WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" is Officially Greenlit

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" is Officially GreenlitSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about "Green Lantern" for a while, but it is only now that Warner Bros gave the superhero project a green light.

"Green Lantern" effects supervisor Karen Goulekas (The Day After Tomorrow, Spider-Man) updated her blog with a message. She said: "Green Lantern got the official green light today! And not a second too soon - only 10 weeks out from shooting! While it's great news we are a go - now we have to actually get our prep done in 10 weeks! But we have an amazing crew - so we will make it happen!"

The crew that she's talking about consists of a bunch of Oscar-winners, including cinematographer Dian Beebe (Memoirs of a Geisha, Chicago) and production designer Grant Major and costume designer Ngila Dickson (Lord of the Rings). Joining them is art director Francois Audouy (Avatar, I Am Legend, Watchmen, Transformers).

"Green Lantern" is directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) and stars Ryan Reynolds. It is scheduled to hit theaters on June 17th, 2011.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: SuperheroHype


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:40:10 PM

Can't wait!

Hopefully the GL's will have a conference on OA.

If you're not familiar with this character's abilities... he's kick-ass. It goes without saying, that if this is done right (true to the character - story - effects), it'll make believers out of all.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:47:09 PM

I'm not that familiar with this character, but isn't he the guy who can make his ring do whatever he wants (like a big hammer)? If so, it sounds mildly stupid, but with potential to look superb.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:57:41 PM

Yes (the hammer part), but so much more. If memory serves he could encapsulate a whole planet to move it... virtually unlimited (only by the writer's imagination). He's one of (if memory serves... again) some 3600+ GL's that each guard a sector of the Universe.

His only 'Kryptonite' is that his ring is completely ineffective against anything yellow (so... Lohans crotch, etc. - but then again, what IS effective against that thing?!).

Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:59:03 PM

Does anyone know (in comics more recent than when I stopped) - does GL still have to do that pain in the ass ritual of having to be tied to that fricken lantern to recharge his ring every day, or have they tossed that?
TheStig writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:00:07 PM

Ranger-

I agree about GL...one of my favorite DC characters (always been a bigger Marvel fan). Unfortunately every superhero movie has the disclaimer "if it's done right...." and very few actually deliver. Hope this one is different and I hope Deadpool is different. Both are characters that are sweet as long as some stupid people don't f*ck them up...sighhh
vwkombi writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:00:13 PM

Green Lanter: First Flight was sweet, so was the episode of Batman: The Brave and The Bold where he fights Despero and Sinestro. Plus, Ryan Reynolds. So this film is shaping up to be pretty sweet.

@ Ranger
Maybe you can fill me in on his weakness though, is it just anything yellow? Could the Green Lantern actually be defeated by Big Bird with a yellow crowbar?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:05:53 PM

Or just morning-urine?
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:06:06 PM

@vw - yes actually... IF the crowbar itself is yellow (and the bird grew some thumbs).

If... IF they don't think smalltime like they have with Superman (as he is SUPPOSED to be 'The Planet Mover' --- not getting we for bitch Lois for decades!), and they think BIG... and by that I mean... BIG with GL... conference on OA (with my idea of having Superman as a Guest Speaker), and have GL guarding this sector of space (NOT saving f*cking cats from trees!!!!), etc. And they make him a Galactic Superhero... this movie will ROCK! But considering Hollywood's history with Superhero's in movies, I'm very sorry to say I'm not holding my breath.

@Stig - yeah GL has been a fav. of mine for (decades... ouch!) a very long time. I just hope they do his potential justice.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:06:33 PM

'morning urine' --- LOL!
vwkombi writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:27:10 PM

@ Ranger

I have a feeling that this movie will end up like a live action First Flight, set around Earth.

Not 100% sure what to think of that.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:29:49 PM

Well... if they max. GL in writing and effects, it could very well (easily) eclipse 98% of the Superhero movies already out there. Even though The Flash was Reynold's first pick, he's a good pick to play GL.

Hey DC... if you're reading this... how about not f*cking up this one, 'tay?!
Mighte Migit writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:34:41 PM

the green lanterns one of my favorite dc comic characters. i wonder if he could make tits from the ring
Blade12322 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:36:06 PM

hopefully they don't drag on the origins, if so, make it interesting and long
i wonder who the bad guy will be, hopefully Sinestro, but if not, it wouldnt be too bad i guess, just as long as its not some random human
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:36:59 PM



He could even make a disease-free Lohan with his ring.

THAT's how powerful he is!

thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:53:22 PM

@Ranger, I've been dying to get back into this series. You are absolutely right GL is one helluva character. And I do believe they did in fact ditch the whole need of the lantern and he's just running on unlimited power.
Now you'd definitely be interested in the latest saga. It involves Green Lanterns......Red Lanterns, Yellow Lanterns, Blue Lanterns, White etc all teaming up to fight against the dreaded Black Lanterns who I think went to Earth and revived (In a semi-zombie-ish way) all the dead super heroes.
From what I've read about it and the word of mouth, I hear it is an amazing series.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:54:01 PM

If the villians are asian, Green Lantern is f*cked
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:55:42 PM

@thedot - thx. for the update.

@Freudian - lol.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:02:00 PM

Blacks...they really can't get a break...
encoreyourface writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:05:26 PM

awesome! Ryan Reynolds was cool in Wolverine (how little they had of him). he is a good actor and could pull this off.

i'd be cool if he fought Sinistero but i don't really see it.
CCBlev writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:46:46 PM

@ranger
i dont think anything is that powerful to make a dieasese free lohan, god gave up trying a long time ago,
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:50:59 PM

Yeah... I had thought of that too.
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:57:22 PM

enough with lohan sh*t! gez, i cant believe wp gave the two worst offenders a shout out on the new years article
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:00:00 PM

@ranger
go ahead, say that u hope my mother gets cancer, call me 'vindy' oh and 'go scream ur bofriend's name while he's f*ckin me k did i cover everything? good!
TheStig writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:11:36 PM

why are you defending her? what redeeming quality could you possibly find? it's really no wonder that we've insulted you so often that you can see it coming when you pull sh*t like this....honestly just ignore the posts if you think theyre dumb....we wont complain if you never show up again
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:15:26 PM

@Vin12 - I love you as a person. I have enjoyed your posts and contributions here on WP.

I just think you need a hug and a friend.

A very Happy New Year to you my friend.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:16:04 PM

And your mother is a whore, and your words mean nothing to me.

Hugs!
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:21:16 PM

And by 'Hugs' I mean a swift kick to your vag.
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:21:26 PM

@the stig
DO NOT INSULT ME LIKE THAT!! LOL
im not defending her i think she's a f*cking turd but this isn't a lohan article so y talk about her
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:25:12 PM

@ranger
really i've got a vag if gl created a penis with his ring you'd probably. oooh i love green penis," said ranger as he on his computer watching a bootleg verson the film in 12/2011
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:25:59 PM

@ranger
i appreciate your friendship old timer
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:40:38 PM

Thx. Bud.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:41:15 PM

And Lohan is a skank (and by that I mean your mother's a whore).
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:42:55 PM

If They Do the Movie right I would love to see the Blackest Night Story Line come in to play later on down the line.

@Ranger: here is an up date of the history for green lantern so far sir.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackest_Night

Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:50:55 PM

@Dr. Damariusvashanti - you're Da Man... thank you.

Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:53:05 PM

I didn't know Earth had 4 GL's now.

But YES... this is the type of stories these movies should grab.

Just like the Supes trilogy of he being the last man on Earth.

HOLLYWOOD, DC, MARVEL... DROP THIS p*ssy-FOOTING AROUND AND GET SOME DECENT sh*t MADE. With stories like this, the money these movies take in would double!
Derp88 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:05:42 PM

Ranger STFU,your not funny
TheStig writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:09:56 PM

Derp...that should be you're not your...just sayin' maybe learn decent english before you make a f*cking fool of yourself...
Derp88 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:13:23 PM

Only a faggot would care about how somebody else spells
telur writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:14:05 PM

Ryan Reynolds is overated and he play both marvel and DC. Wow
TheStig writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:19:52 PM

dude its not my fault that your IQ is a lower number than the number of pussies Dandy likes...
Matiax writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:25:10 AM

@Ranger: I don't know if you're gonna read this, but I think power rings works in percent power, not 24 hours anymore. It depends on how much they use it.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:07:26 AM

Matiax i think you're right.

and Derp stop being such an ass, Ranger's jokes are wittier then all your jokes.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:40:28 AM

@Matiax - %?... so does he still have to haul that lantern around to recharge or are they self-charging if he leaves them alone for a while?

@encore - thx. man.

@diddle88 - blow me.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 8:44:50 AM

I dont like Ryan R. for this, he so stupid, maybe as the Flash, maybe, but not for GL, and i like more the history of john stuart, from the justice leage, put some color on the super hero movies.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:36:13 AM

Hey trueman if you had to make a choice between ryan reynolds and Sam W who would it be? just curious.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 11:38:02 AM

Nice to see vindy back how is that whore of a mother, she still owes me my money.

and Derp the world would be better off with out you...so please find the nearest firearm, put barrel in your mouth (should feel familiar since you like large round c*ck in your mouth) point up and pull the trigger.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:11:50 PM

lol.
thedotsays writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:29:09 PM

Lol @Depr88, only a moron would call someone a fag for critiquing their spelling.

And that's the beauty of these Lohan digs. The fact that they can make an appearance anywhere. Makes it all the more funnier.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 12:44:45 PM

@Ranger-Did u make a new friend?? Have I been replaced?? This is why I cut on myself while I drink and cry.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 1:51:32 PM

@jeffw197

neither of both, they come from the same pile of crap or maybe i prefer only good actors, or at least the people can act, i prefer those ones who knows anything of acting.
Matiax writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 3:44:33 PM

@Ranger: No, He still need to charge it. But "summons" the lantern from an interdimensional pocket or some sh*t like that. Though they don't show charging often.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 7:47:02 PM

no problem @Ranger

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved