WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Stark Won't Be an Alcoholic in "Iron Man 2," but Maybe in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Stark WonSubmit Comment
MTV News got in touch with War Machine co-creator Bob Layton to talk about the "Iron Man" franchise and Marvel's plans for future installments.

According to Layton, "Iron Man 3" may incorporation elements from his classic "Demon in a Bottle" storyline. Originally published in 1979, "Demon in a Bottle" follows Tony Stark as he succumbs to his addiction to alcohol while trying to save his company and reputation from Justin Hammer.

"I think they've come up with a terrific segue to the third film, which I think is going to be fairly powerful," he said. "My understanding is that the third film could very well be the 'Demon in a Bottle' story mixed in there with everything and I'm kind of looking forward to that, if that's where they wind up going."

Layton added that introducing War Machine is good for several reasons. "If they're doing the 'Avengers' film, they always have the option of using War Machine instead of Iron Man depending upon what happens contractually. I'm just speculating, I have no idea... But there's always the possibility that if it does well, it can spin-off. Because obviously there's a different character and a different motivation with War Machine than there is with Tony Stark."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:43:41 PM

Layton -- one of my most favorite artists on IM back in the day (along with John Romita Jr.). He created War Machines after my days collecting.

I know they're striving to make Tony Stark human and fallible... with the booze story. But they tried that with Bond in Quantum of Solice and it wasn't always well received (although I didn't mind it). I believe most watch IM to see his high-tech suit kick some high-tech baddies. I'd rather see IM battle a room full of sentinels sent by the Government under a covert op. to retain the IM suite and therefore the technology... over RDJ boozing it up, whining about his life for half the movie.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:55:57 PM

this story had nothing to do with what the title said
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:26:39 PM

I just saw that Iron Man 2 opens up the 28 april in Sweden. A whole week before US and A.
So, with respect: Suck it!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:58:58 PM

@ wonderBOY wrote:

"his story had nothing to do with what the title said"

did you even read the article? he says that he thinks it is very possible he'll be an alcoholic in the 3rd film.

yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:19:28 PM

what a load of sh*t, no f*cking alcohol story because the studio needs kids 2 watch their sh*t. money hungry bastards.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:46:23 PM

The demon in a bottle storyline is a fantastic idea for ironman 3. But will they have Rhodes take over as ironman like in the comics? Hmm
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:07:55 PM

@Loki - good question.

But would you rather watch Tony Stark as Iron Man for 90-minutes with his carefree(ish) jokester mouth bangin' the broads, or boring Rhodey 'by the book' for the same amount of time, whilst Tony sitting around drunk eating day-old pizza and watching re-runs of The Beverly Hillbillies?

If they take this down the alcohol road... 1. they'll have to continue with it, and this isn't a weekly TV series they can turn it around in 2 weeks, and 2. I don't see how a drunk Tony would be useful in The Avengers.

Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:08:19 PM

PS: what is your avatar... a polar bear in a blizzard?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:24:10 PM

I remember Robert Downey Jr. already telling us this. He said that Iron Man 2 is like an interval between the first one and his progress to the "Demon in the Bottle" comic story in the third one. It's in the production section on the wiki page of Iron Man 2 where he is quoted and I think their is a footnote that takes you to the actual article where he talks about the alcoholism of Tony Stark.
realgirl76 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:28:41 PM

@Ranger I think his avatar is an albino at their first communion
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:39:17 PM

So does this mean that someone will get asshurt when Tony is flying around drunk, narrowly missing aircraft or grazing them? Hope to God Tony doesn't smoke when he drinks. Hate read about that from that "No smoking in movies for possible role models that aren't" guy.
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:40:00 PM

*Hate to read about
Where is the EDIT button?!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:05:50 PM

oh, I miss the good old days where a raging alcoholic could be a role model, but that's just me, sentimental fool.

@Freudian_Nightmare:

I envy you my friend.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:16:08 PM

@Ranger

Neither. both. half way tony gets really heavy into the drinkin and rhodes steps up to the plate. i think it would lead to tension to be dealt with in a 4th maybe. but then again who knows. my avatar doesnt show online for some reason. but on my phone i see it and its a skull with a helmet and horns
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:19:19 PM

i belive loki put his avatar on from his cell phone and thats why we cant see it
skatemaster62 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:21:02 PM

@loki- im gonna kick your ass when you get home bitch!!!! haha
Peter Parker writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:31:36 PM

Tony Stark Won't Be an Alcoholic in "Iron Man 2," but Maybe in "Iron Man 3"

- Yeah, rehab. Never works.

BTW, rehab is for quitters!
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:34:08 PM

@skatemaster

shut up brian.
Loki writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:38:44 PM

so i think there should be a 4th film
finger41 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:19:41 AM

Iron Man going to rehab, haha
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:01:27 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare:
"I just saw that Iron Man 2 opens up the 28 april in Sweden. A whole week before US and A.
So, with respect: Suck it!"

NICE!! Not often a Hollywood film opens up in Sweden BEFORE USA. I will definetely go see it the day of it's premiere!! :)


Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16347&count=0#ixzz0bzvXEXB3
ksplatt writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:46:56 AM

So basically what they're saying is Robert Downey, Jr. won't be portraying himself in the movie???
billofill writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:38:31 PM

He was an Alcoholic in Ironman 1 what the f*ck are that talking about.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:31:32 PM

to @billofill

i don't recall that. he drank i believe, but an alcoholic ...
billofill writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 7:26:03 PM

Drinking before Noon is not a good sign. That and he was drinking in just about every scene as Tony.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 10th, 2010 at 12:16:54 AM

he drank in the 1st film to set up for the 3rd film I'm guessing, however not major problem then ...

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved