WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Lots of Action in New "Terminator Genisys" Trailer
Apr 14th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Loses Its Director
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Ed Helms and Griswold Family in "Vacation" Sequel
Apr 14th, 2015
Iron Man Fights Ultron in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip
Apr 14th, 2015
Olivia Munn to Play Psylocke in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Derek's Son From "Zoolander 2"
Apr 14th, 2015
Viggo Mortensen Was Offered Wolverine Role in "X-Men"
Apr 13th, 2015
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip Shows Hulk vs Iron Man Battle
Apr 13th, 2015
"Furious 7" Already Earned $800 Million at Box Office
Apr 13th, 2015
First Photo From "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Apr 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Scream" TV Series
Apr 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Stark Won't Be an Alcoholic in "Iron Man 2," but Maybe in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Stark WonSubmit Comment
MTV News got in touch with War Machine co-creator Bob Layton to talk about the "Iron Man" franchise and Marvel's plans for future installments.

According to Layton, "Iron Man 3" may incorporation elements from his classic "Demon in a Bottle" storyline. Originally published in 1979, "Demon in a Bottle" follows Tony Stark as he succumbs to his addiction to alcohol while trying to save his company and reputation from Justin Hammer.

"I think they've come up with a terrific segue to the third film, which I think is going to be fairly powerful," he said. "My understanding is that the third film could very well be the 'Demon in a Bottle' story mixed in there with everything and I'm kind of looking forward to that, if that's where they wind up going."

Layton added that introducing War Machine is good for several reasons. "If they're doing the 'Avengers' film, they always have the option of using War Machine instead of Iron Man depending upon what happens contractually. I'm just speculating, I have no idea... But there's always the possibility that if it does well, it can spin-off. Because obviously there's a different character and a different motivation with War Machine than there is with Tony Stark."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:43:41 PM

Layton -- one of my most favorite artists on IM back in the day (along with John Romita Jr.). He created War Machines after my days collecting.

I know they're striving to make Tony Stark human and fallible... with the booze story. But they tried that with Bond in Quantum of Solice and it wasn't always well received (although I didn't mind it). I believe most watch IM to see his high-tech suit kick some high-tech baddies. I'd rather see IM battle a room full of sentinels sent by the Government under a covert op. to retain the IM suite and therefore the technology... over RDJ boozing it up, whining about his life for half the movie.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:55:57 PM

this story had nothing to do with what the title said
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:26:39 PM

I just saw that Iron Man 2 opens up the 28 april in Sweden. A whole week before US and A.
So, with respect: Suck it!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:58:58 PM

@ wonderBOY wrote:

"his story had nothing to do with what the title said"

did you even read the article? he says that he thinks it is very possible he'll be an alcoholic in the 3rd film.

yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:19:28 PM

what a load of sh*t, no f*cking alcohol story because the studio needs kids 2 watch their sh*t. money hungry bastards.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:46:23 PM

The demon in a bottle storyline is a fantastic idea for ironman 3. But will they have Rhodes take over as ironman like in the comics? Hmm
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:07:55 PM

@Loki - good question.

But would you rather watch Tony Stark as Iron Man for 90-minutes with his carefree(ish) jokester mouth bangin' the broads, or boring Rhodey 'by the book' for the same amount of time, whilst Tony sitting around drunk eating day-old pizza and watching re-runs of The Beverly Hillbillies?

If they take this down the alcohol road... 1. they'll have to continue with it, and this isn't a weekly TV series they can turn it around in 2 weeks, and 2. I don't see how a drunk Tony would be useful in The Avengers.

Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:08:19 PM

PS: what is your avatar... a polar bear in a blizzard?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:24:10 PM

I remember Robert Downey Jr. already telling us this. He said that Iron Man 2 is like an interval between the first one and his progress to the "Demon in the Bottle" comic story in the third one. It's in the production section on the wiki page of Iron Man 2 where he is quoted and I think their is a footnote that takes you to the actual article where he talks about the alcoholism of Tony Stark.
realgirl76 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:28:41 PM

@Ranger I think his avatar is an albino at their first communion
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:39:17 PM

So does this mean that someone will get asshurt when Tony is flying around drunk, narrowly missing aircraft or grazing them? Hope to God Tony doesn't smoke when he drinks. Hate read about that from that "No smoking in movies for possible role models that aren't" guy.
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:40:00 PM

*Hate to read about
Where is the EDIT button?!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:05:50 PM

oh, I miss the good old days where a raging alcoholic could be a role model, but that's just me, sentimental fool.

@Freudian_Nightmare:

I envy you my friend.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:16:08 PM

@Ranger

Neither. both. half way tony gets really heavy into the drinkin and rhodes steps up to the plate. i think it would lead to tension to be dealt with in a 4th maybe. but then again who knows. my avatar doesnt show online for some reason. but on my phone i see it and its a skull with a helmet and horns
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:19:19 PM

i belive loki put his avatar on from his cell phone and thats why we cant see it
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:21:02 PM

@loki- im gonna kick your ass when you get home bitch!!!! haha
Peter Parker writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:31:36 PM

Tony Stark Won't Be an Alcoholic in "Iron Man 2," but Maybe in "Iron Man 3"

- Yeah, rehab. Never works.

BTW, rehab is for quitters!
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:34:08 PM

@skatemaster

shut up brian.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:38:44 PM

so i think there should be a 4th film
finger41 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:19:41 AM

Iron Man going to rehab, haha
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:01:27 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare:
"I just saw that Iron Man 2 opens up the 28 april in Sweden. A whole week before US and A.
So, with respect: Suck it!"

NICE!! Not often a Hollywood film opens up in Sweden BEFORE USA. I will definetely go see it the day of it's premiere!! :)


Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16347&count=0#ixzz0bzvXEXB3
ksplatt writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:46:56 AM

So basically what they're saying is Robert Downey, Jr. won't be portraying himself in the movie???
billofill writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:38:31 PM

He was an Alcoholic in Ironman 1 what the f*ck are that talking about.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:31:32 PM

to @billofill

i don't recall that. he drank i believe, but an alcoholic ...
billofill writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 7:26:03 PM

Drinking before Noon is not a good sign. That and he was drinking in just about every scene as Tony.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 12:16:54 AM

he drank in the 1st film to set up for the 3rd film I'm guessing, however not major problem then ...

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved