WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Stark Won't Be an Alcoholic in "Iron Man 2," but Maybe in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Stark WonSubmit Comment
MTV News got in touch with War Machine co-creator Bob Layton to talk about the "Iron Man" franchise and Marvel's plans for future installments.

According to Layton, "Iron Man 3" may incorporation elements from his classic "Demon in a Bottle" storyline. Originally published in 1979, "Demon in a Bottle" follows Tony Stark as he succumbs to his addiction to alcohol while trying to save his company and reputation from Justin Hammer.

"I think they've come up with a terrific segue to the third film, which I think is going to be fairly powerful," he said. "My understanding is that the third film could very well be the 'Demon in a Bottle' story mixed in there with everything and I'm kind of looking forward to that, if that's where they wind up going."

Layton added that introducing War Machine is good for several reasons. "If they're doing the 'Avengers' film, they always have the option of using War Machine instead of Iron Man depending upon what happens contractually. I'm just speculating, I have no idea... But there's always the possibility that if it does well, it can spin-off. Because obviously there's a different character and a different motivation with War Machine than there is with Tony Stark."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:43:41 PM

Layton -- one of my most favorite artists on IM back in the day (along with John Romita Jr.). He created War Machines after my days collecting.

I know they're striving to make Tony Stark human and fallible... with the booze story. But they tried that with Bond in Quantum of Solice and it wasn't always well received (although I didn't mind it). I believe most watch IM to see his high-tech suit kick some high-tech baddies. I'd rather see IM battle a room full of sentinels sent by the Government under a covert op. to retain the IM suite and therefore the technology... over RDJ boozing it up, whining about his life for half the movie.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:55:57 PM

this story had nothing to do with what the title said
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:26:39 PM

I just saw that Iron Man 2 opens up the 28 april in Sweden. A whole week before US and A.
So, with respect: Suck it!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:58:58 PM

@ wonderBOY wrote:

"his story had nothing to do with what the title said"

did you even read the article? he says that he thinks it is very possible he'll be an alcoholic in the 3rd film.

yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:19:28 PM

what a load of sh*t, no f*cking alcohol story because the studio needs kids 2 watch their sh*t. money hungry bastards.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:46:23 PM

The demon in a bottle storyline is a fantastic idea for ironman 3. But will they have Rhodes take over as ironman like in the comics? Hmm
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:07:55 PM

@Loki - good question.

But would you rather watch Tony Stark as Iron Man for 90-minutes with his carefree(ish) jokester mouth bangin' the broads, or boring Rhodey 'by the book' for the same amount of time, whilst Tony sitting around drunk eating day-old pizza and watching re-runs of The Beverly Hillbillies?

If they take this down the alcohol road... 1. they'll have to continue with it, and this isn't a weekly TV series they can turn it around in 2 weeks, and 2. I don't see how a drunk Tony would be useful in The Avengers.

Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:08:19 PM

PS: what is your avatar... a polar bear in a blizzard?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:24:10 PM

I remember Robert Downey Jr. already telling us this. He said that Iron Man 2 is like an interval between the first one and his progress to the "Demon in the Bottle" comic story in the third one. It's in the production section on the wiki page of Iron Man 2 where he is quoted and I think their is a footnote that takes you to the actual article where he talks about the alcoholism of Tony Stark.
realgirl76 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:28:41 PM

@Ranger I think his avatar is an albino at their first communion
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:39:17 PM

So does this mean that someone will get asshurt when Tony is flying around drunk, narrowly missing aircraft or grazing them? Hope to God Tony doesn't smoke when he drinks. Hate read about that from that "No smoking in movies for possible role models that aren't" guy.
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:40:00 PM

*Hate to read about
Where is the EDIT button?!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:05:50 PM

oh, I miss the good old days where a raging alcoholic could be a role model, but that's just me, sentimental fool.

@Freudian_Nightmare:

I envy you my friend.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:16:08 PM

@Ranger

Neither. both. half way tony gets really heavy into the drinkin and rhodes steps up to the plate. i think it would lead to tension to be dealt with in a 4th maybe. but then again who knows. my avatar doesnt show online for some reason. but on my phone i see it and its a skull with a helmet and horns
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:19:19 PM

i belive loki put his avatar on from his cell phone and thats why we cant see it
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:21:02 PM

@loki- im gonna kick your ass when you get home bitch!!!! haha
Peter Parker writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:31:36 PM

Tony Stark Won't Be an Alcoholic in "Iron Man 2," but Maybe in "Iron Man 3"

- Yeah, rehab. Never works.

BTW, rehab is for quitters!
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:34:08 PM

@skatemaster

shut up brian.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:38:44 PM

so i think there should be a 4th film
finger41 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:19:41 AM

Iron Man going to rehab, haha
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:01:27 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare:
"I just saw that Iron Man 2 opens up the 28 april in Sweden. A whole week before US and A.
So, with respect: Suck it!"

NICE!! Not often a Hollywood film opens up in Sweden BEFORE USA. I will definetely go see it the day of it's premiere!! :)


Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16347&count=0#ixzz0bzvXEXB3
ksplatt writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:46:56 AM

So basically what they're saying is Robert Downey, Jr. won't be portraying himself in the movie???
billofill writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:38:31 PM

He was an Alcoholic in Ironman 1 what the f*ck are that talking about.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:31:32 PM

to @billofill

i don't recall that. he drank i believe, but an alcoholic ...
billofill writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 7:26:03 PM

Drinking before Noon is not a good sign. That and he was drinking in just about every scene as Tony.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 12:16:54 AM

he drank in the 1st film to set up for the 3rd film I'm guessing, however not major problem then ...

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved