WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Neill Blompkamp Considering "District 9" Prequel or Sequel

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Neill Blompkamp Considering "District 9" Prequel or SequelSubmit Comment
LA Times caught up with director Neill Blompkamp to talk about his upcoming projects, which could include a "District 9" sequel/prequel. But it wouldn't be for a while since he is currently working on another sci-fi project.

"I know what I'm doing next so it wouldn't be right away, but a sequel might be interesting," he said. "The concept of aliens in Johannesburg is such an appealing idea to me and the issues of race and how they meet. I wouldn't mind messing around with it again. I'm open to it if the story works and there's a reason to do it. And [Copley's character] Wikus is so funny to me, I'm very interested in a sort of passive racist like that."

He added: "If you go forward [with his story beyond "District 9"] it's more of a traditional film but if you go backward I'd be intrigued in that. I'm not so interested in aliens coming back and blowing things up but [a prequel] might be interesting."

Blompkamp went on to talk about his new movie, which he said has a slightly bigger budget than "District 9," but much smaller than what big blockbusters have. He refused to give up any details.

"MRC is a finance group and they're putting together the cash for my next film based on a treatment I wrote," he explained. "I had the idea in my head for about a year. I wrote it within a month of finishing 'District 9' and I sent it to them and they agreed to do it. So now I'm writing."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ksplatt writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:40:32 PM

No...it was too good a movie to make another.
MattC903 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:52:25 PM

go sequel go!
thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:54:39 PM

They did a pretty good job clarifying what led up to D9 that a sequel would make much more sense.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:05:03 PM

A sequel would make more sense, but I would love to see this movie be untainted by any kind of quels
ironhide-autobot writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:17:40 PM

please please for a sequel,and i can wait to figure out what hes working on right now.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:19:15 PM

i agree, a sequel would be a match better choice. the whole movie was just awesome and if done right a sequel can be just as good.

but this falls in with The Dark Knight. if was a great film, and what if they try to hard and instead of topping it they bring down the franchise?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:22:29 PM

I would prefer a prequel to explain how weapons managed to get off the ship and into D9...

but then again, I would like a sequel, so wikus would have to decide whether he'd want to go back to being human, but be hated in human society, or stay a prawn, and being forced to go with christopher.

It would be interesting, but I'm leaning towards a prequel
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:22:51 PM

sequel*
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:26:09 PM

Is every filmmaker backwards or something to everyone else. District 9 ended on a perfect set-up for a sequel and there really isn't much to explain before the first film because it was explained in doc*mentary footage of when the aliens first got to Earth. Sequel here is a no brainer over a prequel.
Franko85 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:33:55 PM

Sequel would be cool. Does the guy ever come back? Who knows!!
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:49:30 PM

It has been proven MANY times that a sequel can be just as great or better then the original. I don't expect the sequel to be better (even though it can) but there is a story to tell. And i'm for one am very open minded about it.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:11:54 PM

way to follow the plot Spooky. The weapons were taken off the ship because the prawns exchanged them for food, they were starving remember. They didn't have a problem giving them to humans since only the prawns could use the weapons.
buttabean writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:27:17 PM

I think a short film as a prequel would be awesome. but a whole film wouldn't be intriguing to me. We know the jest of everything that happen. a prequel could be summed up in a few sentences to what will happen. A sequel at least could be original like the first one.

What if the aliens came here because they wanted our cat food?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 2:44:38 AM

I will never look at cat food the same way after seeing that movie.

I want a sequel because I'm sure that the aliens come back to free their people.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:41:58 AM

God I hope this doesn't happen. I hated District 9.
Nemonian writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:35:36 AM

I loved District 9. Yet, I don't want a sequel. Seems like you can't see a succesful movie these days without it being made into a trilogy.

Having said that, I'd still watch District 9 2 (Di2trict 9?), so I guess I'm not helping a lot. Damn these double standards.
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 2:10:25 PM

My love of District 9 would actually diminish if there isn't a sequel. Regardless of the danger of a crap sequel that ruins the first film *cough* Matrix Retardations *ahem* District 9's ending was left way too open and way too bleak. I'd like to see the story line of Wikus and the possible return of the ship resolved.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:33:53 PM

freshfromthedeli you're probably one of the only ones who hated that movie, i for one loved it, it was utterly fantastic and a sequel would be great.

but that's just your option and we are each entitled to our own so ...
Goober3000 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:34:21 PM

district 10 anyone?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved