WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Confirms "Avatar" Sequel

Posted: January 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Confirms "Avatar" SequelSubmit Comment
It's obvious that 20th Century Fox would want to make an "Avatar" sequel, since the first movie has already become the second highest grossing film off all time. But with so many projects that director James Cameron is rumored for, how realistic is it that he'll return for a second installment?

Following a screening of "Avatar" at the Arclight theater in Hollywood, Cameron answered some questions from the audience. One of the questions was whether fans can expect a sequel, to which Cameron replied that the plan has always been to make a trilogy. He then confirmed: "Yes, there will be another."

Cameron was joined by his visual effects artists, who mentioned that the second film will be much easier to make since all the hard work has already been done and the technology now exists. So maybe "Avatar 2" can be made under $500 million.

In another interview, Cameron talked about exploring the Pandora solar system by visiting the other neighboring moons.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:15:44 AM

super f*cking duper. this is just like biting into a giant sh*t-burger! hate Avatard! hate it!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:19:36 AM

Flame me all you want but I wasn't impressed with the "technology" of the first film. I'd be happy to see this next one only if it has a better plot.
m2msucks writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:27:29 AM

Maybe James Cameron will develop even more technology for the second film. Then "Avatar 2" could be the first film to have a $1 billion budget.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:36:13 AM

I thought we already established the film didn't cost 500 million dollars to make good grief. Either way can't wait for this, not sure how they're going to improve the textures on those CGI models, they look pretty perfect already but lighting can always be improved. I'm looking forward to it.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:38:06 AM

How about exploring Saldana's Pandora's box?
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 4:13:20 AM

I second that ranger
flaggingmoose writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 5:03:32 AM

Bring it on.

Except for the fact that it means Sam Worthington gets to appear again. Does anybody agree that he sucks major hairy blue balls? Just don't get why he's in movies. Maybe its just me.
Derp88 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 6:36:51 AM

Sam Worthington doesn't suck,he's pretty good.
dbreuning writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:14:32 AM

Awesome! Hope it gets made soon and not another gaping hole of 12 years between Avatar and the sequel.
Forrest75 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:26:45 AM

Umm... Spoiler Alert: If there is a sequel, Worthington will most likely only appear in his avatar form. Unless we flash back to how he was paralyzed or something. His "Earth body" be dead, son.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:32:15 AM

@flaggingmoose

100% Agree with you, SAm W. Suck like sh*t in all his movies, is the same stupid douchebag in all the movies, flat acting, no emotions on his interpretation, stupid accent, dumb presences are his characteristics, the movie sucks because of him, he is only the actor of the moment, i have hope that some day, very sooner, he will be ot of the movies forever!

Maybe if he is over-exposed the people will hate him much faster, give him all the movies ALL!

@Derp88

You know he sucks, dont be a fool don't let the media f*ck your mind he is only the actor moment, nothing more, and he isn't a badass like some people say, the actors are the weakes persons in the world always hiding from the people, behing his bodyguards!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:52:55 AM

I'll take Sam W. over that Tatum Channing. Sam W. can act and actually has facial expressions.
Derp88 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 9:11:37 AM

Actors are not meant to be badass Trueman,they are not UFC fighters for christs sakes,there actors,Sam Worthington isn't suppose to be walking the streets beating up people for no reason at all.
barley_cat writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:10:25 AM

Nice Derp88 :)

No need to bitch about Worrthington really because if he was that sh*t then the movie would have sucked. The movie didn't suck, therefore neither did Worthington.

However his limp legs were a little too lifelike for my liking!
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:16:08 AM

@Derp88

well the people of Wp are allways saying that he is badass, and i am sick of that crap he is nothing but the actor of the moment and he doesnt have expressions on his acting he always screaming like a douchebag fagget, and Tamtum is better actor tham him!
telur writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:22:56 AM

i remember when most WP user said avatar gonna bomb, but the reality is a huge success

YOU ALL WRONG GUYS!!!!!!

unbelieveable
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:23:06 AM

@barley_cat

Are you f*cking kiding me man, the movie is the same crap story we have been seen for like a century only with a diferent envelope of 3d graphics, and he is acting what acting? he is the same character and all his movies come on people Taylor L. beat him in the people chocie awards, the people doesn't like him get over of this fagget, stop defending this gay/actor he is not paying you for that!
CCBlev writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:28:00 AM

of course he's gonna confirm a sequal the question is, will he be alive when the technology is right for him to do it?
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:28:44 AM

@telur

this says it by a guy that has Robert P. face as avatar OMG the end is near 2012 is near!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:49:25 AM

Well now I guess the f*cktards that wished to kill themselves have something to look forward too.....damn it! I was hoping the world would be rid of a few idiots.....oh well.
warlord writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:54:57 AM

oh god please no!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:28:36 AM

Maybe they can add in some plot this time around
triggax writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:42:20 AM

Im with TRUEMAN on this one, even though I have no idea what he said.. Im sure it sounds WAAY sexier in spanish, or portugese or wutevers...
TheStig writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:45:00 AM

does cameron realize that the conflict is gone? the humans left... I mean what is this going to be about?
lost_addict writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:45:11 AM

how the mighty have fallen...oh,well,we'll alwayes have 'aliens' and 'true lies'
triggax writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:47:13 AM

Oh and, lets not put too much on the fact that Lautner won a peoples choice award.. The fact that New Moon was nominated for anything speaks volumes about the retardation plaguing the american people... Its a f*cking sad day when f*cking Twilight beats out The Hangover and f*cking Star Trek.. Something like that would have never happened in Canada, We f*cking hate Twilight up here... f*ck Twilight.. Just goes to show what you get when you give "The People" the choice, you get to see just how f*cking moronic and stupid everyone is.. You also get to see that 90% of the votes are usually cast by overweight teenage girls with no friends and too much time... Just like spooky.
takai writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:09:05 PM

I don't know how anyone can be surprised at this news.

Cameron is wanting Avatar to be "the new Star Wars". That's always been his plan. That's why he posted the language. That's why he's trying to shove fanboy information down our throats.

He really wants this to be on the same level as Star Wars and Star Trek.
takai writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:11:23 PM

I also think this movie is the reason George Lucas decided to make another film.

Gotta keep the douche-master (Cameron) in check.
Cleveland Shaquisition writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:23:24 PM

I'm glad I saw avatar (aka pocahontas in space, dances with avatars, ferngully with cats, or the last samurai: avatar style) because now I know not to waste my money on the sequel. I can only imagine what disney princess movie james cameron will rip off to make avatar 2. All that money and technology and he comes out with the worst plot line ever. Maybe this time, he can develop some technology that can create an interesting plot line for him.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:28:46 PM

@takia wrote:

"I don't know how anyone can be surprised at this news.

Cameron is wanting Avatar to be "the new Star Wars". That's always been his plan. That's why he posted the language. That's why he's trying to shove fan boy information down our throats.
He really wants this to be on the same level as Star Wars and Star Trek."


I've been saying the same thing. he wants instant fan boy obedience,which sadly, he seems to have in his grasp. i'm dissapointed in the Planet (more now then ever) ... well i guess the next king of the world will be a bleeding heart Avatard who will go on and off about how he's going to kill himself until the the next movie comes out ...


encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:29:28 PM

btw i meant @takai, not takia.
the joker writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:14:31 PM

I think that the first one was pretty good I just do not get how they would make a second one.
frankii writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:26:18 PM

i loved the cheese in avatar...especially General Chesseball with his coffee mug and tuffguy grin

LOL! douche
Manigirl17 writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 5:38:29 PM

It didn't look like a good movie at frist but then me and my friends went to see it and it was not bad so cool there makin another one!
jikae writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 2:16:30 AM

i, for one, actually like the idea of a sequel. i mean, think about it. the mining company leaves, US (or whatever country in control) gets pissed and sends in the military force. sounds like it could possibly be an extension of the last 30 minutes. bring on the sequel!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:54:25 PM

the film cost $237 million, jeez, quit it already bout the 500 mil budget its a dead joke
vaodsi writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 3:58:32 PM

my ticket is sold

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved