave it alone pnkntndr. It's to which his own.



There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved